uncle sam wrote:Trinidad doc + private practice = rich!.... end of thread

And you dead or mis diagnosed

big fish in small pond mentality

Re: Choosing a Job

Postby Slartibartfast » August 18th, 2015, 9:13 am

Gonna go in a different direciton here, it also depends on the kind of person you are. Keep in mind I'm speaking in general because I have no idea what type of medicine or scientific study you are going in to.

Doctors have to deal with a lot on a personal level. In Trinidad, hospitals are always understaffed and 95% of patients are in a bad mood from waiting and will act as though it is your fault. You may be able to make a difference but it takes a metal toll on you.

If you are working in a lab, the work may get very repetitive and even isolated at times if you are working in a testing lab. If you are working in a research lab you can potentially spend years testing a theory just to end up with a negative result.

So it may also depend on the amount of interaction that you like to have with people from time to time.

Postby RBphoto » August 18th, 2015, 9:22 am

Opening your own business is rewarding also.

Postby sMASH » August 18th, 2015, 9:35 am

EY, go 'merica and sell half of that 80k USd to trinis for 7.2:1

U will make a mint cause of the USd shortage. Call it RxFX trader.

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 18th, 2015, 11:22 am

RBphoto wrote:Opening your own business is rewarding also.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » August 18th, 2015, 7:01 pm

Most people would go to the U.S. Enjoy life.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 23rd, 2021, 12:48 am

This is an interesting post.

Let's make it either

MBBS in Trinidad or Software Engineering in US.

Postby timelapse » April 23rd, 2021, 6:44 am

Doctor here.Them bishes does only charge cash and I sure 3/4 of that doesn't end up in their recordied income for the year when taxes are filed.

Postby MaxPower » April 23rd, 2021, 8:50 am

Don’t choose a job only for the money.

You Trinis only going after the “cream” and “bread” and have no pride in your jobs.

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 23rd, 2021, 8:53 am

MaxPower wrote:Don’t choose a job only for the money.

You Trinis only going after the “cream” and “bread” and have no pride in your jobs.

Yea.
I got burned with this mentality as a youth. Took a job because the pay was double, but I was miserable for the whole month before I handed in my resignation.
You should really love your job or at least some aspects of it.
It's never going to be perfect or stress free, but your passion for the area can get you through plenty of the choppy waters.

Postby MaxPower » April 23rd, 2021, 9:03 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Yea.
I got burned with this mentality as a youth. Took a job because the pay was double, but I was miserable for the whole month before I handed in my resignation.
It's never going to be perfect or stress free, but your passion for the area can get you through plenty of the choppy waters.

X1000

Postby RedVEVO » April 23rd, 2021, 9:08 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Yea.

Trini young people get a wuk but the $$$ to small . So small their "smallies" goes stupzzz !!

They tend to drive a foreign used TiiDa but tell their "smallie" it's brand NEW.
Small ting keeps quiet because she not taking a PH or the Bus. And she not like domestic violence.

Chances are these peeps have little to no education or no skills .

Then they see a BMW or PRADO and see the young people who stayed in school and studied.

These people UNKNOWN to many study EXTREMELY hard .
They are persistent in their studies.

But why ?

These peeps make lots and lots of money $$$ since they are qualified .
Their skills are in demand .

Chase the money .

It will bring you much happiness .

If you still not convinced talk to the guy driving an Aqua.

Postby timelapse » April 23rd, 2021, 9:17 am

Chase the money.Happiness don't pay the bills

ScHoolboySoloQ

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » April 23rd, 2021, 9:28 am

If everybody doing a high paying job, who will do the small paying jobs?

Again I say, everyone is different. School is just not for some people.

They would rather do a small paying trade but if they enjoy it, they can rake in more money.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 23rd, 2021, 9:35 am

So MBBS in Trinidad or Software Engineering in US?

If you enjoy both equally.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » April 23rd, 2021, 9:42 am

SuperiorMan wrote:So MBBS in Trinidad or Software Engineering in US?

Software Engineering any day.
Doctor in Trinidad is a saturated field.

ScHoolboySoloQ

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » April 23rd, 2021, 9:43 am

Based on everything more or less being digitized, Software Engineering in the US is the best option.

Postby RedVEVO » April 24th, 2021, 4:29 am

ScHoolboySoloQ wrote:If everybody doing a high paying job, who will do the small paying jobs?

Again I say, everyone is different. School is just not for some people.

They would rather do a small paying trade but if they enjoy it, they can rake in more money.

WE can invite migrants to take over the small jobs since Trini like big money .

Give SVG, Venes and Chinese and Nigerians citizenship for a fee in USD .

We will have a USD revenue stream and get the small jobs done.

Postby nervewrecker » April 24th, 2021, 6:31 pm

I wasn't the best in econ and entrepreneurship but I did learn a thing or two and helped my gf then study for her business management degree.

Look for something that is in abundance. Look for something where you are needed. Look for something where there aren't much specialized people in esp if there is an aged group of experts. Most of the aged ones can't cope with new technology giving you an upper hand.

Learn people skills. Psychology is a good place to start.

Electrical engineering is a field that opens a world of opportunities. Just about everything works with electricty. Specialize in a field and market yourself.

Customer service is something that sucks in Trinidad and simply as guaranteeing that gives you an edge. Don't bite off more than you can chew.

And last but not least, as a popular timer taught me, many of the fields that a lot of people view as below them are ripe for the picking. He markets himself by giving himself an edge over the competition and taking advantage of the opportunities that some can't see. He exploits the constraints that limits most to give him the upper hand and all I can hear is his brilliance in his voice. Also, don't live beyond what you can afford. You trying to afford a lifestyle to impress who exactly? Set the trend. I think his name in green if I not mistaken.

When I had now started in PETROTRIN and spent a few weeks under one of the best in hvac in their santa flora hvac department I noticed just about every house we pass by has an ac. Just about every business place has an ac.
Everyone has a fridge.
Restaurants and groceries have dedicated refrigeration systems.
I asked around on prices for basic services as well as tools to do maintenance and repairs. With my background in electrical engineering and having done fluid dynamics etc in my bachelor degree I picked up a lot in 7 weeks. Went on to electrical shift patrol and ended up with a lot of spare time in my hands. I am a perosn who gets into trouble easy so I tried being constructive for once.
I started documenting everything I do and started a page that was in existence unknowing to most. Did a lot of free jobs for friends and family and documented it.

Went on to get some certificates in it for the sake of getting it but my main goal was socializing with other techs in the field and various dealerships. Wasn't long before managers at dealerships who were in my class took notice of me and how fast I can do stuff. Before you know it the owners knew me by name and as one says, nothing gets past me. I learned all the how and where to get stuff, pricing, who to call for what, what to get where and who have what that I can trade for what. Many still keep in touch for ideas and a lil pull out when they in a jam.

As good ole roddy Jodhan of Dumore taught me, tools tools tools. Invest in tools. Tools make the job easy and tools give you an advantage over others. Makes your work stand out as well. If there is a tool you know about that can make your job easier or open new doors for you, by all means, source it. Got the same lesson from another director, jason.

Another area ripe for the picking is agriculture. Most shy away from it because planting the land is slave work. With new technology and equipment work is easy. Hydroponics especially and drip irrigation are two ways of making life easy. Also, secure your markets and clients to ensure you always have customers. There is a new spot open up at the end of the highway in debe where is business none stop. Also there is famers market and some market I saw advertise at corinth on weekends. Something I see making some money out here is sugarcane juice. There is a dude with a hilux that sells at gaps compund. Every time I in the area I stop by and get some. Slowly but surely it's starting to make it's way into shelves from various sellers.

A third is the food industry. Getting halal certification guarantees a certain group. Good food hard to find. Once your food good and you have consistency you in the game. What you can do is even go to the next level and create and app to take orders or get a menu into some places where people can place their order and have bulk orders delivered. Trinis lazy and don't like to cook. If they can get their food to them better yet. You want to get into food, sell something new. Make it attractive, make it known that you known for cleanliness and prompt delivery as well as a service guaranteed. You can't get into the industry to reach clients? Enroll in utt, do a short course, meet a few people. Get your links inside.

Online advertising is cheap and effective. Get yourself out here and get known.

Plumbing and electrical as in house wiring ar two other fields that lacking bad. Show what makes your different in your ad. Show that you know what you doing and be able to answer any questions anyone may ask.

Construction, mini excavator and small machinery can go places where big ones can't and get a lot of work done in a short space of time.

I have a cousin who did med and he still home. Mommy have to mine him. Meanwhile I done hook up with maintenance staff to run a training course for them at the hospital. Sat down and watch their operations and they understaffed and need help. Did business with someone who has a say in there and he saw my work. Very little was left to ask after that.

Guyana is a country picking up fast. A lot of local companies setting up shop there. So there are options.

Canada also has a lot of vacancies and the standard of living decent. Only thing is that it's cold. Hvac men having a ball there with the recent drop in temps. They actually were trying to see who had the longest frozen in mid air condensate stream. Heating is a big thing. I follow and observe their work and the guys globay to learn a thing or two. Recently asked for some criticism and very little was criticized. So that's an opportunity.
They made a mint all over during covid times as hvac men were deemed essential globally.

Online earnings is also another field especially in covid times. Look at some of the youtube pages that get a lot of traffic flow. Donut media, supercar blonde, engineering explained etc. You good at something and have a cam, do a few tutorials. Simple as explaining painting a car, installing a sound system etc will get you traffic flow. I have a family member that earns more than her husband that has a good position on the oil and gas sector from online. She indicated some of my silly tech stuff have the most views. Should do a few tutorials. Make sure web search directs to your stuff. Classic example if you Google exodus anarchy I realise most hits go to me. Simple as speaker comparison and reviews can take in a heap of views.

It's a world of opportunities out here. Don't sell yourself short

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » April 24th, 2021, 6:47 pm

You could try doing the IT/Software Engineering qualification here with GATE it should be cheap, then migrate it would make further qualification there even easier or shorter and less intensive.

If you are in the field here you can try remote work with a company, like Turing, and build a portfolio cheaply here and thus when you do migrate you aren't exactly starting from scratch.

This works if you're young like under 35 with no family responsibility not that it's ever too late though but you understand.

Postby timelapse » April 24th, 2021, 8:08 pm

Software eng in the states is also saturated.Unless you coming out with your own apps, you have all the asians, australians, russians and indians to deal with.
My advice, do both.Create medical software.
ScHoolboySoloQ wrote:

Based on everything more or less being digitized, Software Engineering in the US is the best option.

Postby nervewrecker » April 24th, 2021, 8:12 pm

Oh, and I forgot to mention. Control circuits and redundancy.

With open source the sky isn't even the limit.

If you can, get to know plc.

With control circuits you can manipulate it how you want and incorporate it anywhere. Hvac, hydroponics, home automation etc etc

Specialize in something and market yourself. I been meaning to learn python and try and develop some control systems for hydroponic systems. Had a chat with the guy from ariaponics I think he is, nos specialist on the forum. Brilliant guy, a group of us should get together and sharw ideas he said.

If you know where to look and what loopholes to capatalize on, water supply is a gold mine. But you have to know where wasa has jurisdiction and where they don't as well as how to work around the laws.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » April 24th, 2021, 8:22 pm

Instead of spending money on Medicine or software degree, lease a piece of state land and higher some persons to plant crops on it.
10 years down the road you will be richer than what both those careers will earn for you and your wont be working for anyone.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 24th, 2021, 8:26 pm

timelapse wrote:Software eng in the states is also saturated.Unless you coming out with your own apps, you have all the asians, australians, russians and indians to deal with.
ScHoolboySoloQ wrote:

Lots of bad advice in this thread.....

Software dev isn't saturated, far from it. The industry can't seem to employ enough people right now.
https://news.crunchbase.com/news/tech-hiring-in-2021/

Think of Trindiad, there is so much room for improvement in our current tech. This industry has much to grow locally as well.

Postby Rovin » April 24th, 2021, 8:28 pm

nervewrecker cud write for d business section of guardian\express\newsday :lol: alot of sense in his post though

u have a huge edge when u in certain circles or like they say right place at d right time

plenty $ always nice to have but if doing something that sours u is bess u find something better ...

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » April 24th, 2021, 8:41 pm

Rovin wrote:nervewrecker cud write for d business section of guardian\express\newsday alot of sense in his post though

u have a huge edge when u in certain circles or like they say right place at d right time

plenty $ always nice to have but if doing something that sours u is bess u find something better ...
Working with other trinis will always sour you because they always on there phone and want to lime.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 25th, 2021, 6:49 am

Hey this is OP. Thanks for the response, was just bored watching some toons and the thought poped into my head. Thought I would throw it out to my car buddies.....peace out.

death365

Postby death365 » April 25th, 2021, 7:16 am

Plenty to say here but I'll still to the 2 questions.

1. Op go to the US stay 5 to 7 years, come back as a expert and consult d f outa trini. The exoirences that you will get up there is superior to the limited one in sweet T&T

2. Always choose programming / computer science but again if u really want to grow in the field get exp in states or Canada and not study so hard to become a "IT" person in trini and yuh job is to reset passwords and add printers to people computers

The brass tax is yuh needs to get 15 + years expirence to be considered a expert in field of study but you can shorten it if you are employed by a progressive modern org, which don't really exist in T&T. COLD HARD FACTS!

Postby timelapse » April 25th, 2021, 8:19 am

I in the field.Believe me when I tell you that I have explored these options before.The foreign option was something I wasn't willing to gamble.
Over the years, I reconsidered migrating, I could easily get my green card or Canadian citizenship.Is just that job options were limited in the field for me.My degree and other qualifications are no match for MIT graduates and their foreign equivalent and that was about 8 years ago.
After 15 years in IT here, I'm thinking about leaving IT for good.I have already started diversifying into other options.I have seen others that graduated with me from my class also make the change.Some selling insurance,one is/was a tuner that fixing cars for a living, one or two teaching and one that Im really good with left his programming job in North Carolina to come back here and open a roti shop.
Could just be the job market currently, idk.
If OP has a guaranteed thing, go for it.If not, weigh your options, opportunity cost etc.
Mind you I'm not saying that either field is bad.There are opportunities if you can find them.Just don't expect a fancy dayjob in Software eng.Make your own job or find partners that are willing to form a startup.Take the example of Zuckerburg,Bezos and other tech giants.If you consider those guys failures, then Dohplaydat is right and Im giving you bad advice.
Dohplaydat wrote:
timelapse wrote:Software eng in the states is also saturated.Unless you coming out with your own apps, you have all the asians, australians, russians and indians to deal with.
ScHoolboySoloQ wrote:

Lots of bad advice in this thread.....

Software dev isn't saturated, far from it. The industry can't seem to employ enough people right now.
https://news.crunchbase.com/news/tech-hiring-in-2021/

Think of Trindiad, there is so much room for improvement in our current tech. This industry has much to grow locally as well.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 25th, 2021, 10:49 am

nervewrecker wrote:I wasn't the best in econ and entrepreneurship but I did learn a thing or two and helped my gf then study for her business management degree.

Look for something that is in abundance. Look for something where you are needed. Look for something where there aren't much specialized people in esp if there is an aged group of experts. Most of the aged ones can't cope with new technology giving you an upper hand.

Learn people skills. Psychology is a good place to start.

Electrical engineering is a field that opens a world of opportunities. Just about everything works with electricty. Specialize in a field and market yourself.

Customer service is something that sucks in Trinidad and simply as guaranteeing that gives you an edge. Don't bite off more than you can chew.

And last but not least, as a popular timer taught me, many of the fields that a lot of people view as below them are ripe for the picking. He markets himself by giving himself an edge over the competition and taking advantage of the opportunities that some can't see. He exploits the constraints that limits most to give him the upper hand and all I can hear is his brilliance in his voice. Also, don't live beyond what you can afford. You trying to afford a lifestyle to impress who exactly? Set the trend. I think his name in green if I not mistaken.

When I had now started in PETROTRIN and spent a few weeks under one of the best in hvac in their santa flora hvac department I noticed just about every house we pass by has an ac. Just about every business place has an ac.
Everyone has a fridge.
Restaurants and groceries have dedicated refrigeration systems.
I asked around on prices for basic services as well as tools to do maintenance and repairs. With my background in electrical engineering and having done fluid dynamics etc in my bachelor degree I picked up a lot in 7 weeks. Went on to electrical shift patrol and ended up with a lot of spare time in my hands. I am a perosn who gets into trouble easy so I tried being constructive for once.
I started documenting everything I do and started a page that was in existence unknowing to most. Did a lot of free jobs for friends and family and documented it.

Went on to get some certificates in it for the sake of getting it but my main goal was socializing with other techs in the field and various dealerships. Wasn't long before managers at dealerships who were in my class took notice of me and how fast I can do stuff. Before you know it the owners knew me by name and as one says, nothing gets past me. I learned all the how and where to get stuff, pricing, who to call for what, what to get where and who have what that I can trade for what. Many still keep in touch for ideas and a lil pull out when they in a jam.

As good ole roddy Jodhan of Dumore taught me, tools tools tools. Invest in tools. Tools make the job easy and tools give you an advantage over others. Makes your work stand out as well. If there is a tool you know about that can make your job easier or open new doors for you, by all means, source it. Got the same lesson from another director, jason.

Another area ripe for the picking is agriculture. Most shy away from it because planting the land is slave work. With new technology and equipment work is easy. Hydroponics especially and drip irrigation are two ways of making life easy. Also, secure your markets and clients to ensure you always have customers. There is a new spot open up at the end of the highway in debe where is business none stop. Also there is famers market and some market I saw advertise at corinth on weekends. Something I see making some money out here is sugarcane juice. There is a dude with a hilux that sells at gaps compund. Every time I in the area I stop by and get some. Slowly but surely it's starting to make it's way into shelves from various sellers.

A third is the food industry. Getting halal certification guarantees a certain group. Good food hard to find. Once your food good and you have consistency you in the game. What you can do is even go to the next level and create and app to take orders or get a menu into some places where people can place their order and have bulk orders delivered. Trinis lazy and don't like to cook. If they can get their food to them better yet. You want to get into food, sell something new. Make it attractive, make it known that you known for cleanliness and prompt delivery as well as a service guaranteed. You can't get into the industry to reach clients? Enroll in utt, do a short course, meet a few people. Get your links inside.

Online advertising is cheap and effective. Get yourself out here and get known.

Plumbing and electrical as in house wiring ar two other fields that lacking bad. Show what makes your different in your ad. Show that you know what you doing and be able to answer any questions anyone may ask.

Construction, mini excavator and small machinery can go places where big ones can't and get a lot of work done in a short space of time.

I have a cousin who did med and he still home. Mommy have to mine him. Meanwhile I done hook up with maintenance staff to run a training course for them at the hospital. Sat down and watch their operations and they understaffed and need help. Did business with someone who has a say in there and he saw my work. Very little was left to ask after that.

Guyana is a country picking up fast. A lot of local companies setting up shop there. So there are options.

Canada also has a lot of vacancies and the standard of living decent. Only thing is that it's cold. Hvac men having a ball there with the recent drop in temps. They actually were trying to see who had the longest frozen in mid air condensate stream. Heating is a big thing. I follow and observe their work and the guys globay to learn a thing or two. Recently asked for some criticism and very little was criticized. So that's an opportunity.
They made a mint all over during covid times as hvac men were deemed essential globally.

Online earnings is also another field especially in covid times. Look at some of the youtube pages that get a lot of traffic flow. Donut media, supercar blonde, engineering explained etc. You good at something and have a cam, do a few tutorials. Simple as explaining painting a car, installing a sound system etc will get you traffic flow. I have a family member that earns more than her husband that has a good position on the oil and gas sector from online. She indicated some of my silly tech stuff have the most views. Should do a few tutorials. Make sure web search directs to your stuff. Classic example if you Google exodus anarchy I realise most hits go to me. Simple as speaker comparison and reviews can take in a heap of views.

It's a world of opportunities out here. Don't sell yourself short

Hey thanks for all the advice kind sir.

For your cousin who did med, is it because the field is so oversaturated that he has to stay at home?

I found out from someone who is into agriculture that it's not a good thing to get into right now though....there's too many stores opening up and farmers aren't making much anymore though.

From what I'm hearing from a lot of people is to go away....the future of the country looks bleak.