Re: Help---Goulds Water pump prob (vid)

Postby X_Factor » September 5th, 2015, 3:30 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 5th, 2015, 3:41 pm

seems to be short cycling - is there a pressure tank on this pump?

did you check the pressure switch?

Postby X_Factor » September 5th, 2015, 3:43 pm

yeah, pressure tank is within the recommended PSI

not sure how to check the pressure switch?

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » September 5th, 2015, 3:55 pm

Could be short cycling as Duane said, air pressure in the tank should be checked with no water pressure in the pump. Air pressure should be 2 psi below ur cut in pressure.

Also there's a bearing noise, bearings should be changed.

I would advise keeping it off until you can get someone to repair.
Leaving it to run like that is giving the motor alot of abuse...

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 5th, 2015, 3:58 pm

X_Factor wrote:yeah, pressure tank is within the recommended PSI

look at it and say "one, one pressure switch" then laugh like the Count :lol:

what I meant was the pressure switch may need changing or adjusting :oops:

usually the pressure switch is made up of a low pressure and high pressure adjustment and a cut-in pressure adjustment - it's basically springs with screw adjustments under the cover.

but there are a lot of reasons for a short cycle including the pressure tank and a dirty or even a clogged water filter.

Postby Damien » September 5th, 2015, 4:11 pm

Pressure switch could have build up on the water side causing it not to give a proper reading making it cycle too frequent

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » September 5th, 2015, 4:19 pm

Pressure switch orifice clog or inside diaphragm dirty if it's a std mechanical switch OR ur pressure tank rubber collapse in tank.
1-Press the insect looking thing on tank to see if water coming out where air charge supposed to be , if so, change out. If no water, use a bicycle pump n pump up to see if it holds, if not change out.

2 YouTube how to open n wash out n clean switch. But If it was adjusted b4 it might just start working with out adjustment.
Make sure ur gauge working
Will update later try this

Postby X_Factor » September 5th, 2015, 4:57 pm

its a standard one spring pressure switch
open and cleaned it---didnt seem clogged or dirty, didnt wanna get to the inside diaphram

presssure tank reads about 37psi, no water

the entire switch is soaked so im waiting for it to dry off...then i will plug on and see what happens
if it continues i will just change the switch

Postby *KRONIK* » September 5th, 2015, 5:21 pm

Dan...mine doing the same crap rite now...
I call a plumb-trician he made some adjustments but now it doesnt cut off. Once inusing water and the switch on...it runs constantly

Postby X_Factor » September 5th, 2015, 6:25 pm

u guys should check the pressure tank to see if water is coming out of it..better yet if u have a tire pressure gauge to check the pressure....but once water is coming out of the valve on the tank it needs to be changed..If i am not mistaken....once the pump stays on its most likely the tank

I am gonna change the pressure switch sometime this week and see what happens next
since same prob even after i try a ting

powered by ?

Postby powered by ? » September 5th, 2015, 6:33 pm

Had an issue like this recently, changed Pressure switch and tank but to no avail, turns out my check valve from my tank to pump was faulty ..

Postby X_Factor » September 5th, 2015, 6:37 pm

^ nice, would change them as well

Postby *KRONIK* » September 5th, 2015, 6:49 pm

powered by ? wrote:Had an issue like this recently, changed Pressure switch and tank but to no avail, turns out my check valve from my tank to pump was faulty ..

Larrrddd

The amount of plumber worked here by me over the years...i may have to get 1 to do over everything before i can eliminate check valves

Postby brams112 » September 5th, 2015, 7:05 pm

Opie check to see if the pump is getting water,check ur check valves,there is supposed to have 2,make sure both are working,check the pressure swith with a proper insulated screw driver,by opening up the switch,playing with the terminals to see if the contacts are touching.If they are not meeting the pump will not switch off,it will just keep cycling,also check the tank for water by removing it and shaking it to hear if there is water in it,,

Postby M_2NR » September 5th, 2015, 7:48 pm

Recently had some issues and called Peake's. They service those gould's. They're a lil bit on the expensive side but get the job done.

Mines was making a similarish noise but it was because the check valve on inflow was busted and outflow didn't have one (or was it the other way around?) and the tank needed replacing. But, definitely switch it off until you get someone to check it...

Postby pugboy » September 5th, 2015, 9:51 pm

Yes, should be two check valves,
One to prevent pumping back to tank supply and another to prevent pumping back to wasa.

Best to disconnect pressure tank and lift it to see if it is full of eater due to burst bladder.

Lockoff your wasa connection and run a tap to see if the pump will suck from tank and push to tap.
Turn off tap, pump should cut off.

If you are mechanicaly inclined it is not hard to change the bearings and shaft seal as well as clean iut the crud inside and change the vane and impeller.

York

Postby York » September 7th, 2015, 8:24 am

just buy a new pump with smart head, non-goulds, under $1600. check Ramlagan Hardware.

by the time you replace pressure tank and switch, you already spend $500. if you have to service pump and change bearings and impeller, another $1000.

Postby RBphoto » September 7th, 2015, 9:20 am

My current goulds has lasted 8 years now I think. Check/ clean the impeller, change the brushes (if less than 50%), switch and tank. Bearings last a long time and my original ones still good. doh worry if switch or tank good or not, best do it in a one together. Put a large filter on the suction for added life. Goulds is never done thing. If you don't like headache/ don't want to wait on repair man, just replace the whole unit and have peace of mind. Some repair places will give you up to $500.00 for a used (working) goulds pump and motor (the blue parts) once the impeller is good.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » September 7th, 2015, 9:45 am

i had the same issue (with another brand of pump)

turns out the pump didnt like my filter...

had filter No.5
switched to no.1

works normal now

Baldhead

Postby Baldhead » September 7th, 2015, 9:59 am

doubt its the tank..
not sounding like the contacts scorched..could probably still give it a lil cleaning..
could be the centripetal switch needs to checked..
My pressure tank was too small..so i bought a pentax smart head and install it...working rel good no problems there...

Postby UML » September 7th, 2015, 10:29 am

Press the tyre insect thingy on top the pressure tank. If water squirt out you will need to change the pressure tank.

Postby skylinechild » September 7th, 2015, 11:19 am

X_Factor wrote:yeah, pressure tank is within the recommended PSI

look at it and say "one, one pressure switch" then laugh like the Count :lol:

i usually do the same thing.....friend had a rider Y11 wingroad....and the check engine light was constantly on....so i used to tell him.."ay yuh check engine light on" and he used to reply "ok..i go check it now"....."ONE" :oops:

slow day at the office for me yes....lol...

pjfred

Postby pjfred » September 7th, 2015, 1:34 pm

Where are the brushes in a Gould pump?

York

Postby York » September 7th, 2015, 3:44 pm

pjfred wrote:Where are the brushes in a Gould pump?

On the motor...

York

Postby York » September 7th, 2015, 3:55 pm

RBphoto wrote:My current goulds has lasted 8 years now I think. Check/ clean the impeller, change the brushes (if less than 50%), switch and tank. Bearings last a long time and my original ones still good. doh worry if switch or tank good or not, best do it in a one together. Put a large filter on the suction for added life. Goulds is never done thing. If you don't like headache/ don't want to wait on repair man, just replace the whole unit and have peace of mind. Some repair places will give you up to $500.00 for a used (working) goulds pump and motor (the blue parts) once the impeller is good.

Filter on suction to pump is not a good idea. Should be on line to tank. Suction to pump should be un restricted. Otherwise it can cause cavitation, boiling / bubbles in pump damaging impeller and casing ring.

Just make sure yuh pump not getting wet , corrosion will lead to premature failure / life.

Ever wonder why Goulds don't have smart head options, or do they? Smart head provides run dry protection as well.

Postby X_Factor » September 19th, 2015, 9:19 am

changed the pressure switch this morning
seems to be working normal....hadda replace the gauge as well though...its stuck