LF Password for bios M.O.E Laptop

HSA

LF Password for bios M.O.E Laptop

Postby HSA » June 25th, 2015, 7:22 am

Good Day ,

Any help is appreciated...i want to reinstall windows but need to enter the bios to change some settings. The laptop was a former student who i am trying to help. He comes from a poor family with alot of brothers and sisters...8 in total. he cannot afford to buy a new laptop so i am trying to fix his old one for him. He recently did cxc and got a job that requires the use of a laptop. As such he will be required to install software etc to help him in the execution of his job. Its a worthy cause so any help will be appreciated. No trolling please.

HP PROBOOK 4440s

Much Thanks...
Last edited by HSA on June 25th, 2015, 11:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: LF Password for bios M.O.E Laptop

Postby brams112 » June 25th, 2015, 7:30 am

Opie that guy got that lap top five years ago?so long Kamla giving those out?just asking EH,think if you try to interfere it will shut down.

HSA

Postby HSA » June 25th, 2015, 7:55 am

brams112 wrote:Opie that guy got that lap top five years ago?so long Kamla giving those out?just asking EH,think if you try to interfere it will shut down.

brams....i donno how long he had it or if it is his siblings own.......i jus trying to help out a brother....its a HP PROBOOK 4440s

Postby SmokeyGTi » June 25th, 2015, 8:13 am

find an IT tech who worked for the ministry - those who were placed at schools they should know

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 25th, 2015, 9:53 am

ent you could get in trouble for that? anyway what u need? to change the boot order or something?

Postby sliderz1 » June 25th, 2015, 9:55 am

they get to keep it after school finish?

make meh care

Postby make meh care » June 25th, 2015, 10:34 am

type kamla and see if it wokkin
if not then use the f10 key on a hp laptop to access the boot menu
on a lenovo you need to use the f12 key while the system is booting up

HSA

Postby HSA » June 25th, 2015, 11:21 am

uncle sam wrote:ent you could get in trouble for that? anyway what u need? to change the boot order or something?

na... once you finish school you have no obligation to return it so i guess its yours...

i cannot change the boot order as i cannot enter the bios...

i installed a dvd rw drive as those laptops do not come with one . i also tried an external dvd rw but no luck...

i tried to select the boot drive but the internal nor external dvd is listed..only the notebook harddrive..

Anyone have any links to any MOE tech?

make meh care

Postby make meh care » June 25th, 2015, 11:23 am

i have done this man times without any issues .something you are doing wrong

Postby dougla_boy » June 25th, 2015, 11:24 am

passwords are different....so u would have to def check wit the IT experts from that are where the school is located to get the password....

sorry if my english bad....i am drunk

HSA

Postby HSA » June 25th, 2015, 11:27 am

Al-Ameen wrote:i have done this man times without any issues .something you are doing wrong

tell mih exactly wat yuh do...lemme see if i messin anything...remember its ah hp...not a lenovo...

make meh care

Postby make meh care » June 25th, 2015, 11:31 am

first you need to tell me what model and make of the laptop

HSA

Postby HSA » June 25th, 2015, 11:35 am

Al-Ameen wrote:first you need to tell me what model and make of the laptop

jus added it to the post...hp probook 4440s

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 25th, 2015, 11:38 am

HSA wrote:
uncle sam wrote:ent you could get in trouble for that? anyway what u need? to change the boot order or something?

na... once you finish school you have no obligation to return it so i guess its yours...

i installed a dvd rw drive as those laptops do not come with one . i also tried an external dvd rw but no luck...

i tried to select the boot drive but the internal nor external dvd is listed..only the notebook harddrive..

Take out the hard drive and try your installation with it in another computer.

HSA

Postby HSA » June 25th, 2015, 11:41 am

uncle sam wrote:
HSA wrote:

didnt try that...would the default drivers loaded on that installation differ from the laptop's? if not then i'll try it and i'll let you know how it goes

make meh care

Postby make meh care » June 25th, 2015, 11:41 am

before i start do you have a bootable flash drive with the operating system to load ???

Postby stev » June 25th, 2015, 11:42 am

uncle sam wrote:
HSA wrote:

was now gonna suggest this. take out the hard drive and re-install windows on it using another computer.....easiest way is to use a 2.5" HD enclosure.

make meh care

Postby make meh care » June 25th, 2015, 11:42 am

also you may need to use the fn key together with the f9 key for the boot menu to show

Postby stev » June 25th, 2015, 11:46 am

Al-Ameen wrote:before i start do you have a bootable flash drive with the operating system to load ???

wont matter, the only device the laptop is allowed to boot is the hard drive...

I had the same problem with a HP laptop in work....previous sys admin set a BIOS password and no one knew what it was. lol

could not change boot options...could not get into safe mode...couldn't even launch a dam command prompt. lol

not sure if OP's situation is the same.
Last edited by stev on June 25th, 2015, 11:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

HSA

Postby HSA » June 25th, 2015, 11:48 am

Al-Ameen wrote:before i start do you have a bootable flash drive with the operating system to load ???

yes i do.....i've used it many times before...my issue is for the pc to recgonise the internal or external dvd or usb...its not....i cannot access dos because the windows on the hdd is corupt and wont go beyond the windows logo and restarts...safe mode wouldnt load either so i am stumped..i will try installing the os on another pc using the same hdd...lets see how that goes

HSA

Postby HSA » June 25th, 2015, 11:50 am

stev wrote:

wont matter, the only device the laptop is allowed to boot is the hard drive...

I had the same problem with a HP laptop in work....previous sys admin set a BIOS password and no one knew what it was. lol

Thats my same issue....i know the default ict tech password is MoePass but for hell i cannot get the bios password.......i'll try the installation of the os on another pc and see how it goes

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 25th, 2015, 11:51 am

HSA wrote:
uncle sam wrote:
HSA wrote:

didnt try that...would the default drivers loaded on that installation differ from the laptop's? if not then i'll try it and i'll let you know how it goes

Install the most recent windows 7 you can find. If you check online you can even find some versions with extra drivers preloaded. You have a high chance of getting the install to work.

HSA

Postby HSA » June 25th, 2015, 11:54 am

not home atm....will post results when i return

Postby stev » June 25th, 2015, 11:57 am

it shouldnt be a major problem if some drivers got installed by default from the computer you using to do the install...you can add / remove them individually from device manager afterwards.

just to be on the safe side you should manually download the network, display and chipset drivers from HP then remove / install them on top of whats already there after the install.

coolfiger

Postby coolfiger » June 25th, 2015, 12:14 pm

M0e@dm!n!str@t0R

Puppetman

Postby Puppetman » June 25th, 2015, 12:24 pm

That is one bogus story, that laptop model was given out in 2012.
just say you get a gov student laptop to work on
and need the password to set it to boot from USB.
the passwords are different for every school
only known to the tech who working at the school
and the MOE IT dept.
other than that try the above mentioned method.
nb-but mind you if the laptop is stolen you can be at a risk working on it eh just don't connect it to the net
and
nb 2 - software tampering is a no-no on them thing

HSA

Postby HSA » June 25th, 2015, 1:15 pm

Puppetman wrote:That is one bogus story, that laptop model was given out in 2012.
and the MOE IT dept.
nb-but mind you if the laptop is stolen you can be at a risk working on it eh just don't connect it to the net
and

my friend....thank you for the suggestions BUT....i did say it was either his as he said or assumed it was his siblings own...he said it was his so thats what i have to work with..i guess my assumption was correct...anyhow the above mentioned method worked....installed windows on the hdd from another pc....topic closed but it would be great to have a master password such as MoePass

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 25th, 2015, 11:56 pm

HSA wrote:
Puppetman wrote:That is one bogus story, that laptop model was given out in 2012.
and the MOE IT dept.
and

my friend....thank you for the suggestions BUT....i did say it was either his as he said or assumed it was his siblings own...he said it was his so thats what i have to work with..i guess my assumption was correct...anyhow the above mentioned method worked....installed windows on the hdd from another pc....topic closed but it would be great to have a master password such as MoePass

nuh even a lil bigup self? geez :|

HSA

Postby HSA » June 26th, 2015, 7:18 am

uncle sam wrote:
HSA wrote:
and the MOE IT dept.
and

nuh even a lil bigup self? geez :|

big up big up big up..... 8-)

Makesi123j

Postby Makesi123j » October 14th, 2017, 8:37 am

So someone tell me what is the password for MOE Student BIOS 2012. Because i want to reinstall windows quick cause i want back all my information.