Impreza vs feilder

batzzz

Impreza vs feilder

Postby batzzz » July 6th, 2015, 10:15 am

I trying to decide between buying a feilder or an impreza. My job requires a lot of driving all day everyday and maintenance and fuel cost will be an issue. Anyone can tell me which vehicles would hold out better and cost less to maintain with heavy use. Thanks

Re: Impreza vs feilder

Postby RBphoto » July 6th, 2015, 10:20 am

Question, are you getting a car subsidy, fuel allowance and insurance for car paid by the company as you are using it for business purposes? Do you just have to transport yourself to locations or doing delivery for company? Or is it just you are living far from your workplace?

batzzz

Postby batzzz » July 6th, 2015, 10:42 am

Just for travelling to different locations throughout the day and i get a fixed travelling allowance.

Postby RBphoto » July 6th, 2015, 10:49 am

Your workplace is using you and not compensating you enough... but if iz ah living.. wha yuh go do?

Postby Ted_v2 » July 6th, 2015, 10:59 am

Buy a b14 .serious.
Impreza works good but I needs to be maintained properly.
The fielder works well but parts very expensive but it outlast most.
Engine for both cost well over 10k.
Transmission nearly 10k.

So.

Postby RBphoto » July 6th, 2015, 11:18 am

Do not buy a Tiida.

batzzz

Postby batzzz » July 6th, 2015, 11:31 am

Yea pretty much :/ lol

batzzz

Postby batzzz » July 6th, 2015, 11:44 am

Would maintenance be more than an almera? In terms of how often parts would need replacing etc for both vehicles.

Postby Ted_v2 » July 6th, 2015, 12:14 pm

Lawd. Basically the service time spans would be the same but the cost would be different for the parts for the service eg. Transmission oils. Cradle bushings.

Buy the fielder and keep some money for maintenance and don't forget the service periods

batzzz

Postby batzzz » July 6th, 2015, 12:20 pm

Ok thanks a lot for d advice peeps

Postby RBphoto » July 6th, 2015, 12:41 pm

A jimny is cheap and could make in all conditions.. Jus sayin in case you have to drive in bad road areas. 120Y engine does pull really well.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » July 6th, 2015, 2:02 pm

Ad wagon!

Postby Team Loco » July 6th, 2015, 2:07 pm

fielder. lasts longer. excellent on fuel. but maintain cvt properly

Advent

Postby Advent » July 6th, 2015, 2:23 pm

over 500km on a tank of gas with the fielder :D

Postby pugboy » July 6th, 2015, 4:03 pm

Fielder very nice, owned 2.
A cvt oil change is over $1k if you using original oil, that is the only cost to think about
the plus is they use super gas.

spirit

Postby spirit » July 6th, 2015, 4:19 pm

Subaru is just as strong as fielder and it is safer as well and parts are cheaper. Owned both and I'd choose Subaru over Toyota everytime, Toyota isn't what they used to be. You can't take someone's advice who only owned one of the two vehicles you are deciding on #justsaying

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » July 6th, 2015, 4:41 pm

Super or premium ?

Pirate

Postby Pirate » July 6th, 2015, 5:18 pm

I say the Subaru as well. A tad cheaper to maintain and a standard auto transmission is less problematic than a CVT.
Also Subaru parts last really long and IMO looks better.

The Subaru is just as fuel efficient as the fielder and it has an ECO button so u can actually see when u are drive economical.

Both will use super.

The only advantage the fielder has is it's a wagon so u have more trunk space.

Postby nervewrecker » July 6th, 2015, 5:37 pm

Almera is a nice car, parts cheap, pretty durable, easy to find parts for.

Fielder is OK but I'm not keen on it. Feels soft, heard its soft. Toyota now isn't Toyota then.

If you can, get your hands on a non turbo Nissan Frontier since its a lot of driving. You will love your fuel bill and parts don't have to change often.
Fyzabad to port of Spain and back 5 days a week costs me $76.00 in fuel. I don't slow down for rough road and all I've changed are 4 shocks and two bushings in two years of use. Shocks were just over $600.00 bnib for the 4. Kyb brand.

I'd choose the Subaru between the two you mention. It looks better, handles far better, parts are durable and available, its economical and far safer than the fielder. If I had to be doing a lot of driving, I'd choose the Subaru.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

urabus

Postby urabus » July 6th, 2015, 6:34 pm

I can only give u a skewed point of view....the Impreza is the better option, many persons spoke of the reasons, it safety, a nice sturdy vehicle to drive, uses super, parts are a bit costly but they last long. Just find yourself a trustworthy mechanic.

If u r a guy though, driving an Impreza just makes u look ghey :roll:

Pirate

Postby Pirate » July 6th, 2015, 7:08 pm

urabus wrote:I can only give u a skewed point of view....the Impreza is the better option, many persons spoke of the reasons, it safety, a nice sturdy vehicle to drive, uses super, parts are a bit costly but they last long. Just find yourself a trustworthy mechanic.

Ghey... LOL
I think not!
Last edited by Pirate on July 6th, 2015, 8:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » July 6th, 2015, 7:13 pm

What abut resale values etc ?

Postby supercharged turbo » July 6th, 2015, 7:15 pm

Well Fielder is Toyota so need I say more?

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » July 6th, 2015, 7:24 pm

I feel like in qualified to have an opinion here. My gf has a GH2 Impreza and my sis has an axio which is just like a fielder but with a trunk and I drive both often. In fact I'm stuck with the impreza for a few weeks while my van is down.

I prefer the Subaru because its more fun to drive. Its also safer, which my gf tested when she ran into a truck earlier in the year. Maintenence is low cz I use high mileage oil and ignore tranny oil for now.

The axio though is a lot lighter on fuel but then you have to spend more to change transmission oil.

Both have really smooth, comfortable rides but for a job where I'm on the rd a lot I'd take the Toyota. I don't have to do too mich driving so the subie works for me.

Parts wise I think they're about the same.

Postby nervewrecker » July 6th, 2015, 7:32 pm

urabus wrote:I can only give u a skewed point of view....the Impreza is the better option, many persons spoke of the reasons, it safety, a nice sturdy vehicle to drive, uses super, parts are a bit costly but they last long. Just find yourself a trustworthy mechanic.

There is a whole lot of info online for these cars. Various vid tutorials on YouTube and many pic by pic on various forums.
You will spend far more time by a mechanic waiting that you will take to diy (unless is something major that you don't have tools for).

The Subaru engine bay is a bit different from the traditional inline we accustomed to here but I personally find it easier to deal with.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » July 6th, 2015, 7:39 pm

Curtms wrote:Ad wagon!
this...friend of mine is a surveyor n drives the length n breadth of the country with no issues!

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » July 6th, 2015, 11:00 pm

worksux101 wrote:
this...friend of mine is a surveyor n drives the length n breadth of the country with no issues!

While I admit the ad is reliable (had one at my last job), I feel like I've given up on life while driving that. Its functional but nothing to make you want to drive it like the two options op presented.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » July 6th, 2015, 11:24 pm

Toyopet wrote:
worksux101 wrote:

While I admit the ad is reliable (had one at my last job), I feel like I've given up on life while driving that. Its functional but nothing to make you want to drive it like the two options op presented.
i agree with u there but based on OP's original post where cost is a big factor, it may be his best option until he can comfortably afford sumn better

Postby Team Loco » July 7th, 2015, 4:37 am

My cousin had the latest fielder. He foind the suspension to be too soft and the car was not stable in the highway. Sold ut and bought a f/used impreza. Whike he said the suspension in it is much better, his fuel cost has risen and maintemance is higher. He realised he was better off with the fielder if he changed the suspension to a sport suspension. He regrets the impreza

Advent

Postby Advent » July 7th, 2015, 6:59 am

given the comments on this thread seems like to Toyotopreza is the way to go..