agents for mechanical auto parts?

Abraham2nd

agents for mechanical auto parts?

Postby Abraham2nd » January 15th, 2015, 2:02 pm

Hi everyone i want to open an automotive parts store.
can anyone give me advice in how to go about this?
like what are the suppliers name and amount of money to do it and how to get the documents and whats needed.
Im clueless right now so. thats why i need some help.
HOW do i go about doing this? please.
thank you.

I just want to move up in society :(
Last edited by Abraham2nd on February 7th, 2015, 2:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Abraham2nd

Re: Help in opening auto parts store!

Postby Abraham2nd » January 17th, 2015, 1:18 pm

bumppp

Postby goalpost » January 17th, 2015, 2:30 pm

yuh in problems dan

sbocus

Postby sbocus » January 17th, 2015, 2:58 pm

:popcorn:

Postby zoom rader » January 17th, 2015, 3:01 pm

Success in business is not shared likely.

What you should have done is try getting a job in an auto parts store and use it as a learning experience to start your own business. Gain as much knowledge as you can. Learn about suppliers.
Most likely you will need some capital, suppliers and a business location. One thing for sure you need to know about cars, having a background in auto mechanics will help.

konartis

Postby konartis » January 17th, 2015, 3:47 pm

Another teenager with a dream? Smh...

Postby skylinechild » January 17th, 2015, 4:31 pm

ZR gave you good advice.. you dont take good advice and into rice...so i wont bother flaming you.
good luck with your endeavors.

Postby DFC » January 17th, 2015, 4:59 pm

bro, there are lots of parts places out there.
You will need lots of capital to start a business like that and it will also take a few years to see your bushiness grow.

Good luck though.

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » January 17th, 2015, 5:35 pm

My advice is to start a small shop and allow your business to grow. You can slowly increase your inventory based on the needs of your customers. At the same time it will be easier to manage your cash flow. And location is important. Where are you planning on opening this?

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » January 17th, 2015, 5:41 pm

its in mayaro. and on a hill .. BUT
theres ONLY 2 parts place located nearby in MAYARO AND GUAYAGUAYARE got NONE!..... and its VERY small parts store.
for major parts u gotta go RIO CLARO...
i garanteed if i have what rio have and what it DONT!. ILL sure to get it ;)

EDIT: i know lots of mechanical knowledge too :)
check on de auto tech forum :P
Last edited by Abraham2nd on January 17th, 2015, 5:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » January 17th, 2015, 5:44 pm

konartis wrote:Another teenager with a dream? Smh...

im not even a teenager anymore.. i just want to move on for the new year. i work really hard for very little :(

hyperdude

Postby hyperdude » January 17th, 2015, 5:44 pm

Didn't I give you some good advice?
and yuh deleted my post....

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » January 17th, 2015, 5:45 pm

hyperdude wrote:Didn't I give you some good advice?
and yuh deleted my post....

what u talking bout buddy? oh no..lol this is another post..theres two in two section in forums..
others said to post it here.. :D
i like ur advice :D

Postby Ted_v2 » January 17th, 2015, 6:13 pm

hears what to do.

buy a lift to do vehicle repairs and small exhaust work.
start with oil and filters.
then bring in brakes pads. no brakes shoes since that takes a while.
then slowly start with suspension bushings and a press.
then buy and stock CV joints and so on.
ect

anyone can go into a parts place then go by the mechanic.

but if you doing two things they would come by you. trust me.

Postby zoom rader » January 17th, 2015, 8:38 pm

^^^ That's good advice, do some market research and see what the customers are in need of in that area.

Postby DFC » January 17th, 2015, 10:29 pm

there is a man doing this in debe already.

Complete suspension work + align n camber.

i go by him all the time because its convenient and i can get everything done one place.

This is what you should aim for.

People like convenience.

Postby Ted_v2 » January 18th, 2015, 5:08 am

Exactly.
Where I work we do everything from making bushings.
Axel rebuilds. Shock change. Full suspension work. Alignment. Speed balancing.brakes

And the greatest thing.
We stock all parts.

Postby brams112 » January 18th, 2015, 7:21 am

Op you have to know what will sell quick to do what you want to do,as mentioned by the responses,check and change making more money,oil change,disc pad,filters and go from there,ur cant miss.

Postby toyolink » January 19th, 2015, 6:16 pm

Abraham2nd wrote:Hi everyone i want to open an automotive parts store.
can anyone give me advice in how to go about this?
like what are the suppliers name and amount of money to do it and how to get the documents and whats needed.
Im clueless right now so. thats why i need some help.
HOW do i go about doing this? please.
thank you.

I just want to move up in society :(

Go for it since there is room for quality suppliers.
Some recommendations;
-Start putting together obvious market intelligence about needs in your catchment area.
-You will need to get support from some established supplies for the various brands.
-Most importantly you will need start up cash in hand and a location.
-You will need to build your market presence 'brick by brick' and 'day by day'.
Players like myself can say with proof that this is not a instant gratification business and many established entities built their brand over years of hard stubborn work.
Lastly, don't go investing in hype and glitter, stick with the basics people must purchase regularly and as you grow review your tolerance to increase your outlay in inventory categories.
This business aint much different to any other.
BTW, don't use profits to reward yourself prematurely.

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » January 19th, 2015, 7:16 pm

thanks man
how much money you guys think i have to start off with?
anyone got suppliers numbers?

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » January 19th, 2015, 7:54 pm

Let's say a 100k at least

Postby supercharged turbo » January 19th, 2015, 8:55 pm

Start off small with basic products that will sell like engine oil(castrol,np,shell,valvoline).If you think that there is a market for Amsoil/Redline/Royal Purple stock it but in a small quantity.Another thing is transmission oil(Toyota ATF,Toyota CVT,Honda CVT,Honda ATF etc).You should also stock coolant like original toyota,nissan,honda and $20 ah gallon for the masses,power steering fluid,brakes fluid etc.Buy things that people use all the time.You said that you are in mayaro,so i would like to guess that there is probably a limited market for marine products like boat engine oil.Not too sure but you can do some research.Also,you can get into contact with Driveline Retailers on the forum and see about setting up a showcase with duplicolor and VHT aerosol paints.Everybody want to paint calipers so you would definitly make money there.

ganeshlalchan

Postby ganeshlalchan » January 19th, 2015, 9:01 pm

Just as there are ppl who will not give you good advice or make some dotish remarks, be careful of spilling too much info because some of them will get ideas and try to steal them. At the same time, pick out the good advice and run with it.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » January 19th, 2015, 9:02 pm

spark plug, filter & throttle body spray wud be a big seller

Postby supercharged turbo » January 19th, 2015, 9:53 pm

ganeshlalchan wrote:Just as there are ppl who will not give you good advice or make some dotish remarks, be careful of spilling too much info because some of them will get ideas and try to steal them. At the same time, pick out the good advice and run with it.
Get ideas and try to steal them.What rock u crawl out from?Almost all parts place sell the same thing but is which one has the better pricing,wider variety,helpful advice,friendly customer service,ease of return if something doesn't fit your application,those are some of the things that make you stand out and gather a loyal customer base.Sometimes customers don't mind paying a few cents more for better advice.I called Faiz a sunday for a crankcase gasket and the man said they have.When i reach down there,i find the gasket looking different.When i brought out the old one,it looked nothing like the new one Then de man go bawl "orr is crankcase yuh wanted?well is only tappet pan we have" :x Luckily just lower down the road by repuauto had the crankcase gasket.Didn't even have to take out the old one because they know their parts.All tho their price a little higher,I didn't mind paying because they had exactly what I asked for.Same thing with 'teach' from in Couva.Bought some spark plugs wires from him.Although the box had the correct make,model,year etc the wires were too short and didn't fit.I only took out the number one plug wire to test and i didn't even start the car with it.When i went to carry it back,before i even reach by de counter de man done start to bawl we doh do refunds.He eh even know if i coming back for ah next box of de same thing but his attitude was disgusting.He tell me you hadda take ah pliers and squeeze de wire for it to fit.After a long heated arguement,i got back my refund but as i was leaving the man start to insult me and making a scene and shouting "allyuh eh know what allyuh doing,allyuh doh know nun".That is why I will never carry my business or recommend him to other people.I rather go by double r or quite by billy's than right there by him.Double r does tell me bring back bushings if it don't fit and billy's told me to bring back the wires if they didn't fit.Those small things which are commonly overlooked can set you apart from the others and put you a step ahead.

Postby sliderz1 » January 20th, 2015, 8:38 am

gimmeh bess price

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 20th, 2015, 8:41 am

why open something which is already prevalent in almost every street corner?

open a good bar,breakfast ched or lunch kinda thing...good food will always sell.

moti

Postby moti » January 20th, 2015, 9:37 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:why open something which is already prevalent in almost every street corner?

open a good bar,breakfast ched or lunch kinda thing...good food will always sell.

^^ :lol:

That's like saying don't sell Doubles; sell Gyro's.

Almost everywhere and according to you every corner has a food establishment.

Did you not read though and realize that according to the OP, there was only two parts shop within his district?

D music 4 life

Postby D music 4 life » January 20th, 2015, 9:47 am

Inb4 World Boss advice about Business.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 20th, 2015, 10:10 am

moti wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:why open something which is already prevalent in almost every street corner?

^^ :lol:

That's like saying don't sell Doubles; sell Gyro's.

Almost everywhere and according to you every corner has a food establishment.

Did you not read though and realize that according to the OP, there was only two parts shop within his district?

personally I think a good food/bar outlet offers a better turnover than a parts place.

although there are two existing shops,op sounding like he wana do this thing big....so

is infrastructure available free or rented?
is he willing to go Japan personally to bring the necessary parts or buy from other people and mark up prices?
how much money is he looking to invest?
family business or relying on outside help?