Business woes.... assistance is need plz

Bentley

7SEATER HIRING AND OWNING INFO

Postby Bentley » September 22nd, 2015, 10:18 pm

I need some advice. I am thinking of acquiring a 7 seater vehicle to run the arima to sangre grande route.
1.If i would be hiring a driver how much must he give the owner at the end of the day?
2. how much does the driver make at the end of the day?
3. Anything i would need to know about the operations of a taxi in terms of hiring someone, should i get a contract, what are the working hours,should i give the driver a day to make his on money,,,,, should the driver bring the car back every night.etc
4. what should i look for when hiring a person to drive the vehicle?

Please help i really want to stART ORGANIZING ALL THE ASSISTANCE WOULD BE WELCOME. You can P.M. me there must be someone willing to help me push forth.
Last edited by Bentley on September 24th, 2015, 9:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: 7SEATER HIRING AND OWNING INFO

Postby eliteauto » September 22nd, 2015, 10:26 pm

do you have a taxi badge?

Bentley

Postby Bentley » September 22nd, 2015, 10:30 pm

IN THE PROCESS OF OBTAINING

Bentley

Postby Bentley » September 22nd, 2015, 10:35 pm

SO WHAT IS NEXT

Postby eliteauto » September 22nd, 2015, 10:41 pm

nice, once you get that you can buy a roro vehicle with tax breaks, most of the vehicles on that route are Serenas but the newer ones have overheating and tranny issues, pretty sure you see them being driven with the bonnet open/ speaker ports in the bumper, the Noah/Voxy are pretty decent but when they do call for parts they are harder to get and expensive. Not a fan of the driver thing but I'm sure if you talk to those guys on the stand they can advise you on earnings. I'd rather work it myself and pay the bank because a driver won't care for your vehicle like you would

Bentley

Postby Bentley » September 23rd, 2015, 5:50 am

Thanks man

Bentley

Postby Bentley » September 23rd, 2015, 5:50 am

Thanks man

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » September 23rd, 2015, 7:44 am

eliteauto wrote:nice, once you get that you can buy a roro vehicle with tax breaks, most of the vehicles on that route are Serenas but the newer ones have overheating and tranny issues, pretty sure you see them being driven with the bonnet open/ speaker ports in the bumper, the Noah/Voxy are pretty decent but when they do call for parts they are harder to get and expensive. Not a fan of the driver thing but I'm sure if you talk to those guys on the stand they can advise you on earnings. I'd rather work it myself and pay the bank because a driver won't care for your vehicle like you would

Install a Transmission cooler, that should solve the problem. It's a Renault transmission that's notoriously known for overheating. Most people I know that owns a Serena and installed the transmission cooler, still has it running to this day and they are also taxi vehicles.

Postby RBphoto » September 23rd, 2015, 8:02 am

SimSimmer69 wrote:
eliteauto wrote:nice, once you get that you can buy a roro vehicle with tax breaks, most of the vehicles on that route are Serenas but the newer ones have overheating and tranny issues, pretty sure you see them being driven with the bonnet open/ speaker ports in the bumper, the Noah/Voxy are pretty decent but when they do call for parts they are harder to get and expensive. Not a fan of the driver thing but I'm sure if you talk to those guys on the stand they can advise you on earnings. I'd rather work it myself and pay the bank because a driver won't care for your vehicle like you would

Install a Transmission cooler, that should solve the problem. It's a Renault transmission that's notoriously known for overheating. Most people I know that owns a Serena and installed the transmission cooler, still has it running to this day and they are also taxi vehicles.

Seriously? there is an oil circuit for a cooler that can be tapped into?

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » September 23rd, 2015, 8:10 am

^normally its the oil lines that goes to the radiator for cooling

Postby eliteauto » September 23rd, 2015, 9:09 am

^^ heard the tranny is sealed I don't know so can't confirm, also heard ppl were tapping the tranny sump and adding the lines

Advent

Postby Advent » September 23rd, 2015, 9:10 am

megadoc1 wrote:^normally its the oil lines that goes to the radiator for cooling

yup yup

RAJIE

Postby RAJIE » September 23rd, 2015, 9:48 am

SimSimmer69 wrote:

agree. i know alot who did this as well who work taxi with there cc25 serena and no problem thus far

Postby RBphoto » September 23rd, 2015, 10:00 am

Advent wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:^normally its the oil lines that goes to the radiator for cooling

yup yup

French engines usually do the reverse and send coolant to the transmission via a separate hose, not transmission fluid to the radiator as we are accustomed to seeing on japanese cars. As said before, it is a sealed transmission. Don't know how they get oil to circulate if the are tapping from the sump tho.

Bentley

Business woes.... assistance is need plz

Postby Bentley » September 24th, 2015, 10:06 pm

Hey I need some advice. I am thinking of acquiring a 7 seater vehicle to run the arima to sangre grande route.
1.If i would be hiring a driver how much must he give the owner at the end of the day?
2. how much does the driver make at the end of the day?
3. Anything i would need to know about the operations of a taxi in terms of hiring someone, should i get a contract, what are the working hours,should i give the driver a day to make his on money,,,,, should the driver bring the car back every night.etc
4. what should i look for when hiring a person to drive the vehicle?

Please help i really want to stART ORGANIZING ALL THE ASSISTANCE WOULD BE WELCOME. You can P.M. me there must be someone willing to help me push forth

napster16

Re: Business woes.... assistance is need plz

Postby napster16 » September 24th, 2015, 10:41 pm

This post worries me :/

Really think you're ready for business with those questions ?

Bentley

Postby Bentley » September 24th, 2015, 10:46 pm

I never said I was ready where did you read that... I started by saying I am thinking and ended by saying I want to get organised... I am just acquiring info... what is the harm in that.... y be negative? Y bring down the post? it is offense. Whete is the worried aspect of this post? I never said anything about being ready?!!!

Bentley

Postby Bentley » September 24th, 2015, 10:52 pm

Making an issue when there is none is on call for....

Postby eliteauto » September 24th, 2015, 11:13 pm

try and keep your posts to one thread please no need to make another thread to ask the same questions

CarBrowsers

Postby CarBrowsers » September 25th, 2015, 5:04 am

Elite... Roughly how much tax breaks can 1 be saved from? Give an example if you want in $$$ from an original price for instance.

Postby pugboy » September 25th, 2015, 6:34 am

most owners charge the driver a fixed fee eg $400
he takes the vehicle early in the morning with a full tank of gas and returns it
with a full tank of gas, he keeps whatever money he makes during the day.
owner responsible for maintenance etc

hopefully potential drivers will supply on their resume a list of past references you can call
to see if they are vehicle abusers, accidents etc

Postby eliteauto » September 25th, 2015, 7:35 am

CarBrowsers wrote:Elite... Roughly how much tax breaks can 1 be saved from? Give an example if you want in $$$ from an original price for instance.

I'm not familiar with the actual tax laws re taxis from the pov of a comparison to normal cars but for taxis the customs duties are as follows
1599cc and lower 25% of CIF
1600-2000cc 35% of CIF
2001-3000cc 40% of CIF
3001 and above 45% of CIF
there are also rates for MVT with differences for new and used taxis it's a bit much to type but some of the quotes I've gotten range from $10K off the asking price to $37K off.

Postby SMc » September 25th, 2015, 8:05 am

Have you considered forgetting about the driver and making this a solo venture?

Postby skylinechild » September 25th, 2015, 8:36 am

RAJIE wrote:
SimSimmer69 wrote:

agree. i know alot who did this as well who work taxi with there cc25 serena and no problem thus far

you can also swap out the radiator for a 3 core all aluminum unit. and coolant specifically for a aluminum radiator. you can also have a mesh grille made which will allow for more air to pass thru the front.

my $0.02

Bentley

Postby Bentley » September 25th, 2015, 8:51 am

Thanks and I am considering all options.... I appreciate the info ...... blessings

DjDaniel

Postby DjDaniel » September 25th, 2015, 10:07 am

Some advice: That Arima to Sangre Grande taxi stand is friend, friend thing I have been reliably informed by multiple drivers that many times; men allow their friends to cut in the line and fight you down. (Not a big deal but still worth mentioning)

Other than that:

Some excellent advice given here, I should also emphasize:

Choose your driver wisely, ensure he doesn't take too many day offs (I suggest one casual per month) and that he makes his quota every week (no excuses)

Inspect your vehicle regularly and write down odometer readings.

Put a GPS service on your vehicle. (Some even have speed alerts that text you when your vehicle reaches over a certain speed)

Take your vehicle back every night at a specific time. (He could lock it up and leave it then you can come with your key and retrieve it)

Make all arrangements in black and white. Contract with full details preferable drafted by someone with experience)

Since $7 per passenger X 7 seats = 49$ per trip
400$ is a bit high to get everyday seeing as their are many taxis that service that route, I would start with $1600 a week (Mon-Sat) and adjust accordingly.

Also look into chartering and servicing other routes (If the stand dry) make arrangements with the driver so that he would know how to handle that scenario, instead of going home and sleep. lol

Lastly, their will always come a time when the driver will ask you for your vehicle borrow to run a personal errand for himself. You would have to decide how to deal with this. (Treat the driver good, and he will treat your vehicle good)

Good luck,
Daniel

make meh care

Postby make meh care » September 25th, 2015, 10:19 am

SMc wrote:Have you considered forgetting about the driver and making this a solo venture?

Solo Bentley

DjDaniel

Postby DjDaniel » September 25th, 2015, 10:33 am

For real ^

Bentley

Postby Bentley » September 25th, 2015, 2:32 pm

Thanks again. .... lol @ solo Bentley