Present situation in Trinidad

JaiTech

Present situation in Trinidad

Postby JaiTech » August 3rd, 2016, 4:10 pm

As citizens of Trinidad are we sure of what is happening to economy and what plans is in place to ensure that we don't end up in a situation like Venezuela ???? Our unemployment situation is probably the biggest cover up at the present time alot of small business closing down daily people are losing their jobs and also the high cost of living, but yet still your not hearing for the government as to a plan as to how the economy will get better but only increase after increase in daily consumables , but people quick to say the other party theif all the money but past and present government have all filled their pockets so pointing fingers is a waste of time because when you point with 1 finger 4 fingers is pointing right back at you. How can Trinidad be a place we once loved and be proud to say were from Trinidad and not be know as a terrorist breeding ground, any ideas as to how . Do we need to protest like the US or UK when they don't like when their country is being jeopardized. And last but not least when will the racism stop we all are Trinidadians and we live in a multicultural society, at the end of the day family don't be around to assist in time of need and help in every situations but a stranger might be and will not think twice to assist .

Sundar

Re: Present situation in Trinidad

Postby Sundar » August 3rd, 2016, 4:19 pm

People just care about themselves. Crab in barrel syndrome.

neexis

Postby neexis » August 3rd, 2016, 4:21 pm

Can I whatsapp you at 7635323/

Postby Dizzy28 » August 3rd, 2016, 4:22 pm

neexis wrote:Can I whatsapp you at 7635323/

Shiv??

Postby Slartibartfast » August 3rd, 2016, 4:36 pm

Frustrating isn't it.

Our problems are so thoroughly ingrained in our society right now that I don't even know where to start to help fix the problem. Everyone else I know just accepts things the way they are and continue to play along while closing their eyes. I'm no hero. Most of the time I do that to. But it's not because of my lack of care. Just my lack of direction on what to do. But I open to any ideas you may have OP.

JaiTech

Postby JaiTech » August 3rd, 2016, 5:40 pm

No it's not shiv

JaiTech

Re: RE: Re: Present situation in Trinidad

Postby JaiTech » August 3rd, 2016, 5:41 pm

neexis wrote:Can I whatsapp you at 7635323/

????

jones81

Postby jones81 » August 3rd, 2016, 5:57 pm

Surprised that some one will ask that question.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 3rd, 2016, 6:32 pm

Yawn at thread

Postby desifemlove » August 3rd, 2016, 8:31 pm

not enough intelligent people around to solve the problem.

Postby desifemlove » August 4th, 2016, 10:58 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Frustrating isn't it.

Our problems are so thoroughly ingrained in our society right now that I don't even know where to start to help fix the problem. Everyone else I know just accepts things the way they are and continue to play along while closing their eyes. I'm no hero. Most of the time I do that to. But it's not because of my lack of care. Just my lack of direction on what to do. But I open to any ideas you may have OP.

nalini dial had a good point, write to the Queen and get the British back....

Miktay

Postby Miktay » August 4th, 2016, 11:51 pm

Intelligence won't solve the problems

Tdad have enuf smart ppl.

We need good ppl with belly.

sickbad

Postby sickbad » August 5th, 2016, 2:41 am

Umm cause we are 3rd world for many reasons

Ttpost Mail doesn't work, so dozens of freight forwarders do the job, take the cut, get paid.

P h taxi drivers are substitute but essential taxi service because H cars have to pay entry and P gets you into the beach on weekends without stares or people trying to holla for rides.

Why buy local music from the record store when there is Grammy nominated foreign and Jamaican music galore from speaker cart vendors (who actually have a president - he sells CDs outside Kfc independence square) all of which pay royalties I'm sure

Full page adds with copyright protection notices and licenses to play music fromCOTT yet you can get the latest dvd flick from a vendor on any corner, now 4 movies in one now actually.

Only here, vendors biggest promotion is reselling cigarettes 1 for 3$, 2 for 5

We glorify high mileage foreign junk and roll back mileage so we feel better sleeping at night,

Lemme get 2 stag and a carib barman

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » August 5th, 2016, 2:48 am

Miktay wrote:Intelligence won't solve the problems

For real
We need someone who don't business to run the country like a business.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 5th, 2016, 9:43 am

mark2.0 wrote:

For real

nope. then the bottom line will always be about the dollar and not the underlying social issues. Remember people (are supposed to) vote on elected representatives that serve THEIR best interests.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » August 5th, 2016, 10:26 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
mark2.0 wrote:

For real

nope. then the bottom line will always be about the dollar and not the underlying social issues. Remember people (are supposed to) vote on elected representatives that serve THEIR best interests.

the beauty and the curse of democracy

Postby desifemlove » August 5th, 2016, 10:29 am

merge army and police.give them same training and have 24/7 highway patrols. mandatory licence revocations for people ketch speeding three times.

on the spot fines for litteres.

whistleblowing with a twist any credible evidence of state corruption gets life in jail.

firms that export up to $1000000 pay no business tax. firms above that only pay 3pc tax ever.

people who commit three or more serious crimes get put on prison ship in ocean....fight out like mad max.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » August 5th, 2016, 11:14 am

jai 7635323 wrote:As citizens of Trinidad are we sure of what is happening to economy and what plans is in place to ensure that we don't end up in a situation like Venezuela ???? Our unemployment situation is probably the biggest cover up at the present time alot of small business closing down daily people are losing their jobs and also the high cost of living, but yet still your not hearing for the government as to a plan as to how the economy will get better but only increase after increase in daily consumables , but people quick to say the other party theif all the money but past and present government have all filled their pockets so pointing fingers is a waste of time because when you point with 1 finger 4 fingers is pointing right back at you. How can Trinidad be a place we once loved and be proud to say were from Trinidad and not be know as a terrorist breeding ground, any ideas as to how . Do we need to protest like the US or UK when they don't like when their country is being jeopardized. And last but not least when will the racism stop we all are Trinidadians and we live in a multicultural society, at the end of the day family don't be around to assist in time of need and help in every situations but a stranger might be and will not think twice to assist .

Jai, everywhere there is a recession prices go up, jobs are lost, small businesses that are unsustainable close. Brazil's unemployment rate is 11.3% plus they could barely afford to pay police, firemen, doctors etc. Brazil's recession officially started in feb 2015, trust me sir, TT not as bad off as you think. Brazil's recession is the worst since 1901 for the country. France not even in recession and over 500 french figters are in isis. And that is understandable because you have social media. The reason more people aren't going to syria from guyana and other places in the caribbean is because no other country has the money tt has, recession or no recession. If they want to maintain high employment, send cepep and urp into agriculture, make them actually work for a living instead of cutting grass and leaving the job 8:30-9:00 in the morning

Venezuela is hungry because if you go to the country, they have few large scale farms and hence they produce precious little. My parents went to Venezuela for their honeymoon and most of the fruits came from Colombia and Brazil. I can only imagine that the situation became a lot worse as the 90s and 2000s rolled on because venezuela never took agriculture seriously.95% of the manufacturing sector is dedicated to oil and gas.Trinidad has a diverse manufacturing sector which is why we dominate the caribbean and virtually own de yard. It is not like venezuela where there is little production in the country, there are local manufacturers who can bring food to the supermarkets.In tt we like foreign stuff which is why a supermarket maybe skeptical of purchasing local goods to sell, not that the option isn't available, it just does not make money. TT situation not even as bad as the 1980s when oil went down to 9 dollars per barrel and gas was virtually free.

The constant entitlement that has permeated the society from the have nots to the haves however is a big problem. a technician studying for an engineering degree in utt(uwi is full time) and working in t&tec or petrotrin can comfortably pay for his tuition. Yet these are the same ones campaigning and protesting for wage increases and Gate cushions. The moms with no job little education and a truckload of children yet begs for jobs that are virtually make-work programmes and handouts. I take personal umbrage at the comparison to venezuela though. Trinidad not even close to the 80s crisis much less the venezuela situation. I watched a documentary on the venez crisis and even the poor people entitled. Yuh hungry, grow a garden geez
http://www.marketplace.org/2016/04/18/w ... a-ranchers
Last edited by Trinispougla on August 5th, 2016, 2:29 pm, edited 6 times in total.

Postby goalpost » August 5th, 2016, 12:54 pm

wtf people, paragraphs please....

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » August 5th, 2016, 1:56 pm

my bad, i'll fix it

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » August 6th, 2016, 4:52 am

desifemlove wrote:merge army and police.give them same training and have 24/7 highway patrols. mandatory licence revocations for people ketch speeding three times.

whistleblowing with a twist any credible evidence of state corruption gets life in jail.

firms that export up to $1000000 pay no business tax. firms above that only pay 3pc tax ever.

people who commit three or more serious crimes get put on prison ship in ocean....fight out like mad max.

Also, we could Institute a laser weapon targetting system along the highways and biways so any thing moving faster than 80kmph will get distintegrated from space. And finally, allw police to walk up and shoot anyone caught peeing on the side of the road in the back of the head.

Make trinidad great again.

Postby desifemlove » August 6th, 2016, 7:47 am

bluesclues wrote:
desifemlove wrote:merge army and police.give them same training and have 24/7 highway patrols. mandatory licence revocations for people ketch speeding three times.

Also, we could Institute a laser weapon targetting system along the highways and biways so any thing moving faster than 80kmph will get distintegrated from space. And finally, allw police to walk up and shoot anyone caught peeing on the side of the road in the back of the head.

Make trinidad great again.

why not? only animals, literally and figuratively, piss in public.