How to use smartdnsproxy on zhone router

candyb15

How to use smartdnsproxy on zhone router

Postby candyb15 » March 4th, 2015, 4:18 am

Hi I need some assistance. I have been trying to use a smart dns proxy or a VPN on my BLINK zhone router so that I can get US channels on my ROKU 2 but no luck.I tried calling TSTT for assistance but they were of no help.Has anyone been able to do this?Any assistance would be appreciated. Thanks.

coldfusion

Re: How to use smartdnsproxy on zhone router

Postby coldfusion » March 4th, 2015, 5:16 am

If u using unblock us, they hav directions to change dns on road. U don't hav to go into router

candyb15

Postby candyb15 » March 4th, 2015, 3:08 pm

For the ROKU you have to go into the router because apparently they do not have network settings in the roku to setup the DNS to itself.But none of the sites have instructions on the zhone router to setup the DNS and the instructions for the generic router is not working.

walopelia

Postby walopelia » March 8th, 2015, 4:25 pm

In the Zhone ADSL Modem, Navigate to Advanced Setup -> DNS -> DNS Server
Once here, uncheck "Enable Automatic Assigned DNS" and insert the two DNS Servers into the Primary & Secondary DNS Server Fields

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 8th, 2015, 7:35 pm

complete instructions:

Roku doesn't have advanced network settings and the only option to use it with Smart DNS Proxy is updateing your DNS settings in your router. Please find router configuration details in our How to Setup page. With router setup all your devices in the network connected to your router gets access to Smart DNS Proxy.

log into your TSTT Zhone router by entering this address in the address bar in your browser:
http://192.168.1.1/
or depending on the model Zhone router you may need to use this address:
http://192.168.1.1/admin

It will ask you for a username and password, enter one of the following:

username: admin
password: admin

If that doesn't work not try one of these two:

password: 12345

password: 12345.

Once logged in click DNS and then DNS Server

Un-check "Enable Automatic Assigned DNS".

Fill DNS Server fields with the Smart DNS Proxy Ips as following:

Primary DNS : 23.21.43.50
Secondary DNS : 54.229.171.243

Click on Save Settings or OK button.

You will now need to reboot your TSTT Zhone router. To do this click Management in the left side menu and then click "Reboot". Your router will take about 60 seconds to reboot.

IMPORTANT: With the new Roku updates some applications like Netflix forces to use Google DNS IPs which blocks Netflix to work with Smart DNS Proxy. In order to bypass this issue you need to set "Static IP Routing" on your router. With this your router redirects every Google DNS requests to Smart DNS Proxy IPs and Netflix will work properly.

On the TSTT Zhone router, click Routing > Static IP routing. Click Add.

Destination IP Address : 8.8.8.8
IP Subnet Mask : 255.255.255.255
Gateway IP : 192.168.1.1
Check the box

Click Apply or Save and then add followings again.

Destination IP Address : 8.8.4.4
Check the box

Click Apply or Save

Reboot your router again the same way you did the first time (Management > Reboot)

In your browser window, go to https://www.smartdnsproxy.com/Login and sign in with your account.
You should be taken to the screen

Click "Activate" and you should get 3 green checks like this

Once you have this then you have setup your router properly. If you ever reset the router, lose power or your IP address changes, you will need to go back to https://www.smartdnsproxy.com/Login and click "ReActivate" to get the 3 green checks.

My advice at this point is to factory reset the Roku. You can do this on the Roku at Settings > Management > Factory Reset, or by holding down the reset button on the back of the Roku for 15 seconds.
The reason for the factory reset is that the Roku may have previously stored information that you are located in T&t when you turned it on without setting up smardnsproxy and static IP routing. If the Roku feels that you are not in the US then you will not see the Netflix and many other channel icons on the Roku.
Once you do this then I also suggest to visit https://owner.roku.com/ and CREATE a NEW Roku account as the first account you setup may have also logged you as being outside the US. DO NOT setup the account on the Roku on the TV!!! Make sure to set it up in a web browser at https://owner.roku.com/

Once the account is setup, start up your Roku, login with the new Roku account. You will be asked to link your device, enter the code you see on the TV in the web browser, click CONTINUE and once completed you will see the screen on the TV change.

You have successfully setup your TSTT Zhone router and Roku device

Reamos DC5

Postby Reamos DC5 » December 25th, 2015, 11:14 am

^ when setting up the new account, does it have to have a u.s address?

Or will the Trinidad billing address work along with the u.s ip address

xtinguisher

Postby xtinguisher » December 25th, 2015, 3:10 pm

eennn

TK!

Postby TK! » December 26th, 2015, 9:00 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:complete instructions:

Roku doesn't have advanced network settings and the only option to use it with Smart DNS Proxy is updateing your DNS settings in your router. Please find router configuration details in our How to Setup page. With router setup all your devices in the network connected to your router gets access to Smart DNS Proxy.

log into your TSTT Zhone router by entering this address in the address bar in your browser:
http://192.168.1.1/
or depending on the model Zhone router you may need to use this address:
http://192.168.1.1/admin

It will ask you for a username and password, enter one of the following:

password: admin

If that doesn't work not try one of these two:

password: 12345

password: 12345.

Once logged in click DNS and then DNS Server

Un-check "Enable Automatic Assigned DNS".

Fill DNS Server fields with the Smart DNS Proxy Ips as following:

Primary DNS : 23.21.43.50
Secondary DNS : 54.229.171.243

Click on Save Settings or OK button.

You will now need to reboot your TSTT Zhone router. To do this click Management in the left side menu and then click "Reboot". Your router will take about 60 seconds to reboot.

IMPORTANT: With the new Roku updates some applications like Netflix forces to use Google DNS IPs which blocks Netflix to work with Smart DNS Proxy. In order to bypass this issue you need to set "Static IP Routing" on your router. With this your router redirects every Google DNS requests to Smart DNS Proxy IPs and Netflix will work properly.

On the TSTT Zhone router, click Routing > Static IP routing. Click Add.

Destination IP Address : 8.8.8.8
Check the box

Click Apply or Save and then add followings again.

Destination IP Address : 8.8.4.4
Check the box

Click Apply or Save

Reboot your router again the same way you did the first time (Management > Reboot)

In your browser window, go to https://www.smartdnsproxy.com/Login and sign in with your account.
You should be taken to the screen

Click "Activate" and you should get 3 green checks like this

Once you have this then you have setup your router properly. If you ever reset the router, lose power or your IP address changes, you will need to go back to https://www.smartdnsproxy.com/Login and click "ReActivate" to get the 3 green checks.

My advice at this point is to factory reset the Roku. You can do this on the Roku at Settings > Management > Factory Reset, or by holding down the reset button on the back of the Roku for 15 seconds.
The reason for the factory reset is that the Roku may have previously stored information that you are located in T&t when you turned it on without setting up smardnsproxy and static IP routing. If the Roku feels that you are not in the US then you will not see the Netflix and many other channel icons on the Roku.
Once you do this then I also suggest to visit https://owner.roku.com/ and CREATE a NEW Roku account as the first account you setup may have also logged you as being outside the US. DO NOT setup the account on the Roku on the TV!!! Make sure to set it up in a web browser at https://owner.roku.com/

Once the account is setup, start up your Roku, login with the new Roku account. You will be asked to link your device, enter the code you see on the TV in the web browser, click CONTINUE and once completed you will see the screen on the TV change.

You have successfully setup your TSTT Zhone router and Roku device

good reply. yuh charging fuh dat? :-D