suggestion to remove 50% of private vehicles from the road

BRZ

Re: suggestion to remove 50% of private vehicles from the ro

Postby BRZ » November 20th, 2015, 7:17 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Whatever happened to the idea of decentralizing Govt ops from POS?

This current government in their previous office, made sure that idea went to hell- they erected the MLA tower, BIR tower, customs house etc, right in the "HART" of the city. But that's how corruption goes, use foreign corrupt companies to rape the treasury. All do it, this was just one of their ways.

Postby Slartibartfast » November 20th, 2015, 8:01 am

Wow this has to be the absolute dumbest suggestion ever. Instead of one car everybody will now aim to buy 2 cars. One with an odd number plate and one with an even one.

What if there is an emergency and someone needs to use their car?

How will the public transport system cope with the massive increase in traffic?

What if someone uses the car for their job? (transport or construction). You can't tell me let T vehicles on the road because everybody would just buy pickups.

This is an all round stupid idea. The person that proposed it is clearly severely incompetent and should be replaced.

steuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuupsssssssssssssssssssss!

Postby zoom rader » November 20th, 2015, 8:33 am

^^^^

This is how this government operates. A jackarse brings an idea and Hinds not knowing any better agrees with it.
Brace yourself when the this mob doubles tax on ur insurance and increases duties on cars and parts.

This is designed to force you to use Racket Rail.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » November 20th, 2015, 9:39 am

zoom rader wrote:^^^^

This is how this government operates. A jackarse brings an idea and Hinds not knowing any better agrees with it.
Brace yourself when the this mob doubles tax on ur insurance and increases duties on cars and parts.

Hinds not knowing any better agrees with it.

You keep repeating this. Is there a quote actually showing this ?

Postby zoom rader » November 20th, 2015, 9:42 am

EmilioA wrote:

Some ppl are johnny come lately and they dont read the full chead.

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » November 20th, 2015, 9:43 am

Great is the PNM

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » November 20th, 2015, 9:44 am

EmilioA wrote:

So you dont have a quote ? I see.

Postby zoom rader » November 20th, 2015, 9:48 am

EmilioA wrote:

It was shown IETV, CCN3 and TV6 news with Hinds agreeing with a new proposal for a deduction in traffic.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » November 20th, 2015, 9:51 am

EmilioA wrote:

It was shown IETV, CCN3 and TV6 news with Hinds agreeing with a new proposal for a deduction in traffic.

Okay good. No quote.

Now define agreeing. . Did Hinds says "yes I agree with this ?"

Cause every written article about the forum has Hinds merely saying suggestions will be put into a report for public feedback.

Postby zoom rader » November 20th, 2015, 9:55 am

^^^ Suggestions with this government has tobe taken seriously as they tend to come into law.

Pubic feedback under this government is Lip service

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » November 20th, 2015, 9:58 am

zoom rader wrote:^^^ Suggestions with this government has tobe taken seriously as they tend to come into law.

So he didnt say he agree with it.

You read his mind. Amazing . You should be a super hero ZR.

Postby zoom rader » November 20th, 2015, 10:05 am

EmilioA wrote:
zoom rader wrote:^^^ Suggestions with this government has tobe taken seriously as they tend to come into law.

Make what you want of it when ur car comes of the road.

The mere fact that this was a government meeting and both of them attended and said the same shows that this notion was preconceived . If they did no agree then we would have heard two different sides.

new_gran_fella

Postby new_gran_fella » November 20th, 2015, 11:33 am

Madness. How about doing what some States in the US do and limiting trucks and heavy vehicles to 6pm-5am

Postby desifemlove » November 20th, 2015, 11:48 am

like she bridge to Tobago? a bridge probably the biggest ever made in history, in earthuake and hurricane zone?

Postby RASC » November 20th, 2015, 12:01 pm

new_gran_fella wrote:Madness. How about doing what some States in the US do and limiting trucks and heavy vehicles to 6pm-5am

Security I believe is the counter argument. Coupled with lack of workers which are both societital issues which can be altered by conditioning.

I wonder if it can be phased in?

This is also a major reason why Walmart (and in turn ASDA which is owned by Walmart) started opening 24/7... The lights are on, security is present...AC running while the store is being restocked... Why not just put a few CSR's and cashiers in place...viola 24/7 shopping.

I would love to see this happen locally. The market will determine our ability to staff.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » November 20th, 2015, 1:45 pm

Night Trucks and other delivery methods could be attempted .

It would be a dream to get stores opening after hours . You come home get some stuff done take a rest maybe and head out to get the stuff you and your family needs.

The solution proposed is not really a solution, public consultation is needed .

Already here and else where proposed solutions .

The number one concern for most if not all commuters is safe , reliable transport . At the time personal vehicles are the only means for this to be achieved . Maybe the water taxis and coaches are close to achieving this but they are not currently set up as a mass transit system .

zondafan

Postby zondafan » November 20th, 2015, 2:21 pm

They need to improve all of the infrastructure before any of this can go into action...is not just about a bus leaving in ten mins...a lot of buses don't make it to pos...they also need new buses..which I don't think they will think of buying..the bus terminal is also not in good shape..they would def need to redo..which again will take time..the bus routes need to be looked over..some bus drivers aren't the best either..the boat is another option..but I think right now only one boat working..which is pretty bad..they need to also have safe parking..if they are to do the park and ride..in secure areas..also...there are so many things needs to fix..they just trying to cover it up...and not dive deeper

They need to make ppl want to use public transport...not force ppl to use it.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » November 20th, 2015, 3:26 pm

zondafan wrote:They need to improve all of the infrastructure before any of this can go into action...is not just about a bus leaving in ten mins...a lot of buses don't make it to pos...they also need new buses..which I don't think they will think of buying..the bus terminal is also not in good shape..they would def need to redo..which again will take time..the bus routes need to be looked over..some bus drivers aren't the best either..the boat is another option..but I think right now only one boat working..which is pretty bad..they need to also have safe parking..if they are to do the park and ride..in secure areas..also...there are so many things needs to fix..they just trying to cover it up...and not dive deeper

They need to make ppl want to use public transport...not force ppl to use it.

is two boats of the four that work weekdays. what they need to do is make two more ports like point fortin and waterloo, to cater for those ppl of central and deep south. and have transit buses from there. and of course A CAR PARK TO HOLD THE CAPACITY OF PEOPLE AS WELL AS A BUILDING WITH SAME CAPACITY.

Postby black start » November 20th, 2015, 3:39 pm

Start moving with two sets of plates normal normal...

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » November 20th, 2015, 5:24 pm

EmilioA wrote:

The mere fact that this was a government meeting and both of them attended and said the same shows that this notion was preconceived . If they did no agree then we would have heard two different sides.

So no denial then ?

Youre agreeing Hinds never said that, but you know what's really inside his brain ?

Postby zoom rader » November 20th, 2015, 5:37 pm

EmilioA wrote:

So no denial then ?

Youre agreeing Hinds never said that, but you know what's really inside his brain ?

Hinds said people are to blame for traffic.
What can't you understand from his statement.

Postby nervewrecker » November 20th, 2015, 5:48 pm

I glimpse something about transport vehicles allowed.

Not affected. T plates :mrgreen:

Postby zoom rader » November 21st, 2015, 6:05 am

nervewrecker wrote:I glimpse something about transport vehicles allowed.

I suspect they gonna be banning motorbikes.

What this government should have done is to put a congestion charge into city areas.
This works in the UK.

Postby teems1 » November 21st, 2015, 8:07 am

nervewrecker wrote:I glimpse something about transport vehicles allowed.

I suspect they gonna be banning motorbikes.

What this government should have done is to put a congestion charge into city areas.
This works in the UK.

You underestimate the amount of $ Trinis are willing to put out just to avoid the hassle of using public transport.

Even if it were 100TT per day, most people would budget that extra 2K.

Postby Slartibartfast » November 21st, 2015, 9:53 am

zondafan wrote:They need to make ppl want to use public transport...not force ppl to use it.

This right here is the route to the solution.

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 21st, 2015, 10:34 am

pugboy wrote:We can always go to the extreme like singapore where there are a fixed number of cars on the road and you have to wait until a car is written off or taken out then there is an auction lottery for the availble spot.
Of course here would be massive bobol.

people go run other people off the road for spite, then bribe to get that slot

SMc wrote:Why just remove all the illegal vehicles that on the road whether it be the case they have no insurance, were illegally registered to begin with, no road-worthy etc... at the same time focus on all the illegal drivers who don't have a valid licence or cant prove they are sufficiently insured to use the vehicle in the way it was intended. e.g. all then 'T@ vans you seeing that running taxi, that kinda sheit hadda stop and proper penalties implemented.

That should reduce traffic without any legitimate people, regardless of how many cars they own being affected in a negative way

Good suggestion

VexXx Dogg wrote:Whatever happened to the idea of decentralizing Govt ops from POS?

This could work, spread it out, cyar ha all d jam in one corner of the bread

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » November 21st, 2015, 9:16 pm

A guy in work said they are brainstorming, seems to me they ent reach the brain part as yet

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 22nd, 2015, 12:05 am

wait, someone in parliament took this suggestion seriously?

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » November 22nd, 2015, 1:31 am

Simple, too many people heading into POS at one time and leaving at the same time also... Suggestion move all government offices out of the capital. Remove the whole of sealots, turning it into a mega car park with shuttle service leaving every 10 mins. $2 into the city by 15 and 24 seaters, any color thus creating jobs. No backhoe on the highway. Only marked good vehicles will be able to get into the city, so all dem hilux, best panel van, ranger etc... Suck salt, Car park. Port running 24hrs, containers will be hauling from 7pm to 5am. Put things in place to receive your goods. Car pool system, two lanes, three and up in a car, suv, hilux what have you. Encourage motorcycle use by incentives... Tax cut, strict safety standards for all road user, bike lane 1hr in the morning and 1 in the pm. Truck lane with free zone for overtake (have some old truck still)...

Postby zoom rader » November 22nd, 2015, 6:24 am

bluesclues wrote:

wait, someone in parliament took this suggestion seriously?

Yes it was on news and they going to do a study on it.
So someone gonna make alot of money doing a research on a failed jackarse idea. Any 10 year old will tell you that not going to work here.