Trinidad the trashiest country in the world...

halfbreed_1

Trinidad the trashiest country in the world...

Postby halfbreed_1 » March 9th, 2016, 11:32 am

According to data provided by the World Bank this week titled "What a Waste: A Global Review of Solid Waste Management", these countries (mostly island nations) have topped its list, despite increased pushes for recycling and responsible resource use.

“Latin America and the Caribbean has the most comprehensive and consistent data (e.g. PAHO’s Regional Evaluation of Solid Waste Management, 2005). The total amount of waste generated per year in this region is 160 million tonnes, with per capita values ranging from 0.1 to 14 kg/capita/ day, and an average of 1.1 kg/capita/day. Similar to the high per capita waste generation rates on islands in Africa, the largest per capita solid waste generation rates are found in the islands of the Caribbean,” the report stated.

But what does the World Bank refer to as ‘waste’?

In its definition: municipal solid waste (MSW) includes non-hazardous waste generated in households, commercial and business establishments, institutions, and non-hazardous industrial process wastes, agricultural wastes and sewage sludge.

Below is the World Bank’s complete list of the world’s worst countries in MSW generation:

1. Trinidad and Tobago: 14.4 kilograms per capita per day

The World Bank cited a chronic lack of recycling facilities being major contributor to the country's dire waste management issues. Among the issues the organisation observed was pervasiveness of littering, which has caused rises in the local mosquito population, as well as problems with rain water drainage.

Coming hand-in-hand with this pressing environmental concern is the trash situation’s adverse influence on conditions conducive to widespread flooding. Discarded plastic is also a major problem in the waters surrounding the twin-island republic.

2. Kuwait: 5.72 kilograms per capita per day

The small Arab country’s trash problems stem from a lack of proper landfills, which in turn has led to additional issues namely groundwater contamination, toxic gas exposure and unregulated fires.

3. Antigua and Barbuda: 5.50 kilograms per capita per day

Major environmental concerns plaguing Antigua include improper MSW disposal and problems associated with untreated sewage being allowed to flow into the ocean.

4. St Kitts and Nevis: 5.45 kilograms per capita per day

As with many island countries in the Caribbean, St Kitts struggles with environmental problems relating to waste management and trash build up.

5. Guyana: 5.33 kilograms per capita per day

The South American country was noted with poor waste collection services and ineffective MSW management systems. Even in the capital, Georgetown, an “unsightly” trash build-up is usually always visible. As a result, unhealthy living conditions, as well as problems with polluted rainwater drainage are common in Guyana.

6. Sri Lanka: 5.10 kilograms per capita per day

Sri Lanka has been significantly affected by pollution as a result of sewage contamination, as well as a large amount of waste material from industrial sources.

Paired with the poor state of the Asian nation's sanitation infrastructure, Sri Lankans are casually exposed to infection and other diseases, including yellow fever, hepatitis A and B, malaria, typhoid, and meningitis.

7. Barbados: 4.75 kilograms per capita per day

Ocean pollution and a dangerous trash build up are major topics of discussion. In recent years, government officials ‘built’ the controversial Greenland Landfill, as well as investigating ways in which to convert Barbadian trash into energy.

8. St Lucia: 4.35 kilograms per capita per day

The issue of littering has become a major problem in the island both to locals and island visitors. Illegal dumping has increased the local populations of mosquitoes and other pests – especially troublesome due to the crisis involving the recent Zika virus outbreak.

9. Solomon Islands: 4.30 kilograms per capita per day

With a population of over half a million people, this tropical archipelago faces a growing problem in terms of its lack of proper waste management policies. Another major concern facing the country is its lack of composting facilities, which has further contributed to the problem of effectively dealing with organic waste.

10. Tonga: 3.71 kilograms per capita per day

Having to contend with limited solid waste management facilities, some of the issues connected to Tonga’s poor trash treatment policies include littering, drainage contamination, and the proliferation of rats and insects, as well as drinking water pollution.

Rounding out the worst 14 included New Zealand, Ireland, Vanuatu and The Bahamas, while is important to note that Jamaica was listed in the low 80s of the World Bank’s report with generation rate of 0.18 kilograms per capita per day.

http://www.looptt.com/content/caribbean ... -countries

fallen_angel

Re: Trinidad the trashiest country in the world...

Postby fallen_angel » March 9th, 2016, 2:25 pm

but god is a trini...

Postby zoom rader » March 9th, 2016, 2:27 pm

Hope you all now understand why I say Trini is nasty place with nasty people

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » March 9th, 2016, 2:32 pm

Then, garbage is a good business to get into.

Postby 1UZFE » March 9th, 2016, 2:34 pm

Popcorn:

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 9th, 2016, 2:35 pm

Where my coconut estate is the 1.25 Acres was abandoned for years. After I went to clean it is countless rum bottle and all kind of trash buried slightly under the dirt. Its insane the amount of rubbish I pull out of this place trying to clean it.

it really highlights how dutty, stink and nasty the people of this country are. Just imagine a few houses away everybody brings their garbage bags to the mainroad cause the trash compactor won't drive in. These people won't even self come together and build a cage of some sort to put the trash in they just allow the dogs to buss up the trash bags every single day.

And I talking people with big new house and new cars so dutty and stink they happily watch that trash bussing up by the dogs and flying all over the place. Not a single one of them will put a metal cage or something.

Postby 88sins » March 9th, 2016, 2:41 pm

that link is horse scat. could NEVER be accurate.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 9th, 2016, 2:59 pm

zoom rader wrote:Hope you all now understand why I say Trini is nasty place with nasty people

Quoted for truth.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Postby Habit7 » March 9th, 2016, 3:14 pm

If Trinidad implement the measures needed to reduce trash amount like weighing your trash, paying for removal of large solid waste and separating recyclable materials, ppl will bawl that they against poor ppl and more garbage will end up in the river.

moving

Postby moving » March 9th, 2016, 3:42 pm

the reason why we dont recycle is because everybody is fighting for those multi million dollar contracts.
once swmcol collects your garbage it becomes the property of swmcol. and as we all know swmcol is sitting on millions of dollars worth in garbage (plastics. tires, etc).
in order to start recycling you will need to sign a formal agreement with swmcol and obviously this is where the corruption starts!!

who ever gets that agreement with swmcol whether it be plastics, tires etc will instantly become extremely wealthy.

if you were in government wouldnt you like to set this up for yrself..lol

Postby zoom rader » March 9th, 2016, 4:05 pm

Habit7 wrote:If Trinidad implement the measures needed to reduce trash amount like weighing your trash, paying for removal of large solid waste and separating recyclable materials, ppl will bawl that they against poor ppl and more garbage will end up in the river.

Utter rubbish. Ppl will be more that glad to get rid of trash in their yards.
Problem is that you have to hire your own transport to remove it.
Now and then you get council to pass round and pick up heavy stuff but that happens too few and far.
Then you have scrap dealers passing around but they want selected trash like steel and batteries. Tell them to pick up old stove and fridge and it's level cuss in yuh MC.
Solution, use Cepep and council transport for a general clean up.

But then again we have a lazy government who's only concern is PNM weddings and and holding a retreat cause they can't get their act together.

Postby MaxPower » March 9th, 2016, 4:37 pm

Correct, typical nasty Trinidadians.

It good, allyuh continue

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 9th, 2016, 4:51 pm

Habit7 wrote:If Trinidad implement the measures needed to reduce trash amount like weighing your trash, paying for removal of large solid waste and separating recyclable materials, ppl will bawl that they against poor ppl and more garbage will end up in the river.

Now and then you get council to pass round and pick up heavy stuff but that happens too few and far.
Then you have scrap dealers passing around but they want selected trash like steel and batteries. Tell them to pick up old stove and fridge and it's level cuss in yuh MC.
Solution, use Cepep and council transport for a general clean up.

But then again we have a lazy government who's only concern is PNM weddings and and holding a retreat cause they can't get their act together.

You speak the truth but sadly the PPG was no different.

So where do we stand now? seeing that both PPG and PNM just as lazy and incompetent? I mean what exactly did the PPG do that is any different from PNM when it comes to trash?

I have noticed 0 improvement in how dutty and stink this country is regardless of which political party is in power.

Postby shogun » March 9th, 2016, 4:57 pm

We're number one!!!

It's all our faults though, even mine. Too often we find ourselves here throwing out stuff (food/food in containers) that weren't used.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 9th, 2016, 5:09 pm

Is there any law against people putting garbage on the side of the streets without a secured bin? Are there any laws regarding owners of dogs bussing up people trash all over the place?

This is one of the main reason there is sooooo much trash in our drains etc. Then it floods and that trash comes out and goes everywhere.

Postby Habit7 » March 9th, 2016, 5:20 pm

How is what you said any different from what I wrote? To have an effective garbage collection system like the lower waste per capita countries you have to pay for it. That is why in those countries, there is an incentive to reduce waste because the more waste you make the more you pay.

Xplode

Postby Xplode » March 9th, 2016, 5:23 pm

90% of the trash is made from plastic ,easy solution open a recycle plant .

Postby zoom rader » March 9th, 2016, 5:32 pm

Habit7 wrote:

How is what you said any different from what I wrote? To have an effective garbage collection system like the lower waste per capita countries you have to pay for it. That is why in those countries, there is an incentive to reduce waste because the more waste you make the more you pay.

Trin is inefficient. Councils normally do slap dash work which is called "job work " in Sando Road gangs start at 7am and by 9 am they are home for an 8 hour day work. It's a low payed job at agv $4k month Tax free.
This has been going for donkey years and they are not productive enough.
Not sure how the other councils operate but I guess it's all the same.
They is manpower available but no will and the money is there.
Too many lazy workers in trini

Postby desifemlove » March 9th, 2016, 6:23 pm

cos trinis iz slack......dey does piss by de street cos dey does drink too much beers or sweet drink.
needs to be a law against that....$100,000 fine for any person pissing in de street without due cause (urological issue or OB-GYN condition..or mental illness/retardation).

dis will mek the country sweet and clean, scrunters ent like it should piss off and live in a tree in the jungle.

Postby desifemlove » March 9th, 2016, 6:25 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Where my coconut estate is the 1.25 Acres was abandoned for years. After I went to clean it is countless rum bottle and all kind of trash buried slightly under the dirt. Its insane the amount of rubbish I pull out of this place trying to clean it.

it really highlights how dutty, stink and nasty the people of this country are. Just imagine a few houses away everybody brings their garbage bags to the mainroad cause the trash compactor won't drive in. These people won't even self come together and build a cage of some sort to put the trash in they just allow the dogs to buss up the trash bags every single day.

And I talking people with big new house and new cars so dutty and stink they happily watch that trash bussing up by the dogs and flying all over the place. Not a single one of them will put a metal cage or something.

haha...and everybody does it. i bet "civilised" people like you does throw trash..you contribute to the issue.

Postby redmanjp » March 9th, 2016, 6:29 pm

we should have a law so that any company which produces plastic bottles, food boxes, etc. must have recycling bins set up throughout the country to take back all their own waste

Postby pugboy » March 9th, 2016, 6:44 pm

I have two old tires to get rid of,
Where is best legal disposal method

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 9th, 2016, 6:51 pm

desifemlove wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Where my coconut estate is the 1.25 Acres was abandoned for years. After I went to clean it is countless rum bottle and all kind of trash buried slightly under the dirt. Its insane the amount of rubbish I pull out of this place trying to clean it.

haha...and everybody does it. i bet "civilised" people like you does throw trash..you contribute to the issue.

Nope that would be you, I actually know what a garbage bin looks like so I use it, don't class me with your nastiness.

Postby gastly369 » March 9th, 2016, 7:13 pm

Trinidad celebrity status for 2016 ..we going good so far

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » March 9th, 2016, 7:24 pm

pugboy wrote:I have two old tires to get rid of,
Where is best legal disposal method

Nearby river.

Postby desifemlove » March 9th, 2016, 9:01 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
desifemlove wrote:

Nope that would be you, I actually know what a garbage bin looks like so I use it, don't class me with your nastiness.

I do use them......and you'll see God's face before you see me use the curb as a garbage bag dump......

BRZ

Postby BRZ » March 9th, 2016, 9:06 pm

zoom rader wrote:Hope you all now understand why I say Trini is nasty place with nasty people

Every time you open yuh mouth you adding to our pollution and garbage. :twisted:

Postby K74T » March 9th, 2016, 9:12 pm

No wonder zr have Embacadere looking so.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » March 9th, 2016, 10:23 pm

halfbreed_1 wrote:1. Trinidad and Tobago: 14.4 kilograms per capita per day

2. Kuwait: 5.72 kilograms per capita per day

3. Antigua and Barbuda: 5.50 kilograms per capita per day

4. St Kitts and Nevis: 5.45 kilograms per capita per day

5. Guyana: 5.33 kilograms per capita per day
I think what is more worrying than being at the top of that list is how much more we are than the next closest countries.

Almost 3 times as much garbage per capita? :shock:

Postby ismithx » March 9th, 2016, 10:25 pm

the study was flawed in how it evaluated our data... nothing to see here, think for yourself if that figure could really be real. moving on....