On the issue of harbouring Pornographic materials locally...

Re: On the issue of harbouring Pornographic materials locally...

Postby redmanjp » May 29th, 2023, 7:49 pm

adnj wrote:
redmanjp wrote:well its clear that that is some fly by night school that doesn't have any policies whatsoever wrt internet access- free for all it is.

Are the users 18 years and over or under 18 years? There is no necessary policy for internet obscenity for adults. The burden is on the adult.

If the users are under 18, a simple change to the DNS is all that it takes.

if the porn viewing is so rampant it affecting network speed/access they going to ignore that? aside from the fact that students not doing their work- and also u may have female students or even some male students who also not comfortable with it. age of the students viewing is clearly not the only concern here.

and yes they can do OPENDNS or something like that but as i said it appears it is a free for all- neither network policies nor instructor intervention existed.

Postby paid_influencer » May 29th, 2023, 8:31 pm

The_Honourable wrote:The letter further details unethical behaviours displayed by officers (whose names were sealed) towards victims, including one officer who tried to form inappropriate friendships with victims and later joined the online rings on his personal cellular devices. Another actively participated in the rings, posted photos of himself in police attire while holding guns.

d fuq

Postby adnj » May 29th, 2023, 8:56 pm

DMan7 wrote:
adnj wrote:
redmanjp wrote:well its clear that that is some fly by night school that doesn't have any policies whatsoever wrt internet access- free for all it is.

Are the users 18 years and over or under 18 years? There is no necessary policy for internet obscenity for adults. The burden is on the adult.

OpenDNS content filtering is not 100% effective. The best tool to preventing students from going on undesirable websites is proper supervision either from teachers or parents. All these half measures doesn't solve anything.
redmanjp wrote:
adnj wrote:

if the porn viewing is so rampant it affecting network speed/access they going to ignore that? aside from the fact that students not doing their work- and also u may have female students or even some male students who also not comfortable with it. age of the students viewing is clearly not the only concern here.

and yes they can do OPENDNS or something like that but as i said it appears it is a free for all- neither network policies nor instructor intervention existed.
I'm really not the one that will ever show much pedagogical patience to a student that chooses to be a problem. You get one or two chances - then someone new gets your spot in the program.

Postby The_Honourable » May 29th, 2023, 9:13 pm

Express article from March

Sex predator network

...Child porn, explicit images of young women being shared

Sex predators in Trinidad and Tobago have formed more than 100 networking groups through which child pornography and thousands of explicit images of young women are being shared amongst themselves.

The groups have been created and recreated by abusers on various online platforms such as WhatsApp, Twitter, Telegram, MeWe and Discord for the purpose of distributing intimate images and videos of children and young women.

And the number of these groups has doubled since 2020.

Groups titled “No limit teens”, “Young girls’ videos”, “active leaks, active nudes” and “Trinidad Candid Creepshots” were shared with the Sunday Express.

Within these groups explicit videos of children and young women stored on multiple Google Drives and one drive folder are being shared, according to the Humanitarian Foundation for Positive Social Change, a local NGO that has infiltrated a number of these groups using a Samsung A70 device since 2020.

Images and videos of child pornography are designated as “box-lunch” or “trini-porn” and are available to the public, according to foundation members, who asked anonymity for fear of being targeted.

Footage showing schoolchildren in Trinidad and Tobago undressing themselves, videos and images of a female pupil dressed in school uniform performing oral sex on a male pupil, also dressed in school uniform, and a full video of two adults engaging in sex acts in the presence of a child are among a number of disturbing-content videos being circulated within these groups.

Some groups, including the “Candid Creepshots” group, are also uploading photos of random women on the nation’s streets, taking up-skirt photos and sharing these among themselves.

Photographs of the faces, chests and buttocks of teens and women using public transportation, in stores, or walking have been sexualised in these forums.

Polls taken within the group ask members the ways in which the victims should be sexualised.

Plans within this particular group have been made to carry out a similar exercise with photos of children in uniform called “high school candid”.

Recordings of these interactions were shared with the Sunday Express. In examining the screenshots sent by the foundation, the Sunday Express found that people engaging in these groups were sharing images of the social media profiles of unwitting young women, asking for exchanges or trades, or whether other members possessed explicit content generated from them.

And among other things found by the foundation within these groups are advertisements of Venezuelan women engaging in sex acts with accompanying contacts, sexual videos and images of female prisoners in prison and sexual images and videos showing gang sexual activity with women.

“It is unclear if the woman consented to the said activity with multiple partners. However, it is being shared in a manner to ridicule the woman, for sexual gratification and for exploitation purposes (financial gain),” it said.

According to the foundation, these groups operate daily and prey on teenagers under the age of 18.

Some groups, it said, have been operating since 2016.

The number of perpetrators are in the thousands, the group estimates. One profile attached to one of these groups depicted himself as a police officer, in one photo dressed in what appeared to be Trinidad and Tobago Police Service (TTPS)-branded attire, and in another holding a weapon.

The foundation last week responded to the Sunday Express’ expose on the prevalence of child grooming perpetrated by adult men on social media platforms.

In a matter of hours, the fake profile of 15-year-old Selina Ali created by the Sunday Express was met with hundreds of messages from adult men that ranged from disturbing to odd.

The fake profile had been subjected to explicit imagery from one adult male who claimed to be a plumber, at least one photo of self-harm, and a number of others attempting to meet with the child, incur information about her whereabouts and family life, or call or video-chat with her.

“U like it, U like it, U want to see the next one, How is ur butt small or big, Show urs too,” wrote the 22-year-old man after sharing a nude photo of himself with the profile.

Group chairman, 25-year-old lawyer Samira Sooklal told the Sunday Express last week that our attempt had accurately depicted the reality of child grooming online.

A report compiled by the group last week noted that in addition to the prevalence of child pornography, members of these groups had also engaged in an aspect of grooming and predatory behaviour towards children.

Some, it said, had harvested data on children through social media, sharing usernames, locations and identifying details with one another.

No police reaction

But according to the foundation, reports made by victims to the TTPS were met with little to no response.

“Based on our organisation’s research and discoveries, these online pornography rings have been in existence from as early as the year 2016, and were reported by various teenagers and university students to the police throughout the years.”

“Many victims have expressed that their reports were ignored, and they did not receive citizens’ receipts. Some who successfully made reports got no update on any investigation being conducted,” the group said last week.

Without a local police-initiated investigation into the matter, the group says it has since been advocating for the TTPS’ involvement between October 2021 and August 2022.

Twenty-five victims of these online pornography rings (ranging from 19 to 28 years old) were assisted, it said, with six victims of child pornography having made police statements.

In its report to the Sunday Express, the foundation said that with a delay of the passing of the Cybercrime Bill (2017) and Sexual Voyeurism (Sexual Offences (Amendment) (No 3) Bill (2021), victims were unprotected by local criminal laws and, as a result, were left to seek redress through civil action.

“Victims have indicated that they are consistently stalked, harassed and blackmailed as a result of these online rings or online sex trade, and some live in continuous fear for their safety and are traumatised and/or re-traumatised by their daily victimisation. Police officers also refuse to investigate matters which are not accounted for in criminal legislation and have expressly indicated the same to our organisation,” the group said.

The TTPS Cybercrime Unit, it said, currently lacks the technology required to investigate such matters.

However, even without appropriate technological support, the foundation added, investigations into these issues were not impossible.

“The individual testimonials and the evidence of victims who come forward are sufficient to start a criminal matter before the courts with respect to offence of child pornography under the Children Act (Chap 46:01). The TTPS can apply for warrants to obtain certain evidence on certain social media accounts and group chats from the different social media companies.

“The TTPS can request assistance from other police departments in the countries where the social media companies were incorporated. The TTPS can establish a task force and perform ‘sting operations’ to investigate the phenomena themselves,” it said.

TTPS in need of investment

Speaking with the Sunday Express last week, attorney and chairman of the Caribbean Community Against Sex Crimes Jonathan Bhagan said no studies on sexual grooming or human trafficking have taken place in Trinidad and Tobago.

Despite this, he said given the Caribbean’s high rape rates, the phenomenon of child online grooming was likely rampant.

Bhagan said the TTPS was in need of “significant” investments for technical skills to aid in dealing with issues of child sexual abuse online.

He said he had previously recommended a foreign consultant which could assist the Police Service in its technical endeavours to Cabinet ministers within the current administration.

However, he said the offer was refused.

In addition, he had previously advocated for the development of a global sex offender registry that did not receive support from the Government, he said.

“The TTPS cannot even manage its database effectively as the AFIS/Certificate of Character system crashes regularly. I offered Cabinet ministers in the PNM to bring in a foreign consultant in the form of a US-based company to assist the TTPS, but this offer was refused.

“I also pioneered a project that could reduce sexual grooming online for the whole world if implemented in partner countries, but have not gotten support from the sitting government. It is called the global sex offenders registry and was featured on Fox News in 2020, it would monitor registered sex offenders on social media so that if an American sex offender messages a T&T child on Snapchat, the communication can be monitored,” he said.

In T&T, the online Sex Offenders Registry went live in February.

It names 16 men, and gives the details of their crime, age, location and aliases.

Humanitarian Foundation working to make a difference

The Humanitarian Foundation for Positive Social Change comprises various professionals in the fields of law, business, IT and social work who have come together to make a difference in the local community.

In its report sent to the Sunday Express last week, the foundation stated its aims as the addressing of and advocating against gender-based violence (GBV).

It has a designated social work department, as well as a legal aid clinic that offers social support and subsidised legal services to clients.

Having helped dozens, the group says it works directly alongside the National Domestic Violence Unit, the Judiciary’s Domestic Violence Response Unit, and the Child Protection and Gender-Based Violence Unit of the TTPS.

“So far, we have assisted various families, including children and women in need in our community. We have built an international connection with an organisation in the United Kingdom, FiLiA (a woman-led volunteer organisation) where we consistently contribute to various discussions on women and child rights around the world,” it said.

“We are also a part of a Caribbean and Latin America committee of organisations for Meta Platforms Inc (Facebook, Instagram and Whatsapp) wherein we directly communicate with policy makers and regional managers of the company to enforce community guidelines in online abuse situations that occur locally and regionally. We are also directly able to directly request certain reports and information from Meta pertaining to such situations,” said the foundation.

Legal protection

In Trinidad and Tobago, the creation, copying, publishing, distribution, transmission, purchase, exchange or showing of child pornography is outlawed in Section 40 of the Children’s Act.

The act states that should any of Section 40’s subsections be violated, the offender is liable, on conviction on indictment, to a fine of $30,000 and to imprisonment for ten years.

Additionally, Section 41 states that a person who intentionally exposes a child or causes a child to be exposed to pornography commits an offence and is liable, on summary conviction, to a fine of $5,000 and to imprisonment for nine months; or upon conviction on indictment, to a fine of $30,000 and to imprisonment for five years.

The Sunday Express was, however, told by the foundation that despite this, the TTPS was not actively investigating the presence of child pornography discovered in these groups.

We contacted the TTPS corporate communications channel and its Cybercrime Unit via e-mail on Friday to ask about their knowledge of online pornography rings.

No response was received.

Issues such as revenge porn and image abuse, however, remain unlegislated in Trinidad and Tobago, with the exception of the Sexual Offences (Amendment) Bill, No 3, 2021, which has not been passed by Parliament.

The act was introduced by the then-attorney general and minister of legal affairs Faris Al-Rawi in the Senate on December 7, 2021. It sought to insert four new sections that would address voyeurism, the taking and sharing of intimate images without consent, sharing of intimate images, and compensation and rectification.

The Parliament website shows that a Senate committee report has been laid.

But advocates told the Sunday Express the bill had been poorly drafted and could not be passed into law until “fixed”.

United States by comparison

In the United States, the production, distribution, reception and possession of child pornography are prohibited by federal law.

The US Code Title 18. Crimes and Criminal Procedure sections 2251, 2252 and 2260 cover the sexual exploitation of children, activities relating to material involving the sexual exploitation of minors and the production of sexually explicit depictions of a minor for importation into the United States.

People who commit child pornography could face severe statutory penalties.

First-time offenders convicted of producing child pornography under 18 USC Section 2251 could face fines and a statutory minimum of 15 years to 30 years maximum in prison.

Should the offender have prior convictions or if the offences occur in aggravated situations where the imagery pursued are violent in nature or if the minor was sexually abused, the offender could potentially face life imprisonment.

All but two states (Massachusetts and South Carolina) have separate laws dealing with revenge pornography, which vary.

Source: https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... cb7d5.html

Postby paid_influencer » June 4th, 2023, 10:22 am

this is a good article thank you for posting it

And since then, she has lived in constant depression and fear, she said.

“He might not feel the embarrassment of it, but it is affecting me in every way possible. Since learning about the videos and him sharing it, when I got to know about it, I was devastated, I almost went into a depression. Someone pointed out to me, saying, ‘Look at the girl from the videos’.

“I was basically shut out. I could not eat or function. It messed me up to the point where I said I needed counselling because it affected me mentally. While I was working, the first video came out, and my HR manager saw it and said this is not the kind of thing I want for the company, so they let me go,” she said last week.

how is this legal. the woman is the victim of a crime and gets fired as a result

Postby adnj » June 4th, 2023, 10:43 am

paid_influencer wrote:

this is a good article thank you for posting it

And since then, she has lived in constant depression and fear, she said.

“He might not feel the embarrassment of it, but it is affecting me in every way possible. Since learning about the videos and him sharing it, when I got to know about it, I was devastated, I almost went into a depression. Someone pointed out to me, saying, ‘Look at the girl from the videos’.

“I was basically shut out. I could not eat or function. It messed me up to the point where I said I needed counselling because it affected me mentally. While I was working, the first video came out, and my HR manager saw it and said this is not the kind of thing I want for the company, so they let me go,” she said last week.

how is this legal. the woman is the victim of a crime and gets fired as a result

Huh?
1. If you are considered an at-will employee, your employer doesn't need a reason to fire you.
2. It was her porn to begin with. The leak of the images can't be illegal if there are no laws to preclude it.
3. Any digital media or messages that you create stand an excellent chance of being copied.

Postby paid_influencer » June 4th, 2023, 11:03 am

revenge porn is illegal in t&t, hth stink man

Postby adnj » June 4th, 2023, 11:25 am

paid_influencer wrote:revenge porn is illegal in t&t, hth stink man
Did the partner post all of the of the content on every site? If not, then no. The content is in the wild. Now it's a civil case, not criminal. And she's still lost her job because of poor personal choices.

Postby paid_influencer » June 4th, 2023, 11:31 am

adnj wrote:
Did the partner post all of the of the content on every site? If not, then no. The content is in the wild. Now it's a civil case, not criminal. And she's still lost her job because of poor personal choices.

your post have a real stink man vibes bro

you castigating to woman for sharing pictures in an intimate relationship but
-you would welcome said pictures
-you would jack off to said pictures
Last edited by paid_influencer on June 4th, 2023, 11:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 4th, 2023, 11:33 am

Sooo that woman wasn't aware that she was being recorded?

Postby adnj » June 4th, 2023, 11:44 am

DMan7 wrote:Sooo that woman wasn't aware that she was being recorded?

she had been manipulated into creating explicit ima­ges

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... afc19.html

Poor personal choices.

paid_influencer wrote:
adnj wrote:

your post have a real stink man vibes bro

you castigating to woman for sharing pictures in an intimate relationship but
-you would welcome said pictures
-you would jack off to said pictures

1. You make some relatively disturbing and vivid accusations.
2. She made poor personal choices.
3. Use a Polaroid and 8mm.
4. If you're going to act like an adult then be an adult.

You make poor personal choice on tuner every day. You take a position that you cannot adequately defend and then become agitated.
Last edited by adnj on June 4th, 2023, 11:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 4th, 2023, 11:46 am

How exactly was an adult manipulated into doing something like that? Does she have the feeble mind of a toddler?

Postby paid_influencer » June 4th, 2023, 11:49 am

incels unite

I done with this thread for now

Postby adnj » June 4th, 2023, 11:55 am

DMan7 wrote:How exactly was an adult manipulated into doing something like that? Does she have the feeble mind of a toddler?
When the adult lacks the ability to take responsibility and seeks to rationalize their actions in public - also known as "playing the victim."

Postby MaxPower » June 4th, 2023, 12:23 pm

Friends,

How many of us here have sent dick pics before?

Postby alfa » June 4th, 2023, 1:31 pm

MaxPower wrote:Friends,

How many of us here have sent dick pics before?

:shock: Max I never figured you to be in them slackness

Postby nervewrecker » June 4th, 2023, 1:32 pm

MaxPower wrote:Friends,

How many of us here have gotten dick pics before?

*Raises hand*

Postby aaron17 » June 4th, 2023, 1:33 pm

I didn't know it have tnt catch a predator on youtube.

Postby gastly369 » June 4th, 2023, 8:12 pm

Max "gabriel" power

*e-bounce

Postby Monk BANzai » June 6th, 2023, 1:14 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Express article from March

Sex predator network

...Child porn, explicit images of young women being shared

Sex predators in Trinidad and Tobago have formed more than 100 networking groups through which child pornography and thousands of explicit images of young women are being shared amongst themselves.

Source: https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... cb7d5.html

Very good article.. thanks for posting this....

Postby Rovin » June 6th, 2023, 6:26 pm

ent d popo have a cyber crime unit, are they allowed to shut down or remove some of these groups\content, orr dise not dey wuk or is some of dem self who contributing to this sort of thing ...

Postby Chimera » June 6th, 2023, 6:28 pm

Wha make u think cyber crime unit can shut down any of those things?

Postby Rovin » June 6th, 2023, 6:32 pm

as in dise not dey wuk, dont have d technical abilities or legally unable to ?

.... or all of d above ?

Postby paid_influencer » June 6th, 2023, 6:40 pm

whatsup have no legal presence on the island so idk if local authorities could charge them

but how these groups running when they clearly in violation of whatsup terms of service

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » June 6th, 2023, 7:38 pm

paid_influencer wrote:whatsup have no legal presence on the island so idk if local authorities could charge them

but how these groups running when they clearly in violation of whatsup terms of service
Can't really hold WhatsApp liable for anything since they don't store the photos themselves.

Could probably charge the people who *in* the groups though, especially since they phone numbers will be visible in WA.

Postby redmanjp » June 6th, 2023, 8:13 pm

^ charge who? whatsapp? u can charge someone for sending/sharing a picture/video. not sure about receiving cuz technically anyone can be added to a group without knowledge and pics/vids automatically received in said group. unless u have evidence they requested the pics/video. ttps can simply do what the NGO did by joining the groups covertly, record all numbers especially the ones who sharing, trace them to the account holder and location and seize their phone as evidence as well as other storage devices at home. not rocket science.

Postby Chimera » June 6th, 2023, 8:25 pm

Lol "ttps can simply" do all that ent.

Allyuh does watch too much tv

Postby redmanjp » June 6th, 2023, 9:01 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Lol "ttps can simply" do all that ent.

Allyuh does watch too much tv

the NGO already did that themselves! what so hard about joining and collecting phone numbers? anyone can do that with a phone u doh need no fancy surveillance software to do just that. then u will have to get warrants for their phone records and account holder details.
Last edited by redmanjp on June 6th, 2023, 9:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby paid_influencer » June 6th, 2023, 9:01 pm

it does seem simply enough. Every whatsup name has a publicly-visible phone number attached. Said phone number, if it starts with 868, is registered with one of the two local mobile telephony providers and would be associated to an ID card-verified full name and address. Police can even call the number and the phone will ring and somebody will answer hello good morning sita ram how are you