Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food in T&T?

Re: Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food? Lockdown recommendations needed

Postby pugboy » November 8th, 2021, 10:15 am

i think they make their roast pork by frying it to get crispy

crispy roast pork is very hit and miss everywhere

Re: Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food? Lockdown recommendations needed

Postby timelapse » November 8th, 2021, 12:29 pm

nick639v2 wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:I never had quan kep, and that name is synonymous with pork in trinidad.
They open a place in Couva, anyone try it yet?
That's the same ppl from by grand bazaar? If so, decent 7.5/10 for their roast pork the one time I had. The pudding tho ain't all that, better one could be found MC bean opposite the temple.
Original is in PTown

Postby De Dragon » November 9th, 2021, 5:06 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:I never had quan kep, and that name is synonymous with pork in trinidad.

Where in Couva?

Postby Dave » November 9th, 2021, 5:27 pm

Take the flyover lhs heading balmain
Lol a muslim giving directions where to find a pork shed lol.

Postby eliteauto » November 9th, 2021, 5:29 pm

Where in Couva?

When you come off the flyover and pass the roundabout heading to Balmain, it's the first yard on the left, so like a minute from the highway
menu.jpeg

Postby De Dragon » November 9th, 2021, 6:30 pm

eliteauto wrote:

Where in Couva?

When you come off the flyover and pass the roundabout heading to Balmain, it's the first yard on the left, so like a minute from the highway

Thanks eliteauto, I know where exactly that is. There is also a good fried chicken place in that same compound. Anyone has a number for that location? I want to know if they're opening today.

Postby X_Factor » November 9th, 2021, 8:18 pm

Adrian's grill foods in eldorado---next to captains bar...their lamb burger is really nice, you just have to tell them you want it cooked medium rare and even better with two patties
I believe they do their own patty so its not a filler down patty in a box

There is a place opposide to rockys plumbing/ corkys bar on southern main road...the guy there has some really nice jerk and bbq pork, chicken that is done from raw meat in a smoker style pit ( not steamed/burned with sauce)

Postby X_Factor » November 9th, 2021, 8:21 pm

Pudding lady in front of moosai hardware in eldorado is also pretty good
Just tell her to use a very little oil when she frying it up

Postby pugboy » November 9th, 2021, 9:00 pm

where is captains bar ?
close to modern electrical ?

the worst lamb burgers are the vashas ones
they shrink to nothing

X_Factor wrote:Adrian's grill foods in eldorado---next to captains bar...their lamb burger is really nice, you just have to tell them you want it cooked medium rare and even better with two patties

There is a place opposide to rockys plumbing/ corkys bar on southern main road...the guy there has some really nice jerk and bbq pork, chicken that is done from raw meat in a smoker style pit ( not steamed/burned with sauce)

Postby eliteauto » November 9th, 2021, 11:47 pm

Captains bar is a couple buildings east of Modern Electrical

Postby De Dragon » November 10th, 2021, 1:30 pm

pugboy wrote:where is captains bar ?
close to modern electrical ?

the worst lamb burgers are the vashas ones
they shrink to nothing

X_Factor wrote:Adrian's grill foods in eldorado---next to captains bar...their lamb burger is really nice, you just have to tell them you want it cooked medium rare and even better with two patties

I buy minced lamb and make my own. I personally find that they do shrink more than chicken/beef, so you have to make them thicker, but with minimal fillers

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » November 10th, 2021, 10:38 pm

These days if I making lamb burger I just grill a nice piece of lamb and put it in the buns, been getting some nice pieces from premium

Postby Dizzy28 » November 10th, 2021, 11:14 pm

Captains bar is on the corner of St Cecilia Road. That would place it west of Modern Electrical. The bar east of ME is Spektakula 4Rum I think
eliteauto wrote:Captains bar is a couple buildings east of Modern Electrical

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » November 20th, 2021, 4:37 am

Tasted South Pork about two weeks ago.....was great

Postby pugboy » November 20th, 2021, 9:31 am

yuh soak it down with the sauces?

Trinispougla wrote:Tasted South Pork about two weeks ago.....was great

Postby Chimera » November 20th, 2021, 11:31 am

all vasha burgers shrinking to nothing for a while now
guess as everything gone up in price they hadda cut the size

it have a woman in bamboo who sells chicken/lamb/beef/veggie samosas and raw chicken/lamb/beef burgers

always taste great and the burgers is good size

i might go buy some later and post a pic of what they look like

next to speedy garage/opposite bobbys

Postby Kenjo » November 20th, 2021, 11:37 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:all vasha burgers shrinking to nothing for a while now
guess as everything gone up in price they hadda cut the size

it have a woman in bamboo who sells chicken/lamb/beef/veggie samosas and raw chicken/lamb/beef burgers

always taste great and the burgers is good size

i might go buy some later and post a pic of what they look like

next to speedy garage/opposite bobbys

Quarantine finished ? Glad you had a speedy recovery

Postby Chimera » November 20th, 2021, 3:05 pm

Yup my 14 days done yesterday

I was gonna pay and do a pcr but was told it don't make sense because I could get a false positive.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » November 20th, 2021, 3:21 pm

pugboy wrote:yuh soak it down with the sauces?

Yeah........they rell flavorful

Postby Kenjo » November 20th, 2021, 3:28 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Yup my 14 days done yesterday

I was gonna pay and do a pcr but was told it don't make sense because I could get a false positive.

No symptoms though ? Ideally as you will be around so many people yeah you should do one just to be sure . The false positive would be more an antigen test versus pcr looking for actual shedding of the virus

Postby pugboy » November 20th, 2021, 5:48 pm

next time just order fries and soak it with sauces
same satisfaction

Trinispougla wrote:
pugboy wrote:yuh soak it down with the sauces?

Yeah........they rell flavorful

Postby Rovin » July 21st, 2022, 8:04 pm

Re: Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food in T&T?

Postby pugboy » July 21st, 2022, 8:53 pm

typical hammer and nail syndrome

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » July 21st, 2022, 9:42 pm

I would try it once honestly, it might be surprisingly good like an ice cream sandwich

Postby eliteauto » July 29th, 2022, 12:35 am

Hi looking for opinions on the pizzas from Aioli Marketplace and Kava, how do they compare to Buzo? I normally make my own but feeling to taste another "hand"

Postby pugboy » July 29th, 2022, 6:29 am

havent had buzo or kava in years

recently had aioli,
aioli is more of a hard rolled flat bread, their pizza is fully covered with pepperoni if you are a pepperoni lover, you cant see anything under all the pepperoni lol

If you in pos next week wednesday evening check me

eliteauto wrote:Hi looking for opinions on the pizzas from Aioli Marketplace and Kava, how do they compare to Buzo? I normally make my own but feeling to taste another "hand"

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » July 29th, 2022, 9:30 am

eliteauto wrote:Hi looking for opinions on the pizzas from Aioli Marketplace and Kava, how do they compare to Buzo? I normally make my own but feeling to taste another "hand"

I hearing good things about the guy near palmist san do. Since we did his stone oven I never even reach to eat na

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » July 29th, 2022, 9:58 am

Try Naafa's pizza. There are a few branches popping up in places. I know there are branches at chase village, debe and princes town

Postby rollingstock » July 29th, 2022, 10:05 am

Flame suit on. Aioli tastes like crix with tomato sauce and pepperoni.

But don't take my word, Cobo doesn't eat sponge cake

Postby gastly369 » July 29th, 2022, 11:06 am

Musical Doc wrote:Try Naafa's pizza. There are a few branches popping up in places. I know there are branches at chase village, debe and princes town
Tried the one in debe... Wasn't impressed... Will try again prob was just that day idk...