T&TEC, WASA increase coming in 2016... now 2023?

Re: T&TEC, WASA increase coming in 2016... now 2021?

Postby redmanjp » December 31st, 2022, 12:21 pm

matr1x wrote:Reduction of.csrbon emissions is a joke. All this reduction and levels higher than ever?

Who exactly has actually reduced their emissions significantly? And do u expect to reverse the effects of almost 2 centuries of emissions in a few years?

Postby redmanjp » December 31st, 2022, 12:26 pm

adnj wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
alfa wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Sorry for those persons who live in those gated communities who are not allowed to hang clothes outside to dry.

Wait nah it have rules against that :shock:

Yesss sirrrr...the popular gated communities in North East trinidad very strict when it comes to "drying clothes outside " . The extra sad part is, several of those houses were built without proper garage space so is pressure all around.
An electric clothes drier requires 2 to 6 kilowatt-hours of electricity to dry a load of laundry.

At the highest current rate of 68 cents per kWh, the cost is no more than $4.

To my eyes, that doesn't seem like much of an issue. Unless, of course, your actual interest lies in the reduction of global carbon emissions.

Yeah as I said nobody running dryers for >6 hours each day except for laundry mats. Is AC is d main cause of huge bills. Imagine a bill that is higher than d cost of an AC installed!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 31st, 2022, 12:50 pm

redmanjp wrote:
adnj wrote:
alfa wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Sorry for those persons who live in those gated communities who are not allowed to hang clothes outside to dry.

Yesss sirrrr...the popular gated communities in North East trinidad very strict when it comes to "drying clothes outside " . The extra sad part is, several of those houses were built without proper garage space so is pressure all around.
An electric clothes drier requires 2 to 6 kilowatt-hours of electricity to dry a load of laundry.

To my eyes, that doesn't seem like much of an issue. Unless, of course, your actual interest lies in the reduction of global carbon emissions.

Yeah as I said nobody running dryers for >6 hours each day except for laundry mats. Is AC is d main cause of huge bills. Imagine a bill that is higher than d cost of an AC installed!

I paying for meh ac use in the night yes. 27° and a lasko and I good

Postby hover11 » December 31st, 2022, 12:53 pm

Landlords have started
giving out notices
of rent increases for 2023....ripple effect has begun

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 31st, 2022, 12:56 pm

adnj wrote:
alfa wrote:

So what does use the most electricity?

Postby hover11 » December 31st, 2022, 1:10 pm

All those "free" bulbs actually had a cost.....the government gives with one hand and takes with the other

Postby 88sins » December 31st, 2022, 1:15 pm

hover11 wrote:Landlords have started
giving out notices

Any evidence of this?
It kinda unreasonable to increase rent and say t&tec/wasa rates going up before the new rate increases actually comes into effect.

Anyway, let the cost of living keep on increasing. Just now yuh go see ppl reaching pension age and never move out their parents house go be the new normal, and a surge in the newly homeless when ppl can't afford rent and they eh have no relatives they can live with.

Postby adnj » December 31st, 2022, 1:23 pm

matr1x wrote:Reduction of.csrbon emissions is a joke. All this reduction and levels higher than ever?

Worldwide carbon emissions are relatively flat. The US and European nations have significantly reduced their own carbon emissions while Indo Asian nations continue to increase their carbon emissions.

Postby hover11 » December 31st, 2022, 2:11 pm

Remember the new pension age is proposed at 65 next year they bringing that motion in Parliament ...things nice though. Why care about the little ppl when you live off the fat of the land
giving out notices

Any evidence of this?
It kinda unreasonable to increase rent and say t&tec/wasa rates going up before the new rate increases actually comes into effect.

Anyway, let the cost of living keep on increasing. Just now yuh go see ppl reaching pension age and never move out their parents house go be the new normal, and a surge in the newly homeless when ppl can't afford rent and they eh have no relatives they can live with.

Postby adnj » December 31st, 2022, 3:30 pm

hover11 wrote:Remember the new pension age is proposed at 65 next year they bringing that motion in Parliament ...things nice though. Why care about the little ppl when you live off the fat of the land
giving out notices

Any evidence of this?

... but is there any evidence of rent increase notices?

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » December 31st, 2022, 4:39 pm

That's a dumb statement as usual by hover, I'm a landlord and ttec rates not really affecting anything. Most landlords now sperate electrical from rental values. So not affecting overall payment.
Subsidies as a whole need to be removed to allow market parity anyway. It's not a government move to do this, if you have objections contact the RIC and have a discussion with them. From resource management it only aids to remove subsidies and redirect the opportunity cost to more critical investment.
Developed countries live by this so why complain? Change your habits and adjust your lifestyle.

Postby maj. tom » December 31st, 2022, 4:41 pm

Tenants in a residential renting setup usually pay their own utility bills (except water), unless maybe they're renting as a student near UWI.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » December 31st, 2022, 4:48 pm

The main culprit that owes T&TEC is the GORTT to the sum of TT$1.2 Billion, ordinary customers owe approximately $264 Million, Desalcott $50 Million - Guardian Shaliza Hassanali

If this is true the working class stands to pay for the inefficiencies of Govt once again. Why is the Govt seeking to increase electrical rates when they cannot pay their own

Postby hover11 » December 31st, 2022, 4:59 pm

Great point, however, the government doesn't own any money, they manage taxpayers money or mismanage for lack of a better word. So yea taxpayers will always get the short end of the stick
cornfused wrote:The main culprit that owes T&TEC is the GORTT to the sum of TT$1.2 Billion, ordinary customers owe approximately $264 Million, Desalcott $50 Million - Guardian Shaliza Hassanali

If this is true the working class stands to pay for the inefficiencies of Govt once again. Why is the Govt seeking to increase electrical rates when they cannot pay their own

Postby adnj » December 31st, 2022, 5:00 pm

hover11 wrote:Great point, however, the government doesn't own any money, they manage taxpayers money or mismanage for lack of a better word. So yea taxpayers will always get the short end of the stick
cornfused wrote:The main culprit that owes T&TEC is the GORTT to the sum of TT$1.2 Billion, ordinary customers owe approximately $264 Million, Desalcott $50 Million - Guardian Shaliza Hassanali

Postby hover11 » December 31st, 2022, 5:02 pm

All this to say you are landlord :S....anyway you are but one landlord, you understand that there are month to month tenants and if the landlord decides to raise rent because he himself will be facing increased cost of living due to the increase where do you THINK he is going to get that extra money from genius?
jhonnieblue wrote:That's a dumb statement as usual by hover, I'm a landlord and ttec rates not really affecting anything. Most landlords now sperate electrical from rental values. So not affecting overall payment.
Subsidies as a whole need to be removed to allow market parity anyway. It's not a government move to do this, if you have objections contact the RIC and have a discussion with them. From resource management it only aids to remove subsidies and redirect the opportunity cost to more critical investment.
Developed countries live by this so why complain? Change your habits and adjust your lifestyle.

Postby adnj » December 31st, 2022, 5:04 pm

hover11 wrote:All this to say you are landlord :S....anyway you are but one landlord, you understand that there are month to month tenants and if the landlord decides to raise rent because he himself will be facing increased cost of living due to the increase where do you THINK he is going to get that extra money from genius?
jhonnieblue wrote:That's a dumb statement as usual by hover, I'm a landlord and ttec rates not really affecting anything. Most landlords now sperate electrical from rental values. So not affecting overall payment.

Postby hover11 » December 31st, 2022, 5:08 pm

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:All this to say you are landlord :S....anyway you are but one landlord, you understand that there are month to month tenants and if the landlord decides to raise rent because he himself will be facing increased cost of living due to the increase where do you THINK he is going to get that extra money from genius?
You want me to post someone lease ? I confused

Postby adnj » December 31st, 2022, 5:09 pm

hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
You want me to post someone lease ? I confused

Postby adnj » December 31st, 2022, 6:06 pm

Postby bluefete » January 6th, 2023, 5:35 pm

So RIC was supposed to post the document outlining how T&TEC arrived at its rate increase proposals since 4:00 p.m.

Then they apologized and said it would be posted at 5:00 p.m.

5:30 p.m. and counting - CRICKETS!!!!!!!!

Waste of flipping time.

Postby hover11 » January 6th, 2023, 5:47 pm

bluefete wrote:So RIC was supposed to post the document outlining how T&TEC arrived at its rate increase proposals since 4:00 p.m.

Then they apologized and said it would be posted at 5:00 p.m.

5:30 p.m. and counting - CRICKETS!!!!!!!!

Waste of flipping time.
Saying anything makes no sense. The government does what it wants to do anyway.

Postby hover11 » January 9th, 2023, 7:55 pm

No salaries and pension increases ,but pay more for amenities, all who despise UNC. Will remember they who increased old age pension ,not once but twice. Else old people die of hunger and starvation. Nevertheless we have a caring administration...

Postby maj. tom » January 9th, 2023, 9:04 pm

That is one long ass document yes. But I find this on Pg 184

Commercial rates on page 185.

wing

Postby wing » January 9th, 2023, 9:06 pm

hover11 wrote:No salaries and pension increases ,but pay more for amenities, all who despise UNC. Will remember they who increased old age pension ,not once but twice. Else old people die of hunger and starvation. Nevertheless we have a caring administration...
Help the elderly, forgo the 4% and increase the old age pension.

Postby redmanjp » January 9th, 2023, 10:22 pm

how much kwh an electric car uses let's say 30 min drive to and from work monday to friday? is it going to cause someone to ended up in the last category of over 7000kwh which means a more than 60% increase in cost?

Postby adnj » January 9th, 2023, 10:31 pm

Average electric vehicle usage is 1800 km distance, 350 kWh per month. That's $210/ month at the highest rate.

death365

Postby death365 » January 10th, 2023, 8:35 am

ok so all the Govt can afford is a lowly 4% (which is actually 2% per period over 2 periods) but some how people can afford increases of 15- 22% on their bills.

thank God PNM for protecting we from the theifing UNC!!!! {PNM 4 EVR}

Postby hover11 » January 10th, 2023, 8:55 am

death365 wrote:ok so all the Govt can afford is a lowly 4% (which is actually 2% per period over 2 periods) but some how people can afford increases of 15- 22% on their bills.

thank God PNM for protecting we from the theifing UNC!!!! {PNM 4 EVR}
WAIT it gets better they have 80 million to spend to fix up a stink stadium that nobody uses and 147 Million to throw behind carnival. Instead of they take that same money and pay off their debt to T&TEC they rather waste it . T&TEC isn't in this position because of residential or commercial arrears it's because of government arrears.

PNM economics don't question it