Eyes on Citizens.

Postby DFC » January 15th, 2015, 8:52 am

EYES ON CITIZENS
Govt hires tech company to monitor social media feedback on national issues

By Anna Ramdass anna.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Jan 15, 2015 at 1:34 AM ECT

Story Updated: Jan 15, 2015 at 1:34 AM ECT

Posts and opinions from users of Facebook, Twitter and other social media sites are being monitored by the Government. This includes comments posted on news sites maintained by media houses.
This, as a private firm has been hired to gauge the feedback from the public on national issues such as Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar’s recent speech on the eco­nomy.
In September 2014, Ministry of Trade, Investments, Industry and Communications, led by Minister Vasant Bharath, commissioned JL (Jeston Lett) Creative Source to monitor the opinions of the people on social media. The company recently monitored the feedback from social media with respect to Persad-Bissessar’s address to the nation on January 8, 2015.
Feedback was also monitored on the controversial billboards that were erected along some of the nation’s highways, bearing the Prime Minister’s image and her Merry Christmas and Happy New year greetings to the people.
Based on information from the feedback gathered, Bharath had said earlier this month, 80 per cent of social media had no problem with the billboards although there appeared to be much negative hype about them.
However, the social media and monitoring report on the Prime Minister’s address to the nation found there was a 50/50 feedback, with the average citizen leaning towards positive sentiments.
The overall sentiments from social media found 49 per cent of the feedback was positive, 42 per cent negative and nine per cent neutral. Lett, managing director of JL Cre­ative Source, in a telephone inter-view yesterday, explained to the
Express how his company derived this information.
He said all the feedback gathered with respect to the opinions on the Prime Minister’s speech was from computer software that was able to pull posts from profiles and sites that were public, using specific keyword searches.
Lett said there are times when the information is manually sorted but in this case, the results were from the software searches.
The monitoring overview showed 61 per cent of feedback gathered was from women and 39 per cent, males. Lett said direct questions posted by social media users relating to the Prime Minister’s address also came up in the search. For example: Is the PM being totally honest with the population? Is the Government governing or playing politics? Is there more or less confidence in the Government following the address? Does the Government has what it takes to weather the storm?
The majority of social media users who were monitored fell with­in the 25-to-34 and 18-to-24 age groups.
Lett said the issue with the billboards was the first controversy his company monitored for the respon­ses on social media.
Lett said further, JL Creative Source, which is based in Chaguanas was contracted through the Gov­ernment Information Service Ltd (GISL), from September 2014 to September 2015, to monitor social media as it relates to information provided by the Government and nation­al issues.
He did not disclose the value of the contract for these services.
Bharath told the Express Govern­ment decided to take the initiative and look at the feedback from the people on social media to help guide and adjust, if necessary, their plans and policies.
“Whatever we do, we measure to ensure that we get the response that we want, if not, we can tweak it; every action that we take as a Govern-ment, we want to ensure that it is benefiting the people and they get value from it,” said Bharath.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/EYE ... 41971.html

Re: Eyes on Citizens.

Postby maj. tom » January 15th, 2015, 8:57 am

so dem watching we too?

Postby DFC » January 15th, 2015, 9:10 am

this is why i only post music on my FB.

FB is the greatest spy tool.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 15th, 2015, 9:14 am

I wonder how much this particular project costs.

Postby UML » January 15th, 2015, 9:22 am

trinis fraid to be monitored eh :lol: :lol: :lol:

vex dey cah wear dey hat in the bank.

dey fraid SSA monitoring for national security

now they fraid govt monitoring their post....MAYBE they want to see what disgruntling the people and what views they have and points they can learn from...so they can better operate and maybe always be in govt? continual improvement?

MAYBE!!

If yuh doh have cocoa in the sun why fear anything?

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 15th, 2015, 9:32 am

1984 by G. Orwell wrote:In the end the Party would announce that two and two made five, and you would have to believe it. It was inevitable that they should make that claim sooner or later: the logic of their position demanded it. Not merely the validity of experience, but the very existence of external reality, was tacitly denied by their philosophy. The heresy of heresies was common sense.

antlind

Postby antlind » January 15th, 2015, 9:36 am

The information being monitored is within the public domain. One of the Oil and Gas companies I worked for did the same type of monitoring. I would be surprised if the TT Govt is the only governing party doing this type of monitoring. Nothing wrong IMHO.

Postby Chimera » January 15th, 2015, 10:23 am

if you dont want to be monitored then simply don't put the information online.

Postby RBphoto » January 15th, 2015, 10:36 am

maj. tom wrote:so dem watching we too?

Three letters... U...M.... *internet disconnected at the server.

Postby Redman » January 15th, 2015, 11:09 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:I wonder how much this particular project costs.

So GORTT pays for data/info to be used in UNC election campaign.
Or are they publishing the results since its public funds?

Postby black start » January 15th, 2015, 11:22 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:if you dont want to be monitored then simply don't put the information online.

Why you talk so much sense? :lol:

Postby j.o.e » January 15th, 2015, 11:39 am

He did not disclose the value of the contract for these services.
Bharath told the Express Govern­ment decided to take the initiative and look at the feedback from the people on social media to help guide and adjust, if necessary, their plans and policies.

I just care about the cost... don't waste money on cup,gift and billboard and then waste more money to figure out I'm not pleased

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 15th, 2015, 11:42 am

UML wrote:trinis fraid to be monitored eh :lol: :lol: :lol:

vex dey cah wear dey hat in the bank.

dey fraid SSA monitoring for national security

now they fraid govt monitoring their post....MAYBE they want to see what disgruntling the people and what views they have and points they can learn from...so they can better operate and maybe always be in govt? continual improvement?

MAYBE!!

If yuh doh have cocoa in the sun why fear anything?

Before you go down the route of "only Trinis":

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/11/01/techn ... d=all&_r=0

People don't like to be monitored like that. Not because they have things to hide. It doesn't work like that.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 15th, 2015, 12:03 pm

I thought the National Conversation was supposed to gauge reaction from the citizenry?

Postby j.o.e » January 15th, 2015, 12:07 pm

PP supporters will let Kams screw them with a barbed wire dildo....they would throw a fit if Patos did similar...after all he was an "emperor, creeping dictator, Mugabe"

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 15th, 2015, 12:17 pm

its very simple : if u dont want ppl to know ur thoughts\opinions & yuh bisnis then DONT post anything up on public domains where everybody can view it , keep it to urself & u have nothing to be worried about ..... :|

nismoid

Postby nismoid » January 15th, 2015, 12:27 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Act ... 29951.html
Like PEA get bowled out for the contract.
Anyhoo allyuh feel whatever data they collect from this procedure will ever displayed as negative to the partner$hit?

Postby supercharged turbo » January 15th, 2015, 12:53 pm

You already know the answer

Postby pioneer » January 15th, 2015, 6:07 pm

brb firing up alternate account

Postby brams112 » January 15th, 2015, 6:38 pm

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:its very simple : if u dont want ppl to know ur thoughts\opinions & yuh bisnis then DONT post anything up on public domains where everybody can view it , keep it to urself & u have nothing to be worried about ..... :|

Ent in here have people posting up other folks stupid opinion from the book?so what is the froth about?

handsomeRob2837

Postby handsomeRob2837 » January 15th, 2015, 10:51 pm

Does tuner counts as "other social media sites"?

Postby De Dragon » January 16th, 2015, 3:56 am

j.o.e wrote:PP supporters will let Kams screw them with a barbed wire dildo....they would throw a fit if Patos did similar...after all he was an "emperor, creeping dictator, Mugabe"

:? :? :?
If? He did precisely that! Remember spying on President, Opposition, and some other folks ? Whoever does it is wrong, and not every single thing needs to be a PNM/PP pissing contest.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 16th, 2015, 5:13 am

So kamela see my dick pics? Sweet

Postby Ted_v2 » January 16th, 2015, 6:02 am

Whoadan.

Lewwe hope them clamp down on this reroute groups.

Postby j.o.e » January 16th, 2015, 6:38 am

j.o.e wrote:PP supporters will let Kams screw them with a barbed wire dildo....they would throw a fit if Patos did similar...after all he was an "emperor, creeping dictator, Mugabe"

If? He did precisely that! Remember spying on President, Opposition, and some other folks ? Whoever does it is wrong, and not every single thing needs to be a PNM/PP pissing contest.

I agree it's wrong regardless who does it.... but I'm speaking about how PP apologists have not a inkling of shame and defend the indefensible. UML and ZR in particular would let anything slide....its sad that political allegiance would rib us of the ability to see right and wrong.
Still would love ton know the cost of this exercise, it's of no benefit to the citizens and is a fancy way of starting the electioneering using tax payers money

Postby zoom rader » January 16th, 2015, 6:46 am

j.o.e wrote:

I agree it's wrong regardless who does it.... but I'm speaking about how PP apologists have not a inkling of shame and defend the indefensible. UML and ZR in particular would let anything slide....its sad that political allegiance would rib us of the ability to see right and wrong.
Still would love ton know the cost of this exercise, it's of no benefit to the citizens and is a fancy way of starting the electioneering using tax payers money

Keep reading the Express

Postby DVSTT » January 16th, 2015, 7:00 am

handsomeRob2837 wrote:Does tuner counts as "other social media sites"?

It's the only social life I have.

TriP

Postby TriP » January 17th, 2015, 4:26 pm

By Kakashi Sensei - Jan 17, 2015

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » January 17th, 2015, 5:41 pm

oh gorsh, so dey have meh kokoloks pics

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » January 17th, 2015, 10:08 pm

Will dey know how often I go on pornhub and redtube etc?