NASA may have invented a Warp Drive

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 29th, 2015, 12:44 pm

The EmDrive, an experimental propulsion device, may be producing a warp field.

According to posts on the NASA Space Flight forum, when lasers were fired into the EmDrive resonance chamber, it was found that some of the beams were travelling faster than the speed of light.

This is not confirmed but NASA has been experimenting with a revolutionary new propulsion system EmDrive and after some preliminary analysis there's some evidence that it is actually creating a warp field.

"In theory, a warp field, also known as a subspace field, is a subspace displacement which warps space around the vessel, allowing it to "ride" on a distortion and travel faster than the speed of light. "

http://forum.nasaspaceflight.com/index. ... 36313.1860
Dr. Rodal:

I missed your question last night on whether the warp-field interferometer cylindrical cavity had any dielectric inside of it. The answer is no it does not, except for the nanometers thick aluminum oxide coating that bare aluminum develops as soon as it is exposed to the oxygen in the air.

Next you asked about whether there where optical windows cut into the center of the cylindrical resonant cavity end caps or not. Well, yes there has to be optical window holes for the 633nm laser light to pass through the 7.23cm gap between the endplates of the aluminum cylindrical cavity. We also added two, three inch long, 0.50" OD by 0.25" (6.35mm) ID threaded aluminum tubes to the resonant cavity endplates, see attached picture, that function as two RF chokes that keep the 1.48 GHz RF from leaking into the lab area. So the laser light passes through these RF choke tubes and the cylindrical cavity where the peak ac E-field of 900kV/m is present along the entire 7.23 cm long laser path while in the resonant cavity and an exponentially reducing E-field in the RF chokes since these are cylindrical waveguides well into their cutoff mode since the RF wavelength at 1.48 GHz is 202.7mm.

BTW, we are going to add optical borosilicate telescope grade flat windows to the ends of the RF chokes when we get around to pulling a vacuum in this 1.48 GHz resonant cavity.

Next a clarification. We used a cylindrical cavity for the warp-field interferometer instead of a frustum shape because we didn't want to create a force with this unit, but instead we needed just a large densification of the Q-V along the active path length of the laser beam while it was traversing the resonant cavity's centerline volume. And this is the main difference between the Q-thruster and a warp-drive. In Dr. White's warp-field conjecture you first have to have an Q-Thruster derived acceleration vector to work on and then you engage the a toroidal warp-field around your accelerating vehicle that then multiples the initial Q-Thruster provided velocity vector by the selected warp-factor. Thus if you have an initial velocity of say 0.01c towards Alpha Centauri with a warp factor of 1,000, your effective velocity becomes 10c while the warp-drive is engaged.

Best, Paul M.
http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2015/04/29/has-nasa-accidentally-invented-the-warp-drive_n_7168500.html

STORM1234

Re: NASA may have invented a Warp Drive

Postby STORM1234 » April 29th, 2015, 12:53 pm

trekkies don't hold your breath

Postby wagonrunner » April 29th, 2015, 12:53 pm

When you getting it installed on the 1WD?

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » April 29th, 2015, 1:04 pm

Awwww yeaaaaahh

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » April 29th, 2015, 1:06 pm

sorry couldn't resist

Postby Country_Bookie » April 29th, 2015, 2:58 pm

In English, por favor?

Postby desifemlove » April 29th, 2015, 3:27 pm

eh? i'd pay Sir Patrick Stewart himself out of my own pocket to say "engage" on de maiden flight...

Postby desifemlove » April 29th, 2015, 3:27 pm

lost to all wrote:sorry couldn't resist

eh...got beaten to it... :lol:

Postby shogun » April 29th, 2015, 3:48 pm

*Plays NASA is in cahoots with aliens, devils advocate* lol.

Riiiiiiiiight.... by "accident"... I believe that.

Postby skylinechild » April 29th, 2015, 8:56 pm

so we wont have to wait till 2086 then..... :lol:

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » April 29th, 2015, 8:56 pm

So what about God ?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » April 30th, 2015, 8:52 am

skylinechild wrote:

so we wont have to wait till 2086 then..... :lol:

You was planning to stick around?

H.S.E GuY

Postby H.S.E GuY » April 30th, 2015, 10:19 am

Ok cool - then when are they gonna let us know about where is Optimus Prime? :mrgreen:

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 30th, 2015, 5:16 pm

warp technology is purely fictional. What you've read above is nothing close to it nor would it ever be successful. In addition, even if it remotely were, who has the design and overall credentials to build the craft that would use the emdrive? More importantly who would be funding the project? Where would they go? Discover new world's? lolz..what about communications?

If you drop a pin in the middle of the pacific ocean. Try finding it after....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 30th, 2015, 5:25 pm

acesinghit wrote:warp technology is purely fictional. What you've read above is nothing close to it nor would it ever be successful. In addition, even if it remotely were, who has the design and overall credentials to build the craft that would use the emdrive? More importantly who would be funding the project? Where would they go? Discover new world's? lolz..what about communications?

I'm sure the prospect of landing a probe on a comet would have seemed ludicrous even just decades ago, but it was done successfully about 5 months ago. Albeit, it took the transporting spacecraft 10 years to get to the comet!

Postby desifemlove » April 30th, 2015, 9:52 pm

acesinghit wrote:warp technology is purely fictional. What you've read above is nothing close to it nor would it ever be successful. In addition, even if it remotely were, who has the design and overall credentials to build the craft that would use the emdrive? More importantly who would be funding the project? Where would they go? Discover new world's? lolz..what about communications?

hmm...just like breaking the 40mp barrier, sound barrier was impossible?

like how people used to believe if yuh travel far enough, yuh fall off de earth?

or how China was a myth? or yuh does tink we know everything that can be known in physics, ent?

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » May 1st, 2015, 1:00 am

One step closer to time travel

Postby X2 » May 1st, 2015, 1:02 am

100 years ago... intercontinental flight was probably fiction... we dream it, we prove it, we do it...

Meanwhile, we are still waiting for the other work of fiction... a replacement for the Supra...

Arrow

Postby Arrow » May 1st, 2015, 5:40 am

And besides, when they discover our first warp signature, the Vulcans will make first contact.
Better start practicing the hand salute thingy. #LLAP

Postby Slartibartfast » May 1st, 2015, 8:49 am

But can it fit in a B14

Postby X2 » May 2nd, 2015, 1:13 am

Just watched Ancient Aliens... about the disappearance of certain tribes...

Definitely due to discovering warp drive.

Postby 88sins » May 3rd, 2015, 7:25 am

all I wah know is if it go have one that would line up in a ck lancer

dis 4g93t eh geein out enuff fyaz