Calling all air gun enthusiasts

WestIndian424

Re: Calling all air gun enthusiasts

Postby WestIndian424 » March 23rd, 2023, 2:17 pm

I know the law...what i dont know is which A/R to purchase.. looking for advice on the most powerful AR available locally....
Brand/model/ dealer

Much thanks

Postby maj. tom » March 23rd, 2023, 2:56 pm

You sure it won't be easier to hire a registered hunter with experience to deal with this, permits and everything?

matix

Postby matix » March 23rd, 2023, 3:08 pm

Kickstart wrote:
pugboy wrote:you need it able to push a heavy pellet at good feet per second to penetrate a caiman head

lot of them brands advertise 1000fps but only for light pellets which only good for shooting pigeon

Tbh, not exactly. Depends on the situation, and if you know where to hit him. Shooting them from a distance, vs have it on a hook and hitting it from a few inches.

Killed more than a few caiman with air rifles over the years. At minimum you want 15-18fpe at poi for a big one, and you want to.hit him in the brain, thru a spot on the skull where the bone and flesh is thinnest. Best spot, if Shooting from a distance, is in the ear slit. Shooting from close, aim for the middle of the flat spot on top the head.
Killing Caimans are illegal

Not during hunting season it ain't.
In any event, I wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors of dining on live caiman. :D

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » March 23rd, 2023, 3:58 pm

maj. tom wrote:You sure it won't be easier to hire a registered hunter with experience to deal with this, permits and everything?

Its a continous problem

YellowCanary

Postby YellowCanary » August 30th, 2023, 7:48 am

Can anyone tell me where I can purchase an air rifle? It seems that most of the deals I call are out of stock and those that have are selling at a premium. 

matix

Postby matix » August 30th, 2023, 8:11 am

YellowCanary wrote:Can anyone tell me where I can purchase an air rifle? It seems that most of the deals I call are out of stock and those that have are selling at a premium. 

Agostini

Postby pugboy » August 30th, 2023, 8:17 am

check the dealers who have the connections and getting import license

YellowCanary

Postby YellowCanary » August 30th, 2023, 9:01 am

I did .. it seems that the relevant authority (ies) are not issuing any import licenses, hence the shortage of AR which fuel the higher prices. But I take your point there must be a smaller dealer out there who has AR for sale.

Postby alfa » August 30th, 2023, 10:53 am

Any reason on why they're not issuing import permits or are they afraid someone will try to overthrow the govt using a pellet gun?

foreignused

Postby foreignused » September 8th, 2023, 8:58 pm

Good Day. Thought I'd give a little feedback on the application of getting an Air Rifle user permit. Honestly it was fairly simple and quick.

It took basically 3 weeks after dropping the application (along with CoC, copy of ID & copy of utility bill as proof of address) to the Firearms Dept in August 2023. Within 3 weeks I got a call from them stating it's ready to collect (initially at dropping it off they said around 6 weeks).

It actually took longer to get my CoC from a certain police station "in the west" at 5 weeks! So avoid that "western most" one if you looking to get a CoC in a timely manner.

Sadly after now having my permit, I went calling and looking around to see what's available to buy. I only found 2 places in stock (a place in central and south) and the prices were ridiculously high. Really wanted a pcp but at those prices was considering settling for a break barrel and an CO2 cartridge air pistol one of them had (though again ridiculously priced, it really peaked my interest).

Those out of stock or barely had except for literally 1 or 2 were Buckshots, Specialist Shooters, AE Tactical, Agostini, MH Tactical, Abass Ali and Sports & Games. Any advice on where else sells? Thanks.

Hopefully others interested in getting their permit will see it's actually not so bad presently to get one.

Postby alfa » September 8th, 2023, 10:06 pm

foreignused wrote:Good Day. Thought I'd give a little feedback on the application of getting an Air Rifle user permit. Honestly it was fairly simple and quick.

It took basically 3 weeks after dropping the application (along with CoC, copy of ID & copy of utility bill as proof of address) to the Firearms Dept in August 2023. Within 3 weeks I got a call from them stating it's ready to collect (initially at dropping it off they said around 6 weeks).

It actually took longer to get my CoC from a certain police station "in the west" at 5 weeks! So avoid that "western most" one if you looking to get a CoC in a timely manner.

Sadly after now having my permit, I went calling and looking around to see what's available to buy. I only found 2 places in stock (a place in central and south) and the prices were ridiculously high. Really wanted a pcp but at those prices was considering settling for a break barrel and an CO2 cartridge air pistol one of them had (though again ridiculously priced, it really peaked my interest).

Those out of stock or barely had except for literally 1 or 2 were Buckshots, Specialist Shooters, AE Tactical, Agostini, MH Tactical, Abass Ali and Sports & Games. Any advice on where else sells? Thanks.
Hopefully others interested in getting their permit will see it's actually not so bad presently to get one.

Centerfire Chaguanas and Gunsmith Industries in south Oropuche I believe sells as well

Postby pugboy » September 8th, 2023, 10:42 pm

hmm i thought pistols were explicating outlawed some time ago because bandits were using them to do holdups, before the proliferation of guns of course

Postby zoom rader » September 8th, 2023, 10:56 pm

foreignused wrote:Good Day. Thought I'd give a little feedback on the application of getting an Air Rifle user permit. Honestly it was fairly simple and quick.

3wks, kool

In the 1990s it took me over 4mts to get mine after applying.

Certain dealers at thar time could get for u in two weeks, but only if u buy from them.

CoC was a run around to get, police would give u the run around with excuses. That took 3weeks

foreignused

Postby foreignused » September 8th, 2023, 11:03 pm

pugboy wrote:hmm i thought pistols were explicating outlawed some time ago because bandits were using them to do holdups, before the proliferation of guns of course

I thought so too but there's no actual law against it. Though from this news article you need commissioner permission so still not sure what that means or is an air rifle permit enough or if there's such a thing as a air pistol permit:

https://www.tv6tnt.com/news/local/gun-in-viral-tobago-video-was-air-pistol/article_0609db7a-99d9-11e9-8d45-4babe47109c8.html?fbclid=IwAR0R7Yl9VpIro4ueAo_h3Byog5PCBAfx3jNhmP6CdK-jLdd_Ad_pldXSfR0

The price for it though was 10k!!!

foreignused

Postby foreignused » September 8th, 2023, 11:08 pm

3wks, kool

In the 1990s it took me over 4mts to get mine after applying.

Certain dealers at thar time could get for u in two weeks, but only if u buy from them.

CoC was a run around to get, police would give u the run around with excuses. That took 3weeks

Yeah I was shocked to get it so quickly. Even the initial 6 weeks they quoted sounded unlikely too.

Oh and just for people to know the Firearms Dept moved to corner of Richmond and Park St now.

foreignused

Postby foreignused » September 8th, 2023, 11:11 pm

alfa wrote:
Centerfire Chaguanas and Gunsmith Industries in south Oropuche I believe sells as well

Thanks. I'll give Gunsmith Industries a call Monday and see. Centrefire was one of the two who had and were really overpriced.

Postby 88sins » September 9th, 2023, 4:57 am

pugboy wrote:hmm i thought pistols were explicating outlawed some time ago because bandits were using them to do holdups, before the proliferation of guns of course

they were never prohibited by law, just many of them look like replicas of actual firearms, and ttps doesn't like that very much. Yes, a long time ago there were some people who used to rob people with them, but that was a very long time ago and there were very few incidents of that, and with the ease with which bandits getting firearms today, I really don't see the sense in them holding that position.

not many people stock air pistols, because tbh they aren't really a hot item here, for a few reasons. Low power, short range, only effective on small animals like rats at close range, more expensive to run (you have to buy cO2, and pellets), and generally not as accurate. And seeing as most people here hunt with air powered weapons, they are just not a practical option.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 10th, 2023, 8:25 am

Hold strain til the season opens, stock will magically reappear. Sometimes I does feel like selling mine but men want to pay piper price

Postby pugboy » September 10th, 2023, 8:38 pm

the ful dept is apparently functioning again somewhat
supposedly staffed by completely new officers from special branch and all centralized

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 18th, 2023, 6:58 pm

foreignused wrote:
alfa wrote:

Thanks. I'll give Gunsmith Industries a call Monday and see. Centrefire was one of the two who had and were really overpriced.
Sports and Games has GAMO replay igt with scope and mags

Postby pugboy » September 18th, 2023, 7:37 pm

centrefire will charge you $200 for an oring you getting for a few dollars elsewhere

Postby 88sins » September 18th, 2023, 8:05 pm

pugboy wrote:centrefire will charge you $200 for an oring you getting for a few dollars elsewhere

plenty of them do that.
One of the best things about pcp's, extremely easy to maintain for yourself, and most orings one might need can be found all over the place for less than the price of a doubles.

Postby supercharged turbo » September 18th, 2023, 8:07 pm

pugboy wrote:the ful dept is apparently functioning again somewhat
supposedly staffed by completely new officers from special branch and all centralized
So even regular FUL supposed to be getting approved faster?

Postby alfa » September 18th, 2023, 8:15 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:
pugboy wrote:the ful dept is apparently functioning again somewhat
So even regular FUL supposed to be getting approved faster?

Negative. They probably dealing with the huge amount of judicial reviews that coming in regarding failure to make a decision wrt applications. They requested updated documents from me following same

Postby pugboy » September 18th, 2023, 8:28 pm

well at least you are in the pipeline

foreignused

Postby foreignused » October 15th, 2023, 9:48 pm

Could someone just confirm if I had saw correctly or if I imagined it...

So I was just confirming off the TTPS website the stuff to carry in for a FUL application when I noticed the section for applying for an air rifle license is no longer there. I could of sworn months back when I was apply for my air rifle license there was a section /tab about it in the "Services" section and under "Special Licenses" category and that is where I got the information about how to go about applying.

So either I imagined that. Or now they realized that by law an air rifle license if not necessary (once it's smooth bore and 0.177 and less calibre). Or their website got screwed up and it's only missing temporarily. Or because it's hunting season they don't care to see about providing air rifle license as it's too much work for them.

This was the link
https://www.ttps.gov.tt/Services/Special-Licenses/Firearm-Users-License

Postby *KRONIK* » October 17th, 2023, 7:13 am

When you look at the older air rifle permit, its just a signed acknowledgement by the commissioner allowing you to purchase and keep a 0.177cal smoothbore air rifle and pellets.
It not an actual permit, its more of an acknowldedgement.
But, i heard they changed that now, the process is the same, but they recording your purchased air rifle and its serial #.
Saw a recent permit and its nothing like of old ½sheet letterhead we used to get

Postby alfa » October 17th, 2023, 7:39 am

*KRONIK* wrote:When you look at the older air rifle permit, its just a signed acknowledgement by the commissioner allowing you to purchase and keep a 0.177cal smoothbore air rifle and pellets.
But, i heard they changed that now, the process is the same, but they recording your purchased air rifle and its serial #.
Saw a recent permit and its nothing like of old ½sheet letterhead we used to get

I have the old one, that still good? I laminate it when I got it so they can't mark up nothing it

Postby pugboy » October 17th, 2023, 7:56 am

wha bout the pepper spray permits?
it have a serial number on the cans?

Postby *KRONIK* » October 17th, 2023, 8:46 am

alfa wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:When you look at the older air rifle permit, its just a signed acknowledgement by the commissioner allowing you to purchase and keep a 0.177cal smoothbore air rifle and pellets.

I have the old one, that still good? I laminate it when I got it so they can't mark up nothing it

I would assume its valid, or else rel man go be having unauthorized 0.177

I did the same
Laminate one time, LOL