Re: Help---Goulds Water pump prob (vid)

Postby *KRONIK* » September 19th, 2015, 10:25 am

Come service mine for mih nah

Postby X_Factor » September 19th, 2015, 5:55 pm

hoss, its actually quite easy
the pressure switch cost me 75$ and i took pics of the old one incase i needed to refer back
and it was just a matter of taking off the wires, and putting it on the new one

Postby pugboy » September 19th, 2015, 6:58 pm

3 wires

solidust

Postby solidust » March 13th, 2016, 10:24 pm

Similar problem, cycling every 2 seconds......I remember changing the pressure tank about three yrs ago but cant recall the exact problem.

Switch sticking so I'll start tmrw by changing that first.

unikit911

Postby unikit911 » March 14th, 2016, 7:09 am

You have to check the pressure tank when the pump is de pressurised. Suppose to get about 28psi...

Postby X_Factor » March 14th, 2016, 8:06 pm

the pressure tank needs to be changed now, water coming through the valve

the switch is simple and cheap to change
rocky's plumbing in curepe (if u live on that side) had the switch the cheapest while i was looking
there are two types though so if you could walk with the old one is good

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 27th, 2019, 7:20 pm

Bumping this ched for a problem Im getting....

Pressure holds good between 30-50...pressure switch and tank seems fine..

Problem...once a pipe is running the pump would click on and off faster than you can snap your fingers...what could that be?? At times the breaker may trip...anyone??...

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » January 27th, 2019, 7:26 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Bumping this ched for a problem Im getting....

Problem...once a pipe is running the pump would click on and off faster than you can snap your fingers...what could that be?? At times the breaker may trip...anyone??...
I changed my pressure switch... Same exact thing happen to mine for Christmas. The L + N contact that clicks on and off in the switch wore off and was touching each other

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 27th, 2019, 7:44 pm

nick639v2 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Bumping this ched for a problem Im getting....

I changed my pressure switch... Same exact thing happen to mine for Christmas. The L + N contact that clicks on and off in the switch wore off and was touching each other

Would try it and see

Postby pugboy » January 27th, 2019, 7:54 pm

That sounding like the pressure tank busted
Can you tap it to see how much water in it?
A busted tank will be full of water even when tap is on and pump running

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 27th, 2019, 8:07 pm

pugboy wrote:That sounding like the pressure tank busted

Diaphragm??

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 27th, 2019, 8:09 pm

pugboy wrote:That sounding like the pressure tank busted

Sounds like pressure tank, yes. He can also press the schrader valve on the tank. If water comes out, then its bad.

Postby Gladiator » January 27th, 2019, 8:09 pm

The centrifugal switch is gone or is problematic... normally as soon as the pump builds the RPM the centrifugal switch kicks in to drop off the start winding. With this pump it seems like the running winding is cutting off also.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 27th, 2019, 8:33 pm

Gladiator wrote:The centrifugal switch is gone or is problematic... normally as soon as the pump builds the RPM the centrifugal switch kicks in to drop off the start winding. With this pump it seems like the running winding is cutting off also.

Ah lil more english please :lol:

Postby The_Honourable » January 27th, 2019, 8:34 pm

Unscrew the pressure tank and shake it. If you hearing water, tank busted. If not, pressure switch. When last you descale the pump?

Even with a problem like that, the breaker not suppose to trip. You can check the switch and the grounds. Make sure the pump on the correct setting with the breaker size (pump set to 220/230v but it's plugged in a 110/120v supply or vice versa).

Postby Gladiator » January 27th, 2019, 8:46 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Unscrew the pressure tank and shake it. If you hearing water, tank busted. If not, pressure switch. When last you descale the pump?

Even with a problem like that, the breaker not suppose to trip. You can check the switch and the grounds. Make sure the pump on the correct setting with the breaker size (pump set to 220/230v but it's plugged in a 110/120v supply or vice versa).

Pressure tanks usually have an "insect" like on a tyre. Screw off the cap at the top and press the insect, if water comes out the tank is bad. Bladder buss. If air only comes out then the tank is good. You can always use a bicycle pump to pump it back up too.

Postby gastly369 » January 27th, 2019, 8:49 pm

Gladiator wrote:The centrifugal switch is gone or is problematic... normally as soon as the pump builds the RPM the centrifugal switch kicks in to drop off the start winding. With this pump it seems like the running winding is cutting off also.
Yep easy check open pump back end an remove grey V shaped contacts and inspect...note if it's that don't use till change can burn pump

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » January 27th, 2019, 8:53 pm

Can you post a video of the problem?
Many things can be the cause of ur issue.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 27th, 2019, 9:00 pm

Just changed the pressure switch and well same prob....would troubleshoot other options you all gave in the morning

eitech

Postby eitech » January 27th, 2019, 10:00 pm

I had a short cycling problem but i realized too that my pressure was dropping quickly so i thought i had a leak somewhere. Turns out my check valve out front was passing real bad so all the water pressure was going back through d mains. Replaced check valve and no more pressure drop

Postby X_Factor » January 28th, 2019, 12:20 am

if u feeling to dig up in it a bit

airuma

Postby airuma » January 28th, 2019, 4:51 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Just changed the pressure switch and well same prob....would troubleshoot other options you all gave in the morning

Sounds like you need to make sure everything is adjusted properly. Check pressure tank by pressing on insert as described before. Pressure should be just below desired cut in pressure, then adjust pressure switch. Then repost if problem persist.

Postby pugboy » January 28th, 2019, 5:48 am

Yes good point, if the Wasa road pressure is almost same as pressure switch cutoff you will also get short cycling as the pump pushes the water against the road pressure and will cutoff when they bounce then when the water realeasing from tap cause pressure drop it starts all over again.

Easy way to check this is knockoff the Wasa mains and see if it short cycles.

eitech wrote:I had a short cycling problem but i realized too that my pressure was dropping quickly so i thought i had a leak somewhere. Turns out my check valve out front was passing real bad so all the water pressure was going back through d mains. Replaced check valve and no more pressure drop

Postby pugboy » January 28th, 2019, 5:50 am

It is a contactor switch on the end of the motor shaft, goulds have it but not Pentax.
If you remove the end cap you will see it.

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Ah lil more english please :lol:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 28th, 2019, 6:14 am

Alright...so I went back in he arse this morning...centrifugal switch kinda v shaped, light grey?? Connectors are not worn similar to the one posted in the vid???...gonna check tank in a few....so I noticed if I leave a pipe on at max...the pump runs fine without continuous click on and off.....shrugs shoulders

Postby pugboy » January 28th, 2019, 6:19 am

Do the Wasa lock off first

Postby gastly369 » January 28th, 2019, 6:52 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Alright...so I went back in he arse this morning...centrifugal switch kinda v shaped, light grey?? Connectors are not worn similar to the one posted in the vid???...gonna check tank in a few....so I noticed if I leave a pipe on at max...the pump runs fine without continuous click on and off.....shrugs shoulders
Sounding tankish

airuma

Postby airuma » January 28th, 2019, 10:19 am

gastly369 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Alright...so I went back in he arse this morning...centrifugal switch kinda v shaped, light grey?? Connectors are not worn similar to the one posted in the vid???...gonna check tank in a few....so I noticed if I leave a pipe on at max...the pump runs fine without continuous click on and off.....shrugs shoulders
Sounding tankish

Postby X_Factor » January 28th, 2019, 10:24 am

well the easiest thing to check is the tank by pressing the pressure valve on the tank to see if water is coming out if u have a pressure gauge to check the tank pressure is also good which is around 27-28 psi or 2-3 psi below the cut off pressure
so i would hope he checked that first

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 28th, 2019, 10:40 am

A "pump man" trying to diagnose le problem atm...would update later...im checking check valves