Are we ever satisfied with our lives?

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Are we ever satisfied with our lives?

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » December 9th, 2015, 10:22 am

A boat was docked in a tiny Mexican fishing village.

A tourist complimented the local fishermen on the quality of their fish and... asked how long it took to catch them.

"Not very long" they answered in unison.

"Why didn't you stay out longer and catch more?"

The fishermen explained that their small catches were sufficient to meet their needs and those of their families.

"But what do you do with the rest of your time?"

"We sleep late, fish a little, play with our children, and take siestas with our wives. In the evenings, we go into the village to see our friends, have a few drinks, play the guitar, and sing a few songs.
We have a full life."

The tourist interrupted, "I have an MBA from Harvard and I can help you! You should start by fishing longer every day. You can then sell the extra fish you catch. With the extra revenue, you can buy a bigger boat."

"And after that?"

"With the extra money the larger boat will bring, you can buy a second one and a third one and so on until you have an entire fleet of trawlers.
Instead of selling your fish to a middle man, you can then negotiate directly with the processing plants and maybe even open your own plant. You can then leave this little village and move to Mexico City, Los Angeles, or even New York City!!! From there you can direct your huge new enterprise."

"How long would that take?"

"Twenty, perhaps twenty-five years." replied the tourist.

"And after that?"

"Afterwards? Well my friend, that's when it gets really interesting," answered the tourist, laughing. "When your business gets really big, you can start buying and selling stocks and make millions!"

"Millions? Really? And after that?" asked the fishermen.

"After that you'll be able to retire, live in a tiny village near the coast, sleep late, play with your children, catch a few fish, take a siesta with your wife and spend your evenings drinking and enjoying your friends."

"With all due respect sir, but that's exactly what we are doing now. So what's the point wasting twenty-five years?" asked the Mexicans.

And the moral of this story is:

Know where you're going in life, you may already be there! Many times in life, money is not everything.

“Live your life before life becomes lifeless”

Daran

Re: Are we ever satisfied with our lives?

Postby Daran » December 9th, 2015, 10:28 am

While meaningful, it presents one side of the picture.

To be human is to be curious, and pursue knowledge. I'd rather be the ambitious hard worker who spends his life pursuing a passionate goal. It gives you purpose and in the end, you feel proud satisfied.

However, the lesson that's applicable from that parable is that one should not get too caught up in fulfilling and overarching objective. I've seen it happen to my grandfather, who spent all his time working as much overtime as he could. When he got stricken with cancer in his late 50s, his biggest regret was not spending more time with his family. That's a real regret.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » December 9th, 2015, 10:52 am

im happy .... simple life no worries ...

Postby meccalli » December 9th, 2015, 10:58 am

Postby MG Man » December 9th, 2015, 12:32 pm

there's a difference between subsisting, and having the freedom to choose to live that way while knowing you have options, alternatives and security....what would the fisherman do if he or one of his children became gravely ill and needed expensive medical care?
These 'inspiring' stories assume everyone has the same goals, expectations and motivations
There is no one-size-fits-all solution to life

Postby MaxPower » December 9th, 2015, 12:52 pm

Good story, i like it....but in Trinidad someone will steal the boat

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 9th, 2015, 12:54 pm

I'm not happy. I want a faster car.

Postby S_2NR » December 9th, 2015, 1:05 pm

MaxPower wrote:Good story, i like it....but in Trinidad someone will steal the boat

Hahahahahahahahahahahahah

Sad but true

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 9th, 2015, 1:13 pm

I am pretty damn happy no regrets, I will also be dead pretty damn soon aswell so I tend not to care too much about who has more and what I really missing. Once I got enough I good, I doh need everything.

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » December 9th, 2015, 3:56 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I am pretty damn happy no regrets, I will also be dead pretty damn soon aswell so I tend not to care too much about who has more and what I really missing. Once I got enough I good, I doh need everything.

This about sums it up I think as per other comments you can work to achieve your personal goals and in the process try and enjoy life and not wait until you retire to say I will now enjoy life.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 9th, 2015, 4:28 pm

INDAVID WORKSHOP wrote:
"With all due respect sir, but that's exactly what we are doing now.
I use this story all the time!

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » December 9th, 2015, 4:43 pm

Time to sell the house and vehicle. Pay off the debts...resign from my job and head to Mayaro. Squat on a piece of land, wait for LSA approval to legally occupy. Build a nice beach house and get a boat. Watch hours of YT vids showing you how to fish. Sell fish and do boat tours. Eating fish, backyard garden grown produce and drinking coconut water while living debt free? Priceless! Everything else? There's state handouts.

vs.

house, vehicle and other small debts to pay for. Must go to work and face traffic morning and evening and dream about getting your vacation approved so you could rent a beach house down mayaro.

Brilliant!

Postby Trini Hookah » December 9th, 2015, 10:30 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I'm not happy. I want a faster car.

sell the VW

1run

matix

Postby matix » December 9th, 2015, 10:51 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I am pretty damn happy no regrets, I will also be dead pretty damn soon aswell so I tend not to care too much about who has more and what I really missing. Once I got enough I good, I doh need everything.

Ahhhh boy. A potential wake to go to. Crix and cheese paste with some good Hong wing coffee.

AlphaMan

What Really Matters?

Postby AlphaMan » August 31st, 2024, 8:46 pm

I've been thinking about life lately and I'm asking myself what really matters.
The big house.
Fancy Cars.
Wealth accumulation.
Women.
When we die we all leave this behind.
What really matters to you?

DMan7

Re: What Really Matters?

Postby DMan7 » August 31st, 2024, 8:47 pm

Having another existential crisis again? Last time was the scatica ?

Postby paid_influencer » August 31st, 2024, 8:58 pm

short answer:

maslow-s-hierarchy-of-needs--scalable-vector-illustration-655400474-5c6a47f246e0fb000165cb0a (1).jpg

long answer:

^video above legit changed my life

Postby Chimera » August 31st, 2024, 9:12 pm

Whiteoak

Postby MaxPower » August 31st, 2024, 9:19 pm

AlphaMan wrote:I've been thinking about life lately and I'm asking myself what really matters.
The big house.
Fancy Cars.
Wealth accumulation.
Women.

Faith

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 31st, 2024, 9:26 pm

AlphaMan wrote:I've been thinking about life lately and I'm asking myself what really matters.
The big house.
Fancy Cars.
Wealth accumulation.
Women.

Lifting up the next generation (my child, nephews, neices) higher than I could have reached.
Like what my parents did for me.
Like what my grandparents did for them.

But all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy, so you must also enjoy the ride within reason.

Postby The_Honourable » August 31st, 2024, 9:27 pm

As i have gotten older and learning from the troubled experiences others have, I learn to appreciate peace.

matix

Postby matix » August 31st, 2024, 10:13 pm

The_Honourable wrote:As i have gotten older and learning from the troubled experiences others have, I learn to appreciate peace.

Hell of a statement brother

Postby alfa » August 31st, 2024, 10:27 pm

As you get older you're supposed to realize what's possible and what isn't anymore in terms of achieving goals you've have or had. Appreciate what you have acomplished and work towards whatever you realistically still can.

Postby goalpost » August 31st, 2024, 10:56 pm

Some truth to it all.
In 2021, when I got transferred and was making way more money than I was in the prior 7 years, I realized I'm more unhappy now. Because with more money, I count my money more, mentally keeping tabs of everything and in doing so, I considerably freak out when I have to make a big purchase. Before with my little money I just used to spend it on whatever I or my family needed. It was more peaceful. I constantly worry now that I'm going to run out of money and won't know how to take care of my kids, but I mean, before 2021 I was doing it just fine. More money more problems. I can say I am not satisfied, because I have a general fear of the future, and in Trinidad, that's a real fear.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 1st, 2024, 4:22 am

Good insights fellas.

I’ve been thinking about how much my perspective has shifted over the years. I’m in my 40s now, and back in my 20s and 30s, I was all about the career grind, chasing women, partying hard. Honestly, no regrets. I had some incredible experiences, met a lot of amazing people (and yeah, some gorgeous women too), and just took every opportunity that came my way. My grandfather always told me to seize every chance, and even if things didn’t work out, I’d try to find a positive in it, which helped a lot.

Now, though, things are different. I’ve got a solid career that’s pretty easy now, and pushing for more just feels like diminishing returns unless I start a small business. I’ve got a girlfriend, and I’m realising that marriage and kids might be the next step. Seeing my friends with their kids, I can tell it’s a lot of work but also really rewarding.

Also, if you’re feeling social pressures—trust me, I get it. It’s not easy to break free from what your family, culture, or friends expect of you. But I’ve seen some people do it, especially those who migrated to foreign, and it’s like they become a different person once they’re no longer bound by those expectations.

Oh, and check out the Japanese philosophy of Ikigai if you haven’t already.

Postby pugboy » September 1st, 2024, 5:24 am

if you ever get seriously ill
a lot of your thinking changes for sure

Postby MaxPower » September 1st, 2024, 5:52 am

pugboy wrote:if you ever get seriously ill
a lot of your thinking changes for sure

Well said pug.

Health is important.

Cant work so hard for a close to perfect life and cannot enjoy it.

Postby zoom rader » September 1st, 2024, 6:08 am

The big house.
Fancy Cars.
Wealth accumulation.
Women.
Wealth accumulation to offset ur aging health potential issues.

A dwelling from homelessness.

A hobby that occupies time & mind.

Those are all that you need

Postby pugboy » September 1st, 2024, 7:33 am

mental and physical health is all that really matters at the end

The big house.
Fancy Cars.
Wealth accumulation.
Women.

Postby zoom rader » September 1st, 2024, 7:58 am

pugboy wrote:mental and physical health is all that really matters at the end

The big house.
Fancy Cars.
Wealth accumulation.
Women.

Yes and that's why I said a hobby is needed to keep ur mind active.

Bottom line is financial planning is needed from ur teens to offset health which includes ur mind