Summer Starter Job for College Teens

Nic098

Postby Nic098 » July 4th, 2016, 9:57 pm

Delete.
Last edited by Nic098 on October 14th, 2016, 8:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Cantmis

Re: Summer Starter Job for College Teens

Postby Cantmis » July 4th, 2016, 10:26 pm

Postby nervewrecker » July 4th, 2016, 10:46 pm

Why dont you tell us a little about yourself.

Have little jobs and many people, if a tuner/s does have a vacancy they will quicker hire someone whom gave more details.

Right now we know as much about you as much as you do about the legend they call pioneer.

Crazydriver

Postby Crazydriver » July 4th, 2016, 10:55 pm

best bet is to try to work at the uni you registered in, most of them always have openings at clerical/non-physically tiring, flexible hrs (allowing classes) reasonable (small) pay.

Postby mero » July 5th, 2016, 8:59 am

Apply to all banks, that bring in lots of temp during the vacation periods. Quite good for discipline and productivity

Postby Dizzy28 » July 5th, 2016, 9:04 am

By College teens I assume you mean you are in High School??
A good bet would be retail i.e. Try the malls and check out the stores with vacancy ads. Speak to the manager and see if they would facilitate a flexible schedule.

Then there's the supermarkets who always need packers/baggers.

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 5th, 2016, 9:22 am

Only Autumn jobs available.

Postby RBphoto » July 5th, 2016, 9:23 am

Plant Bodi, bhagi, and peas. Sell said bodi, bhagi and peas. Saime don't even need much care if you have a chain link fence it will flourish. Not only will you learn to be self sufficient in part of your diet, but you will have learnt gardening and entrepreneurship skills. This is in addition to finding a job eh. Most places I know already filled up with temps so can't recommend anywhere. You need to apply from at the latest April for those jobs. Why not go and check mechanic shops and change tyres and oil? Even KFC and Churches have almost all their staff wearing trainee badges.

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » July 5th, 2016, 9:30 am

Gulf City mall have alot off stores hiring,so yuh working and fulling yuh eyes!

Postby K74T » July 5th, 2016, 9:37 am

TTsurf at Gulf City mall:

Nic098

Postby Nic098 » July 5th, 2016, 4:30 pm

Delete.
Last edited by Nic098 on October 14th, 2016, 8:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » July 5th, 2016, 6:24 pm

Bro no one is going to pay good money for someone inexperienced or who are not willing to stay long term

Nic098

Postby Nic098 » July 5th, 2016, 6:58 pm

Delete.
Last edited by Nic098 on October 14th, 2016, 8:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby eliteauto » July 5th, 2016, 7:12 pm

Nic098 wrote:
chulo45 wrote:Bro no one is going to pay good money for someone inexperienced or who are not willing to stay long term

I was studying this inno... But still.. it must have some place. I doh mind working after the July - August, as long as the hours are flexible enough to fit my schedule.

What you're looking for seems unlikely in the current market, tbh your best bet would be to work for yourself,, wash cars, cut lawn sell fruit etc. You'll decide your hours and your earnings are dependent on your efforts

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 5th, 2016, 10:40 pm

Nic098 wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Why dont you tell us a little about yourself.

Have little jobs and many people, if a tuner/s does have a vacancy they will quicker hire someone whom gave more details.

Right now we know as much about you as much as you do about the legend they call pioneer.

18 yrs old. Valid Driver's license. Currently in A levels (Upper Six). Looking for something that brings in a decent income since no starter job is really going to impact my future in terms of education etc. Looking for something along the lines of assistant manager or secretary work but open to all offers, once de pay good.

Pretty high demands you got there, wish you the best of luck but as others have said, if you really looking for decent income with no experience you are better off planting bodi assume nobody thief it.

Friend of mine has a BSc in Electrical and Computer Engineering from UWI along with distinctions in A levels and jobs are so hard to come by that he has given up on applying and started his own business instead. He had interviews with Digicel and TSTT for network engineer positions etc but you would be amazed to know how many qualified people it has out here with no work.

A levels mean nothing, Degree come like CXC now because everybody has one. Like others say your best bet is wash car or plant garden if you want decent money. Else you gonna have to settle for minimum wage. Chances of you actually getting what you requesting is something around 0.001% chance everytime you apply somewhere. Lower your expectations a lot to increase this chance to 1% this is the reality of the recession and the job market thats over saturated. Its not making headlines but very qualified people are being sent home by the hundreds around this country things are very very bad.

Re: RE: Re: Summer Starter Job for College Teens

Postby A172 » July 5th, 2016, 10:48 pm

eliteauto wrote:
Nic098 wrote:
chulo45 wrote:Bro no one is going to pay good money for someone inexperienced or who are not willing to stay long term

I was studying this inno... But still.. it must have some place. I doh mind working after the July - August, as long as the hours are flexible enough to fit my schedule.

What you're looking for seems unlikely in the current market, tbh your best bet would be to work for yourself,, wash cars, cut lawn sell fruit etc. You'll decide your hours and your earnings are dependent on your efforts

inb4 de dragon frothin he aint pay taxes

Nic098

Postby Nic098 » July 5th, 2016, 11:23 pm

I think allyuh getting carried away a little bit. When I say good pay.. I not looking for 10,000$ a month inno. A little 5-6k will be sufficient & that is very easy to get however I thought by making a post on 2ner I would of received better opportunities for higher pay but apparently things not working out that way.

Postby K74T » July 5th, 2016, 11:37 pm

Nic098 wrote:A little 5-6k will be sufficient & that is very easy to get

For a starter job? How?

More like half of what you mentioned.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 6th, 2016, 8:25 am

Lawl 5 to 6k you want. Some People with masters not getting that.

Postby tr1ad » July 6th, 2016, 8:28 am

Nic098 wrote:I think allyuh getting carried away a little bit. When I say good pay.. I not looking for 10,000$ a month inno. A little 5-6k will be sufficient & that is very easy to get however I thought by making a post on 2ner I would of received better opportunities for higher pay but apparently things not working out that way.

And preferably asst manager ?

Ahahahahahahahaha

Wake up from that dream son

Postby Gem_in_i » July 6th, 2016, 8:54 am

You have high expectations and you only have cxc.

Postby tr1ad » July 6th, 2016, 8:57 am

Easy to get for someone with further studies and experience ....

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 6th, 2016, 9:49 am

Nic098 wrote:I think allyuh getting carried away a little bit. When I say good pay.. I not looking for 10,000$ a month inno. A little 5-6k will be sufficient & that is very easy to get however I thought by making a post on 2ner I would of received better opportunities for higher pay but apparently things not working out that way.

Yeah I know you won't get the response you want from tuner but atleast you will get an honest response here. Like Hustla ambition said, there are people with masters degree out here who not even making that kinda money you calling.

Infact with the current economy with businesses closing down all over and qualified and experienced people being sent home by the hundreds I would go as far as saying there are folks with masters degrees who would be lucky to even find employment. Sometimes you see an ad and you apply, but little do you know over a hundred people already applied for that position, thats the reality padner. On tuner you would get a realistic answer and thats the important thing.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on July 6th, 2016, 9:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » July 6th, 2016, 9:51 am

I think these kids that coming out of school now have a very unrealistic expectation of available jobs and pay they will get. Boy will they be in for a surprise. The places where you start off at 5-6k, you not getting in just so without a link. And majority of them want nice office jobs with no physical labour, when the physical labour part is where the money is now because everybody want AC office now.

Postby maj. tom » July 6th, 2016, 9:51 am

well look you're getting experience now about the reality vs. highschool fairytale expectations of real life job market.

Assistant manager to what? sharpening pencils? looking up words in the dictionary? copying homework? What experience you even have to manage something?

What you're really looking for is a relative in a government ministry.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 6th, 2016, 10:09 am

And to add to that what employers are doing now is scrapping all those redundant assistant manager roles and making the manager do the extra work himself. If you ask an IT guy for example almost all of them will tell you that in Trinidad one IT guy has to do the work of an entire team now. Employers won't hire an extra man and pay $6K to assist, HA! not in this lifetime.

Employers are in a very good position right now and bet your bottom dollar they gonna take full advantage of that. OP mentions a secretary job but in reality he ain't getting that in this lifetime, those positions are reserved for young good looking women who can really sharpening the employer's "pencil"

Kronik

Postby Kronik » July 6th, 2016, 10:29 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:And to add to that what employers are doing now is scrapping all those redundant assistant manager roles and making the manager do the extra work himself. If you ask an IT guy for example almost all of them will tell you that in Trinidad one IT guy has to do the work of an entire team now. Employers won't hire an extra man and pay $6K to assist, HA! not in this lifetime.

Employers are in a very good position right now and bet your bottom dollar they gonna take full advantage of that. OP mentions a secretary job but in reality he ain't getting that in this lifetime, those positions are reserved for young good looking women who can really sharpening the employer's "pencil"

good example of this, a certain hotel in POS had 1 IT manager and 1 IT technician, and they fired the manager and left the IT tech alone, for the whole hotel

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » July 6th, 2016, 10:59 am

Bro, listen im in the exact same situation, however 2 years of experience has taught me, never give up and apply wherever you wish.

You may/may not get through but dont sit down and do nothing.

I applied at mostly retail stores, tech stores, and even at the bank from 2015 and 2016

To tell you how bad things are right now with jobs, even Massy temporary positions are filled because everyone looking for a small summer job.

I asked at TruValue and am yet to get a reply from anyone.

My advice bro, start small, your expectations are a bit high with 5k-6k a month, not even my family members working in teaching positions getting that tbh (new teachers ofc)

But while you apply and waiting, do something in the meanwhile, something your preferably good at so it wouldn't become a nuisance to you.

For example i started doing repairs for phones, laptops, desktop computers, and even some appliances and honestly that is working out very well, in a good month i can make about 1k-2k in profit.

The main thing is , dont give up , apply at multiple places that you like, and in the meanwhile do something to keep yourself occupied (productively ofc)

You never know bro, because i got through with a temp job as I.T tech at a school for a summer vacation period, and i have no official certificates for doing that sort of work. Just self taught and trained by a few, more experienced than myself.

Good luck man!

Postby nervewrecker » July 6th, 2016, 6:52 pm

Assistant manager yes, now read that.
Op living in the same dream world as some of them penal convent girls.
This one telling me how some bar in grand bazaar call her about a position and she starting so and so date. It's assistant manager but she has to work as a floor waitress for a week first.

No experience, just finish school, living deep south, have only cxc, can't even drive but you gunna be assistant manager.
More like a neverseecomesee waitress for man to bull.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » July 6th, 2016, 7:03 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Assistant manager yes, now read that.
Op living in the same dream world as some of them penal convent girls.
This one telling me how some bar in grand bazaar call her about a position and she starting so and so date. It's assistant manager but she has to work as a floor waitress for a week first.

No experience, just finish school, living deep south, have only cxc, can't even drive but you gunna be assistant manager.
More like a neverseecomesee waitress for nerve to bull.

Fixed