South of the Caroni Bridge ?

orangefox

South of the Caroni Bridge ?

Postby orangefox » March 29th, 2015, 4:55 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/commenta ... 55541.html

" PM Persad-Bissessar has done her utmost to create an ethnic divide in the society that she euphemistically describes as north and south of the Caroni. Her argument is that the PNM concentrated its efforts on the development of the north of the Caroni (read African) and ignored the south of the Caroni (read Indian.) "

" The present version of this attack started when Dr Rowley took a wine, on Carnival day, on an Indian woman. Many UNC politicians saw this act as verging on the sacrilegious. Now, they have sunken to the lowest of the low. They have branded Dr Rowley and his descendants (that is, his children and his children’s children) as the products of rape. "

Not a fan of this writer in the past but .. Hmmm ?

Comments ?

Re: South of the Caroni Bridge ?

Postby zoom rader » March 29th, 2015, 5:04 pm

Yawn

Postby desifemlove » March 29th, 2015, 5:06 pm

iz no UNC, but to be fair she says and tries to prove the opposite. if anything, she saying all de time that PNM neglected SOuth and she doing tings everywhere.

As for race politics, eh? been around for years, will stay for years..

orangefox

Postby orangefox » March 29th, 2015, 5:07 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/commenta ... 02611.html

Mr Selwyn Ryan writes :

" It is now 3.20 a.m. March 26. I lie awake, unable to sleep, largely because of the psychic wound which your party and your Government have inflicted on the people of this nation, which in our varying ways, we all love. "

orangefox

Postby orangefox » March 29th, 2015, 5:08 pm

zoom rader wrote:Yawn

ZR .. Very interested in your comments .. :D

Postby zoom rader » March 29th, 2015, 5:37 pm

orangefox wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Yawn

ZR .. Very interested in your comments .. :D

Fox it's best you sit this one out.
You need to be a trini with born generations that lived in south to understand the neglect.
PNM idea of development for south was two smelters with no country willing to accept the pot ash.

Both afro and especially indos areas suffered. Both La Brea & PT Fortin which are PNM were virtual dumps.

South have improved by leaps and bounds under PP in 5 years.

When UNC first came into office in late 90s they did very little to improve south cause they had PNM debts to pay off with oil at avg $9 a barrel. Some UNC voters felt betrayed and went COP not knowing what were the real issues UNC had to face. South ppl are becoming like Tobago and they do not forget the past.

PNM had south from 1956 to 1986 and very little was done with an oil bloom in 70s. Again they came back in the early 90s and still did Jack chit.
Manning did try a bit, but I think the racist in the PNM had their way over him and put a stop for development.

Long ago in Debe and Penal all you saw was Bodi (bodi price ent change) and Bygan plant now it's Welding and acetylene plants that you see

orangefox

Postby orangefox » March 29th, 2015, 6:06 pm

Above known ..

Appreciate the History class, Fox not need but maybe other Tuners will benefit :)

The comments I am looking for is why the racial divide strategy ?

Trinidad is already dysfunctional .

In Tobago the same strategy was used with the Chief Secretary .

There will never, never , never be ANY in-roads in Tobago with PP/UNC but Tobago progresses .

Virgin Airlines returned, one hotel got $9 M (US) upgrade, crime relatively low etc. :shock:

orangefox

Postby orangefox » March 30th, 2015, 12:53 am

Lol ..

the circle of racism ..

Postby zoom rader » March 30th, 2015, 1:25 am

orangefox wrote:^^

Above known ..

Appreciate the History class, Fox not need but maybe other Tuners will benefit :)

There will never, never , never be ANY in-roads in Tobago with PP/UNC but Tobago progresses .

Virgin Airlines returned, one hotel got $9 M (US) upgrade, crime relatively low etc. :shock:

You won't fine any racial divide strategy.
The PP this time balanced the neglected areas in parr with the rest of the country

Postby DVSTT » March 30th, 2015, 9:18 am

I don't think the government needs to encourage a racial divide, most citizens can take care of that on their own.

Postby desifemlove » March 30th, 2015, 9:53 am

orangefox wrote:^^

Above known ..

human nature..

colonialism.

peopel tink Dr. Williams "favoured he own" post-independence.

imho, a mix of all three.....

Politicians does know there is some tension, and try to capitalise on it.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » March 30th, 2015, 2:56 pm

DVSTT wrote:I don't think the government needs to encourage a racial divide, most citizens can take care of that on their own.

:D .. True .. But they fuel it to the max !

Postby DVSTT » March 30th, 2015, 6:21 pm

orangefox wrote:
DVSTT wrote:I don't think the government needs to encourage a racial divide, most citizens can take care of that on their own.

Race politics is here to stay whether we like it or not.

Postby zoom rader » April 1st, 2015, 6:05 am

DVSTT wrote:
orangefox wrote:

Not for long in 50 years time Trini will be a mixed population. The faster growing popluation are the mixed.
PNM plans to offset that by immigration from caricom less Guyana and Surinam.

TK!

Postby TK! » April 1st, 2015, 11:24 am

orangefox wrote:Her argument is that the PNM concentrated its efforts on the development of the north of the Caroni (read African) and ignored the south of the Caroni (read Indian.) "

That's such an ignorant and racist point. As if up north hardly has any indo-trinis or down south hardly have afro-trinis.

Postby Redman » April 1st, 2015, 11:49 am

DVSTT wrote:
orangefox wrote:

Because its a model that works-both parties are happy with a fixed 35-40 % of the vote because of the race card.

That means they always in the game.

Like the UNC would ever put a non indian as a political leader-

Any one here can identify a philosophical difference between the UNC/PNM-How about how they differ on Economic Policy????

So what really is the difference??

Postby j.o.e » April 1st, 2015, 12:20 pm

TK! wrote:
orangefox wrote:Her argument is that the PNM concentrated its efforts on the development of the north of the Caroni (read African) and ignored the south of the Caroni (read Indian.) "

That's such an ignorant and racist point. As if up north hardly has any indo-trinis or down south hardly have afro-trinis.

I think all intelligent ppl know that there are indos in North and afros in south also. But the term is really code to ignite racial divisions in the simple minded crowd that are the core of the party voters.

Postby TRAE » April 1st, 2015, 12:31 pm

people dying and you studying this? we all know is true- patos was for the POS only

orangefox

Postby orangefox » April 1st, 2015, 2:56 pm

j.o.e wrote:
TK! wrote:

I think all intelligent ppl know that there are indos in North and afros in south also. But the term is really code to ignite racial divisions in the simple minded crowd that are the core of the party voters.

So why does "the simple minded crowd" accept or tolerate the "code" ?

Postby Slartibartfast » April 1st, 2015, 3:06 pm

because they are simple minded :roll:

Advent

Postby Advent » April 1st, 2015, 3:14 pm

TK! wrote:

also to add, ANY CITY NEAR THE PORT OF ANY COUNTRY WILL BE BETTER DEVELOPED THAN THE REST OF THE COUNTRY. PORT = WEALTH

Sundar

Postby Sundar » April 1st, 2015, 3:28 pm

j.o.e wrote:
TK! wrote:

Orangefox, you have used this south of the caroni bridge term many a times.... :agrue:
i am from south, and i have lived the neglect, the only time we saw development was wen pnm out of power. and as far as racism goes, simple as urp jobs were racially biased when selecting ppl to get work. real dutty and low. women had to slp around with councillors to get a lil checker wuk. but say what Great is the PNM :!: :!: :!: :!:

Postby desifemlove » April 1st, 2015, 3:53 pm

TK! wrote:

Mostly afros in north, and indos in south. it's fact, not belief....

Sundar

Postby Sundar » April 1st, 2015, 3:58 pm

south have almost even distribution... maybe areas in south concentrated but even out by now

brainchild

Postby brainchild » April 1st, 2015, 10:54 pm

innocent question here...doesn't d fact dat Manning is from south (native, mp & resident) prove dat it wasn't personal?

orangefox

Postby orangefox » April 2nd, 2015, 12:39 am

Sundar wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
TK! wrote:

Orangefox, you have used this south of the caroni bridge term many a times.... :agrue:
i am from south, and i have lived the neglect, the only time we saw development was wen pnm out of power. and as far as racism goes, simple as urp jobs were racially biased when selecting ppl to get work. real dutty and low. women had to slp around with councillors to get a lil checker wuk. but say what Great is the PNM :!: :!: :!: :!:

Ok :D ..

Just amazed at the distinction .. But I get your point ... Lol

Postby zoom rader » April 2nd, 2015, 1:29 am

brainchild wrote:innocent question here...doesn't d fact dat Manning is from south (native, mp & resident) prove dat it wasn't personal?

PNM is bigger than Manning. The Racist in that party pull the strings .

brainchild

Postby brainchild » April 2nd, 2015, 7:29 am

So wat do u believe then? Dat d pp is not racially biased or dat d bias working in ur favour this rounds and dat makes it better?

Postby zoom rader » April 2nd, 2015, 8:00 am

brainchild wrote:So wat do u believe then? Dat d pp is not racially biased or dat d bias working in ur favour this rounds and dat makes it better?

If you check around you would have noticed that they PP have developed the neglected areas by the PNM.
They brought these areas up to parr with the the developed areas.
PNM idea of development was smelters.
PP development is people first where all citizens and illegal immgrants are benefiting.

I am sure your quality of life and the ppl that you know have improved. Now think back what was your life like under PNM.

brainchild

Postby brainchild » April 2nd, 2015, 9:34 am

I haven't noticed any changes I'd attribute to govt...but dats unimportant. I agree dat the pp has touched previously untouched areas, but isn't dat their job? I don't get why we keep praising and bashing govts based on d most basic part of their jobs. That's like judging the police solely on their ability to direct traffic while crimes remain unsolved. What about all d scandals, blatant corruption (which no one with common sense can deny), allegations of corruption, shifty legislation, waste of tax payers money thru dependency promoting programmes?
I guess I would be classed as a swing voter bcos I don't just pledge allegiance and follow blindly, I'm willing to vote for whoever can get d job done right. But it's high time we stop bickering about these petty issues and start coming out as trinis and calling for proper legislation, an update of the archaic ones we still have in place and more. That's wats holding us back. Tell me I'm wrong!