AG’s alleged witness tampering

Postby Habit7 » January 29th, 2015, 9:35 am

WEST HEADS TO DPP
...to file statement on AG’s alleged witness tampering

By Anika Gumbs CCN Senior Multimedia Investigative Journalist
Story Created: Jan 29, 2015 at 12:44 AM ECT
Story Updated: Jan 29, 2015 at 12:44 AM ECT

Director of the Police Complaints Authority (PCA) David West has prepared a statement to hand over to the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) Roger Gaspard, SC.
The statement, the Express learned last night, provides details on the allegation that six days before his appointment as PCA director, he was asked by Attorney General Anand Ramlogan to withdraw his witness statement in a defamation lawsuit relating to the failed extradition involving Section 34 applicants Steve Ferguson and Ishwar Galbaransingh, in exchange for him being selected for the job.
The statement is expected to be handed over to the DPP before the end of the week.
The move by West comes amid mounting calls for him to speak out on the matter, among them from Political Leader of the Congress of the People (COP), Prakash Ramadhar and Fixin’ T&T.
West is the former head of the Central Authority Unit that falls under the purview of the office of the Attorney General.
The defamation lawsuit in which West is a witness stemmed from statements Ramlogan claimed Rowley made during a news conference on November 8, 2011, relating to Justice Ronnie Boodoosingh’s ruling in which he quashed the Attorney General’s decision to order the extradition of Ferguson and Galbaransingh, arising out of the Piarco International Airport enquiry.
Ramlogan had initially refused to confirm or deny whether he had asked West to withdraw the witness statement when asked by the Sunday Express last week but on Sunday via a news release he denied the allegation.
“I wish to categorically refute and deny the allegation that I asked PCA Chairman David West to withdraw his witness statement during a telephone conversation that allegedly took place on October 31, 2014 or at anytime thereafter,” Ramlogan’s release stated.
Ramlogan has also claimed that he was unaware he (West) was a witness in the matter until December 22, 2014.
West’s witness statement dated June 27, 2014 was filed in the High Court on December 19 and received by Ramlogan’s legal team on December 22.
On Monday, West dismissed Ramlogan’s claim via a release: “I David West am a witness to a matter between Anand Ramlogan and Dr Keith Rowley (CV2012-02948). On June 27, 2014 I submitted a signed witness statement to my attorneys on the said matter. My witness statement has since been in possession of my attorneys and was subsequently filed on December 22, 2014. The content of the statement is a matter of public record. During this time frame any individual with interest in this particular matter would have been privy to the list of witnesses and would have known that I am a witness in the matter. I stand by my witness statement and I am ready to defend it under oath.”

TOP COP TO MAKE STATEMENT

Court documents corroborate West’s statement that Ramlogan’s legal team was informed that West was a witness in the matter long before December 22.
Express investigations have revealed that the Attorney General telephoned West after midday on October 31, 2014.
This call to West was the second call that was registered on his cellphone from Ramlogan on that same day.
Ramlogan had telephoned West earlier on the morning of October 31, informing him that he was tipped to head the PCA following the resignation of then director attorney Gillian Lucky, who accepted a judgeship in September last year.
However, at the time the second telephone call was made, the Office of the President had already contacted West on the same day (October 31) scheduling a meeting with him on November 3 regarding his appointment as PCA head.
The Express learned that immediately following the telephone conversation with Ramlogan, West sought legal advice.
CNC3 News last night reported Acting Police Commissioner Stephen Williams as saying he will soon make a statement on calls for an investigation. He said the allegation has been receiving his attention but he does not wish to say just yet whether or not a probe would commence. Former attorney general Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj on Tuesday called on Williams to launch an investigation into the matter.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/WES ... 61471.html

Cliffs: PCA head West is saying that the AG asked him withdraw his witness statement for Dr. Rowley in a defamation suit, for him to get his current post. AG is saying West is lying and he only knew West was a witness in December. West said the AG knew before that.

Re: AG’s alleged witness tampering

Postby 16 cycles » January 29th, 2015, 9:45 am

how is West a witness in the section 34 issue?

he was representing one of the guys up for extradition?

trying to understand the whole picture here..

Postby Habit7 » January 29th, 2015, 9:55 am

He was once head of the Central Authority Unit at the Ministry of the Attorney General, they see about extraditions.

Postby zoom rader » January 29th, 2015, 10:01 am

Men getting fooled again by the express.

Postby 16 cycles » January 29th, 2015, 10:09 am

Habit7 wrote:He was once head of the Central Authority Unit at the Ministry of the Attorney General, they see about extraditions.

thanks for context

Postby UML » January 29th, 2015, 10:14 am

UML wrote:Is Mr. West politicking?!!

Why just not say yes or no?

Did he indeed accept a bribe by taking the position?

Why wait so long to report ?

Mr. West credibility is really being questioned here!

I am CERTAIN the DPP will work on this case assiduously to ensure judgement is done before elections :roll:

what about the many other anti pnm cases he have for years gathering dust?

On June 27, 2014 I submitted a signed witness statement to my attorneys on the said matter. My witness statement has since been in possession of my attorneys and was subsequently filed on December 22, 2014.

why wait so long to file? Lemme guess....Im sure his lawyer is Martin Daly :roll:

D PNM really afraid of the AG, they want to get him baddd!!! :lol: :lol:

Postby Habit7 » January 29th, 2015, 10:23 am

...Working draft of witness statement existed since June
By Ria Taitt Political Editor
Story Created: Jan 29, 2015 at 12:40 AM ECT
Story Updated: Jan 29, 2015 at 12:40 AM ECT

A working draft of the witness statement of Police Complaints Authority (PCA) director David West existed since June, 2014, according to court documents filed in the Section 34 defamation case brought by Attorney General Anand Ramlogan against Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley.
The documents indicate that in June 2014, five months prior to his appointment as PCA Director, West had already agreed to be a witness and preparation of his statement was awaiting completion.
The documentation of the existence of a draft statement in the court papers represents the greatest vulnerability for the Attorney General, who has, in response to allegations of witness tampering, stated that it was physically impossible to have asked West to withdraw a witness statement on October 31 as alleged, when the witness statement didn’t exist until December 20, 2014.
In claiming that his knowledge of the statement only came two months after West’s appointment, he has in effect denied knowledge of the existence of the draft witness statement in the court documents.

However, court documents indicate that Ramlogan’s attorneys must have known that a draft statement existed because the information was presented to the court on two occasions when the issue of an application for an extension to file witness statement in the matter was brought before the High Court and at the Court of Appeal in June and July, 2014 respectively.
The affidavit of Faris Al-Rawi, dated June 23, 2014 and filed in support of the application for the extension, indicate West had gone past the stage of uncertainty and was on board as a witness.
Al-Rawi’s affidavit stated: “On or around June 17, 2014, I was informed by Junior Counsel and verily believe that he required clarification of certain of the instructions from the Defendant (Rowley), myself and Mr David West in order to complete the drafts of the witness statements”.
The affidavit continued: “Both Mr West and I have been reviewing the working draft of our witness statements in the meantime in order to provide the requested clarification for the finalisation of same. However, given the imminent deadline for the filing of the witness statements and the voluminous documents which we both have to review in order to refresh our memories, we both require additional time to do so properly. These documents include the legal proceedings in the extradition matter involving Mr Galbaransingh and Mr Ferguson and their challenges to same and the Hansard reports in respect of the debates concerning the Administration of Justice bill”.
In the actual “Application for Extension”, also dated June 23, it is reiterated: “The other witnesses, Mr David West and Mr Faris Al-Rawi are in the process of reviewing and finalising their witness statements but require additional time to complete that process due to the volume of documents which they are required to peruse to refresh their memories and/or to provide clarification to Counsel”.

Therefore in June, 2014 when the PCA directorship was yet vacant, West who had already agreed to be a witness had a draft witness statement and was in active cooperation with Rowley’s attorney for its completion.
The PCA directorship became vacant on September 1 when Gillian Lucky resigned. And West was appointed on November 6, 2014.
The Sunday Express this week reported an allegation that on October 31, six days before that appointment as PCA director, the Attorney General telephoned David West and asked him to withdraw his witness statement in exchange for support of the appointment.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Wor ... 61151.html

trinibourbon

Postby trinibourbon » January 29th, 2015, 1:47 pm

If West accepted a bribe...then does that mean the AG gave one?

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » January 29th, 2015, 3:46 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Dav ... 24281.html
David West has reported the AG to the cops
By the Multimedia Desk
Story Created: Jan 29, 2015 at 2:33 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jan 29, 2015 at 3:02 PM ECT
DIRECTOR of the Police Complaints Authority David West on Thursday issued a statement related to the rapidly unfolding events involving the allegations that he was asked by Attorney General Anand Ramlogan to withdraw his witness statement in a defamation lawsuit related to the failed extradition involving Section 34 applicants Steve Ferguson and Ishwar Galbaransingh, in exchange for him getting the job at the PCA. West has disclosed that as a result of claims made in the media and responses given by Ramlogan, he (West) had reported the matter to the police. The following is the full text of West's statement -

On Wednesday the 21st of January 2015 I was contacted by Ms Anika Gumbs who indicated to me that a source had confided in her as follows:

(i) That prior to my appointment as the Director of the Police Complaints Authority (“the Authority”) on the 7th of November 2014 the Hon. Attorney General had asked me to withdraw a witness statement which I had made on behalf of Dr Keith Rowley in Claim No. CV2012-02948 Anand Ramlogan v. Dr Keith Rowley in return for the Government’s support for my appointment as Director of the Authority; and Ms Gumbs asked me to comment on the allegation. I advised Ms Gumbs that the matter was before the High Court and therefore could not comment.

The proceedings referred to above, which are in fact pending before the High Court, are a claim by the Hon. Attorney General against Dr Rowley for damages for defamation. The subject matter of the Hon. Attorney General’s claim relates to statements allegedly made by Dr Rowley in 2011 concerning the case for the extradition of Mr Ishwar Galbaransingh and Mr Steve Ferguson with which I was involved up to 2010 as the former head of the Central Authority of Trinidad and Tobago. I was appointed as Director of the Authority on the 7th of November 2014.

In the Sunday Express Newspaper for the 25th of January 2015 an article by Ms Anika Gumbs entitled “AG DUCKS” was published. The article contained the allegations against the Hon. Attorney General on which I was asked by Ms Gumbs to provide comment.

As I sought to make clear in a radio interview on the 26th of January 2015, it is matter of public record that my witness statement was first filed in the High Court on the 27th of June 2014 on an application by Dr Rowley for an extension of time for the statement to be filed. Upon the Court of Appeal ultimately granting Dr Rowley the extension on the 19th of December 2014 my witness statement was formally filed on the 19th of December 2014. I hope this makes it patent that I did not withdraw my witness statement or provide any other inducement whatsoever to earn anyone’s support for my appointment as
Director of the Authority.

The allegations published in the Sunday Express article “AG DUCKS” suggest that the Hon. Attorney General committed serious criminal conduct in relation to his office and the administration of justice in Trinidad and Tobago. Due process demands that any such allegations should be investigated by the proper authorities and not in the media. I can disclose that I was taking steps in that regard prior to the publication of the article to ensure that I provided the appropriate authorities with the best available corroborative evidence for their
investigation.

Although the Hon. Attorney General initially refused to make any comment on the matter, he is now on the public record denying categorically that he ever requested me to withdraw my witness statement in his claim against Dr Rowley. I am compelled to say publicly, without more, that my recollection of what transpired is diametrically opposed to the Hon. Attorney General’s denial that he ever approached me.

Accordingly, I have this morning made a report to the Ag. Commissioner of Police on the matter of the allegations against the Hon. Attorney General reported upon in Ms Gumbs’ article. I trust that the Ag Commissioner will take swift action on my report as he considers appropriate or as he may be advised and that due process will be ensured and the integrity of any investigation will be preserved.

David West
January 29, 2015

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » January 29th, 2015, 3:49 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/COp ... 32431.html

Cops: AG being probed for "an attempt to pervert the course of justice"
The investigation will be led by Deputy Commissioner of Police – Operations (Ag.), Mr. Harold Phillip.

By the Multimedia Desk
Story Created: Jan 29, 2015 at 3:43 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jan 29, 2015 at 3:45 PM ECT
Acting Commissioner of Police Stephen Williams has issued a statement confirming that a report has been made by the Director of the Police Complaints Authority (PCA) David West, in which West made an allegation of "an attempt to pervert the course of justice. The following is the statement from Williams -

The Commissioner of Police (Ag.), Mr. Stephen Williams, wishes to advise that today, Thursday 29th January, 2015, he was visited by Mr. David West at Police Administration Building, Port of Spain, and presented with a signed statement, in which Mr. West made an allegation of ‘an attempt to pervert the course of justice’, against Senator the Honourable, Anand Ramlogan, Attorney General of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.

As a consequence, the Commissioner of Police has ordered an investigation into the matter.

The investigation will be led by Deputy Commissioner of Police – Operations (Ag.), Mr. Harold Phillip.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » January 29th, 2015, 3:49 pm

the heat is on....

Postby Redman » January 29th, 2015, 4:15 pm

Funny how all our institutions are tainted by one thing or another
Smh

Postby pete » January 29th, 2015, 5:34 pm

So it's one person's word against the other?

Postby eliteauto » January 29th, 2015, 5:41 pm

heard he resigned, good riddance

AG Fired

Postby DFC » January 29th, 2015, 5:45 pm

Heard it just now from the AG office.

It hasnt made news yet.

Re: AG Fired

Postby skylinechild » January 29th, 2015, 5:52 pm

DFC wrote:Heard it just now from the AG office.

It hasnt made news yet.

ched filled with details...WOW :|

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 29th, 2015, 5:53 pm

They say he going and make a statement shortly.

Allyuh better get ready for elections :lol:

moses_boss12
Location: The Beautiful Hills of.................... Hellshire!!

Postby moses_boss12 » January 29th, 2015, 5:53 pm

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm...The plot thickens

Postby DFC » January 29th, 2015, 5:54 pm

Thats all the details i got.

Postby pioneer » January 29th, 2015, 5:55 pm

Never really liked that guy anyway.

Casper23

Postby Casper23 » January 29th, 2015, 5:57 pm

Seems kamz finally grew a pair

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » January 29th, 2015, 6:10 pm

Kamz not even here, she not in Costa Rica?

Postby shogun » January 29th, 2015, 6:11 pm

Wow...

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » January 29th, 2015, 6:14 pm

He didn't resign, he just released a statement saying he welcomes the probe

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » January 29th, 2015, 6:15 pm

nah he ent gone anywhere

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 29th, 2015, 6:46 pm

then he should follow Anil Roberts and the rest...

Postby Habit7 » January 29th, 2015, 7:01 pm

That is stupid talk, the AG still dey.

Postby maj. tom » January 29th, 2015, 7:04 pm

ah yes another BBM thread

Official Media: http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/AG- ... 54971.html

Attorney General Anand Ramlogan has responded to the decision taken by acting Police Commissioner Stephen Williams to order a criminal investigation into claims made by the Director of the Police Complaints Authority David West that Ramlogan attempted to pervert the course of justice. In a press release issued at around 6p.m. Ramlogan made the following statement -

I welcome the announcement by the Commissioner of Police of an investigation into the allegations made by Mr David West. I trust that the investigation would be handled professionally, thoroughly and expeditiously.

I will co-operate fully with this investigation and look forward to my vindication.

All parties must now allow due process to take its course. These latest spurious allegations are but part of a wider political conspiracy that is designed to damage the government as we draw closer to elections.

RAMLOGAN'S statement followed a series of actions taken by Director of the Police Complaints Authority (PCA) David West, who said he was allegedly approached by Ramlogan and asked to withdraw his witness statement given in the defamation lawsuit filed by the AG against Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley, in exchange for him (West) being selected to head the PCA.

Earlier today, West issued a statement, saying that: “Although the Hon. Attorney General initially refused to make any comment on the matter, he is now on the public record denying categorically that he ever requested me to withdraw my witness statement in his claim against Dr Rowley. I am compelled to say publicly, without more, that my recollection of what transpired is diametrically opposed to the Hon. Attorney General’s denial that he ever approached me.
Accordingly, I have this morning made a report to the Ag. Commissioner of Police on the matter of the allegations against the Hon. Attorney General reported upon in (an Express) article. I trust that the Ag Commissioner will take swift action on my report as he considers appropriate or as he may be advised and that due process will be ensured and the integrity of any investigation will be preserved.

A short time later, Acting Commissioner of Police Stephen Williams advised that he has ordered an investigation into allegations that Attorney General Anand Ramlogan attempted to pervert the course of justice in a court matter. A statement from the Police Service said the Acting Commissioner was visited by Mr. David West at the Police Administration Building in Port of Spain and presented with a signed statement, in which Mr. West made an allegation of ‘an attempt to pervert the course of justice’ against AG Ramlogan. As a consequence, the Commissioner of Police has ordered an investigation into the matter. The investigation will be led by Acting Deputy Commissioner of Police – Operations, Mr. Harold Phillip.

mango_chow

Postby mango_chow » January 29th, 2015, 7:04 pm

OP please go and do some homework.

Postby Habit7 » January 29th, 2015, 7:19 pm

Nevertheless, this reminds me that I need to update my voter registration info. It might be better to beat the rush.