Brexit....

Re: Brexit....

Postby Redman » July 23rd, 2019, 10:34 am

88sins wrote:is it just me, or does anyone else find he look like a slightly smarter, not as much comb over UK version of America's Donald Dump?

Bad hair decade for NATO leadership

screwbash

Postby screwbash » July 23rd, 2019, 3:41 pm

rowlee shud resign too for the fake oil, emailgate, petrotrin ,cj and other foot in mouth episodes. put stuart yung pm. leh ah chinee run the cuntry.

Postby 88sins » July 23rd, 2019, 8:10 pm

screwbash wrote:rowlee shud resign too for the fake oil, emailgate, petrotrin ,cj and other foot in mouth episodes. put stuart yung pm. leh ah chinee run the cuntry.

so you wanna downgrade from an inept toolum headed moron to an inept clueless nitwit

sounds like a plan. not a good plan, but a plan all the same

screwbash

Postby screwbash » July 24th, 2019, 5:12 am

screwbash wrote:rowlee shud resign too for the fake oil, emailgate, petrotrin ,cj and other foot in mouth episodes. put stuart yung pm. leh ah chinee run the cuntry.

so you wanna downgrade from an inept toolum headed moron to an inept clueless nitwit

ha ha ha ha. leh we give ah chinee ah chance, we give ah indian and ah negro ah chance already, we even give ah woman a chance and all make a mess. time for a chinee/syrian/vene/ even ah sabga or aboud ah chance.

Postby 88sins » July 24th, 2019, 6:52 am

screwbash wrote:

ha ha ha ha. leh we give ah chinee ah chance, we give ah indian and ah negro ah chance already, we even give ah woman a chance and all make a mess. time for a chinee/syrian/vene/ even ah sabga or aboud ah chance.

son, whoever want a chance, let them buy a ticket from NLCB. This is a nation's wefare we talking about here, this is nothing you want to leave to "chance" that he might do some good. Particularly since he is already an integral part of an administration that has been proven to at least some extent to be rife with corruption. So it'd be safe to assume that he's already been contaminated by greed, nepotism, corruption etc.

killing the old cobra cuz he bite you & giving a mappepire a chance cuz he eh bite you yet ain't the approach you want to take here.

Postby Ben_spanna » July 24th, 2019, 12:33 pm

Trinidad has to follow suit...……… who do we have locally that looks the most like a trumpster??? LOL!

Postby SMc » July 24th, 2019, 2:20 pm

screwbash wrote:

I surprised to see people still think that way- with that mentality we will never get anywhere and for those asking for a Chinese leader dont forget the part Hochoy played back in the day and the importance he played being the first non-white GG before and after Independence- anyway carry on with the racial/political/ sexist bashing so we can all feel better about what we contribute to the country on a daily basis.

Postby hydroep » July 24th, 2019, 2:29 pm

Actually Boris channeling Sh!tkicker — he say "...the buck stops here", and we all know how that turned out.

https://news.sky.com/story/never-mind-backstop-the-buck-stops-here-pm-johnson-takes-on-brexit-in-first-speech-11769701

The UK is screwed...:lol:

screwbash

Postby screwbash » July 24th, 2019, 2:52 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:Trinidad has to follow suit...……… who do we have locally that looks the most like a trumpster??? LOL!

basdeo panday
190722153639-trump-oval-office-bilat-07222019-large-169.jpg
190722153639-trump-oval-office-bilat-07222019-large-169.jpg (15.71 KiB) Viewed 4337 times
download.jpg
download.jpg (7.12 KiB) Viewed 4337 times

Postby hydroep » August 28th, 2019, 10:40 am

Who say is only Trini have bacchanal...

Parliament to be suspended in September

Parliament will be suspended just days after MPs return to work in September - and only a few weeks before the Brexit deadline.

Boris Johnson said a Queen's Speech would take place after the suspension, on 14 October, to outline his "very exciting agenda".

But it means the time MPs have to pass laws to stop a no-deal Brexit on 31 October would be cut.

House of Commons Speaker John Bercow said it was a "constitutional outrage".

The speaker, who does not traditionally comment on political announcements, continued: "However it is dressed up, it is blindingly obvious that the purpose of [suspending Parliament] now would be to stop [MPs] debating Brexit and performing its duty in shaping a course for the country."

Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn said: "Suspending Parliament is not acceptable, it is not on. What the prime minister is doing is a smash and grab on our democracy to force through a no deal," he said.

He said when MPs return to the Commons next Tuesday, "the first thing we'll do is attempt legislation to prevent what [the PM] is doing", followed by a vote of no confidence "at some point".

But US President Donald Trump tweeted his support for Mr Johnson, saying it "would be very hard" for Mr Corbyn to seek a no-confidence vote against the PM, "especially in light of the fact that Boris is exactly what the UK has been looking for"...

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-politics-49493632

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 26th, 2019, 4:03 pm

ouch

Postby maj. tom » November 3rd, 2019, 2:58 pm

UK General Elections called for 12 Dec 2019. Last GE was June 2017 and Theresa May was elected as PM.

Johnson's time now.
Brexit will claim another.

Postby hydroep » November 3rd, 2019, 3:54 pm

Farage sitting this one out which is probably a strategic move as he's a polarising figure.

Very interested to see how the Brexit party does at the polls though.

Postby hydroep » December 12th, 2019, 6:07 pm

Exit polls indicate a majority Government for Boris Johnson and the Conservatives....:|

Postby maj. tom » December 12th, 2019, 6:27 pm

Brexit will eventually topple Boris Johnson too. Conservatives have been in power too long in the UK. I hearing talk about a Labour Party coalition.

If not, well watch how fast Labour Party going to kick out their failed leader Jeremy Corbyn now. That's 2 general elections he lost.

Postby The_Honourable » December 12th, 2019, 7:15 pm

He gained seats to boot which means a majority in the House of Commons in order to pass bills so Brexit will happen.

Postby matr1x » December 12th, 2019, 7:47 pm

Labor is actively playing down the terrorist attacks recently. They are condoning and may even be providing sanctuary

Postby hydroep » December 12th, 2019, 9:43 pm

LOL..panelist refer to Boris Johnson and his team as "all tip and no iceberg" yes...:lol:

Eh go lie eh, listening to the English analyze their results is refreshing and a far cry from the dog two-twoery that does pass for intelligent discussion down here.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 12th, 2019, 10:05 pm

This Brexit thing still going on?

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » December 13th, 2019, 2:09 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:This Brexit thing still going on?

The people voted for it again, Boris will make it happen now with his sizeable majority.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » December 13th, 2019, 3:04 am

Just asking
so after they leave the EU could i go there and say i discovered UK; Rob them of all their treasures and call all their inhabitants savages . put up the trinidad flag and call them a colony of trinidad .

Postby matr1x » December 13th, 2019, 3:50 am

Labor is the party of freeness.

The tory is party of penises

And the terrorists jamming still

Postby maj. tom » December 13th, 2019, 9:12 am

Same thing i said:

Jeremy Corbyn resignation: Labour leader announces plans to step down as party suffers major election defeat
https://www.standard.co.uk/news/politic ... 12491.html

The day after elections!!!! Why Kamla couldn't do the same? How come UK leaders have such high regard and standard for the people they serve? But TT politicians want to take the power to their graves.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 13th, 2019, 9:20 am

maj. tom wrote:Same thing i said:

Jeremy Corbyn resignation: Labour leader announces plans to step down as party suffers major election defeat
https://www.standard.co.uk/news/politic ... 12491.html

The day after elections!!!! Why Kamla couldn't do the same? How come UK leaders have such high regard and standard for the people they serve? But TT politicians want to take the power to their graves.

3rd parties stand a chance there, even if never winning outright they can make kings via coalitions for the seats they do have.

Our two party system and the fact that a certain % of the electorate on both sides refuses to vote anything but tribal basically allows for only two parties to thrive so the losing leader can stay as long as they like.

Postby hydroep » December 13th, 2019, 9:32 am

From what the commentators were saying the UK has an unofficial "two GE losses in a row" criteria for party leaders. The first loss can be chalked up to a fluke, bad luck etc. so the leader is given a bligh. But two losses in a row says something more about your (failing) leadership and so the honourable thing to do is step down. (And If it was bad luck again then yuh blight and should leave anyway...:lol:).

So by that metric next year's GE is Kams' last chance and should step down if/when she loses.

Postby maj. tom » December 13th, 2019, 9:50 am

That is a tradition for Opposition leaders. Kamla has already been PM and given a chance to lead the country. It is tradition in the UK that once your term as PM is up and you lost the elections you will step down. The country thanks you, the Queens offers a peerage in the House of Lords, and you coast the rest of your life living sweet in retirement.

The reason is obvious: the country voted OUT an existing leader because they were not happy and policies failed. There is no way that failed leader can come back 5 years later with the same policies and practices as leader. And that is exactly what Kamla is doing. That is why no one will vote for Kamla again because she had her chance! And got voted OUT, not in again. You think I want to vote back Kamla so she can do the exact same BS as her last term? You all were happy with that corruption? So we going backward then? Why she couldn't take examples of other female PMs (if you want to play the feminism card) like Margaret Thatcher and Theresa May? What they did after they lost elections?

So if she cannot see that she must step down for the good of the future of the country then she is very selfish and it says more about her character than anything Rowley wants to say.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 13th, 2019, 9:58 am

maj. tom wrote:That is a tradition for Opposition leaders. Kamla has already been PM and given a chance to lead the country. It is tradition in the UK that once your term as PM is up and you lost the elections you will step down. The country thanks you, the Queens offers a peerage in the House of Lords, and you coast the rest of your life living sweet in retirement.

The reason is obvious: the country voted OUT an existing leader because they were not happy and policies failed. There is no way that failed leader can come back 5 years later with the same policies and practices as leader. And that is exactly what Kamla is doing. That is why no one will vote for Kamla again because she had her chance! And got voted OUT, not in again. You think I want to vote back Kamla so she can do the exact same BS as her last term? You all were happy with that corruption? So we going backward then? Why she couldn't take examples of other female PMs (if you want to play the feminism card) like Margaret Thatcher and Theresa May? What they did after they lost elections?

So if she cannot see that she must step down for the good of the future of the country then she is very selfish and it says more about her character than anything Rowley wants to say.

Its not a Kamla problem its a Trinidad leadership problem.
Panday never stepped down despite losing 1991, 2001 (Robinson enforced), 2002 and 2007.
Manning never stepped down despite two successive defeats in 1995 and 2000 and the draw in 2001 and grudgingly only left after the defeat in 2010.

Time will tell if ole sheitlickers will step down

Postby hydroep » December 13th, 2019, 10:24 am

^Understood. But Patrick Manning lost elections in 1995 and 2000 but went on to secure the Prime Ministership on technical grounds in 2001 and thereafter fought two successful elections (2002, 2007) until his ousting in 2010.

All that to say there is precedence in our system for failed leaders living to fight another day.

Shouldn't Kamla be given the same opportunity or are we saying she is to be judged by a different standard?..:|

Postby zoom rader » December 13th, 2019, 10:26 am

hydroep wrote:^Understood. But Patrick Manning lost elections in 1995 and 2000 but went on to secure the Prime Ministership on technical grounds in 2001 and thereafter fight two successful elections (2002, 2007) until his ousting in 2010.

All that to say there is precedence in our system for failed leaders living to fight another day.

Shouldn't Kamla be given the same opportunity or are we saying she is to be judged by a different standard?..:|
The people that call for kams to step down are pro PNM pretending to be unc

Postby hydroep » December 13th, 2019, 10:39 am

hydroep wrote:^Understood. But Patrick Manning lost elections in 1995 and 2000 but went on to secure the Prime Ministership on technical grounds in 2001 and thereafter fight two successful elections (2002, 2007) until his ousting in 2010.

The people that call for kams to step down are pro PNM pretending to be unc

The thing is Manning was a sitting Prime Minister when he lost in 1995 eh. According to what is being proffered he should have stepped down then. I would hate to think some double standard is being applied to Kams...:|