***The Official Rapid Rail Thread***

VII

Re: ***The Official Rapid Rail Thread***

Postby VII » October 8th, 2015, 4:28 pm

I'm certain there was a similar outcry from taxi drivers in their gas guzzling Devilles ,280 C's etc on the onset of the bus route and proliferation of maxi-taxis.

Emilio they (maxis) would definitely be embraced ushered and facilitated into that direction,nothing lasts forever or remains the same, and should not be expected to.

With the right security set up each train station could be an automatic and mandatory security filter,in other words more people using the lines =less dangerous criminal mobility= smaller more concentrated crime pools easier to control and detect.

Tailored and implemented to fit our situation as a country this program could be a good catalyst to social upliftment and positive psyche adjustment,when people from varying social strata can meaningfully utilize the same efficient standard public transport or whatever as people from lower echelons and reach to the airport UWI E-tec/UTT etc in the same manner that is real progress,that is real inclusion. Gone would be the days of having to get a lift to or from the airport,no matter if you from Westmoorings or POS.

UWI E'tec etc then becomes a visible and even viable option,aspiring to utilize the airport becomes a thought,it's therefore more than just an exercise in tangible infrastructural development or the centralization of public transport,but also an exercise in centralization of public or population intellect.
Last edited by VII on October 8th, 2015, 9:00 pm, edited 5 times in total.

Postby Habit7 » October 8th, 2015, 4:35 pm

Redman wrote:But Habit..the calls for the reduction in the subsidy is because we cant AFFORD IT...
Subsidising a MTS would be much cheaper than subsidising more than 50% of the fuel for 800,000 cars.

http://www.dominicantoday.com/dr/econom ... -the-world
Santo Domingo spent only TT$150,000,000 on theirs before it broke even and made a profit.

VII

Postby VII » October 8th, 2015, 4:41 pm

*mistake..

Postby zoom rader » October 8th, 2015, 6:47 pm

Awaits when racket rail call for parts and maintenance.
Most will end up like PTSC buses where they have have to scrap one train to supply parts for the other.
A grave yard of trains will replace the grave yard of buses. Plus they gonna have to deal with Trini work ethics which is zero productivity.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 8th, 2015, 7:01 pm

zoom rader wrote:Awaits when racket rail call for parts and maintenance.
Most will end up like PTSC buses where they have have to scrap one train to supply parts for the other.
A grave yard of trains will replace the grave yard of buses. Plus they gonna have to deal with Trini work ethics which is zero productivity.

Doh worry. It go be a set of Dominicans and Brazilians maintaining the trainline. Maybe even some Chinese.

Playerz

Postby Playerz » October 8th, 2015, 7:54 pm

So one of the major disadvantage is the working class taxi/ maxi man can very well be on the bread line because people may choose the rapid rail over their transportation, so reduced income. How government dealing with this?

Postby zoom rader » October 8th, 2015, 9:02 pm

Playerz wrote:So one of the major disadvantage is the working class taxi/ maxi man can very well be on the bread line because people may choose the rapid rail over their transportation, so reduced income. How government dealing with this?

Dem same miss guided ppl vote for dat.
Citizens will have to pay the cost of the PNM Racket Rail loan .

notsoloud

Postby notsoloud » October 8th, 2015, 9:18 pm

just start and willing to give same old friends contracts for rapid rail

VII

Postby VII » October 8th, 2015, 9:19 pm

You guys are sad lol,so based on that logic the fast ferries,airlines,choppers,water taxis,chemical plants,methanol plants,LNG plants,ammonia plants,elevators at the financial towers,fancy passenger conduits straight up to aircraft at new airport should all end up like old PTSC buses? Or do you think a train is a bus because it's long and has many windows also?

So should we revert to the donkeys of our ancestors because of your grim tunneled view of a very talented and special little country that's still experiencing growing pains? All of the above were alien to T&T at some point and are now integral to our socio-economic status and well being as a country but you choose to trivialize that with an old bus rant..

Pal a standard electric modern light rail system is no old Chinese or South American H frame chassis bus,and part of the package is 15 years training/maintenance etc ok.

Have you seen the recent BBC doc on the Mumbai railway? A general culture of fraud,mismanagement,low ethics,low morale,abject poverty,rampant rape,terrorism,fundamentalism,rampant and widespread witchcraft and simmey-dimmey-ism,abandonment of dead bodies,defecating in open drains and canals etc etc,far worse than ours here. An old rail system but one that has to work because of simple long standing operational procedures and the positive social dynamics derived. I wonder how many buses are parked up in Mumbai.

The superficiality here is comical.
Last edited by VII on October 8th, 2015, 9:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 8th, 2015, 9:35 pm

NIDCO has gone on record as saying the cost of this project was estimated at 50-60 BILLION $$$

The only way that 10 Billion could ever be true is if the Minister is giving the cost in US$

There is no way that this project became 80% cheaper from 2009 to now

This is the worse idea I've heard from any government so far... they are finding new ways to waste money.

The fuel subsidy only stands at around 1 Billion according to the budget - it is self adjusting, costing more when oil prices are high and the country has money and dropping down in times of low oil prices

Postby Habit7 » October 8th, 2015, 9:43 pm

An electric train uses and electric engine...one maybe two moving parts. A bus diesel engine on a bus requires much more maintenance than basically an elevator that runs horizontally, which is an electric train.

ingalook wrote:NIDCO has gone on record as saying the cost of this project was estimated at 50-60 BILLION $$$
can you please share that record? And please don't quote Carson Charles who sings for his supper.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 8th, 2015, 9:50 pm

Am... If I can't quote the president of NIDCO who can I quote? De flickin Janitor who dust off the shelf the feasibility study was on a few months back?

Postby zoom rader » October 8th, 2015, 9:52 pm

VII wrote:

You guys are sad lol,so based on that logic the fast ferries,airlines,choppers,water taxis,chemical plants,methanol plants,LNG plants,ammonia

plants,elevators at the financial towers,fancy passenger conduits straight up to aircraft at new airport should all end up like old PTSC buses? Or do you think a train is a bus because it's long and has many windows also?

So should we revert to the donkeys of our ancestors because of your grim tunneled view of a very talented and special little country that's still experiencing growing pains? All of the above were alien to T&T at some point and are now integral to our socio-economic status and well being as a country but you choose to trivialize that with an old bus rant..

Pal a standard electric modern light rail system is no old Chinese or South American H frame chassis bus,and part of the package is 15 years training/maintenance etc ok.

Let's see,
I used the fast ferries weekend gone for cycling in Tobago and they were in a mess. Very dirty and worn out seats. Vessels looks like 30 year old. On the plus note it was on time.

CAL I stopped travelling with dem a while now . The insides of the aircrafts on the London route is very dirty with tattered seats, the display screens do not work. The air stewards used to be very professional but time eroded that away to a KFC worker. Just remember BWIA went bust and CAL in a mess.

Chemical plants, Ammonia, Methanol, steel plants to which I have worked on all years ago had high standards of workers and where part private and little Government interference where it came to hiring the workforce. In those plants you have to work, a 12hrs shift is a 12hrs shift. You have to be productive. Had it been government hiring it would have been in a mess and zero productivity just like when they ran ISCOTT.

Anything government owns is filled with sub standard workers and with a lazy mentally.
This Government should not get involved in a business which they don't understand. They should have partnered with a company that does and let them run the business. You cannot trust PNM to do any business.
I said it before and will say it again government should not get involved with business. They tried with ISCOTT, Caroni , BWIA, Tanteak , Sugar manufacturing company and all failed.

And guess what you have to pay for it.

VII

Postby VII » October 8th, 2015, 9:58 pm

ingalook wrote:NIDCO has gone on record as saying the cost of this project was estimated at 50-60 BILLION $$$

The only way that 10 Billion could ever be true is if the Minister is giving the cost in US$

There is no way that this project became 80% cheaper from 2009 to now

This is the worse idea I've heard from any government so far... they are finding new ways to waste money.

The fuel subsidy only stands at around 1 Billion according to the budget - it is self adjusting, costing more when oil prices are high and the country has money and dropping down in times of low oil prices

Calculated at 25 million US a mile it's still below 10 billion TTD. Let's wait and see the real costs. remember no tunneling required here and just a few km elevated. If it's anywhere near what you suggesting then of course it wouldn't be feasible.

But no way 10 billion US,pal if it's cost prohibitive to T&T you think so many less well off countries would have them,10 billion US translates to more than a Billion TTD a mile,c'mon man let's get our info correct before we conclude. Remember your'e basing your conclusion on the cost factor,so if it''s proved that the cost is 8-10 times less than your NIDCO link suggested what you gonna then like the idea?
Last edited by VII on October 8th, 2015, 10:04 pm, edited 2 times in total.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 8th, 2015, 10:00 pm

Anyhow... people quoting the fuel subsidy as 4 Billion

DAMN

BLASTED

LIE

Think it is projected to be just over 1 billion for fiscal 2016

Government averages about 2 Billion every year from taxing the sale of new and used cars btw

Postby Habit7 » October 8th, 2015, 10:03 pm

ingalook wrote:Am... If I can't quote the president of NIDCO who can I quote? De flickin Janitor who dust off the shelf the feasibility study was on a few months back?

Dr. Charles is politician not an impartial technocrat. His word has no more worth than the minister who was in charge of NIDCO when the study was done, Colm Imbert.

Postby zoom rader » October 8th, 2015, 10:07 pm

Habit7 wrote:
An electric train uses and electric engine...one maybe two moving parts. A bus diesel engine on a bus requires much more maintenance than basically an elevator that runs horizontally, which is an electric train.

can you please share that record? And please don't quote Carson Charles who sings for his supper.

Don't speak about things which you know know nothing about.
Do research on electric motor maintenance, especially if it is DC motors. I guess these motors don't use brushes or bearings. Contactors that needs serving.
I guess these trains don't use wheels that needs bearings. Seat that needs attention, the electrics that operate the doors. The operator consoles and main command centre.
Maintenance on a train is a 24 hrs operation. London transport has its hands full when it comes to maintenance plus it's very expensive to look after.
Train maintenance is more than a bus, trains needs special parts, u can't go by faizs for a set of 600VDC motor brushes .

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 8th, 2015, 10:08 pm

VII wrote:

You guys are sad lol,so based on that logic the fast ferries,airlines,choppers,water taxis,chemical plants,methanol plants,LNG plants,ammonia

plants,elevators at the financial towers,fancy passenger conduits straight up to aircraft at new airport should all end up like old PTSC buses? Or do you think a train is a bus because it's long and has many windows also?

Let's see,
I used the fast ferries weekend gone for cycling in Tobago and they were in a mess. Very dirty and worn out seats. Vessels looks like 30 year old. On the plus note it was on time.

CAL I stopped travelling with dem a while now . The insides of the aircrafts on the London route is very dirty with tattered seats, the display screens do not work. The air stewards used to be very professional but time eroded that away to a KFC worker. Just remember BWIA went bust and CAL in a mess.

Chemical plants, Ammonia, Methanol, steel plants to which I have worked on all years ago had high standards of workers and where part private and little Government interference where it came to hiring the workforce. In those plants you have to work, a 12hrs shift is a 12hrs shift. You have to be productive. Had it been government hiring it would have been in a mess and zero productivity just like when they ran ISCOTT.

Anything government owns is filled with sub standard workers and with a lazy mentally.
This Government should not get involved in a business which they don't understand. They should have partnered with a company that does and let them run the business. You cannot trust PNM to do any business.
I said it before and will say it again government should not get involved with business. They tried with ISCOTT, Caroni , BWIA, Tanteak , Sugar manufacturing company and all failed.

Zoom that not fair to say, the water taxi staff is courteous and very professional... I remember once i was boarding and there was a bit of a drizzle, one of the staff with dreads rushed to my assistance holding an umbrella over my head - I was taken aback... especially since I have a penis

The water taxis and their terminals are kept clean too, sure there is wear and tear, but there is not glaring signs of "trini maintenance" either

So, we can do it if we try... we just have to hold ourselves to a higher standard

Postby zoom rader » October 8th, 2015, 10:14 pm

ingalook wrote:
VII wrote:

Let's see,

Zoom that not fair to say, the water taxi staff is courteous and very professional... I remember once i was boarding and there was a bit of a drizzle, one of the staff with dreads rushed to my assistance holding an umbrella over my head - I was taken aback... especially since I have a penis

The water taxis and their terminals are kept clean too, sure there is wear and tear, but there is not glaring signs of "trini maintenance" either

So, we can do it if we try... we just have to hold ourselves to a higher standard

That is why I did not comment on the water taxi. I never used it so I can't comment on it. May be some other folks can share their experience on the water taxis.

Postby Habit7 » October 8th, 2015, 10:54 pm

zoom rader wrote:Don't speak about things which you know know nothing about.
Do research on electric motor maintenance, especially if it is DC motors. I guess these motors don't use brushes or bearings. Contactors that needs serving.
I guess these trains don't use wheels that needs bearings. Seat that needs attention, the electrics that operate the doors. The operator consoles and main command centre.
Maintenance on a train is a 24 hrs operation. London transport has its hands full when it comes to maintenance plus it's very expensive to look after.
Train maintenance is more than a bus, trains needs special parts, u can't go by faizs for a set of 600VDC motor brushes .

You do your research and share it. A bus doesn't have wheels and bearings (tires even)? Seats, electrics to operate doors? Operator consoles can even run the train so that it is driverless even while it carries more ppl than a bus. London doesn't maintain their buses 24hrs too? The very problem we have with PTSC is that we have 40 different variants of buses from all around the world and we can't source parts. RR is one train variant. Just like how Caribbean Airlines flies one variant of jet B737, UNC added two B767 and it buss.

zoom rader wrote:That is why I did not comment on the water taxi. I never used it so I can't comment on it. May be some other folks can share their experience on the water taxis.
World class, some of the best customer service in T&T. It is very counter to your believe that trinis cannot run and maintain a transport system.

khandman

Postby khandman » October 9th, 2015, 1:33 am

Habit7 wrote:It's sad to see so many of you so myopic about this project. Most of the questions you all are asking were answered since 2009. Our regional competitors like Panama, Dominica Republic and Puerto Rico are leaving us behind with their mass transit systems while some in T&T believe the way to solve traffic is not to create hubs like every other country in the world, but to dissolve the urban area and place a ministry in Couva, one in Tabaquite, another in Lopinot and three Mayaro thus further relying on personal transport to conduct business.

The PNM campaigned on reducing traffic through a mass transit system, the UNC campaigned on reducing traffic by having in 5yrs one incomplete ministry building in Chaguanas as decentralisation. The ppl voted and went with the PNM's plan (just like every other major traffic initiative came from the PNM) so just sit back and allow a international lending agency oversee a hopefully corruption free project.

Ay sheep, u think before u post? Or is just pnm ftw no matter what? What is the size difference of the three "competitors" to that of Trinidad? Huge. When they do this and create hubs, how persons getting to the hubs? Flying? If you don't correct the present mass transit system, ie buses, you will see no real reduction in traffic or use of personal vehicles. But never mind rational thinking, just sheep on.

Postby De Dragon » October 9th, 2015, 5:39 am

khandman wrote:
Habit7 wrote:It's sad to see so many of you so myopic about this project. Most of the questions you all are asking were answered since 2009. Our regional competitors like Panama, Dominica Republic and Puerto Rico are leaving us behind with their mass transit systems while some in T&T believe the way to solve traffic is not to create hubs like every other country in the world, but to dissolve the urban area and place a ministry in Couva, one in Tabaquite, another in Lopinot and three Mayaro thus further relying on personal transport to conduct business.

The PNM campaigned on reducing traffic through a mass transit system, the UNC campaigned on reducing traffic by having in 5yrs one incomplete ministry building in Chaguanas as decentralisation. The ppl voted and went with the PNM's plan (just like every other major traffic initiative came from the PNM) so just sit back and allow a international lending agency oversee a hopefully corruption free project.

Ay sheep, u think before u post? Or is just pnm ftw no matter what? What is the size difference of the three "competitors" to that of Trinidad? Huge. When they do this and create hubs, how persons getting to the hubs? Flying? If you don't correct the present mass transit system, ie buses, you will see no real reduction in traffic or use of personal vehicles. But never mind rational thinking, just sheep on.

Nah man everything hadda be 'in tong" :roll: What they don't realize is that this has outlived its purpose and practicality.

notsoloud

Postby notsoloud » October 9th, 2015, 5:52 am

Were they plan to run this pos to arima did they also factor in how many homes to move
And north to south through the swamp as there original plan

Postby Habit7 » October 9th, 2015, 8:02 am

khandman wrote:

Nah man everything hadda be 'in tong" :roll: What they don't realize is that this has outlived its purpose and practicality.
We'll if you took the time to research the competitors I listed their transit systems are in their capitals, so their land size doesn't matter. Our transit system is far beyond our small capital and incorporates the main transportation corridors of our country.

Buses can't reach their full efficiency if the road is clogged with cars. PTSC already does offer an express coach service that runs mostly on time and it doesn't attract the ridership to reduce drivers. Plus it is susceptible to the same hazards like accidents, tree falls and floods. An elevated train doesn't have that hindrance.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 9th, 2015, 8:29 am

Habit7 wrote:
khandman wrote:

We'll if you took the time to research the competitors I listed their transit systems are in their capitals, so their land size doesn't matter. Our transit system is far beyond our small capital and incorporates the main transportation corridors of our country.

Buses can't reach their full efficiency if the road is clogged with cars. PTSC already does offer an express coach service that runs mostly on time and it doesn't attract the ridership to reduce drivers. Plus it is susceptible to the same hazards like accidents, tree falls and floods. An elevated train doesn't have that hindrance.

yes but arent we going to gain a massive increase in transport efficiency with the removal of the traffic lights from grande to pos?? this would also significantly reduce the bittleneck from south to north since it is all going to be free flowing traffic with steady lane filtering. just adjust the traffic light timings for connecting roads and in pos to west mall so they synchronized green for extended traffic flow and we talking straigh freeflow all the way to chag/diego and back to sando/grande. the last stretch to grande will get a buff up to look more like part of the highway. then they have to work on traffic efficiency within grande itself.

we talking trucks making 10 deliveries a day instead of 6 or 7. overall transport of goods and services increase of 20-30% easily. the butterfly effect will lead to an increase in GDP with faster circulation.

this is why i say the budget we got was guided by God. it is very close to the budget i would have put forward. addressing the issues i wouldve addressed in the same way. namely, outsourcing international clients that purchase oil/gas at a higher price(hustle the international market), build overpasses from grande/arima to pos. increase economic efficiency. working on reducing the deficit and getting us back on track with savings in a hostile world economy climate. and also instead of 800million. because i have a plan for agriculture i wouldve allocated close to $2bn for agriculture. all things ive suggested here on tuner at one time or another. i also have a plan to generate foreign exchange through energy sale that would put us in the position of never having a shortage. like i said maybe a year or 2 ago when i mentioned i could get oil sold at higher than market rates on the international market.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 9th, 2015, 12:26 pm

Playerz wrote:So one of the major disadvantage is the working class taxi/ maxi man can very well be on the bread line because people may choose the rapid rail over their transportation, so reduced income. How government dealing with this?

So we must continue to live like rats in a latrine all because you think that how maxi/taxi men will go bankrupt?
yet every country in the world with a train also has a ton of taxis making a living?

This is the problem with we trinis we too damn blasted greedy and selfish and don't care about others we want to eat the whole plate of food and even that eh enough, this is why this country is in the latrine because of nasty selfish greedy eat ah food attitude. Hear what you worried about but you would never ever once ask what is the Prime Minister doing about the thousands of people stranded on mornings and evenings ent? nah allyuh eh to ask.

Luckily for us the raging bull in power and this is exactly what this country needs, the dotishness has to stop now.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 9th, 2015, 1:55 pm

Now there is an assumption that this rapid rail will run from POS to Arima essentially along the same PBR route. Even the PNM seems to assume this. But I wonder if instead of that linear method, a hub system could be workable without having to move tens of thousands of people.

Throwing this out there - a main hub in the Chaguanas area with 5 spokes - NW to POS , N to Tunapuna, NE to Arima, S to Princes Town and SW to San Fernando . I believe there is enough space to have such rail lines without massive disruption.

So a person instead of going through the CRH/EMR from Arima or Tunapuna to POS would go to the station at Tunapuna or Arima, head to Chaguanas and then take another train from Chaguanas to POS.

The direct distance from Arima to Chaguanas is about 20 km. From Tunapuna to Chaguanas is about 15 km. From Chag to POS is 20-24 KM depending on how you hug the Caroni Swamp.

If a train could make each of those runs in 8-12 mins or less then already you have helped alot of people becuase now people living on the Corridor can leave thier home at 7 AM and reach to work on time instead of having to leave from 6 and earlier.

Now of course this would mean that taxis and buses would have to reorganize thier routes and serve as feeders to the stations. Additionally massive car park towers would also have to be built for those who wish to drive to the station and leave thier car there.

Also . I just realized the real gamechanger would be if a train line started hauling CARGO in addition to passengers. Them big truck haulers might be out of business.
Last edited by EmilioA on October 9th, 2015, 2:29 pm, edited 3 times in total.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 9th, 2015, 2:11 pm

khandman wrote:When they do this and create hubs, how persons getting to the hubs? Flying? If you don't correct the present mass transit system, ie buses, you will see no real reduction in traffic or use of personal vehicles. But never mind rational thinking, just sheep on.

The real problem is that everyone in Trindad choking up from POS to Grand Bazaar. If traffic is redirected to train stations in other areas then traffic will be more evenly spaced.

People will still need maxis to get to and from the train stations.
Last edited by EmilioA on October 9th, 2015, 2:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Habit7 » October 9th, 2015, 2:22 pm

EmilioA wrote:Now there is an assumption that this rapid rail will run from POS to Arima essentially along the same PBR route. Even the PNM seems to assume this. But I wonder if instead of that linear method, a hub system could be workable without having to move tens of thousands of people.

No.

It would run mostly over state lands and alongside the CRH on an elevated track. Most of the residential land acquisitions would be in Chaguanas and Central. But most of the proposed route would be south of the CRH and East of the UBH/SHH where property values are lower.

Postby pete » October 9th, 2015, 2:22 pm

Lol @ edit.