How do you get USPS packages in Trinidad?

jamesblunt1

How do you get USPS packages in Trinidad?

Postby jamesblunt1 » March 5th, 2016, 2:25 pm

I want to order something from online & use their international shipping (instead of using a skybox) because I'm afraid that my items will be stolen. Will the USPS ship directly to my house or post office? Will I have to pay duties & customs? Will I have to pay freight? What is the procedures done and who handles USPS shipments in Trinidad?

killercow

Re: How do you get USPS packages in Trinidad?

Postby killercow » March 5th, 2016, 2:46 pm

Item will come at post office. If it's a small item with no duties you'll receive it via postman / postwoman (most times). If it is dutiable you will receive a small yellow card in the mail stating that there's a package waiting for you at your nearest post office along with the cost for clearing your item. You will not have to pay freight (you would have paid that already when purchasing the item online) but you will have to pay duties and customs. TTpost intercepts all international mail regardless of courier. If you are really concerned with security then you can always hire DHL, Fedex etc to ship your package directly from wherever in the world to here. They will handle all the clearance costs. ship directly to your door and bill you for it. It's expensive with this route though.

Also, with international shipping (not including the DHL / Fedex route) the package can take anywhere between 2 weeks and 2 months to arrive (from USA) and from 3 weeks to 4 months to arrive (from China). And OP in my personal experience packages are more likely to get lost or stolen with international shipping rather than a courier. I'd strongly recommend you go with a courier. You'll receive your item much faster even though it'll cost you a bit more.
Last edited by killercow on March 5th, 2016, 2:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Xplode

Postby Xplode » March 5th, 2016, 2:50 pm

USPS will use TTPOST , prepare to pay double custom fees and weeks to recieve .

Postby Mark! » March 5th, 2016, 6:26 pm

james blunt boi. yuh take me back there a bit. rel tabanqa days

Postby Dave » March 5th, 2016, 8:49 pm

When u see arrive in Trinidad from the online tracking it would be a max of 2 wks before u r even notified of its reaching Trinidad. I lucked up with under valuing by local ppl as far as the duties and vat was concerned. I have nothing really bad to say apart from u really want the item quickly and if u also don't like knowing your item whereabouts it isn't that bad.

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » March 6th, 2016, 1:36 am

jamesblunt1 wrote:I want to order something from online & use their international shipping (instead of using a skybox) because I'm afraid that my items will be stolen. Will the USPS ship directly to my house or post office? Will I have to pay duties & customs? Will I have to pay freight? What is the procedures done and who handles USPS shipments in Trinidad?

As other tuners said Ttpost
It will take more than a month or compared 2 weeks with skybox

Skybox would also be cheaper

If your concern is theft; are you aware that most skybox offer free insurance up to a limit. And for an additional cost will insure your package.

Once you get your package open it before signing for the package and confirm its contents.

konartis

Postby konartis » March 6th, 2016, 12:59 pm

Xplode wrote:USPS will use TTPOST , prepare to pay double custom fees and weeks to recieve .

It wud work out even because u dont have to pay fuel charges, I ship small items straight to Trinidad and works out better than skybox...takes a bit longer tho.

Postby desifemlove » March 6th, 2016, 4:39 pm

USPS has a tracking no., so it cannot get lost jus so.

Postby X2 » March 7th, 2016, 3:06 am

Using international shipping couriers like DHL, I have received packages thru ttpost with very predictable results as far as duty.

Theft can be a problem all over... have had car parts go missing from a Fedex shipment before.

Sweet peaches 123

Postby Sweet peaches 123 » August 18th, 2018, 8:32 pm

I have purchased an adult toy from the US i dont want my package to go through customs trinidad cause i heard there will not be accepting these things i didnt know of this as of a few days ago how do i get my package safely away from customs i want it delivered at my door step what do i do ?

Postby adnj » August 18th, 2018, 10:51 pm

Whatever gets shipped to Trinidad goes through customs. If it's a restricted item, it with be impounded unless the customs officer makes a mistake.

Postby Kenjo » August 19th, 2018, 8:43 am

adnj wrote:Whatever gets shipped to Trinidad goes through customs. If it's a restricted item, it with be impounded unless the customs officer makes a mistake.

Ditto

Postby wagonrunner » August 20th, 2018, 10:30 pm

LOL, There will be an increase in the amount of those items walked through until customs starts scanning persons.

sharonr12

Postby sharonr12 » August 23rd, 2018, 9:36 am

Ok guys...I ordered some clothing and with USPS it got shipped. Now it's saying:

Held in Customs
PORT OF SPAIN, TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO
Your item is being held in Customs at 9:02 am on August 20, 2018 in PORT OF SPAIN, TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO.

How do I know where to go to? Anyone can advise

Postby maj. tom » August 23rd, 2018, 10:06 am

Where you got that notice from? The USPS tracking number? Then that's not really an official notice then. And when it has reached the destination country, they don't really continue tracking at every step like within USA.

If so, you don't do anything. TTPost will send you a letter when it's ready to pick up at your local post office, with the fees payable.

sharonr12

Postby sharonr12 » August 23rd, 2018, 10:22 am

maj. tom wrote:Where you got that notice from? The USPS tracking number? Then that's not really an official notice then. And when it has reached the destination country, they don't really continue tracking at every step like within USA.

If so, you don't do anything. TTPost will send you a letter when it's ready to pick up at your local post office, with the fees payable.

I got it from the USPS tracking website.

Postby Dave » August 23rd, 2018, 12:17 pm

Sometimes you get notice in the mail as to where to go.

Postby pugboy » August 23rd, 2018, 1:15 pm

that is exactly what happened to me
I have had TTpost return packages for no reason, the sender actually got notification that the package was returned
yet when I went to TTPost they had no idea and could not track the package
their excuse was that it was probably customs who returned it and they can only track the package on the ground here when customs releases it to them

in other words dont trust local post for packages

Postby adnj » August 23rd, 2018, 5:12 pm

TTPost will send the package through customs. If there isno invoice inside of the box (which is common with some companies), customs will hold it for longer than the 3 to 10 days that they normally hold it.

If it gets impounded, you go to Customs House. If it get released but not delivered, you go to TTPost. Both buildings are in POS on Abercromby Street at the intersection of Indepence Square on the northern side.

Postby pugboy » August 23rd, 2018, 5:37 pm

the problem is ttpost staff will say they have no way of getting access to customs to have duty or what ever sorted out, so customs just sends it back on next flight, no impounding unless it is a prohibited item.
Total lack of communication system.

I have a friend who had a rifle scope impounded and he did get notification.
Would be interested to see what is in the impounded blackhole section of customs house or which padnas they does give the seized stuff to.

macd

Postby macd » January 4th, 2020, 8:22 am

Good day tuners. I want to send a package to the US but the person wants a usps tracking number. Do I have to send it via USPS or can I use a sky box courier?

Postby adnj » January 4th, 2020, 12:27 pm

You can get package tracking by shipping EMS through TTPOST. I have sent mail through TTPOST with tracking (not using EMS) and I got tracking to the point where it left Trinidad but no further.