Transfer of vehicles. Buyers Beware

Hioctane

Transfer of vehicles. Buyers Beware

Postby Hioctane » November 5th, 2015, 6:42 pm

Beware when purchasing a used vehicle from an unregistered owner, who assures you that the transfer is not a problem since all the paperwork is in order. Then comes the harsh reality that you cannot get the transfer done.

The disadvantages when the price is too good and you really need the vehicle.
1) The seller stop taking calls and avoids you. Face to face communication is non existent.
2) Can't get insurance in your name.
3) If you are stopped in a roadblock, you endure the humiliation when the insurance certificate is not in your name.
4) The problem is compounded when you are reselling. Technically you are selling something that is not your property.
5) You may have to take the matter to National TV for some kind of resolution.

So if the price is a steal of a deal there is always a catch. Simply walkaway if the seller is unwilling to complete the transaction at Licensing Office.

Anyone willing to share their experiences.

10-01

Re: Transfer of vehicles. Buyers Beware

Postby 10-01 » November 5th, 2015, 7:02 pm

Hioctane wrote:3) If you are stopped in a roadblock, you endure the humiliation when the insurance certificate is not in your name.

by law u are allowed to drive a vehicle with an insurance from another person , once the insurance covers you .. and u are over 25

someone needs to educate these stupid police officers ...

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » November 5th, 2015, 7:07 pm

Co worker of my got ripped off just like that. Bought a sunny B15 and when time to transfer he getting run around. Person he bought the vehicle from ducking him left right and center.

Postby rollingstock » November 6th, 2015, 3:53 am

10-01 wrote:
Hioctane wrote:3) If you are stopped in a roadblock, you endure the humiliation when the insurance certificate is not in your name.

by law u are allowed to drive a vehicle with an insurance from another person , once the insurance covers you .. and u are over 25

Sounds like you're the one that need some educating yuh stupid ox

nightyakasy

Postby nightyakasy » November 6th, 2015, 6:43 am

10-01 wrote:

Thank you rolling stock for addressing this. Insurance law clearly states that an insurance policy becomes null and void the second the subject matter of the insurance policy in this case the car is sold as the insured that is the policy holder no longer has insurable interest in the subject matter .

In simple terms if you bought a vehicle from someone and the insurance is in their name... YOU HAVE NO INSURANCE!

It's about time ppl realize that when you operate like that cause somebody tell yuh "dat go wuk" and then you bounce you put yourself and ppl in real hot waters.

Postby Redman » November 6th, 2015, 7:26 am

But is the vehicle considered legally sold if it isn't actually transferred?

Hioctane

Postby Hioctane » November 6th, 2015, 9:00 am

My information is, if the vehicle is impounded by the authorities if it is involved in a serious accident or crime, after the investigations are complete the vehicle will not be released unless you produce a certified copy in your name. A sales receipt from the previous owner who might not even be the registered owner will not work.

Over to the legal minds here for clarity of Sale and Title.

nightyakasy

Postby nightyakasy » November 6th, 2015, 9:09 am

The vehicle is considered legally sold once a receipt of sale is presented. The previous owner as well as the new owner can face fines and/or charges for not transferring the vehicle within seven days of the change of ownership as outlined in the Motor vehicles and road traffic act chap 48:50 sec. 19. 1(a) & (b)

10-01

Postby 10-01 » November 6th, 2015, 9:36 am

nightyakasy wrote:
10-01 wrote:

Thank you rolling stock for addressing this. Insurance law clearly states that an insurance policy becomes null and void the second the subject matter of the insurance policy in this case the car is sold as the insured that is the policy holder no longer has insurable interest in the subject matter .

In simple terms if you bought a vehicle from someone and the insurance is in their name... YOU HAVE NO INSURANCE!

It's about time ppl realize that when you operate like that cause somebody tell yuh "dat go wuk" and then you bounce you put yourself and ppl in real hot waters.

if according to you , the vehicle has not been transferred the said ownership is still on the previous owners name , so u have valid insurance , its like you borrow your moms car the insurance is still valid . i doubt when u go in a road block u tell the cops " hey i bought this vehicle and using the previous owners insurance rite "

think about it man ......

nightyakasy

Postby nightyakasy » November 6th, 2015, 10:31 am

10-01 wrote:
nightyakasy wrote:
10-01 wrote:

if according to you , the vehicle has not been transferred the said ownership is still on the previous owners name , so u have valid insurance , its like you borrow your moms car the insurance is still valid . i doubt when u go in a road block u tell the cops " hey i bought this vehicle and using the previous owners insurance rite "

And it's exactly that type of donkey logic that has our beloved nation the the state that it is in. You do realize that you are trying to compare apples and oranges. Anyway as they say "who feels it knows it" I hope for your sake sir that your vehicle isn't hit, worse yet written off by some ignorant driver with the same logic. The aim of my response was to educate whoever reads this post of what the laws are so that the folks that have been duped in the past can now have adequate knowledge to make an informed decision. Accepting that knowledge is totally up to the reader.

Postby cinco » November 6th, 2015, 11:49 am

10-01 wrote:
nightyakasy wrote:
10-01 wrote:

You are an idiot. You have never sold a car or bought a car have you?
Wanna know the first thing people does do when they sell a car?
Call the insurance company and get a refund on the policy, why would I pay insurance for a vehicle I don't own

10-01

Postby 10-01 » November 6th, 2015, 12:43 pm

take win guys its friday :drinking:

Postby rollingstock » November 6th, 2015, 10:14 pm

10-01 wrote:take win guys its friday :drinking:

Take win? It ain't yours to give chupidee.

10-01 wrote:

Not all insurance policies have the same restrictions, some only cover the policyholder or a named driver. Some have no age restrictions etc

10-01

Postby 10-01 » November 6th, 2015, 10:24 pm

10-01 wrote:take win guys its friday :drinking:

Take win? It ain't yours to give chupidee.

10-01 wrote:

Not all insurance policies have the same restrictions, some only cover the policyholder or a named driver. Some have no age restrictions etc

Ok rent ah cop point noted ...... :drinking:

Postby rollingstock » November 6th, 2015, 10:47 pm

Study who renting yuh wife.

Postby Team Loco » November 7th, 2015, 12:01 am

Clicks like thread ***. Will follow

Hioctane

Postby Hioctane » November 7th, 2015, 7:58 am

OK, so to put into context.
The insurance conversation for a legal sale is totally different from a simple borrow.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » November 7th, 2015, 8:04 am

rollingstock wrote:Study who renting yuh wife.

sorry .... not all women behave like yours , i think u should study who jumping d wall when u on nite shift .

Postby tr1ad » November 7th, 2015, 10:59 am

Hioctane wrote:OK, so to put into context.
The insurance conversation for a legal sale is totally different from a simple borrow.

yes

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » November 7th, 2015, 11:02 am

I have the reverse problem. When I sell a vehicle, I usually have to run down the people to do the transfer. What is the remedy when you sell a vehicle and the buyer does not want to transfer the vehicle? They always giving some sad story either the vehicle not working or they busy and cannot get time off.

Postby tr1ad » November 7th, 2015, 11:03 am

easy... money passing hands and transfer at licensing

Postby De Dragon » November 7th, 2015, 11:05 am

Simple really, no transferring, no sale.

Postby rollingstock » November 7th, 2015, 12:20 pm

10-01 wrote:

sorry .... not all women behave like yours , i think u should study who jumping d wall when u on nite shift .

I doh have ah wife, I like boys.

Yuh interested ;)

Lance

Postby Lance » November 7th, 2015, 12:23 pm

tr1ad wrote:easy... money passing hands and transfer at licensing

This is what I would recommend

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 7th, 2015, 2:06 pm

Lance wrote:
tr1ad wrote:easy... money passing hands and transfer at licensing

This is what I would recommend

x3. I get burned once with that transfer later business, since it was family. never again.

Certified Cheque collecting at LO the day of transfer. Whether I buying or selling.

Postby ismithx » November 7th, 2015, 9:48 pm

thanks for the informative post OP. clearly it have men in here who need the education

10-01 wrote:

10-01, make sure your windows close properly in the night eh.....

10-01

Postby 10-01 » November 7th, 2015, 9:58 pm

SiR8081 wrote:I have the reverse problem. When I sell a vehicle, I usually have to run down the people to do the transfer. What is the remedy when you sell a vehicle and the buyer does not want to transfer the vehicle? They always giving some sad story either the vehicle not working or they busy and cannot get time off.

by law the they have 7 days ... if u report dem to the police they can be charged ... if the date on the receipt is passed 7 days L office charge you $200

same incident that was deleted by mods about the guy who bought my van to sell it back .. he didnt wat to trasfer it until he sold it made a report in station he had to transfer it the day after or be charged ...

10-01

Postby 10-01 » November 7th, 2015, 10:02 pm

10-01 wrote:

Yuh interested ;)

honestly u tuners like this gay talk alot boi keep it to ya self buddy ..... i doh swing so check around u mite fine others interested ....

ganeshlalchan

Postby ganeshlalchan » November 8th, 2015, 12:33 am

Thread gone from transferring a vehicle to who wife getting beat out and who is rent a cop and who is an idiot. Anybody else need popcorn?

Postby 1UZFE » November 8th, 2015, 1:23 am

10-01 wrote:

Yuh interested ;)

honestly u tuners like this gay talk alot boi keep it to ya self buddy ..... i doh swing so check around u mite fine others interested ....

Doh hate till u try it..