Republic Online Banking

Re: Republic Online Banking

Postby Ben_spanna » July 30th, 2021, 12:38 pm

check and double your statements, they real F-king up some peoples accounts! and not by small insignificant amounts eh.....

Postby S_2NR » July 30th, 2021, 12:39 pm

Les Bain wrote:Real embarrassments, yes.
So i wasn't able to get the SMS because the SMS cost you about 50 cents.
I wasn't aware of that, and prepaid me didn't realize my phone balance was too low (I don't use my phone to the point the credit period expires).

Did a top up and had to request new SMS multiple times as the ones that were sent were invalid (eh?).

So progress in yuh cnut there. Musbe spent $5.00 on SMS.

wait what lol
incoming calls and texts are free, unless you are roaming in a foreign country.

Postby Les Bain » July 30th, 2021, 1:06 pm

That is what the operator told me, bud. Wasn't til i do a topup and tried a new login they sent me an invalid SMS.

When i got in, the comedy of errors began, as i was faced by a background and empty menus. Will spare the details, but i assure you the remaining 4 dollars of logins was extra dotish.

Postby aaron17 » July 30th, 2021, 3:34 pm

Sms is fail..idk what to do

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » August 5th, 2021, 9:30 pm

Is anyone else experiencing no login sms atm, I tried 2 accounts and when I reach to where the sms verification has been sent, not getting any? Was working up until yesterday though!

Postby redmanjp » August 5th, 2021, 10:43 pm

since when sms cost money to receive?

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » August 5th, 2021, 11:28 pm

hmmm, not a bad point there, have 0.21 balance on my phone could they have been charging me per sms all along, will top up and see now! damn!

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » August 6th, 2021, 8:07 am

yup was true, republic bank charges for each sms sent, lol

Postby S_2NR » August 6th, 2021, 9:24 am

So why the hell I paying a maintenance fee on my accounts for? For them to turn around and charge me for a text to use said service. I need to ask them about that.

I have post paid and haven't noticed being charged for those texts.

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » August 6th, 2021, 3:41 pm

well I have prepaid and was not even noticing, until that tuner brought up that point, but its true they charge each sms, real low grade service, republic bank on d whole is waste wee!

dogg

Postby dogg » August 6th, 2021, 6:12 pm

slickrick777 wrote:yup was true, republic bank charges for each sms sent, lol

You know you can download the RBL mobile app and use the One Time Password to log in right?

There's no need to use SMS

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » August 7th, 2021, 1:12 am

SMS is one of three options for authentication.
The mobile app covers the One Time Password and Sync options.

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » August 9th, 2021, 12:35 pm

just logged in using sync approval, house did not burn down, so all is well...

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » August 10th, 2021, 11:45 am

SMS is probably there for feature phone users

Postby Country_Bookie » August 10th, 2021, 6:27 pm

I guess a lot of ppl still don't know about this so lemme share it. If you are the type who mainly use online banking and ATM machines and don't go into the branch, you should check out their e free accounts that don't have monthly service fees.

https://republictt.com/personal/e-free

Postby goalpost » August 10th, 2021, 6:29 pm

So I never tried the new system. Is it operational now?

2WNBoost

Republic Online Banking

Postby 2WNBoost » August 12th, 2021, 4:59 pm

It’s working.

If you want to remove SMS as an option.
At the Second Factor screen, Select Lost/Change phone
Reactivate with OTP or Sync.

No more SMS

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » August 28th, 2021, 10:04 am

Tried to view statements, tells me I dont have a pdf viewer. I have about four pdf viewers including Acrobat reader.

Postby rollingstock » August 28th, 2021, 12:17 pm

That only works if you open it via browser. Doesn't work in app.

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » September 2nd, 2021, 8:18 am

Republic online seems to be messed up again. Anyone else having issues logging on today?

Postby Dave » September 2nd, 2021, 8:34 am

App worked a while ago. Have to use pc log in just now so will see.

Postby Dave » September 2nd, 2021, 9:41 am

All was fine through website.

carluva

Postby carluva » September 7th, 2021, 9:14 am

Morning all.

Has any of you been experiencing difficulties logging into Republic Bank online this morning? The SMS code is taking a while to be sent and once entered, the page just keeps loading and not being transferred to the main interface.

snatman

Postby snatman » September 7th, 2021, 9:30 am

Nah, I got in easily twice this morning.
I don't use SMS though. I think there's a charge for that.

I use either sync approval or OTP

carluva wrote:Morning all.

Has any of you been experiencing difficulties logging into Republic Bank online this morning? The SMS code is taking a while to be sent and once entered, the page just keeps loading and not being transferred to the main interface.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » September 7th, 2021, 1:04 pm

Ditch SMS and life will be better

Postby S_2NR » September 7th, 2021, 2:59 pm

So I checked my bill to realize I am indeed being charged for those texts. So I switched to sync approval with the app. What a blasted hassle to log in tho. We should just go back to the old system with the matrix card.

carluva

Postby carluva » September 8th, 2021, 7:19 am

How do I ditch the SMS? Is that in settings?

Postby Dave » September 8th, 2021, 7:53 am

There is also the one time password option which works well.

2WNBoost

Republic Online Banking

Postby 2WNBoost » September 8th, 2021, 10:00 am

If you want to remove SMS as an option.
At the Second Factor screen, Select Lost/Change phone
Reactivate with OTP or Sync.

No more SMS
PS: There’s no need to login to the app to get the code.
Just cancel login and hit the OTP button

carluva wrote:How do I ditch the SMS? Is that in settings?

abducted

Postby abducted » September 8th, 2021, 9:30 pm

A most customer-unfriendly online banking system

The management of our major banks are busy patting themselves on the back for achieving conversion of numbers of customers to online banking, limiting any deposits made “manually” to $10,000+ (so, what about all the smaller deposits?), reducing crowds in banks and thus being “Covid-responsible”.

There is, however, another side to the story. When RBC converted to electronic banking and started reducing customer walk-in service, they were the most hated bank in town, according to the many complaints I have heard. Maybe they listened to complaints and made things smoother—I don’t bank with RBC, so I don’t know.

Republic Bank, however, is in a class by itself with what has to be the most customer-unfriendly system ever programmed.

It is a nightmare of inadequate menus with unfamiliar terms, very slow responses, short duration before time-outs, multiple logins always required, difficulty in obtaining a paper record of what one just did, etc, etc.

I have found that no-one in management is interested in listening to customer complaints, so how can we expect them to improve?

Examples are:

1. When opening the site, why not immediately show as many of the transactions in the account as possible, with an obvious scroll down for earlier ones. In other words, open with the statement. Most people want to see if a payment has been made or received and the balance, so why go through several (incomprehensible) menu options for this?

2. Why do we have to go to “Transactions” for anything we want to know, because we aren’t sure what “Transactions” means.

3. When making a payment, we would like to send a message to the payee, saying who from and what for. Maybe “Invoice Number” or something similar. This cannot be done with any confidence on the online screen. There is a section for “Remarks” or something, but nowhere does it say “THIS WILL BE SHOWN WITH YOUR PAYMENT”, so nine times out of ten, the payee has to deduce by remote sensing, make telephone enquiries, etc.

4. When you have several things to do, why does the thing constantly time out while you wait for the next menu option to come up?

5. When logging in, a little wheel whizzing round and round indicates that it’s moving to the next part of the process (hell of a long wait). Once you have logged in, the little wheel disappears so you don’t know if “the system” has just gone to sleep, or is actually moving you to the next menu option (more long waits). Usually it times out, so one has to start again!

6. If I decide to look up a previous payment and when it’s on screen, decide to print it out as evidence, it prints like a “transaction” just made on today’s date. That’s very worrying because you made the payment last week—so, has it made the payment again? Why not come clean and show the date of payment?

There are many more complaints, but basically it is a non-intuitive menu system that needs a lot of improvement and it’s ridiculously slow. Of course, one can always go to the ATM, get cash, and try to conduct all business in cash—except that in the case of the Glencoe branch, the machine is frequently empty or won’t print a receipt that day!

And, of course, the bank claims it is not responsible for ATMs—that’s some other company’s responsibility!

Recently we have heard that Republic is majority Government-owned, but after all that should not mean our flagship bank has to operate like a section of Government.

https://trinidadexpress.com/opinion/let ... eff6c.html