Choosing a Job

KCharles

Choosing a Job

Postby KCharles » August 17th, 2015, 1:30 pm

Which one you woulda choose?

Doctor in Trinidad (h.o in something like ophthal) or a scientist in the USA making 80k US a year. (hadda work in a lab/data collection/analysis)

Re: Choosing a Job

Postby zoom rader » August 17th, 2015, 1:39 pm

Choose what u like doing best.

Postby RBphoto » August 17th, 2015, 4:30 pm

I would like to operate a MF tractor plowing Caroni land for squatting farmers. Real money to be made.

KCharles

Postby KCharles » August 17th, 2015, 4:41 pm

RBphoto wrote:I would like to operate a MF tractor plowing Caroni land for squatting farmers. Real money to be made.

k

Postby zoom rader » August 17th, 2015, 4:54 pm

RBphoto wrote:I would like to operate a MF tractor plowing Caroni land for squatting farmers. Real money to be made.

Most Squatting farmers are well off and normally have about 2 tractors at anyone time. You not going to make any money

pj15

Postby pj15 » August 17th, 2015, 5:16 pm

It depends on what career path you're ultimately interested in. Do you want to be a clinician or are you more interested in medical research and laboratory sciences? Are you trying to land a residency in the US?...if so, the research experience would be a great addition to your resume. If you want to combine lab work and clinical science you should consider a career in pathology....very competitive but very lucrative as well.

src1983

Postby src1983 » August 17th, 2015, 5:32 pm

Take the Job in the US, you may have a better option to switch there than Trinidad if you wish

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 17th, 2015, 5:53 pm

zoom rader wrote:Choose what u like doing best.

Doh look at money, look at happiness

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 17th, 2015, 5:56 pm

Depending on what you specialize in you can make more money as doctor here in Trinidad.

But as everyone says do what makes you happy and live where you are comfortable

Postby Ted_v2 » August 17th, 2015, 5:58 pm

Go to work doing a job you love and come back home to someone that loves you. That's life goals

Postby rollingstock » August 17th, 2015, 6:20 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Go to work doing a job you love and come back home to someone that loves you. That's life goals

The only thing that would love you is a dog.
Buy a dog op.

KCharles

Postby KCharles » August 17th, 2015, 6:25 pm

Bezman wrote:Depending on what you specialize in you can make more money as doctor here in Trinidad.

Seriously...like in what?

KCharles

Postby KCharles » August 17th, 2015, 6:26 pm

pj15 wrote:It depends on what career path you're ultimately interested in. Do you want to be a clinician or are you more interested in medical research and laboratory sciences? Are you trying to land a residency in the US?...if so, the research experience would be a great addition to your resume. If you want to combine lab work and clinical science you should consider a career in pathology....very competitive but very lucrative as well.

1. Clinician
2. Yes. Landing a residency would be good but USMLE is a lot of work especially since I did basic sciences a long time ago.
3. Pathology is good...not so sure about how much scope there is down here.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 17th, 2015, 6:35 pm

KCharles wrote:
Bezman wrote:Depending on what you specialize in you can make more money as doctor here in Trinidad.

Seriously...like in what?

I would think cardiologist, pediatrician's and believe it or not dentist's (I know I know dentist aren't real doctors :))

I'm sure others can add their 2 cents.

Now if your a doctor is the U.S.. Depending where u practice. U can earn 10x what u may be able to earn locally.

src1983

Postby src1983 » August 17th, 2015, 7:12 pm

Once you getting the opportunity to go to the US you should, you will be exposed to far more opportunities than Trinidad.

KCharles

Postby KCharles » August 17th, 2015, 7:14 pm

src1983 wrote:Once you getting the opportunity to go to the US you should, you will be exposed to far more opportunities than Trinidad.

Thanks. I was thinking that...but I enjoy medicine. You may be right.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » August 17th, 2015, 7:35 pm

Trinidad doc + private practice = rich!.... end of thread

Postby Ted_v2 » August 17th, 2015, 7:51 pm

uncle sam wrote:Trinidad doc + private practice = rich!.... end of thread

this

KCharles

Postby KCharles » August 17th, 2015, 7:51 pm

More than 80k USD a year? Not sure about that...

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » August 17th, 2015, 7:58 pm

My padna works Mt. Hope and has his private prac.. He's a gynecologist and he's leaking money from his cheap ass

KCharles

Postby KCharles » August 17th, 2015, 8:01 pm

uncle sam wrote:My padna works Mt. Hope and has his private prac.. He's a gynecologist and he's leaking money from his cheap ass

Yeah dise after specializing....which would take donkey years because we hadda wait till consultant leave their post.

GP priv practice won't pull as much.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 17th, 2015, 8:09 pm

80k usd is small change when it comes to doctors.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 17th, 2015, 8:18 pm

KCharles wrote:

there are parlour owners in Trinidad making more than 80K US per year

that's TT$42K per month

Postby cinco » August 17th, 2015, 8:35 pm

KCharles wrote:

that's TT$42K per month

Have men running work-to-own taxis and making that kinda paper easy

KCharles

Postby KCharles » August 17th, 2015, 8:42 pm

KCharles wrote:

that's TT$42K per month

Hoss...house officers get paid $18000 a month.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » August 17th, 2015, 9:09 pm

^^^ daiz old rates.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 17th, 2015, 9:13 pm

KCharles wrote:

that's TT$42K per month

Hoss...house officers get paid $18000 a month.
better you open a parlour then.

src1983

Postby src1983 » August 17th, 2015, 9:52 pm

You have to think beyond the money, look at all the possibilities. You are getting to enter the U.S. and will be able to expand your knowledge and expertise. You also have the better options if you decide to change paths.

Just recently I read an article where people in their 30s had the option to start medicine.

Even if you get fed-up you still have the option to come Trinidad and practice, bringing knowledge and experience and maybe open a parlor on the side.

You don't want to stay Trinidad, then sit in your parlor saying 10 years from now

"Hmmmm, what would have happen if I did this?"

Think it through man, money will come unless you real delinquent

A good anesthesiologist can make in excess of 200k a year in the U.S.

I'm in my thirties now and I wish I could go do medicine because I find it interesting, but the options just isn't here.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » August 18th, 2015, 1:12 am

OP how far along are you in your medical career and what have you been posted in thus far?
You seem very green and unsure (which is fine....we've all been there)

Postby zoom rader » August 18th, 2015, 1:21 am

And you dead or mis diagnosed