Increased Instances of Credit Card Fraud

V2NR 3.0

Increased Instances of Credit Card Fraud

Postby V2NR 3.0 » June 26th, 2015, 11:22 pm

Tuner Land,

To all persons who have credit cards - I would advise that you check your credit cards immediately. On Wednesday this week, I attempted to use my credit card to make a purchase when it was denied. Finding this extremely strange, I contacted the bank and was told that my card was suspended based on suspicious activity. To be fair, the bank did try to contact me one day prior, but all I saw was a missed call with no voice mail.

There were 5 suspicious transactions amounting to just about 2,000 TTD. Confirming that I did not do these transactions, I was advised to do a dispute form so the charges could be challenged and reversed.

At least 3 other persons who I know were hacked the same way and unscrupulous charges placed on their CC's

These were the charges:

neilsingh100

Re: Increased Instances of Credit Card Fraud

Postby neilsingh100 » June 27th, 2015, 6:55 am

Which bank?

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » June 27th, 2015, 9:26 am

a little more than a year ago i noticed a few strange transactions over a 3 month period......did some google searching....turned out to be fraudulent....
my card is mostly used for on-line shopping and occasional use when travelling, so its hard to say how and where it was compromised, but i suspect it was in south/central america.
RBL was helpful, i got back 95% of the disputed charges, a new card was issued and its been quiet since then....

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » June 27th, 2015, 10:51 am

neilsingh100 wrote:Which bank?

Think which bank's colours are red...I know you can figure it out :D

konartis

Postby konartis » June 27th, 2015, 12:08 pm

credit card fraud is on the rise in Trinidad, be aware of where you swipe ur cards and be sure to look at persons when they taking ur card to swipe for a payment.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » June 27th, 2015, 12:35 pm

I'm always iffy about places, like some gas stations where you can't even see the face of the person you're sliding your card to for payment :/

Postby Team Loco » June 27th, 2015, 7:29 pm

Same here. I in ny and my credit card locked off. Bank say i over limit. So i basically stranded for money
Bank said i spend double what i had. How is that possible. Then they said they are having issues with their system. All this happen today

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » June 27th, 2015, 9:19 pm

Team Loco wrote:Same here. I in ny and my credit card locked off. Bank say i over limit. So i basically stranded for money
Bank said i spend double what i had. How is that possible. Then they said they are having issues with their system. All this happen today

RBC nah...???

Postby cinco » June 27th, 2015, 10:19 pm

Team Loco wrote:Same here. I in ny and my credit card locked off. Bank say i over limit. So i basically stranded for money

Hmmm
Blue bank here no issues and I used my card in NYC and vegas

10-01

Postby 10-01 » June 28th, 2015, 2:52 pm

had this problem with RBC wher my card # was captured and used for the amount of $1878 , last place i used my card was medford gas station

reported the card to the bank they refunded me the $1878 and gave me a new card since then i only use my card for online purchases

when i travel ... i use Cash its real embarrassing when CC fraud happens and your card is declined ...

Postby Team Loco » June 28th, 2015, 3:34 pm

I was paying for stuff at staples. Got declined. Embarassing. Three calls made and spoke to three diffrent reps at rbc ccard centre. All three gave me different reasons. Madness yes

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 28th, 2015, 5:13 pm

^ ^ ^ I don't know if my experience last Thursday afternoon is related but this is a "Heads Up" to a similar scam...

I got a late afternoon, "land line" call...
Caller had a STRONG asian accent and used my full name saying that...
"his company was receiving intermittent alarms about my computer."
He gave his so-called "computer licence ID" as... #888DCA60
He insisted that I should do the following... to prevent my system from "Locking up" according to him... :roll:
Wannabe Hacker wrote:Open the "run" dialog box...
Enter "cmd"...
Enter "asso3"...
<enter>
He was dissapointed when I said that... I wasn't going to follow his instructions...
I was going to contact my IT guru (Mitsu Power)...
that I was going to reformat and reload the OS and all programmes anyway...
and startled when I told him where to get off... :evil:

I then loaded this... 360 Total Security... Not the 'Mini' installer but the full programme... and let it run overnight (scanning the entire system and nearly 600 GB of data on my network.)

I was able to pinpoint a LARGE number (68 hits) of suspicious files. I didn't bother to try a fix but I'm now in the process of a full re-partition, re-format and reinstall of EVERYTHING on that system; using 360 TS to monitor all internet activity. It will take much longer than 'Windows Update' but may be a bit more secure.

Next step tomorrow is to advise the Bank... CANCEL & replace my Credit Card...
and change ALL "on-line" financial passwords (local & foreign)... AGAIN!

My Image

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » June 28th, 2015, 9:01 pm

Team Loco wrote:I was paying for stuff at staples. Got declined. Embarassing. Three calls made and spoke to three diffrent reps at rbc ccard centre. All three gave me different reasons. Madness yes

RBC made a change in their c/card system last weekend, with INAPPROPRIATE training of Staff & testing of system...
Canadians just want everything done fass at the expense & inconvenience of the customers...

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » July 1st, 2015, 7:25 pm

Follow Up:

Got an e mail today from one of the credit card officers saying that 2 of the 5 fraudulent charges were reversed. The officer said another update will be sent within 4 days on the remaining 3 charges. Yet to see it reflecting on - online banking. I guess it would take 24 hours to update.

Postby Team Loco » July 4th, 2015, 12:12 am

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts wrote:
Team Loco wrote:I was paying for stuff at staples. Got declined. Embarassing. Three calls made and spoke to three diffrent reps at rbc ccard centre. All three gave me different reasons. Madness yes

RBC made a change in their c/card system last weekend, with INAPPROPRIATE training of Staff & testing of system...
Canadians just want everything done fass at the expense & inconvenience of the customers...

Correct. Came back home and when i called i got on to the first girl i initially spoke too. She said there was a mistake on thier end and it has been rectified
So i hadda leave ny and come back home fir this thing to correct itself. Thats retarded

AdmissionBAned

Postby AdmissionBAned » July 4th, 2015, 12:16 am

Prepaid credit card I have to order my stuff .
Let them try thing

Sent from my ASUS_Z00AD using Tapatalk

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » July 4th, 2015, 9:45 am

Cash ftw!
Online purchases are tied to a virtual visa that pulls from a account that only gets money just before i make the purchase.

I cant see myself staying with a bank that would not give a 100% refund after fraud occurrence.

b5er

Postby b5er » July 4th, 2015, 8:52 pm

hear this one, there is ah Computer parts store i shop at, recently I try to make a purchase using CC but was told that I needed to hand over my ID so they can make a copy and keep it...
imagine that, they want to keep a copy of my ID!! wtf somtin eh right with dat store.
needless to say, i walked out.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » July 5th, 2015, 10:12 pm

Good call man !!!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 1st, 2016, 2:20 pm

Really can't understand why republic bank keeps sending credit card bills via mail in this day and age.
They make it so difficult for you to stop the mails aswell.

what if someone steal this credit card bill on its way or from your mail box and just uses the number?

Anyone knows if you can stop this mail from coming via a call to the credit card section on phone? I already tried telling them in person but they are still sending these bills.

This reminds me of the time when I try to disconnect my TSTT land line service and even after 7 requests not a single record was written down.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » March 1st, 2016, 3:14 pm

You can request it be held at your branch but that is a paid service

Postby pete » March 1st, 2016, 3:20 pm

The whole number is on the bill?

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » March 1st, 2016, 3:39 pm

be careful of places that take your credit card & swipe it behind heavily tinted glass e.g

VALENCIA QUIK SHOPPE

cool story time: card last use there, got a call a few dais later, bank saying irregular spending patterns so its locked out, only to find out somebody copied the card & went on an 18k shopping spree by peakes

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 1st, 2016, 4:14 pm

pete wrote:The whole number is on the bill?

Yes the whole number is on the bill which is why I have a problem with them sending these bills in the mail.

I don't care about the bill I know what I buy online and so I pay my bill online if you put too much it will state clearly that they do not accept excess amount of money.

I don't want to pay for them to hold it at any branch I just want them to stop billing me in this day and age because my mailbox was broken into a few weeks ago and some bills were missing.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 1st, 2016, 6:17 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
pete wrote:The whole number is on the bill?

Yes the whole number is on the bill which is why I have a problem with them sending these bills in the mail.

I don't care about the bill I know what I buy online and so I pay my bill online if you put too much it will state clearly that they do not accept excess amount of money.

I don't want to pay for them to hold it at any branch I just want them to stop billing me in this day and age because my mailbox was broken into a few weeks ago and some bills were missing.

FCB have the sense to block out the entire CC number from the bill. RBL focus!!

dineshb316

Postby dineshb316 » March 2nd, 2016, 3:14 am

Normally cautious with my c.c however it was cloned in Las Vegas late last year. Only two places used the c.c. to pay: the hotel bill and the tour company.

The person with the cloned card attempted to get a balance at an ATM which is when RBL CC Centre flagged it. Then they attempted to withdraw cash twice, however the account was already suspended.

Now I am even more hesitant to use my cc anywhere I travel.

Postby De Dragon » March 2nd, 2016, 4:57 am

cinco wrote:

Hmmm
Blue bank here no issues and I used my card in NYC and vegas

All dat tuh say yuh went faren? :lol: :lol:

Daran

Postby Daran » March 2nd, 2016, 5:28 am

Fuark....jus saw some unknown charges on my card as well..

Jokes on them, card expires this month and is over it's limit...

neexis

Postby neexis » October 8th, 2016, 9:30 pm

Anyone else experiencing fraudulent charges on their credit cards?
Had to cancel cards twice in the last 6 weeks.

Postby Chimera » October 8th, 2016, 10:47 pm

Yup...I got my platinum card renewed the other day and the same day I got the new card..I never even used it anywhere at all...there was a charge at a liquor store in Texas on it. Only got the credit back last week...took about 2 months lol