Tint Limit

MarkDeGr8

Tint Limit

Postby MarkDeGr8 » May 11th, 2015, 3:35 pm

yeah fellas I wan a do over my tint on my car. It's black with black interior... What's the legal percent limit?

shivastarr

Re: Tint Limit

Postby shivastarr » May 11th, 2015, 3:41 pm

Depends on d officer's mood at the time.

Re:DUI Limit

Postby SMc » May 11th, 2015, 3:47 pm

35 micrograms of alcohol per 100ml of bad breath

Postby RBphoto » May 11th, 2015, 3:52 pm

Tint down for what?

Postby Spitfir3 » May 11th, 2015, 4:16 pm

there isn't an actual "legal percent limit" it all boils down to how well the officer's vision is

so if the officer blink as a bat yuh could get strip down for eem %35

Postby gastly369 » May 11th, 2015, 4:38 pm

Forkit g5 for it

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » May 11th, 2015, 4:48 pm

gastly369 wrote:Forkit g5 for it

i say so

Last edited by zoelikescheese on May 11th, 2015, 4:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

clintus

Postby clintus » May 11th, 2015, 4:52 pm

Bear in mind. U could get ur tint strip and/or fine of $2000

Postby gastly369 » May 11th, 2015, 4:54 pm

Same ticket for g5 same ticket if blind as bat ociffer charge you for having 35%

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 11th, 2015, 5:02 pm

viewtopic.php?t=239627

Section 23 1(d) of the Motor Vehicles and Road Transportation Act Chapter 48:50 states that it is an offence to have a vehicle windshield or window so tinted or darkened that it obscures the view of inside the vehicle from the outside.

It does not properly define in terms of percentage how light or dark the tint should be.

As a result, we cannot inform the members of the motoring public as to what is considered legal in the eyes of the police force," Knaggs told the Express.

Trinidad and Tobago motorists have operated on the premise that tints which allow a certain percentage of light through a vehicle's windows are acceptable.

A "Visible Light Transmission Percentage" of 35 per cent has been generally considered the legal norm for tints but many local drivers have used 20 per cent tints.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » May 11th, 2015, 5:12 pm

Those laws are for plebs like me; do G5 and drive round with a welding mask, show them how Gr8 you really are 0X

kiran8977

Postby kiran8977 » May 11th, 2015, 5:14 pm

All tint illegal because all tint obscures the view of the driver so

MarkDeGr8

Postby MarkDeGr8 » May 11th, 2015, 5:15 pm

Thanks a lot guys... I'm thinking 20% all around and 70% on the windscreen...
Btw u guys know if the number plates with the white background with black carbon fibre plates legal?

Postby shogun » May 11th, 2015, 5:31 pm

shivastarr wrote:Depends on d officer's vision & mood at the time.

Postby Slartibartfast » May 11th, 2015, 5:38 pm

Just roll down all your windows anytime you coming up to a road block and you good. If an officer stop you just be polite and make sure you have all your documents ready so you out of there before he have chance to think twice about asking about your tint.

MarkDeGr8

Postby MarkDeGr8 » May 11th, 2015, 7:19 pm

Thanks fellas. I just doh want spend money to tint over and then have to strip it or pay fines.. Some cops bad mind...

Postby redmanjp » May 11th, 2015, 7:23 pm

why don't they just change the law to be less subjective, like they did with the breathalyser?

Islandboy.7

Postby Islandboy.7 » May 11th, 2015, 7:54 pm

shivastarr wrote:Depends on d officer's mood at the time.

True that! But at the same time u should know when its too dark so you could avoid the inconvenience.

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » May 11th, 2015, 7:55 pm

MarkDeGr8 wrote:Thanks fellas. I just doh want spend money to tint over and then have to strip it or pay fines.. Some cops bad mind...

put d 5%
this place dun lawless

Postby Slartibartfast » May 11th, 2015, 10:05 pm

Buy a old peugeot. If you driving an old peugeot the officers will assume that your life sad enough and leave you alone. I know cuz I had a peugeot and never get charge :lol: :D :) :|....... :( yeah things was sad.

TiidaBanton

Postby TiidaBanton » May 11th, 2015, 10:18 pm

MarkDeGr8 wrote:Thanks a lot guys... I'm thinking 20% all around and 70% on the windscreen...
Btw u guys know if the number plates with the white background with black carbon fibre plates legal?

Bear in mind that tint fades after a while and In this heat lately that 20% will look like 35% very quickly. I have 20% all around and a 50% semi metallic black whole front no problems to date concerning tint.

MarkDeGr8

Postby MarkDeGr8 » May 11th, 2015, 10:19 pm

Thanks bro

matthew2730mvp

Postby matthew2730mvp » May 12th, 2015, 2:02 pm

Also note that some cars come with dark factory tint within the glass , all glass (except the driver and passenger and windshield) so some bad mind officer will write u a ticket for something u hav no control over..

bootmee

Postby bootmee » May 12th, 2015, 3:39 pm

MarkDeGr8 wrote:Thanks fellas. I just doh want spend money to tint over and then have to strip it or pay fines.. Some cops bad mind...

Tiida's have G5 why cant we.

Postby Mark! » May 12th, 2015, 4:09 pm

who is you dannnn????

bootmee

Postby bootmee » May 12th, 2015, 4:18 pm

Mark! wrote:who is you dannnn????

Tiida driver ?

Postby gastly369 » May 12th, 2015, 4:24 pm

Blocking out the haters... #g5

Casper23

Postby Casper23 » May 12th, 2015, 4:33 pm

Just for those that don't know a police officer CANNOT demand or force you to strip your tint off ur vehicle as only a licensing officer has such authority

Postby Dizzy28 » May 12th, 2015, 4:37 pm

Casper23 wrote:Just for those that don't know a police officer CANNOT demand or force you to strip your tint off ur vehicle as only a licensing officer has such authority

But are you going to tell them no??

Postby rollingstock » May 12th, 2015, 5:07 pm

Casper23 wrote:Just for those that don't know a police officer CANNOT demand or force you to strip your tint off ur vehicle as only a licensing officer has such authority

No they cannot, but they also cannot allow an offense to continue, so basically if the vehicle still had the tint they have to impound the vehicle and have it taken to the LO, where if deemed illegal one of the steps that can be taken is the vehicle being deregistered as it contravenes the registration of the vehicle.

So go strong one of these days they go start to make big man cry.