Lending money to a close friend or family Member...

stealth

Lending money to a close friend or family Member...

Postby stealth » December 28th, 2015, 3:40 pm

there is a saying friends and family should not do business with each other....

in the same light , business can mean giving a close friend or family a loan or a "borrow" (interest free).

if you can afford it and u lend either of the above (at your own discretion) a substantial amount of money and its over a year and they show no SERIOUS signs or intentions of returning it (except by saying "things bad, next week next two weeks, i trying to make up the money") what would u do?

NO Paper work was made

even if u have know the person for over 15 years and never to know them to be like that

Re: Lending money to a close friend or family Member...

Postby desifemlove » December 28th, 2015, 3:43 pm

who needs you for family, eh?

Postby j.o.e » December 28th, 2015, 3:52 pm

When dealing with family don't lend more than you're willing to write off ..... I know this doesn't help you after the fact but just advice for others

Postby rollingstock » December 28th, 2015, 4:37 pm

Count your losses cause fcuking up family members doesn't turn out good. Granny does stop talk to yuh an ting.

Postby gastly369 » December 28th, 2015, 4:54 pm

Friends wtf is dat?...burn to learn yes..

Postby zoom rader » December 28th, 2015, 5:11 pm

Jah bless the bank of parents (If they is harrylal that is)

fallen_angel

Postby fallen_angel » December 28th, 2015, 5:20 pm

boy, 3 different men owin me money and cant pay, i give up runnin dem down
right now i jus lookin to beat out dere wife, cuz 1 way or d other somebody hav 2 pay me back

if they cant pay with cash they will have to pay with kindness

Postby wagonrunner » December 28th, 2015, 5:39 pm

yuh could

orrrr agree a couple dollars is cheap to learn who's really for you.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 28th, 2015, 5:50 pm

You shouldn't, but hindsight is 20/20. Verbal agreement can stand in court. Threaten legal action, work out a payment plan or hold some personal property in collateral until debt is paid.
Joker woulda get that back for ya tho

Postby De Dragon » December 28th, 2015, 10:20 pm

Don't cuz dey say you lend to friends but get repaid by enemies.

Postby shogun » December 28th, 2015, 10:28 pm

Ent?

j.o.e wrote:When dealing with family don't lend more than you're willing to write off ..... I know this doesn't help you after the fact but just advice for others

That.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 28th, 2015, 10:28 pm

there is no such thing as friend and family when it comes to business

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » December 29th, 2015, 2:27 am

wa i found is that yuh does hav to bully these people into givin yuh wa eva money dey have everytime uh see dem until u owing dem and still continue taxin

pinks

Postby pinks » December 29th, 2015, 8:30 am

Bro if is an amount u cant write off..go to a lawyer and he go sort them out..u gotta burn to learn i guess..if is an amount u cud write off..forget abt it and use it as an example to never lend to friends an family again..hope yuh get tru

xaira

Postby xaira » December 29th, 2015, 9:58 am

get a thug to beat it out of them, weather its family, friends, acquaintances, coworkers, etc, people need to know not to fuq with your money, if u let one man get away, others will follow

Postby pete » December 29th, 2015, 10:55 am

Sold a fridge to some family a couple years ago for them to start their parlour. Still waiting for the money.

Sent from my MotoG3 using Tapatalk

kevin310

Postby kevin310 » December 29th, 2015, 11:48 am

Ask them to pay you back in installments, little by little better than non at all

Postby black start » December 29th, 2015, 11:50 am

pete wrote:Sold a fridge to some family a couple years ago for them to start their parlour. Still waiting for the money.

You gave...

carmelo

Postby carmelo » December 29th, 2015, 12:00 pm

employ a debt collection agency to collect on your behalf

Postby Slartibartfast » December 29th, 2015, 12:41 pm

First figure out which is more important to you. I spent a few thousand and a lot of my time backing a friend's business idea that fell through because neither of us could find the time to follow through. He told me numerous times he would pay me back his half of the value of the stock. I'm fully in the right to run him down to pay me back and I know he would. But when I crashed my mom's car some years back he pulled out a few thousand to give me to pay my mom without me even asking just to ease her headache a bit. You can't put a price on a good friendship (with family or otherwise) so you need to decide if that friendship is worth anything.

If you value the person and would like to keep them in your life then just tell them pay you when they can and forget about it
j.o.e wrote:When dealing with family don't lend more than you're willing to write off ..... I know this doesn't help you after the fact but just advice for others
rollingstock wrote:Count your losses cause fcuking up family members doesn't turn out good. Granny does stop talk to yuh an ting.

If the person not all that close then it sounds like you will have to be harsh to them. Just note that some people could hold a grudge forever so if you go this route it's best if you cut all ties with the person after this. If it's like a brother or something make sure to never be in a situation where you have to rely on him or place any trust in him. This goes double if it's a woman you lent it to. They WILL hold a grudge.
VexXx Dogg wrote:You shouldn't, but hindsight is 20/20. Verbal agreement can stand in court. Threaten legal action, work out a payment plan or hold some personal property in collateral until debt is paid.
Joker woulda get that back for ya tho
daxt0r wrote:wa i found is that yuh does hav to bully these people into givin yuh wa eva money dey have everytime uh see dem until u owing dem and still continue taxin

In future, never lend more that you are able to lose. Sometimes even honest people hit a bad situation and they can't meet their plans to repay you.

buckredan

Postby buckredan » December 29th, 2015, 10:08 pm

Don't ever ever ever lend money to nobody friend or family that will only cause enemy if for some reason u do lend consider it dead money,or make sure you put it on writing with Claus to how long they have to pay you back .they have a saying give a dog a bone they will keep coming back for more

Postby pete » December 30th, 2015, 8:19 pm

Yeah I'm waiting for the fridge to stop working then hear them come to ask about warranty and complain. Lol

Postby Morpheus » December 30th, 2015, 9:45 pm

zoom rader wrote:Jah bless the bank of parents (If they is harrylal that is)

You cyah help it eh Zoomers?

Postby zoom rader » December 31st, 2015, 5:08 am

Morpheus wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Jah bless the bank of parents (If they is harrylal that is)

You cyah help it eh Zoomers?

If kwame parents save and invested we would have had a better TT. But Carnival was a priority.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 4th, 2016, 7:05 pm

stealth wrote:there is a saying friends and family should not do business with each other....

in the same light , business can mean giving a close friend or family a loan or a "borrow" (interest free).

if you can afford it and u lend either of the above (at your own discretion) a substantial amount of money and its over a year and they show no SERIOUS signs or intentions of returning it (except by saying "things bad, next week next two weeks, i trying to make up the money") what would u do?

NO Paper work was made

even if u have know the person for over 15 years and never to know them to be like that

boy this is so simple eh. a life lesson my mom taught me since i small.

never lend what you cant afford to give.

even though that applies to strangers as well it is especially so for family. when we help family we musnt look back. thais family.. fyah bun a paper money.. at least that is my sentiment.

sound like this person struggling, would like to pay you back and has every intention of doing so. if it's not killing you and you dont absolutely need the repayment right away why stress them?

the only reason that could be is that you loaned more than you could afford to give.. and now u need that money correct?

i was in a similar situation.. not no set of money but still i forgive the debt to someone owing me who i taught the skills to survive out here and he went on to make a career out of it. years later now, he became a major supporter of my business ventures and doesnt even question my pricing. whatever i say he just pays. that and he know my pricing is di best anyway too eh lol.

but wah i saying.. things change.. tables turn.. ppl struggle.. but eventually find their way.. and they will always have you in mind for the time when you made their suffering less in this world during that tough period in their life.

my 2 cents

Postby De Dragon » January 4th, 2016, 11:40 pm

kevin310 wrote:Ask them to pay you back in installments, little by little better than non at all

Negative, I once did that for a cousin and after he paid a coupla instalments, he stopped and I being the guarantor ended up paying off the rest. :x :x

Postby SmokeyGTi » January 5th, 2016, 7:54 am

^^ Op already lent the person the money. It's proposed a way of getting it back.

Stealth I seriously hope you get back your money...although things looking grim..I'm getting the feeling moral suasion not gonna work.

Ian Alleyne for it?

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 5th, 2016, 8:03 am

De Dragon wrote:Don't cuz dey say you lend to friends but get repaid by enemies.

holy sheit, this is deep