Car written off after being hit while parked. Any Options?

dogg

Car written off after being hit while parked. Any Options?

Postby dogg » November 4th, 2015, 12:49 pm

My friend's SUV was parked on the side of the road, legally. Another car lost control and slammed into the back of the parked SUV, jamming it against the curb. Repairs to the SUV is over $90,0000. The insurance value on the car is $115k. Insurance company wants to write off the car. Friend wants to have the car fixed. What are his options? The negligent car is rented vehicle.

ninjabilly

Re: Car written off after being hit while parked. Any Option

Postby ninjabilly » November 4th, 2015, 1:12 pm

Once the rental insured you go through the rental company also get eye witnesses if possible.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk

10-01

Postby 10-01 » November 4th, 2015, 4:52 pm

dogg wrote:My friend's SUV was parked on the side of the road, legally. Another car lost control and slammed into the back of the parked SUV, jamming it against the curb. Repairs to the SUV is over $90,0000. The insurance value on the car is $115k. Insurance company wants to write off the car. Friend wants to have the car fixed. What are his options? The negligent car is rented vehicle.

rite off the car ... let dem pay u the insured sum and tell dem u want to buy the wreck ......

10-01

Postby 10-01 » November 4th, 2015, 4:53 pm

^^ and then fix the wreck

Postby Mark! » November 4th, 2015, 9:54 pm

Wa kinda ride?

Postby cinco » November 4th, 2015, 10:17 pm

Mark! wrote:Wa kinda ride?

Yuh gyal

Picasso

Postby Picasso » November 5th, 2015, 9:15 am

cinco wrote:
Mark! wrote:Wa kinda ride?

Yuh gyal

michar198

Postby michar198 » November 5th, 2015, 11:00 am

Hear what some of the insurance people try to do ,they give you a percentage and take the vehicle ,then sell the rights ,my advice take the money bring in one and transfer the rights .

10-01

Postby 10-01 » November 5th, 2015, 12:55 pm

michar198 wrote:Hear what some of the insurance people try to do ,they give you a percentage and take the vehicle ,then sell the rights ,my advice take the money bring in one and transfer the rights .

dont think transferring the rights is done again ..... the legal way ... i could be wrong

Postby black start » November 5th, 2015, 1:04 pm

10-01 wrote:
michar198 wrote:Hear what some of the insurance people try to do ,they give you a percentage and take the vehicle ,then sell the rights ,my advice take the money bring in one and transfer the rights .

dont think transferring the rights is done again ..... the legal way ... i could be wrong

Lol@legal....

Corruption legal in sweet t&t Dan...

10-01

Postby 10-01 » November 5th, 2015, 1:11 pm

black start wrote:
10-01 wrote:

Lol@legal....

Corruption legal in sweet t&t Dan...

i see dem L officers scraping ah man fire wall d other day ... cuz d car look suspect ... i fraid dem rights thing yes :|

michar198

Postby michar198 » November 5th, 2015, 2:56 pm

I know it was legal when you went into license office so like that was a thing of the past

Postby wagonrunner » November 5th, 2015, 3:06 pm

10-01 wrote:rite off the car ... let dem pay u the insured sum and tell dem u want to buy the wreck ......and then fix the wreck

exactly. a write off is simply the cost to repair exceeds a percentage of the insured sum (approx 20%), so they prefer you deal with the garage / straightener.
after yuh fix, yuh get the car valuated and you go right back to the insurance company and re-insure.

dogg

Postby dogg » November 5th, 2015, 5:06 pm

right so accept the write-off.. and they pay the insured the insurance value of the vehicle? or a percentage? how does that work? How much would they charge to repurchase the wreck? would the vehicle then have to be re-registered @ licensing office?

You would think that the negligent car's insurer would be obligated to pay the damages eh, but auto insurance real convoluted.

I told the person to get a new vehicle, but there's an emotional attachment... oh well

Postby wagonrunner » November 5th, 2015, 5:24 pm

you should file claim with the other car's insurer.

the only reason to take the the right off is to expedite your own repairs but even this is still after filing the claim through the other insurance.
they pay the insured value of vehicle.
the wreck cost is usually very small. ex. 35k value. 10k for wreck, 25k in hand.
a good insurance company will try to put you back to where you were prior to accident.

you should file claim with the other car's insurer.