Swimming with Killer whales of T&T north coast.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 2nd, 2016, 9:54 pm

The Raven

Re: Swimming with Killer whales of T&T north coast.

Postby The Raven » July 2nd, 2016, 10:09 pm

White people either local or not, just different.

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » July 2nd, 2016, 10:33 pm

No friggin way!!! :shock:

baigan

Postby baigan » July 2nd, 2016, 10:42 pm

Damn what an amazing experience : ) wish i can try that someday

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » July 2nd, 2016, 11:15 pm

That's really cool, but not friggin me that thing look like it could bite off a mans head.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 2nd, 2016, 11:48 pm

Looks like a dolphin and not an orca. But I'm no marine biologist though.

Postby SMc » July 3rd, 2016, 3:45 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Looks like a dolphin and not an orca. But I'm no marine biologist though.

You cant have looked at the same vid as me because that was definitly a killer whale...

Postby Morpheus » July 3rd, 2016, 6:20 am

Definitely Killer Whale-ish. Well at least that black and white colour scheme. Maybe a lil calf? I dunno...

Postby meccalli » July 3rd, 2016, 6:45 am

From what I remember, they were pretty small bodied. Most likely morphotypes of type b or d.
https://swfsc.noaa.gov/uploadedImages/D ... jpg?n=1491

Postby K74T » July 3rd, 2016, 7:12 am

Neat

baigan

Postby baigan » July 3rd, 2016, 7:16 am

Yep its an orca (killerwhale)

There are dolphins that look a lot like orcas as well but smaller in size such as the hourglass dolphin (Lagenorhynchus cruciger)

The commerson dolphin

Southern right whale dolphin

The false killer whale
Also a type of dolphin

Pacific white-sided dolphins

Etc

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » July 3rd, 2016, 9:19 am

You can tell orcas by their dorsal fins which is similar to a 90deg triangle. In the video u can clearly see one in the pod had a high vertical dorsal fin. The one he caught on camera underwater was a calf, probably why it was inquisitive. An a adult might have been an another outcome.

By the way orcas are actually Dolphins, the largest in the species.

baigan

Re: RE: Swimming with Killer whales of T&T north coast.

Postby baigan » July 3rd, 2016, 9:27 am

lostboys crew wrote:You can tell orcas by their dorsal fins which is similar to a 90deg triangle. In the video u can clearly see one in the pod had a high vertical dorsal fin. The one he caught on camera underwater was a calf, probably why it was inquisitive. An a adult might have been an another outcome.

By the way orcas are actually Dolphins, the largest in the species.

Yep ^ agree fully : )

And yep they belong to the dolphin family : )

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 3rd, 2016, 2:00 pm

Definitely look like a killer whale to me

Postby shogun » July 3rd, 2016, 4:47 pm

^Yup, same here.

Awesome. Saw dolphins and glimpses of pilots, but never Orcas.

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » July 3rd, 2016, 10:44 pm

video from 2015 tho..

Postby Dizzy28 » July 4th, 2016, 8:51 am

Yea having seen the screen shots/freeze frame I recant my previous assertion.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 4th, 2016, 1:26 pm

Media Graphics Ltd. wrote:video from 2015 tho..
apparently lots of ppl didnt see it back then

Postby Redman » July 4th, 2016, 4:10 pm

Well done breds,
throw some chum and small fish in to break the gas...

then jump in for the main course...
:D :D :D

Take win...

aka

Postby aka » July 12th, 2016, 2:05 pm

note to self: when u liming wit ah wite bwoy and he say "i think it would be a good idea to..."
thas ur key to melt!

moving

Postby moving » July 12th, 2016, 2:28 pm

i dont think they has even been a case of orcas attacking ppl in the wild. only in captivity

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » July 14th, 2016, 6:48 am

Killer whales will only eat u if they dont like your vibes.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » July 14th, 2016, 10:26 am

bluesclues wrote:Killer whales will only eat u if they dont like your vibes.
Last edited by Trinispougla on July 14th, 2016, 10:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » July 14th, 2016, 10:29 am

bluesclues wrote:Killer whales will only eat u if they dont like your vibes.

reel talk

Postby Rovin » October 23rd, 2023, 5:40 pm

Trinidad Express Newspapers

KILLER WHALES IN THE GULF OF PARIA

Update on the Killer Whales or Orcas:
"I have been able to confirm that this is indeed a small pod of Orcas. I have also been in contact with the individuals who took the photos. The Trinidad and Tobago Marine Mammal Stranding Network, of which I am a member, confirms they are Orcas and that Orcas have been known to inhabit the waters around T&T. It is not unheard of." - ERIC MACKIE

https://www.facebook.com/photo?fbid=712 ... 8544263686

Postby paid_influencer » October 23rd, 2023, 5:49 pm

the whales should go away. 1. because they are scary and 2. because the fish are polluted not safe to eat

Postby Rovin » October 23rd, 2023, 6:18 pm

u mean they shud ride out asap b4 trini pests try to kill dem & eat dem ...

death365

Postby death365 » October 23rd, 2023, 6:50 pm

Should call the Japanese for them....

For research purposes only of course

Postby meccalli » October 23rd, 2023, 7:18 pm

They like eating turtles so..

Postby pugboy » October 23rd, 2023, 8:30 pm

and sharks