ruffneck_12 wrote:ehhh dont listen to ingalook
RASC wrote:*snifffff*
Smell that?
Smells like old Chuna is back... You guys been missing for 5 years!
ingalook wrote:RASC wrote:*snifffff*
Smell that?
Smells like old Chuna is back... You guys been missing for 5 years!
You are a rare breed of stupid (or stand to profit from all of this) because you know I post critiquing the economic decisions of this and ALL governments since I've become a tuner all those years ago
As much as I want to call you stupid I fear its the latter
ruffneck_12 wrote:ehhh dont listen to ingalook
5onDfloor wrote:Ingalook, when find the answer to why the previous Administration never took measures to give us a soft landing during falling oil prices, then u can ask what the PNM has plan for us. Until then STFU.
ingalook wrote:You are selectively ignoring the fact that the government is reducing VAT to transfer funds to Retailers and planning on making the populous pay for it, isn't that corruption? Is that what you voted for? Is PNM corruption better than PP corruption? Or should we not stand for any of it?
ingalook wrote:So, this government has been taking some questionable steps in dealing with the economy (says me) especially the "tighten yuh belt" mantra we have been hearing over the past few months. "Why is this questionable" you might be asking, "shouldn't a government warn the people of tough times?" , "shouldn't we spend less in times of economic slowdown???"
The answer to the last question is "No!" - the economy basically runs on "happy feelings" (consumer confidence if you want to get technical) take away consumer confidence, people stop spending - now THAT is a recession.
The question is, why actively destroy consumer confidence?
1. Government wants us to accept various Austerity measures (look it up, austerity is VERY VERY bad and has destroyed economies around the world - I don't want to go into that here)
What measures?
-Removal of the Fuel Subsidy (actually the government is aiming to make a profit from the sale of our natural resource to us)
-Property tax (at a higher rate than we would accept without all the "hard times" talk)
-Increase in Motor Vehicle Tax - it coming (under the guise of trying to reduce the amount of cars on the road)
-Internet Shopping Tax - This coming for sure, thanks DOMA (it eh go be nothing too big, maybe 10 - 25% automatically charged by banks when you make online purchases and passed on to government)
Austerity???? BUT DEY REDUCING VAT!!!!
And exactly who does a reduction in VAT benefit? Consumers or retailers? (eh DOMA???)
In the states a reduction in sales tax benefits consumers, why? Because it is not included in the price of the good (much to the chagrin any trini who has traveled there) What that means is, if tax is 7% and it is reduced to 5% for them there is an instant drop in the price of the item if an item is advrtised as $100 they would actually pay $107 before and $105 after
Lets see how that works in Trinidad:
The majority of our products have VAT included in the price.
Lets say you go to the mall and see a short pants for $99.99, VAT is alredy in that price. When VAT moves from 15% to 12.5% do you really think they are going to start selling those pants for $97.57??? No - its $99.99 like it always was... who benefited? That 2.5% went directly into the pocket of the retailer as profit.
Did we really benefit from the removal of VAT from foodstuffs? Or did Massy stores just see a massive spike in profit?
Stay there and FEEL the government doesn't know what its doing...
They are reducing hundreds of millions from the public purse with this reduction - it goes back to the businessmen (DOMA) and someone will have to foot this reduction - thats where the austerity measures mentioned above come in
Happy New Year T&T!