Unipet launches Gas Card and Mobile App

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 14th, 2015, 6:28 pm

Press Release:

The United Independent Petroleum Marketing Company Limited (Unipet) today announced the launch of the country’s first consumer gas card and mobile app. The Unipet Gas Card and App provides consumers with a number of benefits, key among them is the ability to control and monitor their consumption of fuel.

Unipet saw the need for this product as many consumers who use their corporate fleet card, kept asking for a card to satisfy their personal needs to manage and budget their fuel consumption. Unipet went one step further and bundled the card with a vehicle maintenance app. The app allows consumers to record and track all repairs done to their vehicles. It provides reminders on when repairs are due, such as oil and filter changes, and even when your insurance and drivers permits are set to expire. All key local emergency numbers are at consumers’ finger tips, removing the time taken to find these numbers at times of crisis. The Unipet Gas Card and App also provides consumers with a reward programme where points are accumulated and can be used for anything from gas purchase to food and entertainment, and even airfare.

Unipet has entered into a marketing partnership with Sagicor General Insurance (SGI). This partnership will see Sagicor providing its customers with complimentary gas cards on renewal of their motor vehicle policies and new customers with a Unipet Gas Card will get a 10% discount on their motor vehicle polices. Sagicor signage will be prominently displayed on Unipet’s service station pumps at its 24 locations.

(L to R) Phillip Raphael (Financial Advisor, Sagicor Life Inc.), Junior Serrette (Sales & Marketing Manager, Unipet), Dyan Loutan-Ali (Vice President Trinidad Operations Sagicor General Insurance Inc.), Ronald Milford (Chief Executive Officer, Unipet), Michelle Serville (Assistant Manager - Marketing & Business Development Sagicor General Insurance Inc.)
Consumers can visit http://www.unipet.co.tt to sign up for the gas card. After registering online, consumers can collect their Unipet Gas Card at Unipet stations nationwide. The app can be downloaded for use on iOS, Android and Blackberry phones and tablet devices.

Unipet is a wholly owned locally operated company engaged in the marketing and wholesaling of liquid petroleum fuels. The company was established in 1997 and began the trading of transportation fuels in 2000, distributing bulk fuel to large commercial customers, through Esau M. Jan Transport Limited.

(L to R) Ronald Milford (Chief Executive Officer, Unipet), Shevvon Ramroop (Acting Chief Executive Officer, Alliance Software and Technology Systems Limited), Narend Sooknarine (Editor-in-Chief, Zorce Publications Ltd) and Dr. Afraz Ali (Chairman, Unipet)

Re: Unipet launches Gas Card and Mobile App

Postby S_2NR » January 16th, 2015, 9:11 pm

If it works anything like the credit card at the pump system, no thanks. Every other time I go to fuel it freezes or just outright fails to authorize the cc.

link

Postby link » January 16th, 2015, 9:50 pm

DITTO
THE SO-CALLED CARD CYAR WORK AT THE PUMP.....ALSO, IT'S USUAL TO GET A 'COMMS FAILURE' WHEN YOU ARE FORCED TO LINE UP FOR THE CASHIER........

link

Postby link » January 16th, 2015, 9:51 pm

:oops:
NOW see d caps....

Postby Gem_in_i » January 16th, 2015, 11:26 pm

Where to get the app?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 16th, 2015, 11:43 pm

S_2NR wrote:If it works anything like the credit card at the pump system, no thanks. Every other time I go to fuel it freezes or just outright fails to authorize the cc.
I always use the credit card at the pump with no problems.

Also the gas card is not used at the pump. The cashier has to swipe it.

Postby S_2NR » January 16th, 2015, 11:51 pm

Lucky you

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 17th, 2015, 12:40 am

I rather swipe my card at the pump than having to go by the cashier

Postby 3stagevtec » January 17th, 2015, 1:04 am

What is the cost of this card and app?
There is a onetime cost of $25.00 for the card and a service fee is paid with the purchase of the top up cards. The onetime fee is charged on your first top up of the card.

$100 card service fee $6.00
$300 card service fee $12.00
$500 card service fee $18.00
There is no expiration of the cards.

Service fee?? Really?? Not happening..

I don't mind the start up fee of $25, but that $6 service fee on every $100 I spend is a waste IMO.. Better to invest that $6 into fuel.. And what are the real benefits for non commercial use? Reminders on when to change my oil? tracking my fuel economy? Better I keep the service charge and check those things myself..

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » January 17th, 2015, 4:19 am

S_2NR wrote:If it works anything like the credit card at the pump system, no thanks. Every other time I go to fuel it freezes or just outright fails to authorize the cc.

god must really love you mamoo.

i've given up on using my credit card at unipet. i pay at the cashier now

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 17th, 2015, 5:40 am

Corn Bird wrote:

god must really love you mamoo.

i've given up on using my credit card at unipet. i pay at the cashier now

Postby Chimera » January 17th, 2015, 5:58 am

I've never had a problem using my card any any unipet pump either

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 17th, 2015, 1:14 pm

Never have a problem with CC.

Not going to pay a service fee to line up at cashier.

Postby DVSTT » January 17th, 2015, 1:52 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Never have a problem with CC.

Credit card always works for me.

Postby Gem_in_i » January 17th, 2015, 2:14 pm

This.
I go to unipet so I would not have to go to the cashier.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » January 17th, 2015, 2:15 pm

Got comm errors quite a few times

Postby Ted_v2 » January 17th, 2015, 7:47 pm

The cashier never have problems with cash.

Postby DVSTT » January 17th, 2015, 8:00 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:The cashier never have problems with cash.

The line does

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » January 17th, 2015, 8:13 pm

I've used Scotia Fuel card system for a while and its a pain, cant swipe at the pump must have the attendant swipe inside, best part half the time there's is an issue with the service. It wasn't worth the hassle.

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » January 17th, 2015, 10:27 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Not going to pay a service fee to line up at cashier.

totally agree. Was all for this gas card 100% until i saw the service fee. Paying a service fee to be inconvenienced is oxymoronic.

link

Postby link » January 18th, 2015, 12:17 am

1. Unipet gettin' d money up front
2. why scam ppl (LIKE THE BANKS) by additionally taking a 6% FEE PER $100 CARD TRANSACTION
3. U CYAR SWIPE AT THE PUMP....what d hell u payin' a 6% fee for ???
just a rip-off like everybody else...
:fist:

konartis

Postby konartis » February 5th, 2015, 10:47 am

Good thing i came here first...was looking to get this card...but if u have to line up..pay fees thats makes no sense...i always use my CC at the pump...less than 5mins stop in chag brentwood

Postby Stephon. » February 5th, 2015, 12:22 pm

Duane must be the only person in the country who gets no problems at the pump with his card.

src1983

Postby src1983 » February 5th, 2015, 12:39 pm

Never had a problem with CC at the machine, but then I mostly fill at

- Peake's
- Np on Maraval road south
- Np on Wrightson Road opp. LO (this one is down right now)
- Unipet in Brentwood
- Unipet in Harmony Hall
- Np Cross Crossing

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 5th, 2015, 1:31 pm

I mostly fill at Unipet Brentwood and sometimes at Medford.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » February 5th, 2015, 1:50 pm

certain stations give cc trouble..st augustine uipet def
brentwood and the new one in tacarigua works fine
best is the np by airport!

Postby Dizzy28 » February 5th, 2015, 2:06 pm

kg494EJ-1 wrote:I've used Scotia Fuel card system for a while and its a pain, cant swipe at the pump must have the attendant swipe inside, best part half the time there's is an issue with the service. It wasn't worth the hassle.

Choose one to two stations who never turn it down and you good to go.
Guppy's in San Juan always have the Fleet Card working.

In my case I have no choice but to use this system because the only other alternative is to pay cash and ask for bills and then fill out vouchers for reimbursement at the end of the month and that usually means a further 1 month wait to get back a check.

simplejack

Postby simplejack » February 5th, 2015, 2:06 pm

that 'comms failure' is stress though, that cashier usually makes we wait till the failure cancels then to go make the payment

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » February 5th, 2015, 2:16 pm

KURMAman wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:Not going to pay a service fee to line up at cashier.

totally agree. Was all for this gas card 100% until i saw the service fee. Paying a service fee to be inconvenienced is oxymoronic.

as in you would have to be a moron to buy into it..... :lol:

Mit_Dynasty

Postby Mit_Dynasty » February 5th, 2015, 2:32 pm

I only go unipet and I never had a problem using my credit card. I guess it depends on which station u go.