Car insurance!

craig lee quay

Car insurance!

Postby craig lee quay » June 5th, 2015, 12:14 pm

If a vehicle insurance only covers people 25 and up. Is it illegal for someone under said age to drive that car. Posting for a friend.

Re: Car insurance!

Postby SMc » June 5th, 2015, 12:15 pm

tell your friend they won't be insured to drive so yes, it is illegal..why would that even need to be questioned?

10-01

Postby 10-01 » June 5th, 2015, 1:20 pm

they can drive the car , if any accidents happen the insurance would not cover the claim ...

Postby Dizzy28 » June 5th, 2015, 2:29 pm

Project-JDM wrote:they can drive the car , if any accidents happen the insurance would not cover the claim ...

They can't drive the car because legally they aren't insured. Hence they are illegally driving to begin with.

Advent

Postby Advent » June 5th, 2015, 3:00 pm

Project-JDM wrote:they can drive the car , if any accidents happen the insurance would not cover the claim ...

They can't drive the car because legally they aren't insured. Hence they are illegally driving to begin with.

if that was to be enforced then rell men aint go be driving for a while

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » June 5th, 2015, 3:00 pm

I know colfire and bankers insure drivers under 25. Are there any other?

Advent

Postby Advent » June 5th, 2015, 3:01 pm

chulo45 wrote:I know colfire and bankers insure drivers under 25. Are there any other?

nagico insurance, really good rates and good service

Postby Dizzy28 » June 5th, 2015, 3:05 pm

chulo45 wrote:I know colfire and bankers insure drivers under 25. Are there any other?

They all do...its just at what price.

New India isn't as "buss your throat" for insuring under 25 drivers as some of the others.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » June 5th, 2015, 3:47 pm

pal they are allowed to drive the car , if or when a accident takes place , the said owner has to pay an excess for the young driver b4 the claim is made .... been tru this already ....

craig lee quay

Postby craig lee quay » June 6th, 2015, 6:07 pm

Thanks for info. If anyone still have some further details. Please comment. Some saying it's illegal. Some saying it's not. This is confusing. Thanks.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » June 6th, 2015, 7:11 pm

craig lee quay wrote:Thanks for info. If anyone still have some further details. Please comment. Some saying it's illegal. Some saying it's not. This is confusing. Thanks.

why not jus call your agent or whoever you going to insure with ..... :|

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 6th, 2015, 7:19 pm

If the policy is closed ie drivers must be listed then insurance won't cover him

shivan.dabideen

Postby shivan.dabideen » June 6th, 2015, 8:56 pm

I'm under 25 with trinre and only pay $1546 also is isn't illegal to drive if the insurance does not cover u. If it was so I would have lost my license long time cause I got pull over and wen the pow pow see the insurance dem say who is dis.
Meh father.
Them say okay.

streetglow18

Postby streetglow18 » June 6th, 2015, 9:21 pm

It depends on d police officer in d roadblock sad but true.....I got a ticket for driving with insurance on my father name. And they made me come out d car and I had to call me father to come for the car or leave it at the station. According to the law it is illegal if the insurance is not in your name.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 6th, 2015, 9:25 pm

shivan.dabideen wrote:I'm under 25 with trinre and only pay $1546 also is isn't illegal to drive if the insurance does not cover u. If it was so I would have lost my license long time cause I got pull over and wen the pow pow see the insurance dem say who is dis.
Meh father.
Them say okay.

shuddup and stop giving advice . Once you are not a named driver, or a specified driver by some other means (say a driver over 25yrs) for the vehicle , you are not allowed to drive it. Also, don't expect the Insurance co. to release money if you were to get into an accident. So its you, the other driver and the police to figure out who paying, who going to court or who getting lock up

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » June 6th, 2015, 9:26 pm

I have to add my name as a driver on the insurance.
For 5 more years. FML

shivan.dabideen

Postby shivan.dabideen » June 6th, 2015, 11:06 pm

uncle sam wrote:
shivan.dabideen wrote:I'm under 25 with trinre and only pay $1546 also is isn't illegal to drive if the insurance does not cover u. If it was so I would have lost my license long time cause I got pull over and wen the pow pow see the insurance dem say who is dis.
Meh father.
Them say okay.

shuddup and stop giving advice . Once you are not a named driver, or a specified driver by some other means (say a driver over 25yrs) for the vehicle , you are not allowed to drive it. Also, don't expect the Insurance co. to release money if you were to get into an accident. So its you, the other driver and the police to figure out who paying, who going to court or who getting lock up

thanks for dat advice uncle sam now i know to drive my car alone, thought it was normal. lol

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 6th, 2015, 11:17 pm

shivan.dabideen I think u missed the point bai lol.. if the policy is in yuh pops name then you will not be covered by his (the main driver) motor insurance policy – you must become a named driver on his policy.

Postby Ted_v2 » June 7th, 2015, 5:32 am

Correct.
I'm a named driver on my dad policy. I'm 18 years. I did defensive driving from colfire. Insurance came up just about 200$ more than usual with my name.

No problems because my name is actually on the insurance.

I still use my dad name on all my insurance because the fact it lowers my insurance.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » June 7th, 2015, 9:29 am

streetglow18 wrote:It depends on d police officer in d roadblock sad but true.....I got a ticket for driving with insurance on my father name. And they made me come out d car and I had to call me father to come for the car or leave it at the station. According to the law it is illegal if the insurance is not in your name.

madness these police in Trinidad need to go back to skool

so if u drive a company owned vehicle .... say "bobs contracting ltd" , they going to stop u and call the company and ask to see the list of drivers ? also

dem police dumb as fack yesh :|

craig lee quay

Postby craig lee quay » June 7th, 2015, 12:22 pm

This post is teaching all the lessons.

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 7th, 2015, 12:28 pm

Project-JDM wrote:
streetglow18 wrote:It depends on d police officer in d roadblock sad but true.....I got a ticket for driving with insurance on my father name. And they made me come out d car and I had to call me father to come for the car or leave it at the station. According to the law it is illegal if the insurance is not in your name.

so if u drive a company owned vehicle .... say "bobs contracting ltd" , they going to stop u and call the company and ask to see the list of drivers ? also

Some actually do for reference...
Again some companies have open policies ie once you over 25 you can drive their vehicles, premiums are usually higher
Then the closed in which only named drivers can use vehicle/ insured

10-01

Postby 10-01 » June 7th, 2015, 1:11 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:
Project-JDM wrote:

Some actually do for reference...
Again some companies have open policies ie once you over 25 you can drive their vehicles, premiums are usually higher
Then the closed in which only named drivers can use vehicle/ insured

i dont think our police so smart ... had one ask me y haven't i gotten the new permit yet , i said my old one has not expired , he watch thinking what to say :lol:

annandtotheworld

Postby annandtotheworld » June 7th, 2015, 3:55 pm

I was driving a while not covered because under the age of 25. Police stop me and never even asked me who name it under they just check the expiry date and was like yea go ahead. And my experience with one insurance was the worst. Never insure with presidential insurance. It's crap.

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 7th, 2015, 3:59 pm

A few times I was asked the relationship on the insurance on my vehicles, company vehicles...

shivan.dabideen

Postby shivan.dabideen » June 13th, 2015, 12:39 am

Ted_v2 wrote:Correct.
I'm a named driver on my dad policy. I'm 18 years. I did defensive driving from colfire. Insurance came up just about 200$ more than usual with my name.

I still use my dad name on all my insurance because the fact it lowers my insurance.

so if the vehicle is fully comprehensive and i was to add my name what would be the cost and benefits

Postby rollingstock » June 13th, 2015, 12:56 am

Project-JDM wrote:

pal they are allowed to drive the car , if or when a accident takes place , the said owner has to pay an excess for the young driver b4 the claim is made .... been tru this already ....

This post could give the guy who giving away chicken manure a run for the quantity of chit being offered.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 13th, 2015, 7:17 pm

shivan.dabideen wrote:
Ted_v2 wrote:Correct.

so if the vehicle is fully comprehensive and i was to add my name what would be the cost and benefits
well for starters you would actually be insured lol... The cost would depend on the insurance company

Postby Ted_v2 » June 13th, 2015, 7:42 pm

lets say you were to add your name, it would roughly go up by 15-20% Roughly eh, im not no insurance agent.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 13th, 2015, 11:16 pm

Project-JDM wrote:

hahaaha what the actual fcuk .... bro just stop :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: