THE OFFICIAL **ALL THINGS CNG** THREAD

STORM1234

Re: THE OFFICIAL **ALL THINGS CNG** THREAD

Postby STORM1234 » October 12th, 2016, 11:35 am

pics of 36 litre cng tank for sale

Last edited by STORM1234 on November 22nd, 2016, 2:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

turbosir

Postby turbosir » November 4th, 2016, 10:01 pm

Gas going up 15% more in April 2017.

killercow

Postby killercow » November 4th, 2016, 10:04 pm

turbosir wrote:Gas going up 15% more in April 2017.

Once CNG doh go up I good. *fingers crossed*

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » November 22nd, 2016, 2:41 pm

was it not mentioned in the news that cng will be going up as well?

turbosir

Postby turbosir » November 22nd, 2016, 3:53 pm

Nope padna.

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » November 22nd, 2016, 4:04 pm

must have heard wrong, thats a relief.

turbosir

Postby turbosir » November 22nd, 2016, 4:15 pm

Boy ah tell yah dat he wont increase cng

turbosir

Postby turbosir » November 22nd, 2016, 4:15 pm

My friend imbert told me dat

turbosir

Postby turbosir » November 22nd, 2016, 4:16 pm

And he will tax turbo owners too

Re: RE: Re: THE OFFICIAL **ALL THINGS CNG** THREAD

Postby nervewrecker » November 23rd, 2016, 8:32 pm

turbosir wrote:And he will tax turbo owners too

He kant

Postby Ted_v2 » November 23rd, 2016, 8:52 pm

Might take a chook with this cng thing in my laurel next year yes. 260$ for a full tank

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 29th, 2016, 12:20 am

turbosir wrote:Gas going up 15% more in April 2017.

Super prices are already at market value and premium has an additional tax on it... The only way it going by 15% is if world prices per barrel of oil also go up. Diesel is the only fuel that is really being subsidized currently

Postby redmanjp » November 30th, 2016, 12:21 am

so how much to install cng? this would become more and more relevant every time gas go up.

serina

Postby serina » December 24th, 2016, 7:14 am

OK peeps, spent almost $13,000 to put in cng in a serina gives me 80- 90km for $12. worked well first three weeks, then it all started. Stuttering on take off, stuttering while idling, flats-pot at times on take off, cut off once or twice, burns about $80. in gasoline - 500km while on cng Company said to tune up my recently tunes vehicle, i did same PROBLEM. The vehicle runs perfect on gasoline though. HELP ME!

serina

Postby serina » December 24th, 2016, 5:50 pm

Installed cng sequential at ACL after 1 month TROUBLE. Jerking while idling and driving, flat spot sometimes and even cut off on CNG, but works PERFECT on gasoline. 4 times checked & regulated, change my NEW plugs and air filter as advised the problem still exists. $12,000 in the hole???? WTF

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » December 29th, 2016, 11:33 pm

sorry to hear about your problems, could you also check your coilpacks to make sure they are delivering proper flow of current to plugs, i posted some contact info of private installers who may be able to help you.

these are all the contacts I have

chris 7620025
curtis 3450782
lenny 7532682
yellows 373 9498

killercow

Postby killercow » January 5th, 2017, 10:35 pm

Can anyone say if and / or how the Petrotrin strike may affect the availability of CNG nationwide?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 6th, 2017, 9:37 am

I think CNG supplied by National Gas Company

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 6th, 2017, 9:38 am

serina wrote:Installed cng sequential at ACL after 1 month TROUBLE. Jerking while idling and driving, flat spot sometimes and even cut off on CNG, but works PERFECT on gasoline. 4 times checked & regulated, change my NEW plugs and air filter as advised the problem still exists. $12,000 in the hole???? WTF

What kinda vehicle you install it on?

killercow

Postby killercow » January 6th, 2017, 9:24 pm

viedcht wrote:I think CNG supplied by National Gas Company

This I know and was of the opinion that the strike won't affect CNG supply.
But then I saw a newspaper article saying that CNG will be affected as
well hence the reason I asked. Also wasn't sure if NGC is under OWTU.

rebound

Postby rebound » January 6th, 2017, 9:55 pm

NGC is not unionized...but the NP stations my not stay open for CNG alone...

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » January 7th, 2017, 12:15 am

Anyone know the cost to service these systems

venum

Postby venum » February 7th, 2017, 3:57 pm

just read all 8 pages of this thread to come up to speed with the CNG tech. Good stuff in here guys.

long time gasoline and diesel vehicle owner but CNG is new to me

I'm currently looking for a new gas vehicle for the family and considering going CNG.
I'm considering a retrofit in a Fielder 141 as we need a wagon vehicle, being a Mitsubishi whore, a CY Lancer retrofit is also an option

I believe the Lancers take the retrofit well as the NGC fleet of Lancers were all retrofitted and they were not very problematic
prefer the wagon tho as there would be less space loss vs the tank in a car trunk

wife's friend has a Honda City CNG and she likes it, so this is an option, but a last resort as we really don't wanna put out $180k on a car, I rather buy a roro or local used wagon and do a retrofit at under $100k

the CNG stations were not something I ever paid much attention to, since I never had it, but reading through all the previous pages and seeing how often and how long the stations are down makes me second guess this option.

If I spend 10-12K on a retrofit and cant get a reliable supply of CNG, then its a bad investment to me, since we would be using the CNG as the primary fuel and fill gas only for the bare minimum

Also, I saw in the newly re-launched CNG station NP carousel at Mon Repos a sign saying NO SELF SERVICE at the CNG pumps . . . so added inconvenience of having to wait on the service staff to fill up. I understand the safety aspects of why they doing that, but its a setback and inconvenience for me as I pump my own diesel and gas at that station as my usual filling spot

present and past govts pushing the CNG use and the public are adopting it slowly, but there isn't any guarantee that they will in the future, but gas gonna still be there and like it or not the subsidy is being slowly removed, so prices going up regardless of the govt in power

venum

Postby venum » February 9th, 2017, 12:49 pm

so doing a lil maths on this

presently the gas fuel bill is ~ $500\month

that works out to be ~$120 per week for ~ 400km
this is $6000\year

using a CNG Honda City fuel figures,
$15 to fill a 70L tank that delivers ~200km, it would need 2 fills per week to cover the same 400km distance

this works out to a CNG fuel bill of $120\month or $1440\year
thus saving $380\month

with a CNG installation bill of $10,000 the kit would pay back for itself in 26 months (rounded from 26.3 months)

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 10th, 2017, 1:34 am

There is a yearly maintenance fee I was informed about for the CNG system

Postby sMASH » February 10th, 2017, 9:14 am

yearly maintenance fee?
who/where facilitates that?
cost?

archangel2011

Postby archangel2011 » February 10th, 2017, 9:56 am

Has anyone used the millennium CNG kit from eBay.
If so who did the install?
How is it working?
Reason for asking is I'm considering a used CNG kit which is $5000- $5500 installed. But the eBay kits is only $350-$400 us and are the newer ones.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 11th, 2017, 2:43 pm

sMASH wrote:yearly maintenance fee?
cost?

At least that is what I was told by a tech at the TIC trade show regarding the lancer with the CNG system fitted that they had on display.
It also might be similar in cost to servicing a normal fuel system.

venum

Postby venum » February 13th, 2017, 11:24 am

kamakazi wrote:
sMASH wrote:yearly maintenance fee?
cost?

At least that is what I was told by a tech at the TIC trade show regarding the lancer with the CNG system fitted that they had on display.
It also might be similar in cost to servicing a normal fuel system.

sounds like an inspection and certification fee

Postby sMASH » February 24th, 2017, 6:50 am

where sells the cng tanks, and what pressure is it designed to hold? or rather, what pressure do they refill to at the refill stations?