Gas prices in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby S_2NR » March 22nd, 2016, 3:16 pm

Government will get the ball rolling to remove the fuel subsidy by first putting the proposal to the public for feedback from April 8, says Finance Minister Colm Imbert.

Imbert was responding to questions from the media on a Sunday Express report which quoted chairman of the Economic Development Advisory Board (EDAB) Dr Terrence Farrell, as saying the Government must move with dispatch to remove the fuel subsidy altogether, and address the need for a better public transportation system.

Imbert said he had spoken on the plan to remove the fuel subsidy since last October in his budget presentation.

Speaking to the media yesterday at a news conference at the Finance Ministry at the Eric Williams Financial Complex, Port of Spain, Imbert said he intends to have a national discussion on phasing out the fuel subsidy.

“I intend to start the discussion with the statement I will be making to Parliament on the 8th of April. I intend to start the ball rolling in terms of telling the country what the Government has in mind in terms of the way we are going to be dealing with the fuel subsidy and the timing of the phasing out of the fuel subsidy but I did say that on October 5 that is the plan but we have to talk to the population first,” said Imbert.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160322 ... -gas-pains

UPDATE: Super is now $3.50/l
Diesel is now $2.00/l
Last edited by S_2NR on April 8th, 2016, 5:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

daas

Re: Look Trouble Now: Gov't plans to remove gas subsidy

Postby daas » March 22nd, 2016, 3:31 pm

Still not carpooling or using pub transport.

#Ilikeitso

Postby RBphoto » March 22nd, 2016, 3:32 pm

Population sez no.. they doze it anyways.

Postby Spitfir3 » March 22nd, 2016, 3:38 pm

take it in uymc

Postby meccalli » March 22nd, 2016, 3:39 pm

Needed this a long time ago, gov incentive.

Postby Morpheus » March 22nd, 2016, 4:01 pm

Most European countries riding bicycles or scooters. We prefer to drive to the parlour 2 blocks away lol.

We have to adapt people....

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 22nd, 2016, 4:06 pm

Morpheus wrote:Most European countries riding bicycles or scooters. We prefer to drive to the parlour 2 blocks away lol.

Cold weather climate. Dem not doing that sheit if they came here.

different

Postby different » March 22nd, 2016, 4:07 pm

After all projects failed and billions lost they have to that to keep petrotrin runing

Postby Morpheus » March 22nd, 2016, 4:13 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
Morpheus wrote:Most European countries riding bicycles or scooters. We prefer to drive to the parlour 2 blocks away lol.

I talking bout car with no AC. LoL so is same heat.

Plus according to the time of year, parts of Europe can get relatively "hot" during the day. Men in business attire riding bike yes...

But.........our public transport in not desirable at all...

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 22nd, 2016, 4:17 pm

Morpheus wrote:

Plus according to the time of year, parts of Europe can get relatively "hot" during the day. Men in business attire riding bike yes...

lol I hear yuh but still. Humidity different. You don't sweat there even in suits. Walking in heat is more exertion than driving in heat.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 22nd, 2016, 4:19 pm

Oh and agreed on public transport. I find that needs to improve before they move subsidy. People didn't buy all these cars just because we like to drive. They do serve a purpose.

src1983

Postby src1983 » March 22nd, 2016, 4:26 pm

Nah them have enough buss for everybodyyyy

Postby Morpheus » March 22nd, 2016, 4:27 pm

Correct on the humidity...

Postby Spitfir3 » March 22nd, 2016, 4:56 pm

Morpheus wrote:

lol I hear yuh but still. Humidity different. You don't sweat there even in suits. Walking in heat is more exertion than driving in heat.

that and you don't have to worry about gunta jumpkicking you orf the bike and taking it

zool

Postby zool » March 22nd, 2016, 4:58 pm

We are not europeans, if u desire that life, go over there

Postby Rory Phoulorie » March 22nd, 2016, 5:02 pm

Forgetting the developed nations, up the islands the people manage to get by with no gas subsidy, why should we be kicking up such a fuss here. Plus, we already have an efficient privatised mass transit system.

Trinis like frico too much.

antlind

Postby antlind » March 22nd, 2016, 5:12 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Forgetting the developed nations, up the islands the people manage to get by with no gas subsidy, why should we be kicking up such a fuss here. Plus, we already have an efficient privatised mass transit system.

The real problem is that removal of the subsidy will not only increase the price at the pump, everything else in this country will likewise increase because of this.

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » March 22nd, 2016, 5:14 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Forgetting the developed nations, up the islands the people manage to get by with no gas subsidy, why should we be kicking up such a fuss here. Plus, we already have an efficient privatised mass transit system.

You forget rowley choo choo train dream? Drugs not getting around the country fast enough them tida fellas disappointing so politics need to find a solution.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-03-21/rowley-we’ll-return-rapid-rail-system

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 22nd, 2016, 5:31 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:
Morpheus wrote:

that and you don't have to worry about gunta jumpkicking you orf the bike and taking it

I don't worry about that here.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 22nd, 2016, 5:36 pm

Besides cold, here you have to deal with humidity which is the real killer.

If the govt removing this they either have to remove it all at once or don't remove it because for every few cents they increase it by the taxi men and everyone raising sheit by $1 and $2.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 22nd, 2016, 5:38 pm

And somehow the Government justifies paying hundreds of millions of dollars for worthless carnival degrees and other utterly useless scam degrees that adds absolutely NOTHING of value to anyone.

So instead of scaling back the GATE program they removing this subsidy which gonna skyrocket everything?

The real crime wave coming soon.

Postby stev » March 22nd, 2016, 5:48 pm

lol...i still waiting to benefit from the decrease in VAT.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » March 22nd, 2016, 5:51 pm

So what is the unsubsidized price for fuel?

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

Postby redmanjp » March 22nd, 2016, 6:04 pm

racedriverpro wrote:So what is the unsubsidized price for fuel?

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

right now ave gas price in the US is US$1.80/gallon which is 1.80 /3.78541178 = 0.4755/litre

http://www.gasbuddy.com/GasPriceMap?z=4

US$0.4755 *6.6 = TT$3.14 :mrgreen:

so if they removing the subsidy they better link it to the actual gas price (well while it low). However it go be trouble when it eventually goes back up so it should be temporary

they should also subsidize CNG conversion and ramp up deployment of CNG stations before

my $0.02

Postby Morpheus » March 22nd, 2016, 6:12 pm

zool wrote:We are not europeans, if u desire that life, go over there

*Reads back thread to see where someone said we are Europeans....

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » March 22nd, 2016, 6:31 pm

This government playing up in dey...

konartis

Postby konartis » March 22nd, 2016, 6:34 pm

Hope it's the same where the price of gas is directly linked to oil prices.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » March 22nd, 2016, 6:38 pm

Agree but the difference is there they have dedicated bike lanes and people more or less respect the bicycle as a vehicle that has rights, here we can't even get the Tiidas to use a f' king roundabout legally.

Postby De Dragon » March 22nd, 2016, 6:40 pm

Subsidy reduction is warranted. The issue is every single Government made only token attempts when it should have been close to zero today. Now when we are in a bind, it will have to be cut hard, and kantish, greedy ,selfish Trinbagonians who can't seem to see past their facking noses will raise everything disproportionately.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » March 22nd, 2016, 6:43 pm

Well the main Pharmecudical distributors are raising their prices by as much as 17% in a supposed response to our currency devaluation. So I suppose if gas going up then soon sick going go pay almost double to live.