antlind

Re: Drive in cinema!

Postby antlind » December 31st, 2015, 9:01 pm

SMc wrote:
mero wrote:
RoTaRyBoYz wrote:The damn hamster wheel/spinning barrel thing at Kaydona almost kill me as it was always missing a few boards.. Men use to hadda run & jump lol

Real fingers get pinch up in that.

Remember going children parties where about 10 men in the wheel, as one dive in so. Ebony get pitch out

I hope you mean everybody...anyway the main thing I remember from Kaydonna was the stinking mosquitoes, I think the last movie I saw there was Jurassic Park, then rides were always a trap but that was always part of the experience.

I can relate to the Kay Donna mosquitoes. I remember I saw my first preview of the Simpsons there in 1989 or 1990. I was dating my wife-to-be at the time. It was a short cartoon clip.

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » December 31st, 2015, 9:12 pm

Kaydonna could have been running till today tisk tisk

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » January 1st, 2016, 9:13 am

Kaydonna fry chicken n chips was bess,

I visited Bim drive in cinema lol, different culture there but nice to.

Real car horn and lights for any jokes from movies lol

Would be nice to have neighborhood movie nights to bring back knowing ur neighbors.

bumpie

Postby bumpie » March 2nd, 2016, 4:45 pm

Anybody opening drive in cinema soon?

fallen_angel

Postby fallen_angel » March 2nd, 2016, 5:30 pm

i have a big projector to throw in d mix, if someone have a big white bedsheet we cud hang it somewhere...

someone has to bring food and someone have to volunteer a venue

Postby rspann » March 2nd, 2016, 7:43 pm

Nah, you go want to bring yuh rasta man.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » March 2nd, 2016, 8:02 pm

maj. tom wrote:I wonder what it looks like inside now.

Send in a drone!

was inside kaydonna a couple years ago. it looks the same as it always did. was glad that was part of my childhood yes. watched lion king beauty and the beast and kuch kuch hota hai lol

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » March 2nd, 2016, 8:08 pm

good real estate

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 3rd, 2016, 3:20 am

so glad to have experienced "drive in" cinemas......real bess experiences....both kaydonna and plenty indian movie at twilite...yup that's the spelling

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » March 3rd, 2016, 3:59 am

The fries, the lime, the $ 20/ carload. ........bess times back then with family and friends. .......we use to swing those swings up to their limits yes.........good times

Zim

Postby Zim » March 17th, 2016, 2:48 pm

nice charity jibz. No sufferers does get the invite

Might as well pocket d proceeds

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » March 17th, 2016, 5:42 pm

cinco wrote:Pssht best part of Madonna was the Chinese style chicken and fries

Five yuh make me laugh!.... @ Madonna.

Postby Spitfir3 » March 17th, 2016, 5:55 pm

mero wrote:
RoTaRyBoYz wrote:The damn hamster wheel/spinning barrel thing at Kaydona almost kill me as it was always missing a few boards.. Men use to hadda run & jump lol

Real fingers get pinch up in that.

Remember going children parties where about 10 men in the wheel, as one dive in so. Ebony get pitch out

damn reading this post brought back memories
i remember always fearing my finger would get decapitated on that thing when i was a kid but of course that never stopped me from trying to get that sheit to spin as fast as possible just to see man frame get fling out

Postby redmanjp » March 17th, 2016, 6:07 pm

ah remember the $20/carload special- and you getting to see 2 movies!
but yuh hadda reach early before they closed that blue gate :(

screwbash

Postby screwbash » March 17th, 2016, 8:37 pm

jack warner already buy up all d land there. Jack owns kaydonna and the kfc opposite. It on the title deed.

Postby Gem_in_i » March 18th, 2016, 5:19 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

The Funhouse was kicks.

How many drive in cinemas did T&T have in total?

Kay Donna (north), Twilight (south), and someone told me about one in the west. Anyone has details on this one?

Heard there was one in Point Fortin too

Postby De Dragon » March 18th, 2016, 6:13 am

Remember that old joke about the idiot who when asked what was playing at said
"izza Indian double, and mispronounced "Kay Donna and Drive In as Kai Dunhia and Driveen? :lol: :lol:

Postby Morpheus » April 18th, 2016, 10:33 pm

The gate was slightly ajar when I passed this morning. Got a quick glimpse of the winding driveway and some of the play park.

*sigh

BoostJunkieXL

Postby BoostJunkieXL » April 19th, 2016, 8:24 am

hmmm i was small when kaydonna was still open but my household was poor at the time nor did we have a car so never got the chance to go...always wanted to go...saw someone talkin about doing like a neighborhood movienight or even if some tuners want to we chip in get a vennue borrow a projector somebody borrow mammie white bed sheet and we ornnnn.....wish they would reopen one though i'd love to experience that in trinidad

rafman

Postby rafman » April 19th, 2016, 8:29 am

The drive-in in the west was called Starlite. On the site of the plaza.

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » April 19th, 2016, 8:57 am

I believe the savannah close to beveca used to show some drive in movies too on a projector

professor

Postby professor » April 19th, 2016, 10:49 am

The nickname for Twilight was the 'Finger Bowl'. They had nice chicken and chips also.

Seeker

Postby Seeker » April 19th, 2016, 4:01 pm

Never went to the one at Kaydonna, only the drive-in at Point Fortin when I was wee lad.

antlind

Postby antlind » April 19th, 2016, 7:06 pm

Kay Donna was the greatest thing when I was in UWI back in the early 1980s. The only bad part was the darn mosquitoes.

I actually saw an early clip of The Simpsons there back in 1989-90. And I wondered 'what shite is this?' Who knew?