T&TEC, WASA increase coming in 2016... now 2023?

Re: T&TEC, WASA increase coming in 2016... now 2023?

Postby adnj » January 24th, 2023, 4:33 pm

adnj wrote:
You're already stealing pipe water from WASA. So stealing water from your roof is more of a problem?

All of your WASA problems will be solved when a percentage is added to your soon to be due property taxes to pay for upgrades to WASA infrastructure.

Please explain to us all the mechanism of the mad monkey mathematics that you used to come up with the asinine idea that you can steal pipe borne water from a lawful WASA water line connection that you paying WASA their prescribed rate for religiously every quarter.

We eh really want to know, but you seem convinced that you somehow making some kinda sense.
So you believe that WASA doesn't want a citizen to capture rain water from their own roof for there own use? Wants to arrest them and discourage them? Whether they have a connection or not? Or is this just a wild hair taking over content control of your keyboard?

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » January 24th, 2023, 4:49 pm

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:You not making any sense.... just an educated jackass or copy and paste fool ....people are paying their hard earned money for a service, they deserve an acceptable level of service. Water once or twice a week is not acceptable. Come down from your ivory towers and view what the common man has to endure.
adnj wrote:How much water is running off your roof that you could wash the car with? Streets flooding but still crying about no water.

TTEC is doing better because they charge by the unit and a tear is shed everytime the meter spins.
People are paying chicken rates wanting steak service.

People always compare Trinidadian rates to developed country rates and never to developing countries. In Brazil, water and sewerage charge runs me 35 BRL a month ( 45 TTD ). Electricity costs on average 100 BRL ( 130 TTD ) and Internet costs 100 BRL (130 TTD) for 500 Down 200 Up. Been living here almost a year and no loss of service since. Water 24/7. Same with electricity and Internet. Trini has an advantage in having subsidized cooking gas because gas here is around 100 BRL (130 TTD) a tank (however free gas is included in my condominium fee which is around 150 BRL (200 TTD) a month and includes security and building and grounds maintenance ). There is no reason as to why Trinidad has such piss poor utility service other than gross incompetence and mismanagement. The utilities here are all private by the way. No government subsidies unless you qualify for a reduced rate because of poverty.

Postby 88sins » January 24th, 2023, 5:06 pm

adnj wrote:
adnj wrote:
You're already stealing pipe water from WASA. So stealing water from your roof is more of a problem?

All of your WASA problems will be solved when a percentage is added to your soon to be due property taxes to pay for upgrades to WASA infrastructure.

Please explain to us all the mechanism of the mad monkey mathematics that you used to come up with the asinine idea that you can steal pipe borne water from a lawful WASA water line connection that you paying WASA their prescribed rate for religiously every quarter.

We eh really want to know, but you seem convinced that you somehow making some kinda sense.
So you believe that WASA doesn't want a citizen to capture rain water from their own roof for there own use? Wants to arrest them and discourage them? Whether they have a connection or not? Or is this just a wild hair taking over content control of your keyboard?

Explain your statement

Postby adnj » January 24th, 2023, 5:53 pm

adnj wrote:
adnj wrote:

Explain your statement
Those are four questions. If you don't want to say, don't say.

Postby adnj » January 24th, 2023, 6:21 pm

triniterribletim wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:You not making any sense.... just an educated jackass or copy and paste fool ....people are paying their hard earned money for a service, they deserve an acceptable level of service. Water once or twice a week is not acceptable. Come down from your ivory towers and view what the common man has to endure.
adnj wrote:How much water is running off your roof that you could wash the car with? Streets flooding but still crying about no water.

TTEC is doing better because they charge by the unit and a tear is shed everytime the meter spins.

People always compare Trinidadian rates to developed country rates and never to developing countries. In Brazil, water and sewerage charge runs me 35 BRL a month ( 45 TTD ). Electricity costs on average 100 BRL ( 130 TTD ) and Internet costs 100 BRL (130 TTD) for 500 Down 200 Up. Been living here almost a year and no loss of service since. Water 24/7. Same with electricity and Internet. Trini has an advantage in having subsidized cooking gas because gas here is around 100 BRL (130 TTD) a tank (however free gas is included in my condominium fee which is around 150 BRL (200 TTD) a month and includes security and building and grounds maintenance ). There is no reason as to why Trinidad has such piss poor utility service other than gross incompetence and mismanagement. The utilities here are all private by the way. No government subsidies unless you qualify for a reduced rate because of poverty.

Trinis pay about US25¢/m³ for metered tap water. Brazil about 5 times Trinidad. US about 2½ times Brazil. Canada about 2 times US.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » January 24th, 2023, 8:27 pm

adnj wrote:
triniterribletim wrote:
adnj wrote:

Trinis pay about US25¢/m³ for metered tap water. Brazil about 5 times Trinidad. US about 2½ times Brazil. Canada about 2 times US.

On average domestic water prices in Brazil are around 2,50 BRL per cubic meter. That's taking into account the states with higher water costs. In São Paulo state the tariff for water that I pay is BRL 1,45 per cubic meter. That's 24 US cents.

Val

Postby Val » January 24th, 2023, 8:39 pm

If WASA and TTEC were privatized, what rates do you think would be charged?

Postby 88sins » January 24th, 2023, 8:43 pm

adnj wrote:

This is a statement. You made this statement.
Explain your statement.

Postby pugboy » January 24th, 2023, 8:48 pm

let’s be realistic
amy extra money earned from a wasa rate increase won’t dramatically improve service, the institutional wastage will more than suck that out plus whatever slush requests from the govt to move money from one pants pocket to another

Postby 88sins » January 24th, 2023, 8:50 pm

Val wrote:If WASA and TTEC were privatized, what rates do you think would be charged?

Hard to say, but would probably be higher.
Have to consider tho, that even if they were both privately run, that if rates too high people might get more motivation to steal it, especially for a commodity as necessary for life like water. For electricity, again if the rates too high people would do what they could to eliminate that cost too, either by theft or going off grid. Both equate to lost paying customers and products, which equal lost revenues. Also, some degree of state regulation would be critically necessary, to avoid them taking advantage of the population.

Postby redmanjp » January 24th, 2023, 8:53 pm

^yeah just like even private telecom providers are regulated including the prices

Postby adnj » January 24th, 2023, 8:57 pm

triniterribletim wrote:
adnj wrote:
triniterribletim wrote:
adnj wrote:

On average domestic water prices in Brazil are around 2,50 BRL per cubic meter. That's taking into account the states with higher water costs. In São Paulo state the tariff for water that I pay is BRL 1,45 per cubic meter. That's 24 US cents.
I have seen reports with no tariffs lower than about ~R$2 and higher than R$7. The WASA published average tariff is US$0.18 (R$0.93).

The Brazilian real has suffered from a steep devalution in the last three years(4.04 to 5.14). That devaluation is saving you 20%, so enjoy it while you can.

Postby hover11 » January 24th, 2023, 9:02 pm

redmanjp wrote:^yeah just like even private telecom providers are regulated including the prices
There wouldn't be anymore rebates, however, the government would say to pay your way.The question about giving people rebates for electricity consumption is good politics but bad economics. A private company would fix that, the 30 million pumped annually on subsidies for t&tec alone could be utilized elsewhere.

Postby adnj » January 24th, 2023, 9:07 pm

Val wrote:If WASA and TTEC were privatized, what rates do you think would be charged?

Hard to say, but would probably be higher.
Have to consider tho, that even if they were both privately run, that if rates too high people might get more motivation to steal it, especially for a commodity as necessary for life like water. For electricity, again if the rates too high people would do what they could to eliminate that cost too, either by theft or going off grid. Both equate to lost paying customers and products, which equal lost revenues. Also, some degree of state regulation would be critically necessary, to avoid them taking advantage of the population.
When Brazil (since it's mentioned here) privatized water and sewerage, meters were installed, prices increased and poor and rural areas switched to rain water. In the ensuing years, private investment increased, infrastructure was improved and delivery wastage was decreased, so many of those users returned.

Some of the worst water delivery systems are in major cities of developed countries because of aging infrastructure and high labor costs. Some of the best are in European countries and they are usualky the most expensive riparian sourced water systems in the world.

Postby 88sins » January 24th, 2023, 9:15 pm

Explain your statement

Postby adnj » January 24th, 2023, 10:07 pm

You'll answer my questions first, Sisyphus. Otherwise, you'll wait on it - a very, very long time.

Postby 88sins » January 25th, 2023, 5:25 am

adnj wrote:You'll answer my questions first, Sisyphus. Otherwise, you'll wait on it - a very, very long time.

You make an utterly idiotic statement, and find yourself unable to explain statement, and now trying hard to deflect with stupid comments.
You, little bottom-bulling bush monkey, cannot even count, or tell the difference between a question and a statement. You said previously, that you asked 4 questions, when in fact you made one statement (that you are too stupid to realize is not a question, and that you can't explain it because it makes absolutely no sense), and asked 3 questions.

Try again when you stop sticking your fingers in yuh bottom and sniffing them.

Postby adnj » January 25th, 2023, 7:35 am

^^ So you have nothing. That was a statement.

Postby mero » January 25th, 2023, 10:43 am

88 have a really weird fixation with bottoms.

is always those posing as the most macho, packing the most fudge.

Postby 88sins » January 25th, 2023, 2:13 pm

mero wrote:88 have a really weird fixation with bottoms.

is always those posing as the most macho, packing the most fudge.

Aye look, the crackhead has an opinion :lol:

Val

Postby Val » January 26th, 2023, 8:38 am

adnj wrote:You'll answer my questions first, Sisyphus. Otherwise, you'll wait on it - a very, very long time.

Lmao, Sisyphus yes, oh gad

I can’t see the government ever privatizing their vote generators though.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 5th, 2023, 10:14 pm

Seeing quite a few people sharing similar stories

https://www.facebook.com/10000954693369 ... e=scwspnss

Postby maj. tom » February 5th, 2023, 11:06 pm

An extra 1000 KWh per cycle? Very strange that it is exactly that number more. He can ask TTEC to check the property meter and query the bill. An exact number like that seems like a computer error. Something really wrong there so he needs to see if there is no electrical faults on the installed equipment or if anybody illegally tapping his connection. Good that he's paying attention to the units of power usage on his bill rather than just the $dollar figure.

What equipment he running so though?

edit: it's not exactly 1000 KWh. It's 4925 then 5917 and then 6971 units. It's listed as a commercial property so I'm guessing 3-phase business.
Last edited by maj. tom on February 5th, 2023, 11:14 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 5th, 2023, 11:10 pm

He kept harping on "one piece of equipment "but neglected to say what it was.

Postby maj. tom » February 5th, 2023, 11:47 pm

I'm figuring some massive water heater tanks? What for I don't know. But it would explain an increase in electricity units required to heat water in these past colder months since his 4925 KWh bill in October 2022.

Also this post of his doesn't lend him any credibility, which would have happened to be around to time that single piece of equipment was installed given the first October 2022 bill:

https://www.facebook.com/RhondallFeeles/posts/pfbid02vJHcPvXrJVXaED5WAPwKURCA3UEbuJsxpT9UavA2n8pYFB9BVBcbJXmvzNF87oEDl
August 25, 2022
T&TEC Intimidation.
So after I highlight the laws of T&TEC and the cases where their works encroach on my property (at different location) T&TEC appear with 4 vehicles with armed security alleging they got a report that I tampered with my meter at ANOTHER location. Note though that the only persons that has ever touched this meter is T&TEC when they would have disconnected and reconnected my connection at times I forgot to pay on time. This will not back me down.

Postby adnj » February 6th, 2023, 5:50 am

"Note though that the only persons that has ever touched this meter is T&TEC when they would have disconnected and reconnected my connection at times I forgot to pay on time. "

That's a whole lot of forgetting to pay.

Postby timelapse » February 6th, 2023, 6:54 am

People comparing T&T rates to developed countries, forgetting that T&T is nowhere near developed status.Raising rates actually takes us further from developed status,as the money is not being used to develop the country.
Let that sink in.

Postby adnj » February 6th, 2023, 7:07 am

timelapse wrote:People comparing T&T rates to developed countries, forgetting that T&T is nowhere near developed status.Raising rates actually takes us further from developed status,as the money is not being used to develop the country.
Let that sink in.
Compare TTEC rates to other countries in the Caribbean. Compare them to Mesoamerica. What do you see?

Postby maj. tom » March 1st, 2023, 7:05 pm

TTEC start a PR campaign at the prime ad time just before the news. Very cringe sheit, the actor talking like everything she say is an over-emphasized question about Santa Claus, talking about 1952 like if she was there.

An attempt to soften the rate hike I suppose.

Postby The_Honourable » March 15th, 2023, 9:03 pm

Bacchanal at RIC in Chaguanas

Couva South MP Rudranath Indarsingh challenges executive director of the Regulated Industries Commission (RIC) over a remark made during a consultation meeting at Centre Point Mall, Chaguanas, on Wednesday afternoon.

During his address, Khan remarked that while he grew up in Chaguanas he only recognised two of the residents at the meeting.
This drew the ire of the attendees including Indarsingh who called on Khan to apologise.

Another video:

UNC MPs Briefing After the RIC Aborted the Rate Increase Public Consultation in Chaguanas