Mobile Number Portability

2WNBoost

Mobile Number Portability

Postby 2WNBoost » February 16th, 2016, 10:25 am

Coming March 31st 2016
Switch mobile providers and keep your number.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1455632685.617770.jpg
Last edited by 2WNBoost on February 16th, 2016, 10:46 am, edited 2 times in total.

fokhan_96

Re: Mobile Number Portability

Postby fokhan_96 » February 16th, 2016, 10:27 am

Yayyy!!

Postby K74T » February 16th, 2016, 10:36 am

About time

Postby j.o.e » February 16th, 2016, 10:45 am

Finally !

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » February 16th, 2016, 10:58 am

Another nail in the coffin for Blink/bmobile/TSTT.

I predict TSTT will be out of business in 3 years.

Postby pugboy » February 16th, 2016, 11:00 am

Might be sooner, most of the good staff done take vsep and working by the competitors
All that will be left is a shell company and the Watson duke type Union staff

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » February 16th, 2016, 11:21 am

This weekend I started seriously contemplating getting a Digicel number and starting to give people this new number. Now I could palance with mih number on a Digicel account.

Fadakartel

Postby Fadakartel » February 16th, 2016, 8:15 pm

Good for the consumer bad for bmobile lol.

Postby S_2NR » February 16th, 2016, 8:33 pm

rip tstt

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 16th, 2016, 8:48 pm

Wow....amazing....seems that this is for prepaid only.....

konartis

Postby konartis » February 16th, 2016, 9:04 pm

This is great, im paying 349$ for a package that has the worst internet...never a reliable service at all...can't wait to switch!

Postby K74T » February 16th, 2016, 9:06 pm

*$kїđž![TRADE MARK SIGN] wrote:Wow....amazing....seems that this is for prepaid only.....

Read thoroughly :|

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1455671196.535446.jpg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 16th, 2016, 9:18 pm

How does PortingXS Co. Ltd of the Netherlands make money?
Does TATT pay them for the service?
Is there a monthly fee paid to them by consumers for each number they port? i.e. do I pay extra if my number is ported to another carrier vs. just getting a number native to the carrier I am using.

Postby M_2NR » February 16th, 2016, 10:08 pm

Ah boy...

Postby pugboy » February 16th, 2016, 10:25 pm

They are probably just a number database router
Just like the linx company which routes bank atm card data between the banks across each other's atm machines. Linx charges the issuing bank a fee which the acquiring bank makes money on.
Fee will be left to be seen.

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:How does PortingXS Co. Ltd of the Netherlands make money?
Is there a monthly fee paid to them by consumers for each number they port? i.e. do I pay extra if my number is ported to another carrier vs. just getting a number native to the carrier I am using.

Fadakartel

Postby Fadakartel » February 16th, 2016, 11:10 pm

pugboy wrote:They are probably just a number database router
Just like the linx company which routes bank atm card data between the banks across each other's atm machines. Linx charges the issuing bank a fee which the acquiring bank makes money on.
Fee will be left to be seen.

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:How does PortingXS Co. Ltd of the Netherlands make money?

Its between Digicel, TSTT prob Flow etc, I know Fujitzu in Barataria is where they were looking to do the IXP point. possibly some kinda of SS7 and BGP routing between the Telecom providers.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 16th, 2016, 11:13 pm

Thanks k74t couldn't see t hat writing too clearly

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 16th, 2016, 11:31 pm

*$kїđž![TRADE MARK SIGN] wrote:Thanks k74t couldn't see t hat writing too clearly
click on the image to make it bigger

Postby pete » February 17th, 2016, 9:35 am

When will they do this for land lines?

xtech

Postby xtech » February 18th, 2016, 12:43 am

great so now i wont know who I calling is on which network...... bye bye credit

Postby skylinechild » February 18th, 2016, 8:23 am

xtech wrote:great so now i wont know who I calling is on which network...... bye bye credit

or the reverse may be true... numbers that you normally call on the other network now maybe on your native mobile network....thereby saving your credit :wink: :!: :!:

Postby j.o.e » February 18th, 2016, 8:32 am

xtech wrote:great so now i wont know who I calling is on which network...... bye bye credit

Won't affect me , always been a one network guy. Too much hassle having two phones to carry and charge , two bills to pay etc for some meager savings. At least for me.

Postby supercharged turbo » February 18th, 2016, 9:21 am

j.o.e wrote:

Won't affect me , always been a one network guy. Too much hassle having two phones to carry and charge , two bills to pay etc for some meager savings. At least for me.

gencon

Postby gencon » February 18th, 2016, 9:56 am

i will be changing one of my digi numbers to bmobile.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 18th, 2016, 10:25 am

I think this needs a third mobile provider to be really useful. Digi and bmobile are in cozy equilibrium. No real competition. People just gonna switch between both almost equally.

xtech

Postby xtech » February 18th, 2016, 1:10 pm

skylinechild wrote:

or the reverse may be true... numbers that you normally call on the other network now maybe on your native mobile network....thereby saving your credit :wink: :!: :!:

If not on my network I usually send them a message to call me if I can't find them on WhatsApp or FaceTime.

xtech

Postby xtech » February 18th, 2016, 1:11 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

Get a dual sim cell phone an problem solved

Zӧne Man

Postby Zӧne Man » February 18th, 2016, 1:24 pm

WHAT DOES THIS MEAN FOR RETURNING RESIDENCES?

xtech

Postby xtech » February 18th, 2016, 1:36 pm

Only mobile phones not landlines. So returning residence not able to keep number

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » February 18th, 2016, 4:36 pm

Landlines also at the end of September.

Newsday article:
http://www.newsday.co.tt/business/0,224148.html

TATT implementing number portability
By VERNE BURNETT Wednesday, February 17 2016

THE Telecommunications Authority (TATT) is moving to implement number portability for mobile phones from March 31, and from the end of September for landlines.

The move is coming just about one year late. In Determination 2014/01 issued on July 31, 2014 and signed by TATT chairman Selby Wilson, the authority declared that mobile number portability would begin in Trinidad and Tobago no later than February 26, 2015 and all operators who are so required shall comply.

It listed those operators as Digicel and the Telecommunications Services of Trinidad and Tobago (TSTT). The determination added that fixed line number portability would commence no later than May 1, 2015 and all operators required to do so would comply.

The operatoes required to comply were listed as Columbus Communications Trinidad Limited; TSTT; Lisa Communications; Open Telecom and Three Sixty Communications.

In a newspaper advertisement on Monday, TATT advised customers that mobile number portability was “coming soon to a provider near you.” A TATT official explained that effective March 31, 2016, a cellphone user who wanted to switch service providers would simply have to pay off their bill with their existing provider, apply to their preferred provider for the right to keep their existing number and once the other company agrees, they will be able to continue using their original number.

He said, “The company you are switching to will make their checks before granting approval.” And by the end of September, the same convenience will be extended to households which want to switch carriers for their landlines.

The TATT official said this is a facility that people need, adding that currently if a telephone user changes phone numbers they have to inform all their contacts which can be a tedius process. He added that most first world countries and some Caribbean countries such as Jamaica and the Dominican Republic already have mobile number portability.

Graeme Suite, Head-Corporate Communications at TSTT, said the company and the other providers have been working with TATT to put together number portability. He said this is something that TSTT has been actively supporting.

He said all the service providers have been working on the project since TATT years ago announced its intention to introduce number portability.

He said an agreement for a “porting clearing house” is to be signed shortly, explaining that a porting clearing house is a third party accepted by all the parties which sits between the providers and facilitates the technical transition of numbers from one carrier to another. “So the central clearing house has a database of all the consumer numbers and is integral to the smooth execution of the porting of numbers.

The whole idea is to make the whole process as painless and as convenient for consumers as possible so mobile providers would have had to work collaboratively with the regulator and with the number porting clearing house to develop a system and a series of processes to make it as seamless as possible for the consumer