Gas filling accident

Postby RBphoto » July 15th, 2016, 11:12 am

Good day tuners,
Just want to relate an accident I happened to be next too last night. On the pump adjacent to me, while filling gas, the tank filled and overflowed and soaked a little boy, about 6-8yrs by my reckoning, who seemed to have his face within a foot of the nozzle. Now I don't know if the father was showing the kid how to fill gas, or if the kid was just outside with the dad to buy something and put his face there at the wrong time.. but that is what happened. Child bawling wrench my soul as it got in his eyes and mouth. I ran to the fridge and got a bottle of water and started to wash his face while his dad wiped him off. There was an ambulance on the compound, but all they could suggest was to continue flushing his eyes and gave him saline drops. He settled down and they presumably took him to the hospital.

Kids home for the holidays now.. keep it safe guys.

DTAC

Re: Gas filling accident

Postby DTAC » July 15th, 2016, 11:25 am

How does the tank overflow? Isn't there a mechanism in the nozzle to click off when the gas reaches a safe fill limit? Or did the "father" decide to manual feed gas into tank even after the pump safety mechanism clicked off?

And you filling gas with a child next to you so young/short their face is level with the filler cap??! Weh.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » July 15th, 2016, 11:37 am

RBphoto wrote:Good day tuners,
Just want to relate an accident I happened to be next too last night. On the pump adjacent to me, while filling gas, the tank filled and overflowed and soaked a little boy, about 6-8yrs by my reckoning, who seemed to have his face within a foot of the nozzle. Now I don't know if the father was showing the kid how to fill gas, or if the kid was just outside with the dad to buy something and put his face there at the wrong time.. but that is what happened. Child bawling wrench my soul as it got in his eyes and mouth. I ran to the fridge and got a bottle of water and started to wash his face while his dad wiped him off. There was an ambulance on the compound, but all they could suggest was to continue flushing his eyes and gave him saline drops. He settled down and they presumably took him to the hospital.

Kids home for the holidays now.. keep it safe guys.

Kudos to YOU for quick thinking and selflessly helping out, you may definitely have saved the kids eyes and god only knows what else............ glad to know there still good people out there!

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » July 15th, 2016, 11:37 am

Hope the father wasn't busy rockin the car to make more space in the tank

Postby 88sins » July 15th, 2016, 11:41 am

most likely dotish daddy had the just the tip of the nozzle at the edge of the tank intake for jr. to see how the gas does look going into the tank
if so, d daddy is a kakahole.
nuttn more could be done fuh d yute but to wash out the mouth with weak dilute soap water, face with cool water & eyes with plenty saline drops.

neexis

Postby neexis » July 15th, 2016, 11:49 am

Postby Dizzy28 » July 15th, 2016, 11:54 am

Fire would get rid of any residual gas!!!

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » July 15th, 2016, 12:24 pm

DTAC wrote:How does the tank overflow? Isn't there a mechanism in the nozzle to click off when the gas reaches a safe fill limit? Or did the "father" decide to manual feed gas into tank even after the pump safety mechanism clicked off?

And you filling gas with a child next to you so young/short their face is level with the filler cap??! Weh.

This mechanism fails, had it happen to me when i was filling my cefiro a few years ago, about 3 dollars were wasted and went on the ground. even after immediately rinsing with clean water and washing the car when i got home the paint was permanently stained.

Postby 88sins » July 15th, 2016, 1:07 pm

only cuz yuh use cheap paint & went by d mango tree body shop

Re: RE: Re: Gas filling accident

Postby supercharged turbo » July 15th, 2016, 1:17 pm

cherrypopper wrote:Hope the father wasn't busy rockin the car to make more space in the tank

De amount of people who does still do this too high

Postby RBphoto » July 15th, 2016, 1:30 pm

Like I said, don't know how it happened. The kid's mother and two other kids were in the car, I have no idea why the kid was outside the car. If I was to venture a reason, it would be distraction because the child was holding father's left hand while he filled with the right hand. Probably while he was pulling out the nozzle he pressed the lever got pressed and more gas got pumped in a surge. All I saw was the splash. I think anyone with half a brain would have rushed for water.. then again, the idiot parked behind him hearing the kid bawling and telling the man while he attending to the child that they bound to have a spill response kit on the compound and water to wash down the car... like priorities bro :? Just saying that we have the children at home 100% of the time for now and we need to look out for them and keep them safe.

Postby pugboy » July 15th, 2016, 1:44 pm

Woman do that sheit to me once tacarigua
Idiot pull trigger whilst carrying hose to her car and wet my pants with gas
I was using same pump but other side
Fawker jump in she car and drive out
I went inside to get tissues to wipe off gas

Nautilusus

Postby Nautilusus » July 17th, 2016, 12:46 pm

So while this was happening.......nobody beep you to move your car so they could get gas?

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » July 17th, 2016, 2:12 pm

probably just a case of 'paid for X amount and don't want to bother going back for change, so I'll just manually pump the rest'
the kid's lucky that you AND the ambulance were there at the time