T&TEC, WASA increase coming in 2016... now 2023?

Re: T&TEC, WASA increase coming in 2016... now 2021?

Postby Redman » October 19th, 2020, 12:38 pm

So what do you suggest 88?

Postby 88sins » October 19th, 2020, 1:31 pm

Redman wrote:So what do you suggest 88?

For starters.

Initiate supply metering and a modest 10% rate increase to cover the cost.
Strip wasa workforce down to bare bones from executive management downward, with zero perks or other terms of engagement benefits (no car & driver, no housing allowance, meal allowance, entertainment allowance, etc, they are paid a blasted salary for those things, their salary ain't for them to just deposit in bank & stare at). Drive yuh car & get to work & do your job, if not, either resign or get fired.
Eliminate ALL private contractors relationships that provide R&M services to supply lines.
Start fixing leaks as soon as reports come in, small or large
gtfo that arrangement with desalcott quick fast & in a hurry. Start it's own desalination project, start small & expand slowly if need be.

rebound

Postby rebound » October 19th, 2020, 1:37 pm

Wouldnt that be examples of the right measures and management I said should be done?...

I has to start somewhere, we cant just throw up our hands.

For starters.

Strip wasa workforce down to bare bones from executive management downward, with zero perks or other terms of engagement benefits (no car & driver, no housing allowance, meal allowance, entertainment allowance, etc, they are paid a blasted salary for those things, their salary ain't for them to just deposit in bank & stare at). Drive yuh car & get to work & do your job, if not, either resign or get fired.
Eliminate ALL private contractors relationships that provide R&M services to supply lines.
gtfo that arrangement with desalcott quick fast & in a hurry. Start it's own desalination project, start small & expand slowly if need be.

Postby 88sins » October 19th, 2020, 2:39 pm

rebound wrote:Wouldnt that be examples of the right measures and management I said should be done?...

I has to start somewhere, we cant just throw up our hands

I agree, can't throw hands in the air & just say ok, and resign oneself to accept whatever negatives in life comes your way no matter what.
But son, you & I knowing & being willing to do what needs be done for the greater good of all (including the institution) in the long run, & in comparison some petty functionary of a bureaucratic political minion ACTUALLY doing it, are two entirely different things.
There's a lot to lose doing many of those things, not for WASA as an institution, but particularly for the higher ups and politicos & their affiliates that benefit from the inefficiencies & mismanagement. And they don't plan to lose nothing without gaining at least 2x as much soon thereafter. These things are effectively beyond the control of the citizenry(outside of elections that is), same way as (short of widespread voluntary disconnection) a steep rate increase would be beyond the control of the consumer.

So what will happen?
Since the ones that have the potential to lose the most are the ones in control of what happens as per rate increases & failure to streamline operations, & their knowing the public can't stop or start anything to effect change that benefits all & too timid/lazy to get up & try, the public, in short, the consumer, will be made to bear the brunt of the cost of the inefficiencies, and that's that.

Postby Redman » October 20th, 2020, 12:16 pm

For starters.

Sounds great.Sounds like every restructuring plan for wasa since forever

Of course you haven’t reached the point of paying for everything.

Metering costs, as does downsizing, as will terminating Desalcott.

Wasa produces 220,000,000 gallons per day.
They collect $800m from water.
Govt injections are about 1.9b

There is debt of 5.3B.
Receivables of 600m.

They have to restructure without interruption....

Revenue is needed...then on that basis restructuring can take place to finance the way forward.

Per capita is 90 Imp gal per day.
8100 IG per quarter...220 IG per cubic meter Gives 37 cubic meters

We pay 400 every 3 months

Or 11 cents per cubic meter.
TTD
Jamaica pays $12TTD.

Postby De Dragon » October 22nd, 2020, 3:50 pm

For starters.

Agreed, but in reverse order. The only raw material supply that isn't totally facked up right now to the slowly dying Pt Lisas Estate is electricity. Don't buy into the hype about DESALCOTT being a TGU type deal, where we're paying for what isn't needed. DESALCOTT is VITAL to companies on the Estate.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » October 29th, 2020, 10:06 am

Random question, as wasa usually classifies properties as Domestic or Commercial, what exactly does wasa define as a Cottage? I see it on the chart to the back of the bill and curious.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 29th, 2020, 10:12 am

ProtonPowder wrote:Random question, as wasa usually classifies properties as Domestic or Commercial, what exactly does wasa define as a Cottage? I see it on the chart to the back of the bill and curious.

"All businesses that are classified by this Tariff as Non-Domestic and are Conducted on domestic premises or in a structure which is partly used for business and partly as domestic premises."

4kin4kar

Postby 4kin4kar » October 29th, 2020, 10:30 am

This is Trinidad, this is should be a paradise island, why follow the US culture for everything. Why can't we have our own signature. Fcuk the world, let's be a happy country. The corrupt governments prevented this from being realistic.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » October 29th, 2020, 10:37 am

ProtonPowder wrote:Random question, as wasa usually classifies properties as Domestic or Commercial, what exactly does wasa define as a Cottage? I see it on the chart to the back of the bill and curious.

"All businesses that are classified by this Tariff as Non-Domestic and are Conducted on domestic premises or in a structure which is partly used for business and partly as domestic premises."

thanks much

Lots of places skirting this classification completely, just like swimming pool charges. I dont think ive ever seen a water bill with this designation, just domestic and commercial.

Postby sMASH » October 29th, 2020, 10:52 am

ProtonPowder wrote:

thanks much

Lots of places skirting this classification completely, just like swimming pool charges. I dont think ive ever seen a water bill with this designation, just domestic and commercial.
But who supposed to determine dat?
U supposed to go in and say ' I iz ah cottage', or they cusp posed to do a scheduled evaluation to update their records?

Cause when I went to get our own connection, our rates were automatically at the highest in the bracket because they said we had no inspections for land and building tax calculation. Is two years I deal with them to get a connection and each time I tell them how may taps and tank. But they ain't business, just bump me up tour top.

If they losing money, is their own bleddy lackadaisical fault.

Postby The_Honourable » December 8th, 2020, 9:42 pm

Regulated Industries Commission begins price review for WASA and T&TEC

The Regulated Industries Commission (RIC) has begun the process of reviewing the rates charged by The Water and Sewage Authority (WASA) and the Trinidad and Tobago Electricity Commission (T&TEC). In a press release issued today, the RIC explained the three phases of the reviewing.

The following is a press release from RIC:

The first phase of Price Review Process commences with the release of the RIC’s “Information Requirements: Business Plan Document”, which specifies the information that the Service Provider (WASA) must submit in order for the RIC to undertake the Review. This will be followed by the publication of the RIC’s Framework and Approach Document, which will provide broad details about the process that the RIC will follow in conducting the Review.

The second phase includes the release of various Consultative Documents which will present the RIC’s views on key areas that impact various aspects of rate determination, such as quality of service.

The third phase entails the release of the RIC’s Draft Determination for public consultation after reviewing the Service Provider’s Business Plan/Pricing Proposal. The RIC will conduct open public consultation sessions during this period.

Finally, the RIC will publish its Final Determination after reviewing all comments and concerns raised during the public consultation. RIC COMMENCES THE PRICE REVIEW PROCESS FOR WASA Under the RIC Act, No. 26 of 1998, the RIC has the legal responsibility and authority to determine rates and tariffs for T&TEC and WASA. RIC also has a duty to consult with service providers and representatives of consumer interest groups as part of its statutory remit.

As an impartial and independent body, the RIC remains committed to fulfilling its mandate of protecting consumer interests while ensuring that the service provider has adequate resources to provide a reasonable quality of service to all customers.

Source: https://www.cnc3.co.tt/regulated-indust ... -and-ttec/

Postby zoom rader » December 8th, 2020, 10:51 pm

Take bull

Ent all yuh want the red Goverment.

Bunch of 320000 jack arses

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 9th, 2020, 5:31 am

Always knew they had to get back the $$ for them bulbs

Postby sMASH » December 9th, 2020, 5:59 am

should 4kin triple it.

Postby nemisis » December 9th, 2020, 6:17 am

If they do when UNC win the next election they will drop it back so no need to panic
sMASH wrote:should 4kin triple it.

Postby zoom rader » December 9th, 2020, 6:57 am

nemisis wrote:If they do when UNC win the next election they will drop it back so no need to panic

Wat election ?

Postby Redman » December 9th, 2020, 7:11 am

Based on what iv read

Even if they do..we would still pay about $2.00 TTD per cubic meter.

Jamaica pays $12.00

Curacao\ Bahamas pay $18.00

However....using the per capita use of locals as published by wasa, and assuming we pay 400 per quarter....we actually pay 12 ¢

Postby zoom rader » December 9th, 2020, 7:47 am

Redman wrote:

Based on what iv read

Jamaica pays $12.00

However....using the per capita use of locals as published by wasa, and assuming we pay 400 per quarter....we actually pay 12 ¢

Untill Household metering are installed Wasa will always win

Postby sMASH » December 9th, 2020, 8:27 am

nemisis wrote:If they do when UNC win the next election they will drop it back so no need to panic

320k like it so,, so leff it so.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » December 9th, 2020, 8:58 am

Ideally the only way the system should work would be by metering. If it's not metered wasa is the ones profiting. As it stands most places in this banana republic gets water less than twice a week.

Postby zoom rader » December 9th, 2020, 9:21 am

jhonnieblue wrote:Ideally the only way the system should work would be by metering. If it's not metered wasa is the ones profiting. As it stands most places in this banana republic gets water less than twice a week.
Meters will benefit the customer and help conserve water, wasa seems not interested in this route .

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 9th, 2020, 10:31 am

Redman wrote:

Based on what iv read

Jamaica pays $12.00

I have a meter on one property and its around $1.85 per 220 gal

Postby Ben_spanna » December 9th, 2020, 10:37 am

if its pay what you use then fine, its not like if everywhere in Trinidad has a reliable water supply to begin with.
As long as its not a fixed Increase rate im good.. because over the past 10 years i have learnt how to conserve water when i have it, and the fork king government doesnt give one sh1t about it... because my MP doesnt live anywhere in our area so he is not effected. :fist: :fist:

Postby sMASH » December 9th, 2020, 11:14 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Redman wrote:

Based on what iv read

Jamaica pays $12.00

I have a meter on one property and its around $1.85 per 220 gal

how ur quarterly bill looks like

Postby De Dragon » December 9th, 2020, 11:24 am

Redman wrote:

Based on what iv read

Jamaica pays $12.00

Metered? Reliability of supply, efficiency of leak repair? Maybe they don't mind paying what they pay because these things are up to snuff.
As with the property tax, people generally don't mind paying for better serice, BUT when they see JUHN Scarfy/Arse Wari/Impsy/Goebbels/Weavy BuySperm spending their hard earned tax dollars on sheit, what do you expect?

Postby 88sins » December 9th, 2020, 3:13 pm

Redman wrote:

Based on what iv read

Jamaica pays $12.00

first thing you have to ask when considering WASA's figures for per capita usage, do they adjust for the millions of gallons wasted by leaks that are usually left unattended for weeks and months? or are those wasted resources palmed off as "consumed" when they are not?

Postby zoom rader » December 9th, 2020, 3:20 pm

Redman wrote:

Based on what iv read

Jamaica pays $12.00

first thing you have to ask when considering WASA's figures for per capita usage, do they adjust for the millions of gallons wasted by leaks that are usually left unattended for weeks and months? or are those wasted resources palmed off as "consumed" when they are not?
Leaks are to ensure red Goverment contractors have a wuk

Corruption is rampant and native when red Goverment in power to make our lives a mess.

Postby Redman » December 9th, 2020, 3:59 pm

Redman wrote:

Based on what iv read

Jamaica pays $12.00

The per capita usage was off a news article.

I read a WRA doc that set production at 382 MCM per year.

37% domestic

47% unaccounted for...ie leaks.

So they don't hide it

Postby De Dragon » December 9th, 2020, 4:41 pm

Redman wrote:

Based on what iv read

Jamaica pays $12.00

The per capita usage was off a news article.

I read a WRA doc that set production at 382 MCM per year.

37% domestic

47% unaccounted for...ie leaks.

So they don't hide it

So half going to waste and the PNM expects people to meekly swallow a fixed rate increase? The very definition of paying for nothing!