my boss say "his insurance only cover for Mt Hope

b14inb12

my boss say "his insurance only cover for Mt Hope

Postby b14inb12 » April 21st, 2016, 8:05 am

one of my co-worker got injured on site were his right was broken. they took him to mt hope but mt hope said that they can't do surgery now until the next two weeks. his parents took him to a private medical hospital and had it done.
after that the boss held meeting and blame us all for any accident that may happens to us, and said that his company insurance only covers for mt hope. so i get up and left the meeting laughing at that fool for a boss.
if i am paying for health surcharge what is his insurance paying for?
can some one help me with this, and explain what medical insurance covers

Re: my boss say "his insurance only cover for Mt Hope

Postby skylinechild » April 21st, 2016, 8:16 am

b14inb12 wrote:one of my co-worker got injured on site were his right was broken. they took him to mt hope but mt hope said that they can't do surgery now until the next two weeks. his parents took him to a private medical hospital and had it done.
after that the boss held meeting and blame us all for any accident that may happens to us, and said that his company insurance only covers for mt hope. so i get up and left the meeting laughing at that fool for a boss.
if i am paying for health surcharge what is his insurance paying for?
can some one help me with this, and explain what medical insurance covers

his right what was broken...hand...foot...toe....ribs....jaw...family jewel..???
heath surcharge is different than health insurance.

AFAIK health surcharge is a tax paid by all that goes to the upkeep of the hospitals etc. -- perhaps other more knowledgeable tuners can clarify...

health insurance is to cover unforeseen accidents that can happen....that require immediate medical attention -which is usually costs alot of $$$$$ to go thru with the medical procedure.

next time he gives you that filth that insurance is only covered at mt hope....get it in writing...also review your company health insurance plan -

gfbl

Postby gfbl » April 21st, 2016, 8:31 am

b14, are you certain your boss has a medical plan in place for you all? is it contributory or paid for by the employer? Who is the insurer? Get a schedule of benefits from the insurer/broker.

Postby pugboy » April 21st, 2016, 8:55 am

health surcharge is for govt hospitals
So technically boss right

Postby pete » April 21st, 2016, 9:05 am

If you have private health insurance you would need to know who it is provided by. When the procedure is done at the private institution you would have to get a claim form filled out and attach the bill to it to submit to them.

Private health insurance plans are not mandatory for companies to have an are actually a benefit. If he said the only place covered is Mt. Hope that probably means they do not have private health insurance.

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » April 21st, 2016, 10:26 am

HSE checking in. How was he injured? The company under OSHA has to foot the bill If they are negligent. Call OSH authority if doubtful. They can and will investigate

konartis

Postby konartis » April 21st, 2016, 11:17 am

Seek advice from the NIS office...he should be paying NIS contributions. Health surcharge...is not for this.

Postby 1UZFE » April 21st, 2016, 12:03 pm

Health surcharge is only a deduction which contributes to the "upkeep" of hospitals. As mentioned before company health plans is a benefit. If u dont hav a plan u hav to go to d hospital or pay your bills out of pocket.
Were his right really injured?

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » April 21st, 2016, 12:29 pm

1UZFE wrote:Health surcharge is only a deduction which contributes to the "upkeep" of hospitals. As mentioned before company health plans is a benefit. If u dont hav a plan u hav to go to d hospital or pay your bills out of pocket.
Were his right really injured?

Health surcharge is just another tax.... It adds to government total budget and doesn't go directly to hospitals

Mt hope is a public hospital bro.... Sounds like you don't actually have insurance

Health surcharge cost is a joke and even if you saved that money..... It won't even pay the smallest medical bill.

I think NHS exists partly due to UK citizens paying 200 pounds per month... And that goes directly into health sector. How much is our Trini health surcharge again?

Postby 1UZFE » April 21st, 2016, 12:31 pm

Thats why i had it in inverted commas. When u hear the term Health Surchage one would think it goes to the hospital.

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » April 21st, 2016, 12:36 pm

1UZFE wrote:Thats why i had it in inverted commas. When u hear the term Health Surchage one would think it goes to the hospital.

Most people don't realize that it goes into building roads, 100 houses per week/ train study/ minister's pocket etc

Postby 1UZFE » April 21st, 2016, 12:37 pm

Yup. Especially d last one.

b14inb12

Postby b14inb12 » April 21st, 2016, 12:57 pm

Thanks you guys for the info after reading what I see here I believe my boss is lieing to us, cause he said that he is paying insurance for us but it only covers Mt hope when asked who is the provided no answer

Postby 1UZFE » April 21st, 2016, 1:00 pm

Which company is this.?

Postby X_Factor » April 21st, 2016, 1:10 pm

check your pay slip it suppose to have your ....deductions

Postby BrotherHood » April 21st, 2016, 1:15 pm

it is the duty of the employer to provide a safe place of work and safe system of work. If the accident came out of negligence to either of the above on part of the employer, then the employer is liable for your medical bills.

b14inb12

Postby b14inb12 » April 21st, 2016, 5:53 pm

well boy this one take the cake, they pass round with a sheet asking for donation to contribute towards the boy medical bill. alot of us said NO cause the company says that they have insurance......... so why the lies
and i know it will end up to be a case of "HE WAS AT THE WRONG PLACE AT THE WRONG TIME"

Postby Ted_v2 » April 21st, 2016, 6:54 pm

go hospital, get medical reports, stay home with NIS and maybe part salary.

Postby pugboy » April 21st, 2016, 7:11 pm

Yeah that is how the "official" system supposed to work
Unfortunately it is not ideal and really a benefit more to no taxpayers

Maybe the public hospitals should give priority to those who show their annual tax slip

Ted_v2 wrote:go hospital, get medical reports, stay home with NIS and maybe part salary.

webb

Postby webb » April 21st, 2016, 7:45 pm

It is clear that he is not paying your dues go an check NIB etc etc

Postby 88sins » April 22nd, 2016, 6:25 am

if he was paying insurance for you all, you'd have part of the premiums deducted from your salary monthly, & there would be a schedule of benefits showing how much coverage you are available for. your employer talking how his insurance only provides coverage for if you go to a public hospital shows clearly you all are not insured.
First things first, go to NIB & make sure he paying your contributions for every week, it have some does deduct your part & don't pay anything.

Depending on the circumstances of how he was injured, if it was due to faulty equipment, employer negligence, etc, then your injured co worker might be able to find redress through filing a claim on the company's work-mans comp policy. If the company has one. If the company doesn't have such a policy then your co-worker's only other alternatives are to either try to reason with the employer' or let it get settled in the industrial court. I personally recommend the court.

if your friend needs a lawyer with skill in these types of matters send me a pm.

b14inb12

Postby b14inb12 » April 22nd, 2016, 7:12 am

88sins wrote:if he was paying insurance for you all, you'd have part of the premiums deducted from your salary monthly, & there would be a schedule of benefits showing how much coverage you are available for. your employer talking how his insurance only provides coverage for if you go to a public hospital shows clearly you all are not insured.
First things first, go to NIB & make sure he paying your contributions for every week, it have some does deduct your part & don't pay anything.

Depending on the circumstances of how he was injured, if it was due to faulty equipment, employer negligence, etc, then your injured co worker might be able to find redress through filing a claim on the company's work-mans comp policy. If the company has one. If the company doesn't have such a policy then your co-worker's only other alternatives are to either try to reason with the employer' or let it get settled in the industrial court. I personally recommend the court.

if your friend needs a lawyer with skill in these types of matters send me a pm.

thanks for the info
every thing you said is what happening at the company besides the NIS he is paying.
the insurance is all lies and the incident are the company negligence,
so i will talk to family first and get back to you.

Postby pete » April 22nd, 2016, 7:51 am

I'm pretty sure he'll settle for the cost of the bills if he is told they're going to the industrial court and OSH agency.

Postby skylinechild » April 22nd, 2016, 8:11 am

pete wrote:I'm pretty sure he'll settle for the cost of the bills if he is told they're going to the industrial court and OSH agency.

not sayin that the injured party shouldnt seek to have the employer pay his medical bills but why should the choice be "pay me or i goin to industrial court" - it makes it sound like the injured party accepting hush $$$

what is to prevent this from happening again in the future.???
if another employee gets injured on the job - god forbid -
what is goin to prevent another situation like this in happening in the future?

the next injured employee will be in the proverbial "same old khaki pants"

u think the boss is goin to say ' i nuh goin thru this again nuh" i goin to pay NIS etc.

fact is we have no way of knowing what will take place in the future however this has happened now.
what needs to be happening is some sort of action.

if done properly the company can be held liable for injury compensation, as well as failure to pay NIS health surcharge etc if found in breech.

Postby 88sins » April 23rd, 2016, 11:43 am

skyline is not only that it looks lije the injured party accepint hush money
the employer can spin it & say the incident was due to employee neglegence & he not responsible but he care about his employees so he helped him out by covering his medical costs, that won't be much because he went to a public health facility.

honestly, as far as I concerned, is only one option.
take him to court for medical costs & damages, & let NIB sort out the issue of his failure to pay contributions if applicable.

That's d only way to make sure he get the point that yuh cyah jus do dem kinda sheit & get away wid it & play wrong & strong

b14inb12

Postby b14inb12 » April 23rd, 2016, 12:43 pm

the issue here is not NIB he pays that
the problem is that he says that the company have insurance for us but yet still no contribution is taken out own salary. with means : when he file a claim he gets all the money.

i can take out insurance on anyone here in this forum, and when something happens [death] i can go and lie to the family that i need a copy death certificate go to my insurer and guest who collecting all the money.

and that is the same i think he is doing

Postby 1UZFE » April 23rd, 2016, 1:15 pm

Name of company....

b14inb12

Postby b14inb12 » April 23rd, 2016, 6:34 pm

can`t do that DUANE don`t have court cloths

Postby tr1ad » April 23rd, 2016, 7:00 pm

He eh have court clothes either...

Best advice in matters like this which I give to my contractor employees is to just seek legal counsel on the matter

GixxerMan

Postby GixxerMan » April 25th, 2016, 11:09 am

I advise you not to sign any other documents produced by your employer.... you need to get legal advise from an attorney who specialize in insurance, and take it from there.