LF- good quality office type computer chair

dogg

LF- good quality office type computer chair

Postby dogg » December 15th, 2015, 3:09 pm

Just one, I don't mind paying a premium for it, as its a gift for my wife. But the ones i've seen look to be cheaply made and not comfortable. Where can i find some good options?

allrotor

Re: LF- good quality office type computer chair

Postby allrotor » December 15th, 2015, 3:17 pm

dogg

Postby dogg » December 15th, 2015, 3:19 pm

didn't they suffer a major fire recently?
allrotor wrote:Check them out

MDC-UM
http://www.mdc-um.com/index.html

allrotor

Postby allrotor » December 15th, 2015, 3:22 pm

that fire just affected their IT Infrastructure...i think
Last edited by allrotor on December 15th, 2015, 3:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

allrotor

Postby allrotor » December 15th, 2015, 3:24 pm

But you should contact them

Postby S_2NR » December 15th, 2015, 3:24 pm

Pricesmart

Postby tr1ad » December 15th, 2015, 3:30 pm

Massy Technologies

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 16th, 2015, 1:31 am

Also check Total Office in Fernandes Compound
they are the agents for SteelCase

good brands are Herman Miller, SteelCase, AllSteel, Humanscale, Hayworth, Knoll etc

I have an AllSteel chair for the past 9 years still going strong and I spend long hours on it with no problems

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 29th, 2016, 3:38 pm

Good afternoon

Anyone have an updated recommendation on an ergonomic office chair. either locally available or imported

Thanks again

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 29th, 2016, 4:04 pm

All those China products are garbage.

I bought a chair from MDC UM for $1800 about 9 years ago, Made in Trinidad and it still looks BRAND NEW to this day, I am heavy, not a single wheel ever broke. The Fabric is some kind of god like material it refuses to even fade never have I seen such quality in a product you would think this was made in world war 2 in Germany or something.

In stark contrast my brother buy a chair from courts for $1000 he laughed at me and say HA HA like nelson from simpsons, I saved $800 and you wasted $800

That chair eh last more than 1 month before the wheel break and he thin eh. ROFL
Doh even talk about the fabric after 3 years the fabric looks like garbage.

If I had to buy another Chair I would happily buy from MDC UM again regardless of the price. Unfortunately the chair is still in brand new condition so I go use this for 30 years I reckon.

The only negative is the hydraulic only lasted 5 years and it started to go lower and lower but it lasted me in total 8 years before it finally gave out. However thats an issue with every chair my solution was clamps that you put in stacks to get your height and never worry about it again.

Postby X_Factor » November 29th, 2016, 5:38 pm

kamakazi wrote:Good afternoon

Anyone have an updated recommendation on an ergonomic office chair. either locally available or imported

Thanks again

http://www.diamondinteriorsltd.com/products/
give them a call...amazing stuff

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 29th, 2016, 6:22 pm

good review EFFECTIC DESIGNS

They have any of the Net/mesh back rest chairs?

I like that airflow life

Postby maj. tom » November 29th, 2016, 6:49 pm

Proper ergonomic chairs ain't cheap.
http://www.thehumansolution.com/ergonomic-chairs.html
But they're worth it when you understand the lifetime of chronic nerve damage and pain that improper posture can do.

Also you can consult a ergonomic expert for advice on how to use and setup the workstation via that website. The chair is not the only factor that affects performance and wellbeing at the workstation.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » November 29th, 2016, 7:51 pm

MDC-UM, talk done. Bought a chair for about $4,500 about 8 years ago. Worth every penny. If you want to sit in an office chair in front of a computer all day long feeling like you're sitting in a Range Rover, then that's the place to go.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 29th, 2016, 7:55 pm

maj. tom wrote:Proper ergonomic chairs ain't cheap.
http://www.thehumansolution.com/ergonomic-chairs.html
But they're worth it when you understand the lifetime of chronic nerve damage and pain that improper posture can do.

Also you can consult a ergonomic expert for advice on how to use and setup the workstation via that website. The chair is not the only factor that affects performance and wellbeing at the workstation.

I tried to order the ergohuman elite....they do not accept international credit cards and I didn't want the hassle of getting a wire transfer done. I know they cost a bit...done made up my mind to purchase one.

Postby maj. tom » November 29th, 2016, 8:06 pm

use a skybox/ocean freight company. they should make the payment for you with their credit card if you pay at the desk and work out some arrangement.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 29th, 2016, 8:34 pm

was just about to tell ED that $1800 is nowhere near the price of proper ergonomic chairs

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 29th, 2016, 8:42 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:good review EFFECTIC DESIGNS

They have any of the Net/mesh back rest chairs?

I like that airflow life

Yes they have the mesh material for the true 3rd world man who does cool himself down the rasta man way with fresh breeze from ah fan who eh bout dat rich man first world problem Air Condition life.

If the chair is $700 in courts you will pay $1100 in MDC but the difference is MDC only makes industrial grade products. So yes you will be buying a life time product.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 29th, 2016, 8:48 pm

was just about to tell ED that $1800 is nowhere near the price of proper ergonomic chairs

Well true but the average person will never own a MDC UM product, while its not anywhere near the best in terms of ergonomics its better than anything the regular man will ever own it will be better than the typical plastic chair from the hardware that trinis use or the typical crap chair from courts. The normal man always looking at prices and will always buy the one from courts that looks nice in the show room even though it won't last more than a few years or in some cases a few days

But my take is this, it isn't much more for a product from MDC it won't break the bank and you get top notch quality with mediocre ergonomics which is hard to beat and people should for the very least go that route. Unless they have $5K and up to get the best in ergonomics

In terms of materials used fabric etc, MDC products are really top notch.

Postby Redman » November 29th, 2016, 9:45 pm

Forget an expensive chair.....better not to sit as much.
Standing height desks etc. are very effective.

Varidesk has solutions.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 29th, 2016, 10:00 pm

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 30th, 2016, 7:01 pm

Thanks for the responses... Currently looking at the steelcase leap or gesture.

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 30th, 2016, 7:31 pm

maj. tom wrote:P

Boy ikr, I have one of those regular metal padded stackable chairs they rent out. It so poorly designed that it's more comfortable to actually squat on the friggin chair itself

Sometimes I just end up standing.

Bess I get a standing desk. Thinking to make a convertable desk. Desk easy to make, chairs aint.

Also, I was considering getting a old car seat and converting it to a chair. #pipermanmethods

HSA

Postby HSA » November 30th, 2016, 8:13 pm

Allyuh talking bout egronomic chair and i sitting in a tall peerha

Postby Redman » November 30th, 2016, 8:26 pm

Check the varidesk.....but also ratch a standing desk with some stackable boxes...I use a laptop so it's easy to adjust everything to standing height.
Test drive the standing work station thing befor picking a direction

You really don't feel to sit as much as you originally think....so the ergonomical chair might be a unnecessary or under utilized expense.

Worth the testing.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 1st, 2016, 5:43 pm

I really do feel to sit... But in the interest of knowledge... Is the varidesk available locally

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 1st, 2016, 10:19 pm

kamakazi wrote:I really do feel to sit... But in the interest of knowledge... Is the varidesk available locally
Total Office has them

http://www.totalofficeltd.com/new/index ... Itemid=612

Postby rspann » December 1st, 2016, 10:23 pm

That looking expensive, post the $800 one for ED.

Postby pugboy » December 1st, 2016, 10:48 pm

The problem is not the chair , it is allyuh biomechanics

Learn to sit properly, not slouch
Do some core exercises to strengthen yuh abs, hip and back

Average human simply needs a 16-18" seat height and 5-10degree backrest slant
If you ever sit in a properly designed wooden park bench you will realize a world of difference
With no ass or back cushion

kamakazi

Re: RE: Re: LF- good quality office type computer chair

Postby kamakazi » December 2nd, 2016, 5:00 am

kamakazi wrote:I really do feel to sit... But in the interest of knowledge... Is the varidesk available locally
Total Office has them

http://www.totalofficeltd.com/new/index ... Itemid=612

And I went there to look at the chairs self... One component at a time