UTT Computer Engineering accredited ?

TheOwnerPO

UTT Computer Engineering accredited ?

Postby TheOwnerPO » January 14th, 2016, 4:29 pm

Does anyone know if the UTT Computer Engineering degree is accredited ?

i'm currently pursuing a degree in Petroleum Engineering but i'm thinking of transferring to another engineering discipline since the petroleum industry's outlook does not look good right now. What would be a good engineering discipline to pursue. My options are : Computer Engineering, Process Engineering and Utilities (Electrical) Engineering.

How does the job market look for graduates with a Utilities or Process engineering degree ? Does anyone have any recommendations or suggestions to the type of degree i should pursue taking into consideration the state of the economy right now ?

Daran

Re: UTT Computer Engineering accredited ?

Postby Daran » January 14th, 2016, 7:53 pm

Local accreditation only.

https://u.tt/index.php?accreditation=1&page_key=507

I honestly wouldn't recommend it unless you're passionate about it, have connections locally. ICT isn't a high paid glamourus work.

Stick to Petro if you're graduating 2 years from now there's a good chance oil prices will be back up.

Fearless

Postby Fearless » January 14th, 2016, 8:44 pm

Yea. The BSc program got accredited by the UK last year i believe.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 14th, 2016, 9:57 pm

No the computer engineering BSc is not internationally accredited at UTT its locally accredited but the board of Engineering of trinidad and tobago does NOT recognize UTT engineering degrees, only UWI and for good reasons. Also it depends on the body like some people argue that IET accredits UWI so if UTT gets IET which they are trying for it means the degree will be on equal footing but UWI has more than 1 accreditation. How can you do CAPE level work at a University and expect the same accreditation like UWI degrees? it does not work that way.

I doing computer engineering at UTT and their coursework is no more difficult than A levels , UWI is night and day difference. At UWI their engineering degrees are real engineering degrees. EVen my professor at UTT told us that UTT is not a real university and in the field a UWI grad will be our boss. Whole class get vex with the man but lets be real if he talking truth why be vex?

If you want a quality education finish your Petro Degree at UTT and then apply for BSc in electrical and computer engineering at UWI. Hopefully the Bsc Petro Engineering Degree at UTT will be enough to gain entry to do a Bsc Degree at UWI.

Postby RBphoto » January 15th, 2016, 8:15 am

UTT standard of education is better than UWI IMO judging from the performance of the graduates. I have been working with and training UTT and UWI graduates for over 5 years now and the UTT grads make better engineers and are not spoilt lill beyotches. there are exceptions, but that is my experience. I would hire a UTT graduate whether or not the fuggin degree is accredited internationally.

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:BSc in electrical and computer engineering at UWI.

Have you done this degree to recommend it or advise in careers in this field? There are much more rewarding careers in petrochemical/ downstream and manufacturing than this educational path.

Postby RBphoto » January 15th, 2016, 8:30 am

TheOwnerPO wrote:Does anyone know if the UTT Computer Engineering degree is accredited ?

i'm currently pursuing a degree in Petroleum Engineering but i'm thinking of transferring to another engineering discipline since the petroleum industry's outlook does not look good right now. What would be a good engineering discipline to pursue. My options are : Computer Engineering, Process Engineering and Utilities (Electrical) Engineering.

How does the job market look for graduates with a Utilities or Process engineering degree ? Does anyone have any recommendations or suggestions to the type of degree i should pursue taking into consideration the state of the economy right now ?

Finish your current degree. If you can transfer and graduate in the same time frame as your original degree, only then I would recommend considering switching to anything. Do not underestimate what 6-8 months of pay cheques will do to your financial life... much less 12 months . The oil industry is cyclical, I have been through one bust market but when things are good, well, things are good. Remember you can also take courses in other disciplines while doing your core courses just to see if you like it and would actually like to switch or even graduate with a double major (at least in UWI while I was there, not too sure if this is an option anymore for either institution). Mechanical Engineers are the most in demand in the industry as they can be mechanical, piping, pipeline, corrosion, rotating equipment, turbine, and welding specialties just to name a few. If you are looking for a statistical probability of a degree matching up with a possible industry need, I would suggest Mechanical Engineering.

TheOwnerPO

Postby TheOwnerPO » January 15th, 2016, 4:23 pm

Daran wrote:Local accreditation only.

https://u.tt/index.php?accreditation=1&page_key=507

I honestly wouldn't recommend it unless you're passionate about it, have connections locally. ICT isn't a high paid glamourus work.

Stick to Petro if you're graduating 2 years from now there's a good chance oil prices will be back up.

I've noticed alot of people saying this but they're referring to people with I.T. certificates and not degrees right ? Surely a graduate in Computer Science or Computer Engineering can make atleast $15k minimum.

ninjabilly

Postby ninjabilly » January 15th, 2016, 5:53 pm

After 3 years in the trenches then probably, but right out of school no f'ing way unless is bobol.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

genghis

Postby genghis » January 20th, 2016, 9:32 am

graduates normally have little to none practical experience. its gona take a couple years and a few certs to get to 15k, and even then you still hada fix all yuh family tech issues :)

Postby RBphoto » January 20th, 2016, 11:18 am

I know quite a few guys making more than that by having their own business while working in IT. Guys installing security systems/ DVR's, supplying hardware and UPS systems and whatnot. A little entrepreneurship can go a long way if you know how to market your skill set.

romario3600

Postby romario3600 » September 7th, 2016, 1:42 pm

For anyone that sees this after, the Computer engineering degree at UTT is accredited by the IET(The Institution of Engineering and Technology) which is a large international body. how do i know this? I am currently doing the degree.

2) We are not doing CAPE level work, that guy is probably a first year student so that's all he's seen so far. how do i know this? i am a 4th year part time student with friends in UWI.

3) the guy above only provided the link that shows local accreditation, international accreditation info is found under the specialized accreditation section here https://u.tt/index.php?wk=53&page_key=506 . I am not saying UTT is the perfect institution no institution is but please do not go around giving false non-researched information.