Shud i lawyer up insurance problems

kadijahveronica

Postby kadijahveronica » August 17th, 2016, 11:53 am

So four years ago go into an accident which i was given wrong to even though the other person was speeding,now i was insured by ( MO insurance company) and my vehicle was fully comprehensive ,insurance was on my mothers name as i had jus bought the vehicle from her and left it dat way.last week i recieved a civil suit from other party claimin damages for vehicle because (MO insurance) after 4 years refuses to pay.so i contacted insurance company and they are telin me my mum broke her policy because i was not a named driver to which i explain i was of age and also qualified for the underlining quotes on the policy, to which rep tels me if i see ( deleted) on the quotes i am not.i stil have original booklet of full comprehensive insurance from 4 years ago and there is no deleted stamped on any quotes what is my next step

baigan

Re: Shud i lawyer up insurance problems

Postby baigan » August 17th, 2016, 12:10 pm

Talk to your lawyer

baigan

Postby baigan » August 17th, 2016, 12:11 pm

Postby Monk BANzai » August 17th, 2016, 12:23 pm

a lawyer. Is in your future.

Postby Monk BANzai » August 17th, 2016, 12:27 pm

spacebars as well. That should also be in your future.....and Captial letters... But for now. A lawyer.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » August 17th, 2016, 1:03 pm

What part of T&T is this?

kadijahveronica

Postby kadijahveronica » August 17th, 2016, 1:13 pm

Sorry folks typin on my phone so excuse the bad puntuations but i have court on the 25 th so shud it be that i have to coubter sue the insurance for not payin ir would this be a separate civil suit taken against them also on the civil suit that was taken out against me it claims my insurance was third party while it was actually fully comprehensive does this make any big difference

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » August 17th, 2016, 1:25 pm

Mo like the village piper ..yuh only missin the zaboca but never saw him theif it.

moses_boss12
Location: The Beautiful Hills of.................... Hellshire!!

Postby moses_boss12 » August 17th, 2016, 1:55 pm

There is actually precedent in a matter like this, i believe MO self was the insurance company, anyways long story short the court held that the client was in breach of the contract and MO was not liable in fixing the other party's vehicle. I would advise get a Lawyer and get assistance in this....worst case scenario you fix the Third Party's vehicle and firetruck away with Sheit company's that apply such oppressive and nasty clauses in their policies.

Postby Slartibartfast » August 17th, 2016, 4:49 pm

Yup. Cheap insurance companies not worth it.

Postby rspann » August 17th, 2016, 9:53 pm

Get a lawyer, I remember sometime ago ,a judge ruled that it was unlawful to put exemptions in the policy, also if there was no clauses as you said, they should have paid. That is why in the other thread about insurance I recommended that you get good insurance even if it's third party, because when the sheit hits the fan , you can be joined to the lawsuit.

Postby pugboy » August 17th, 2016, 10:06 pm

Them fraud insurance companies do everything to avoid paying,
Including shafting their own customers
They have a checklist of things to sidetrack,
Eg the claiming of deletion on policy
They know you will have to write them a legal letter to point out that deletion lie

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » August 18th, 2016, 12:35 am

Op I went tru something similar. Sold a guy a car and he got into an accident, long and short once yuh sell or yuh buy, ask any insurance company in TnT, the policy dead.
Better if you said you borrowed the car.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » August 18th, 2016, 12:38 am

Op I went tru something similar. Sold a guy a car and he got into an accident, long and short once yuh sell or yuh buy, ask any insurance company in TnT, the policy dead.
Better if you said you borrowed the car.

Postby skylinechild » August 18th, 2016, 7:33 am

^^^ did the policy die twice ???? :lol:

Postby Slartibartfast » August 18th, 2016, 2:23 pm

Depends on if OP transferred the car from his moms or not. If not then the his mom would still be the legal owner and the insurance should have still been valid. Just my opinion.

If the car was transferred and OP didn't transfer or get new insurance then he is up shitcreek without a paddle. Cuz that would mean that he was driving an uninsured car.

kadijahveronica

Postby kadijahveronica » August 18th, 2016, 6:17 pm

Car was stil on my mothers name i didnt transfer as yet but they are sayin because my mother didnot name me as a driver on thw policy she broke her policy by havin me drivin the vehicle i would admit policy has caf is to be driven by policy owner only but also i knw i was not wrong in the accident tryin to get the police report from 4 yrs ago the police dont even knw where the station diary is

Postby Kenjo » August 18th, 2016, 6:23 pm

^^^^^ oh well you saying for sure it marked that she is to be the only driver ? Because that's a whole other issue

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » August 18th, 2016, 6:25 pm

kadijahveronica wrote:Car was stil on my mothers name i didnt transfer as yet but they are sayin because my mother didnot name me as a driver on thw policy she broke her policy by havin me drivin the vehicle i would admit policy has caf is to be driven by policy owner only but also i knw i was not wrong in the accident tryin to get the police report from 4 yrs ago the police dont even knw where the station diary is

Don't some policies allow for the insured driver along with anyone they permit to drive the vehicle to do so??

kadijahveronica

Postby kadijahveronica » August 18th, 2016, 6:31 pm

Yes policy has that part but MO insurance stamped deleted across it basically my only next step is to get police report which would state where my car was actually hit which would conflict the persons report that i hit him because my car was only damaged in the left front fender and left side of front bumper so in no way would i have hit him on his right broadside because i knw he hit me while i was entering street as i stoped and it had a space between me and the pavement and he decided he wanted to try and fit into that space , in the process hittin my car on the left front fender and bumper

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » August 18th, 2016, 6:47 pm

With regards to liability MO is correct as their policy clearly stated insured ONLY to drive. Your only line of recourse would be to hope and pray the police report is found and by some miracle you are coded as not liable second time around ( since you are already coded as liable). The supervisor of insurance can guide you also in terms of MO restrictions being upheld or not........

Long story short....it's a tough battle but you can win ONLY if the police report / investigators report is recoded to prove other person is liable.

This is ONE of the many headaches when persons try to save some money and go cheap. I would hope np one got injured, disabled or died else........God help you if you lose second time around . Pocket will be emptied for sure

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 18th, 2016, 6:54 pm

Policy says insured only with big delete stamp. No amount of lawyer can help you.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » August 18th, 2016, 11:03 pm

Op better yuh fix the people vehicle

Lance

Postby Lance » August 19th, 2016, 4:50 am

How much are they suing for?

sharkmouth

Postby sharkmouth » September 6th, 2016, 9:06 pm

Settle or fix out of court or you will end up paying big money...sorry buddy sometimes you just have to take loss