Gas prices in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Gas prices in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby redmanjp » September 29th, 2022, 4:30 pm

death365 wrote:5 more days till all is forgotten ... back to normal

not if u are reminded every time u go to the gas station. the price not returning to what u use to pay yuh know.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » September 29th, 2022, 4:37 pm

wait nah red man. if world prices drop will TT gas price not go down? or will it go up?

Postby redmanjp » September 29th, 2022, 4:41 pm

daring dragoon wrote:wait nah red man. if world prices drop will TT gas price not go down? or will it go up?

after a while maybe. not right away :roll:

Postby pugboy » September 29th, 2022, 5:06 pm

taxis ain’t say nuthin yet?

Postby timelapse » September 29th, 2022, 5:22 pm

daring dragoon wrote:cng is the way forward
Doh let yuh boss zoom hear you say that

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 29th, 2022, 8:33 pm

timelapse wrote:
The range of CNG just too low if you driving plenty then every other day you have to fill up

If you not driving alot then payback time is to long

What we need is EVs with 300 mile range

Most trini drive less than that a week and you can charge at home

Countries giving EV credits but the most we can do is no tax and used 2 years or newer

But then again according to that arse wipe Manning too much cars on the road. People can walk home because there certainly is not enough buses .

Postby paid_influencer » September 29th, 2022, 8:38 pm

manning not wrong tho. most urban areas in the country not designed to handle masses of private cars. safe and reliable public transportation is the only true solution.

but most ministers never fight up with public transportation in urban areas so don't know how much chaos really exists in that area.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 29th, 2022, 8:44 pm

Why the Gov't don't give some subsidies on the purchase of high quality bicycles?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 29th, 2022, 8:44 pm

paid_influencer wrote:manning not wrong tho. most urban areas in the country not designed to handle masses of private cars. safe and reliable public transportation is the only true solution.

but most ministers never fight up with public transportation in urban areas so don't know how much chaos really exists in that area.
Yea but me and you cannot create a Public Transport System . The only choice we have is to buy a car

I live Santa Cruz and without a car I remember waiting 4 hours for a car

Why not open the Bus route of peak or at least try something like how Jack tried the one way St James thing

Nah leave we to suffer just switch on your blue lights

Postby timelapse » September 29th, 2022, 8:48 pm

Where the rapid rail?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 29th, 2022, 8:49 pm

We as a small country should definitely invest in something like this. Better than any rapid rail.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 29th, 2022, 8:54 pm

Why not build the rail section by section as they did the Bus route.

Nah all them fellars care about is election to election

They eh riot yet so we can carry on

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » September 29th, 2022, 8:55 pm

DMan7 wrote:Why the Gov't don't give some subsidies on the purchase of high quality bicycles?
Are u going to ride to work in the rain?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 29th, 2022, 8:57 pm

Kickstart wrote:
DMan7 wrote:Why the Gov't don't give some subsidies on the purchase of high quality bicycles?
Are u going to ride to work in the rain?

Also add the cost of a high quality rain coat to that as well.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 29th, 2022, 9:00 pm

E bikes maybe?

Them fellers vision too limited let's just raise the price of gas,alcohol, cigarettes and force pensioners to pay property tax on the rental value when they are not landlords

Postby rollingstock » September 29th, 2022, 9:10 pm

redmanjp wrote:
rollingstock wrote:Honestly the super is crap anyway. The higher cost of the premium negates itself with the extra mileage gained compared to the super for me

i'm guessing this doesn't apply to old 1990 Y10s right?

I would think not. I use a 4a91 as a daily, recommended is premium fuel, but I used super for a while to gauge any savings. The premium honestly lasts longer. This last raise though. I think I'm in the market for a Honda city

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » September 30th, 2022, 3:38 am

PariaMan wrote:
timelapse wrote:
The range of CNG just too low if you driving plenty then every other day you have to fill up

If you not driving alot then payback time is to long

What we need is EVs with 300 mile range

Most trini drive less than that a week and you can charge at home

Countries giving EV credits but the most we can do is no tax and used 2 years or newer

But then again according to that arse wipe Manning too much cars on the road. People can walk home because there certainly is not enough buses .

how much to install cng in a car? as redman said price here to stay. so something has to be done to cut cost.

death365

Postby death365 » September 30th, 2022, 4:29 am

Cng is more about lack of infrastructure and not price. Build the necessary infrastructure and the market will come to u.

Trinidad and Tobago can do hydrogen (dirty) as an alternative with no problem and eventually switch to clean hydrogen.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 30th, 2022, 6:02 am

But who wants to go gas station every other day for CNG

WOFT

Another tone deaf idea by a stupid government

Postby gastly369 » September 30th, 2022, 6:28 am

PariaMan wrote:But who wants to go gas station every other day for CNG

WOFT

Another tone deaf idea by a stupid government

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 30th, 2022, 6:42 am

Let's be real the man who can afford a new car will most likely be capable of dealing with the increase

The poorman with his older car will be the one who struggles with his gas bill

He can hardly be expected to be able to splash out 12000 to convert to CNG

Giving tax break for new cars with CNG does not help him

As I said just tone deaf ideas , window dressing to fool some of the people all of the time

Postby hover11 » September 30th, 2022, 6:46 am

PariaMan wrote:Let's be real the man who can afford a new car will most likely be capable of dealing with the increase

The poorman with his older car will be the one who struggles with his gas bill

He can hardly be expected to be able to splash out 12000 to convert to CNG

Giving tax break for new cars with CNG does not help him

As I said just tone deaf ideas , window dressing to fool some of the people all of the time
The people who are on fixed monthly salaries are the ones affected.

The ones who did not get an increase for a while.

The ones who have to budget every dollar when the month comes.

The ones whose disposable income has withered away.

Postby 88sins » October 2nd, 2022, 5:38 am

Before pnm, it cost me $100 to fill a gas tank in one of my cars.
Today, same car costs nearly $300 to fill up.

great is d pnm my ass

hindian

Postby hindian » October 2nd, 2022, 6:42 am

The little cbr600 looking more and more tempting to use and leave the car for rainy days yes cuz is I alone going to work in my direction. The wife however has to use her car everyday. What’s a cheaper smaller CC bike that one can purchase to get from point A to B? No trail bike unless it can be converted to road use…

Postby 88sins » October 2nd, 2022, 8:10 am

hindian wrote:The little cbr600 looking more and more tempting to use and leave the car for rainy days yes cuz is I alone going to work in my direction. The wife however has to use her car everyday. What’s a cheaper smaller CC bike that one can purchase to get from point A to B? No trail bike unless it can be converted to road use…

u may want to take a look at the hero bikes. 125cc engine so not going to be a gas hog, not sure how well that small engine would handle hill climbing tho. IIRC they going for about 19k brand new.

Not sure about availability of parts tho. I believe hero motocorp is a subsidiary of Honda, so I suppose at least some parts should relatively easy to source.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 2nd, 2022, 8:21 am

Well go there
IMG-20221002-WA0054~2.jpg

Postby adnj » October 2nd, 2022, 8:31 am

Postby Les Bain » October 2nd, 2022, 9:12 am

88sins wrote:Before pnm, it cost me $100 to fill a gas tank in one of my cars.

great is d pnm my ass

I had a monthly 600 gas budget since 2004 that was finally undone by the previous gas hike.

By undoing everything they claimed People's Partnership was after, the only thing PNM great at is hypocrisy.

Postby Gladiator » October 2nd, 2022, 9:37 am

Les Bain wrote:
88sins wrote:Before pnm, it cost me $100 to fill a gas tank in one of my cars.

great is d pnm my ass

I had a monthly 600 gas budget since 2004 that was finally undone by the previous gas hike.

By undoing everything they claimed People's Partnership was after, the only thing PNM great at is hypocrisy.

In 2013 I set my gas budget at $660 for 2 cars and had excess to roll over to maintenance. That held till PNM and imbert, today its almost $1100 in gas alone.

Postby hover11 » October 2nd, 2022, 9:40 am

Voting has consequences, ppl voted out the PP not knowing the true extent of their actions. Imagine if you working in town having a gas budget of 400 a week that's 1600 a month on gas alone. Just prepare for the SEVENTH increase in gas come next year round this time.