T&TEC, WASA increase coming in 2016... now 2023?

Re: T&TEC, WASA increase coming in 2016... now 2021?

Postby matr1x » December 10th, 2020, 3:49 am

2nd night of power outage

Postby adnj » December 10th, 2020, 7:05 am

Redman wrote:
sMASH wrote:should 4kin triple it.

Based on what iv read

Even if they do..we would still pay about $2.00 TTD per cubic meter.

Jamaica pays $12.00

Curacao\ Bahamas pay $18.00

However....using the per capita use of locals as published by wasa, and assuming we pay 400 per quarter....we actually pay 12 ¢

first thing you have to ask when considering WASA's figures for per capita usage, do they adjust for the millions of gallons wasted by leaks that are usually left unattended for weeks and months? or are those wasted resources palmed off as "consumed" when they are not?

The per capita usage was off a news article.

I read a WRA doc that set production at 382 MCM per year.

37% domestic

47% unaccounted for...ie leaks.

So they don't hide it

So half going to waste and the PNM expects people to meekly swallow a fixed rate increase? The very definition of paying for nothing!
Per capital usage estimates also account for wastage. The estimates are based on the consumption of metered commercial and residential connections and are then extrapolated.

Postby Redman » December 10th, 2020, 7:15 am

382 MCM.
37% is domestic.

Subject to correction
That comes up to 65 gallons per person per day.

So that 90 gallon might include the commercial....I will find the specific doc and link it later.

Postby zoom rader » December 10th, 2020, 7:30 am

Redman wrote:382 MCM.
37% is domestic.

Subject to correction

So that 90 gallon might include the commercial....I will find the specific doc and link it later.

Are you in Favor of all round rate increases ?

Can you justify these rate increases ?

Why must citizens pay for Wasa mis management of Water wastages?

Postby sMASH » December 10th, 2020, 7:39 am

as i have said before, if they meter the households, they would find that what is received by the houses, will be far less than what leave the battery limits. that is why they dont want to do meters, cause meters woudl cost money and they will be losing income.

so, is jess like what goes on in pt lisas take or pay contracts. WASA charging for what is sent out, not what is received.

Postby Redman » December 10th, 2020, 7:45 am

Well I’m in favor of starting where we are.

Where we are is we need water.
We pay next to nothing and use too much.
We have a state enterprise that is dis functional to say the least.
We have a distribution network that is 20+ years past it’s replace by date.
Doing nothing means we have bigger problems down a short road.

That sheit justifies itself.

Same reason we stuck paying for the 2010-2015 deficits amid the highest revenues ever.

Postby Redman » December 10th, 2020, 7:48 am

sMASH wrote:as i have said before, if they meter the households, they would find that what is received by the houses, will be far less than what leave the battery limits. that is why they dont want to do meters, cause meters woudl cost money and they will be losing income.

so, is jess like what goes on in pt lisas take or pay contracts. WASA charging for what is sent out, not what is received.

Since 2005 ish....metering has been on the table.

Meters are cheap....install and add the cost to the bill under a separate line item.

Allow it to be paid off over x time.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 10th, 2020, 7:56 am

sMASH wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Redman wrote:

Based on what iv read

Jamaica pays $12.00

However....using the per capita use of locals as published by wasa, and assuming we pay 400 per quarter....we actually pay 12 ¢

I have a meter on one property and its around $1.85 per 220 gal

how ur quarterly bill looks like

Presently building a house on this property, last bill was $80

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » December 10th, 2020, 8:07 am

Fix leaks before any rate increase.

Postby 88sins » December 10th, 2020, 9:19 am

Redman wrote:

Based on what iv read

Jamaica pays $12.00

first thing you have to ask when considering WASA's figures for per capita usage, do they adjust for the millions of gallons wasted by leaks that are usually left unattended for weeks and months? or are those wasted resources palmed off as "consumed" when they are not?

The per capita usage was off a news article.

I read a WRA doc that set production at 382 MCM per year.

37% domestic

47% unaccounted for...ie leaks.

So they don't hide it

so we assume that the remaining 16% went where? gov't offices & private businesses? farmers? evaporation?
something there sounding kinda off

Postby sMASH » December 10th, 2020, 9:33 am

timothymcdavid wrote:Fix leaks before any rate increase.
meter houses before rate increase, lol.

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » December 10th, 2020, 9:37 am

Several things is off ...

But so it goes when you live in a socialist country inefficiency abounds everywhere the central govt doesnt run things with dollars and cents in the forefront of their mind not even delivering good service ... red, red circles, yellow or even orange ... it is only about currying favor with their supporters at a time, place and price that suits them.

Sad thing is there is no real way we can privatize either WASA or T&TEC.

Postby 88sins » December 10th, 2020, 9:55 am

timothymcdavid wrote:Several things is off ...

But so it goes when you live in a socialist country inefficiency abounds everywhere the central govt doesnt run things with dollars and cents in the forefront of their mind not even delivering good service ... red, red circles, yellow or even orange ... it is only about currying favor with their supporters at a time, place and price that suits them.

Sad thing is there is no real way we can privatize either WASA or T&TEC.

the LAST thing you or anyone want's, it for the state to convert WASA to private ownership.

Postby Redman » December 10th, 2020, 10:42 am

@88

http://www.mpu.gov.tt/home/files/Draft% ... ch2017.pdf

Although Trinidad and Tobago has an abundance of freshwater resources, the quantity and quality of the
resources are under significant threat due to climate change, pollution, watershed degradation and
increasing sectoral demand. In order to address these issues there must be a coordinated and integrated
approach to manage and optimise the resources across all sectors. Integrated Water Resource
Management (IWRM) is recognised internationally as best practice for guiding countries towards
coordinated development and management of water, land and related resources.
Freshwater Availability: Freshwater is a very limited resource, accounting for only 2.5% of the Earth’s
total water (UNESCO, 2003). The available surface water in Trinidad is estimated at 2800 MCM per year
(GENIVAR, 2008) and Tobago at 103 MCM per year (GENIVAR, 2008). The potential available
groundwater in Trinidad is estimated at 211 MCM per year (WRA 2013) and for Tobago at 55 MCM per
year (WRA, 2013). Therefore, the total water available for consumption in Trinidad and Tobago is
estimated at 3,169 MCM per year. Expressed per capita, the surface water availability in Trinidad and
Tobago is approximately 2,200 m3/year per person. The international criterion for water scarcity is less
than 1,000 m3/year per person. Thus by international standards, Trinidad and Tobago is not a water
scarce country.
Raw Freshwater Abstraction: A total of 342 MCM per year (WRA 2015) of water was abstracted from
surface (65%) and groundwater (35%) sources. The three major groups of abstractors WASA (96%),
Industrial/commercial (3%) and agriculture (1%).
Public Water Supply: The public water supplied in 2015 was estimated at 382 MCM per year, (WASA,
2016) comprising approximately 60% surface water, 23% ground water and 17% desalination.
The domestic sector was the largest single user of water in the country, accounting for approximately
37.3% of consumption (WASA, 2016). Total industrial and commercial consumption accounted for 14.5%
(WASA, 2016), with agriculture use at only 0.2% (WASA, 2016).
The area of concern is the very high unaccounted for water (UFW) at approximately 48%.
The high level
of unaccounted for water, not only affects the supply to customers, but also places a higher expenditure
on treatment and pumping costs. Major causes of unaccounted for water are leaks in old and undersized
transmission and distribution systems, illegal water connections and the absence of universal metering. A
water demand reduction programme is required.
The demand for water was estimated at 393 MCM/year in 2015 (DHV, 1999). When the seasonal
variation is considered, the deficit in water availability is exacerbated during severe dry weather due to
low surface water flows adversely affecting the reliability of the water supply

Postby 88sins » December 10th, 2020, 11:16 am

I see what they saying, but at the end of the day, UAFW is much more than domestic consumption. Not only that, but those industrial figures sounding WAAAAY underrated.
When most people NOT home during the day to use water, they trying to say that residential properties consume 2.6x the amount of water used at all the industrial plants, beverage processing plants, meat processing plants, water parks, restaurants, schools, etc. etc. combined?

Like I say, sumn about it sounds off.

Postby adnj » December 10th, 2020, 11:20 am

Redman wrote:382 MCM.
37% is domestic.

Subject to correction

Rates worldwide for developed countries (OECD) range from about TT$3.60 to TT$58.75 per cubic meter of water.

The estimates vary but citizens of developed countries use 80 to 100 gallons per person per day for all indoor water usage. The largest water use is from toilet flushing followed by showers and bathing.

Postby The_Honourable » December 20th, 2020, 12:31 pm

Minister slams ‘lying WASA manager’, says major shake-up coming for 2021

A major shake-up is expected to take place soon at state-owned Water and Sewerage Authority (WASA), as Minister of Public Utilities Marvin Gonzales moves to make the organisation efficient come 2021.

Part of the restructuring exercise may lead to job losses, a cut in overtime, an overhaul of the management, and will include the introduction of technology to detect leaking pipelines and low water pressure in communities.

The disclosure came from Gonzales last week, just days after a detailed report on WASA’s lingering issues along with recommendations to transform the beleaguered organisation into a productive and profitable one was submitted to Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley for review. For decades, WASA has been plagued with a host of problems that no government has been able to address.

In September, Rowley appointed a Cabinet sub-committee chaired by Gonzales and included ministers Donna Cox, Pennelope Beckles and Franklin Khan to look into the operations of WASA and come up with a comprehensive plan to turn around the cash-strapped company.

Gonzales, who did not reveal the content of the report, said he was dissatisfied with WASA’s service to communities, lack of staff accountability, hefty overtime bills, and the million-dollar bonuses paid out to workers. He is also unhappy that WASA is facing mounting debts and a staggering $600 million owed to contractors which cannot be accounted for by the authority.

Gonzales, who assumed office in August, said he never anticipated WASA to be in such “a bad and chronic state.”

He said WASA which was operating on “autopilot”, is “dysfunctional” and in a “crisis”.

The minister said a lot of things taking place at the authority were “unacceptable and worrying” as paying customers deserve a reliable water supply.

Misled by manager, some not doing their jobs

Gonzales said he had solid evidence that some of WASA’s managers were not doing their jobs.

A month ago, Gonzales said he asked WASA’s technical staff to find out why Paramin residents were not receiving water. First, he was told some issues needed to be sorted out. Then he got a report stating that everything was OK.

“The last report I got was that the entire community was getting an efficient water supply. But the residents kept telling me a different story, they were still not getting water.”

Realising something was wrong, Gonzales said he visited Paramin with a WASA management team only to find out from residents that their taps had been dry for weeks.

“In other words, I was being misled by the management of WASA as to the true situation taking place on the ground. Can you imagine if the Prime Minister had asked me what was the situation in Paramin? I would have reported to him what was reported to me by senior management in WASA.”

This, he said, was unacceptable.

He said some managers working in various regions had not been informing their bosses about problems on the ground so corrective action can be taken.

Gonzales said equally shocking was that no disciplinary action had been taken against the manager who had deceived him.

Asked if he was in support of workers being suspended or reprimanded for failing to carry out their duties, Gonzales said he preferred to hold people accountable for their actions or lack thereof.

“In any serious organisation or country, he (manager) would have been placed on suspension already. If you cannot trust the information provided to you, it paints a very dark picture as to what you are dealing with in that organisation. The problem inside of WASA is bad management.”

He said if these issues continue at WASA “we will only be spinning top in mud.”

Gonzales said the time had come “to take the bull by its horns.”

Management operating in silos

Gonzales revealed that WASA’s outdated organisational structure must be reviewed and streamlined.

“There are too many levels of management…there are about seven or eight levels of management which makes it almost a nightmare to manage. It’s difficult to send information down from the top and vice versa because of the various levels. They all operate in silos. There is no interconnectivity.” WASA has 50 managers.

As a citizen, Gonzales said he was “very disappointed that such an important organisation as WASA had reached to this level where it cannot provide an efficient service to the people of this country.” He said he was fed up of complaints from communities, customers, citizens, and MPs about WASA’s poor supply.

“From the Prime Minister straight down. The Prime Minister has to complain to his Minister of Public Utilities that there are areas in Carenage and his constituency not getting water. I find that is most embarrassing.”

Asked if we can expect a managerial shake-up at WASA soon, Gonzales replied,

“There must be a managerial shake-up. It’s impossible to manage the company with this (current) managerial structure. It cannot be business as usual.”

Going forward, Gonzales said workers will also be graded on their performance.

Gonzales said he has no intention of playing politics with WASA and Public Services’ Association president Watson Duke, as all constituencies have been suffering for water for too long.

“I don’t have time for that. What has to be done will be done.”

WASA overstaffed, workers must be held accountable

Gonzales dismissed reports of WASA being privatised but admitted the organisation is overstaffed. He said WASA’s staff to management ratio was very high when compared to international water companies and the matter must be looked into.

“I have seen documents and a number of reports during this investigation that WASA is overstaffed. We have to look at it. All the reports point to the fact that WASA is overstaffed.

“But this is something I am certain we will have to look at. It is something you would have to tread on gingerly, as you are talking about people’s bread and butter.”

Gonzales said he knows that workers are very concerned whether or not they would have their jobs in 2021.

A 2012 report compiled by WASA showed that in an attempt to get funding from the Inter-American Development Bank, one conditionality was that the authority undertakes an urgent staff rationalisation exercise. This was done by the previous People’s Partnership government.

Gonzales said WASA needed to get 2,500 of its 5000 employees out of the organisation. He said 1,000 employees accepted VSEP which “cost the people of this country $400 million.”

By 2015 however, Gonzales said, WASA’s workforce returned to its original figure of 5,000.

“In my view, WASA has been operating without strategic guidance. If you can get management right in WASA to hold people (workers) accountable for their respective regions, 60 to 70 per cent of the problems at the organisation can be dealt with.

“We have to change the philosophy in which we approach the management of a critical sector like WASA. In this country, if you don’t hold people accountable it’s ole mas and J’Ouvert morning every single day.

“People must be held accountable and once you start to go down that road, I can assure the people of T&T you will see an improvement in your water supply.”

Illegal connections pervasive in T&T

Gonzales’ visit to Paramin also unearthed that several residents had illegal water connections.

“These illegal connections have been preventing water from going to legitimate customers. Illegal connections in the country are very pervasive.”

Gonzales said he mandated WASA’s new board headed by Dr Lennox Sealy to undertake an audit of WASA’s legitimate customers and identify those who have been illegally obtaining water so they can become paying customers.

If they fail to comply, they will be disconnected, he added.

“The evidence is that 40 per cent of the water WASA produces is not accounted for as a result of leaks and illegal connections which is a loss of revenue and wastages taking place.”

WASA produces 220 million gallons of water daily. While WASA loses millions of gallons of water annually through ageing infrastructure, Gonzales said installing new pipelines would only solve part of the problem.

He said for deprived communities to get a regular water supply WASA has to provide technological and pressure management support.

“You can put in new lines, but if you do not have proper water pressure management, the pipes are going to rupture.”

He said WASA has to invest in technology which can inform its workers when there is insufficient water or too much pressure in their system or a leaking pipeline.

WASA’s $90 million overtime bill

Gonzales said in the report of the Cabinet sub-committee, “we have outlined a work programme.”

He said the first thing WASA has to do is provide water to communities according to its schedule and rebuild customers’ trust.

“You can come with the biggest plan to transform WASA if that plan does not have the rebuilding of trust, then that plan will go nowhere.”

Another bugbear, Gonzales said, was WASA’s $90 million yearly overtime bill.

Each month, WASA pays $91 million in wages to its employees.

“And you are spending $8 million annually in all kinds of bonuses and allowances. Yet still, you are complaining that you don’t have money to buy simple plumbing tools to do the job. The issue is not money. The issue is management. $90 million in overtime is ridiculous.”

He said this issue stemmed from the collective bargaining agreement negotiated between the unions and WASA.

“WASA is a 24-hour operation. How can you negotiate a collective bargaining agreement on an 8 am to 4 pm work basis?… That anything after 4 pm is deemed to be overtime.”

Bonuses not tied to performance

Gonzales said he discovered that WASA paid bonuses to workers who did not utilise their sick leave.

“But you don’t have the documentary evidence to suggest or to point to the fact that person A or B was on the job at a particular point in time.

“Who pays a bonus for persons not taking sick leave?”

He said these bonuses were not tied to performances which makes “it a free-for-all at the organisation.”

The question: Should an underperforming state enterprise pay bonuses to employees?

“If bonuses are tied to performances that is a different story. I am all about supporting and paying bonuses to employees who perform and when there is an improvement in services,” Gonzales said.

He disclosed that WASA’s employees receive far better salaries compared to workers in the utility sector.

Over the last decade, he said, the Government had pumped $21 billion into WASA.

“What have we gotten for $21 billion?” he asked.

WASA received $1 billion in the 2021 fiscal package as opposed to the $1.6 billion it had requested.

“A lot of the monies going into WASA are not going into items that can result in an improvement of service to the people.”

Recently, the Regulated Industries Commission (RIC) advised that they began a price review process for WASA.

The process involved three stages with the RIC publishing its final determination after reviewing all comments and concerns raised during public consultations.

WASA’s last rate increase was in 1993.

Gonzales said the role of the RIC is not about increasing rates but having benchmarks to ensure the efficient delivery of the utility service.

“In looking for a tariff increase for water in T&T the process entails WASA producing a comprehensive business plan to the RIC. So, it is not about getting up one morning to raise the rate. The RIC will not approve an increase in tariff if WASA does not demonstrate how it will improve its inefficiencies. You cannot ask people of T&T to pay more for water and that money will be used to fund inefficiencies.”

$4 billion in debts, WASA unable to verify $600 million owed to contractors

He said the Government would have to make tough decisions for WASA to become financially sustainable as it debts stood at $4 billion.

“Then we have another nightmare within the organisation, nearly $600 million of unrecorded liability, meaning that $600 million in debts owed to contractors, with WASA not having the capacity to verify those bills due to mismanagement. Some of these contractors have taken WASA to court and WASA has been losing those matters because the records at WASA cannot substantiate the debt. It puts WASA at a disadvantageous position.”

Source: https://www.cnc3.co.tt/minister-slams-l ... -for-2021/

Postby zoom rader » December 20th, 2020, 1:12 pm

Kams to blame for Wasa nightmare .

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 20th, 2020, 8:12 pm

Shake up long overdue... to bad pnmites would be affected the most

Postby zoom rader » December 20th, 2020, 8:27 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Shake up long overdue... to bad pnmites would be affected the most
Not really

It will be ethnic cleansing first.

The real hard core red Goverment idiot will be last to go .

Postby zoom rader » December 20th, 2020, 8:32 pm

Wasa will be split up for red Goverment contractors for field operations .

Expect red Goverment MPs families to be running these many little contracts.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » December 21st, 2020, 7:36 am

i surprise they ent target TTEC first given the amount of skilled mamoo workers there.
The funny part is that the state of WASA was shocking to the honorable minister, every state company and board is filled with incompetent PNM stooges, this is common knowledge, like he head in the sand since he born or wa rofl.

Postby zoom rader » December 21st, 2020, 9:35 am

daxt0r wrote:i surprise they ent target TTEC first given the amount of skilled mamoo workers there.
The funny part is that the state of WASA was shocking to the honorable minister, every state company and board is filled with incompetent PNM stooges, this is common knowledge, like he head in the sand since he born or wa rofl.
Redman is one of those, as we know he spends his goverment working time on Tuner posting propaganda.

This is how productive red Goverment supporters and bloggers are.

Redman is supposed to be working but he's on tuner and FB

Postby Redman » December 21st, 2020, 11:30 am

daxt0r wrote:i surprise they ent target TTEC first given the amount of skilled mamoo workers there.
Redman is one of those, as we know he spends his goverment working time on Tuner posting propaganda.

But Zoombindranath- how could you say responding to your insightful posts is non productive?

Im hurt. :cry:

Postby zoom rader » December 21st, 2020, 11:35 am

Redman wrote:

But Zoombindranath- how could you say responding to your insightful posts is non productive?

You are stealing time at your employers work place by spending all day on tuner posting propaganda .

You are a criminal by defrauding your employer

Postby Redman » December 21st, 2020, 11:52 am

But if it is as daxtor says -its set of PNM stooges in WASA- how is it that tanty Kams borrowed 250M USD in 2013 to reorganize WASA....and one of the goals of the loan-50M USD was allocated to reducing the staff levels by about 50%.

So they get the loans-but staff levels remained the same.??
You would think that if it was PNM stooges- axe would have drop.

Oddly after a few years of decreasing staff in 2010 the trend began reversing.

So in 2013 the UNC borrowed 250M USD to straighten out WASA...20.1 of which is to deal directly with staff levels,yet here we are today stuck with the loan and the staff...Kamla dem well rise fuh true.

https://docs.google.com/a/workersunion. ... DUyNWUwODE

Postby Redman » December 21st, 2020, 11:55 am

Redman wrote:

You are stealing time at your employers work place by spending all day on tuner posting propaganda .

Thats OK Zoombindranath- i spend plenty extra hours doing what needs to be done so it works out-its not a 9-5.

However my employer thanks you for your concerns.

Postby zoom rader » December 21st, 2020, 11:56 am

Redman wrote:

But if it is as daxtor says -its set of PNM stooges in WASA- how is it that tanty Kams borrowed 250M USD in 2013 to reorganize WASA....and one of the goals of the loan-50M USD was allocated to reducing the staff levels by about 50%.

So they get the loans-but staff levels remained the same.??
You would think that if it was PNM stooges- axe would have drop.

Oddly after a few years of decreasing staff in 2010 the trend began reversing.

So in 2013 the UNC borrowed 250M USD to straighten out WASA...20.1 of which is to deal directly with staff levels,yet here we are today stuck with the loan and the staff...Kamla dem well rise fuh true.

https://docs.google.com/a/workersunion. ... DUyNWUwODE
Yep blame kams for her one term in office.

Postby zoom rader » December 21st, 2020, 11:59 am

Redman wrote:

Thats OK Zoombindranath- i spend plenty extra hours doing what needs to be done so it works out-its not a 9-5.

You are using your Employer internet and PC equipment for your personal gain.

This is stealing from your Employer and you are a dishonest employee

You are a Criminal, but that's expected with red Goverment people.

Postby Redman » December 21st, 2020, 12:35 pm

Redman wrote:

You are using your Employer internet and PC equipment for your personal gain.

This is stealing from your Employer and you are a dishonest employee

You are a Criminal, but that's expected with red Goverment people.

No boy I working from home...and for myself for the last 15 years about....
Why does my situation concern you?

You're attention is comforting though.