The Sir Solomon Hochoy Highway - Cable Barrier Racket

Trinbagoviews

The Sir Solomon Hochoy Highway - Cable Barrier Racket

Postby Trinbagoviews » December 15th, 2014, 2:44 pm

Trinbagoviews

Unfortunately traffic accidents inevitably occur on the highways of T&T and their outcomes are far worse when vehicles cross the median and collide with bystanders heading in the opposite direction.

The state in predictable fashion has used this unfortunate reality to further fleece taxpayers.

Instead of the installing the most suitable and cost effective road restraint system the Ministry of Works has opted for the most ineffective and most expensive option so that they can line the pockets of their political cronies.

Example of a cable barrier in their usual rural setting, sufficiently away from the roadway and along a slope.

The installed cable barriers not only feature relatively high initial and long terms costs but a full length of barrier is immediately compromised when it is contacted until posts are replaced and cables are re-tensioned.

Along the Uriah Butler Highway multiple sections of the barriers are seemingly contacted daily rendering the entire sections ineffective.

In addition cable barriers deflect between 8 and 12 ft upon impact. Given these relatively large deflections, cable barrier systems are not usually considered appropriate to shield objects closer than 8 ft offset of the roadway. Yet they have been installed 3 to 4 ft away from the roadway in Trinidad.

Literature also indicates that cable barriers are intended for use on slopes, rather than in a relatively flat road environment which characterizes the Uriah Butler Highway. Without any compensation for a slope along the cable barrier, a car can still jump the top of a barrier with the potential to severely maim, impale or decapitate accident victims.

The simplest, most efficient and cost effective solution would have been installing concrete barriers along the length of the highway as all other industrialized countries have done along their freeways.

Clearly, the original intent of the installation was never roadway safety rather it was a way to grant a lucrative installation and perpetual maintenance contract to political buddies with public safety a way to substantiate wasteful government spending.

Trinbagoviews

Re: The Sir Solomon Hochoy Highway - Cable Barrier Racket

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 15th, 2014, 2:49 pm

Please post references/sources. Language used seems rousing but the evidence we have seen is that the cable barriers have in fact saved lives in contradiction to what is posted so far.

Postby DFC » December 15th, 2014, 2:52 pm

the cable barriers along the highways have proven to be highly effective thus far.

Postby ismithx » December 15th, 2014, 2:55 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Please post references/sources. Language used seems rousing but the evidence we have seen is that the cable barriers have in fact saved lives in contradiction to what is posted so far.

yeah, that is my only issue

cornfused

Postby cornfused » December 15th, 2014, 3:43 pm

We are thankful and yes they have saved lives . However what the OP is pointing to is the proper use of this barrier technology. I am not sure but what we seem to have here is a low tension system, which when broken in case of an impact remains useless to dissipate and energy from a subsequent impact.

The UBH has flat sections and undulating sections. Also OP the example used is in a high traffic setting and not median example.

The image sample here shows median use , heavy traffic and no slopes as you suggested . This now brings your source of information or lack thereof into question.

Personally I believe that along the UBH and CRH there should be fixed Jersey type barriers much higher than the jig saw concrete barriers used in the Aranguez , El Socorro section of the CRH.

Does anyone have the figures for the replacement costs or contract for this cable system ? Was it open or selective tendering ? 5 years on how does is compare to concrete ?

Postby RBphoto » December 15th, 2014, 3:56 pm

I would think an energy absorbing barrier would save more lives than a fixed barrier. Just an opinion and the reason I am in support of the cable system (no pun intended).

Postby j.o.e » December 15th, 2014, 4:29 pm

As A2BE said, please provide sources. Barriers have been effective in saving lives and there aren't any options that would take a hit, not need repair AND not kill the passengers. If there are alternate options, please suggest.

Postby Team Loco » December 15th, 2014, 5:08 pm

taking the politics out of it, the barriers have been effective. but OP is pointing out that he thinks the most unsuitable type was used in order for constant expensive repairs.

Postby RBphoto » December 15th, 2014, 5:32 pm

Notice how them solid barriers used to take years to repair (metal type)... and still people died on impact.

Postby j.o.e » December 15th, 2014, 5:40 pm

Team Loco wrote:taking the politics out of it, the barriers have been effective. but OP is pointing out that he thinks the most unsuitable type was used in order for constant expensive repairs.

I get that...but what is the suggested type? something that could stop a vehicle, not kill the passengers on impact and not need repairs? What can do that?

cornfused

Postby cornfused » December 15th, 2014, 7:13 pm

A drive on the I95 from Ft Lauderdale to Miami would see not cable barriers but large jersey style barrier large and hard enough to stop a semi . However the cable system is a compromise for the safety of all parties in my view and more of any good dividers and rails needs to be added to our highway net work .

Have a read http://www.wsdot.wa.gov/Maintenance/barriers/cable/

WSDOT engineers analyzed 11,457 median barrier collisions on Washington State highways from 1999 through 2004.

Percentage of median crashes that resulted in injury or death

Cable barrier - 16%
Concrete barrier - 41%
W-beam guardrail - 41%

This is partly because cable barrier is far less likely to redirect an errant vehicle into a second vehicle in the collision. When additional vehicles are involved in a secondary collision, the risk of injury increases significantly.

Percentage of disabling and fatal crashes, the least frequent but most serious type of crash.

Concrete barrier - 2.1%
Cable barrier - 2.6%
W-beam guardrail - 4.4%

Statewide, cable barrier successfully restrained 95 percent of errant vehicles without involving a second vehicle. In comparison, W-beam guardrail and concrete barrier successfully restrained 67 to 75 percent of crashes without involving a second vehicle.

Postby pugboy » December 15th, 2014, 7:20 pm

Cable barriers absorb the vehicle momentum over several of the supports
The supports are sacrificial as something has to give.

Concrete jersey barriers would cause many idiots to rebound and hit traffic in their lanes.

We are a nation of animal drivers and hence require measures to safeguard us from ourselves.

RBphoto wrote:I would think an energy absorbing barrier would save more lives than a fixed barrier. Just an opinion and the reason I am in support of the cable system (no pun intended).

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » December 15th, 2014, 7:54 pm

cable barrier supporter checking in

Postby Mark! » December 15th, 2014, 8:20 pm

lewwe jus put up a big wall of jello

York

Postby York » December 16th, 2014, 3:30 am

The cable barrier may cost less than concrete.

Does the person who crashes into the barrier have to pay for the repairs or legally can be forced to?

The biggest problem I recognize is that the barriers always need repairs, this in itself is the cause of accidents because the idiots don't put proper signage in the distance before the road works where it needs to be...hence a cause for vehicles crashing into others in front that stop suddenly or into the occasional policeman (or woman) who does stand infront of cars traveling at high speeds thinking that their badge is an absorbent bumper or something like that.

Postby RBphoto » December 16th, 2014, 10:18 am

^^ and how many of those drivers who crash because of roadworks were actually obeying the speed limit? I am of the opinion that if you drive at the speed limit on all roads and exercise due caution and care, you will NEVER cause an accident. Of three major accidents I have been in, one was a person who rear ended me because he was following too close and on the phone. I should have slowed down instead of trying to put distance between him and I. The other two times I blame on fatigue and making terrible judgement (Expecting the other driver to be courteous) and falling asleep. Drive within the posted speed limit, stay alert, and drive defensively.

Postby sliderz1 » December 16th, 2014, 10:30 am

what a ton of BS in the original post

Postby RBphoto » December 16th, 2014, 10:50 am

sliderz1 wrote:what a ton of BS in the original post

Buh buh buh.. dem have website and ting dan!! Yuh cyah dispute them.. unless you get your own website.. rock so danboidawgboi. :|.

On a real, you think Trinbago have the balls to change what on their website based on factual discussion and reasonable opinions here? I doubt. Just a set of clickbait fueled hacks.

Trinbagoviews

Postby Trinbagoviews » December 16th, 2014, 11:15 am

cornfused wrote:A drive on the I95 from Ft Lauderdale to Miami would see not cable barriers but large jersey style barrier large and hard enough to stop a semi . However the cable system is a compromise for the safety of all parties in my view and more of any good dividers and rails needs to be added to our highway net work .

Have a read http://www.wsdot.wa.gov/Maintenance/barriers/cable/

WSDOT engineers analyzed 11,457 median barrier collisions on Washington State highways from 1999 through 2004.

Percentage of median crashes that resulted in injury or death

Cable barrier - 16%
Concrete barrier - 41%
W-beam guardrail - 41%

This is partly because cable barrier is far less likely to redirect an errant vehicle into a second vehicle in the collision. When additional vehicles are involved in a secondary collision, the risk of injury increases significantly.

Percentage of disabling and fatal crashes, the least frequent but most serious type of crash.

Concrete barrier - 2.1%
Cable barrier - 2.6%
W-beam guardrail - 4.4%

Statewide, cable barrier successfully restrained 95 percent of errant vehicles without involving a second vehicle. In comparison, W-beam guardrail and concrete barrier successfully restrained 67 to 75 percent of crashes without involving a second vehicle.

That's because cable barriers are hardly ever used on freeways where fatal accidents occur the most.

Postby RBphoto » December 16th, 2014, 12:07 pm

Trinbagoviews wrote:
That's because cable barriers are hardly ever used on freeways where fatal accidents occur the most.

Quoted for stupidity.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » December 16th, 2014, 12:30 pm

YEARS ago I looked into the possibility of supplying Plastic water filled barriers, was informed since back then that they Concrete barrier "people" had politicians tied up so that there could be no replacement.
Not surprised- No government seems to care about its people....

Postby RBphoto » December 16th, 2014, 12:38 pm

How does plastic water filled barriers stack up against cable?

Postby Dizzy28 » December 16th, 2014, 12:42 pm

Plastic water filled barrels evokes memories of Lethal Weapon and many other 80s action movies!!

Postby RBphoto » December 16th, 2014, 1:07 pm

2 fast 2 furious?

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » December 16th, 2014, 1:10 pm

BRZ wrote:YEARS ago I looked into the possibility of supplying Plastic water filled barriers, was informed since back then that they Concrete barrier "people" had politicians tied up so that there could be no replacement.
Not surprised- No government seems to care about its people....

Why must any govt hadda go.thru all dat to save the lives of persons who seem to not care

Ent allyuh wanna ghee? Well tek death

Postby RBphoto » December 16th, 2014, 1:11 pm

Posted a reply on the trolls page. Lets see if anyone actually cares.

src1983

Postby src1983 » December 16th, 2014, 2:02 pm

If driving at a reasonable speed, cable barriers will be more than enough to stop the vehicle

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 16th, 2014, 2:15 pm

Can't even recall if anyone died after being caught by cable barriers locally. All deaths seem to be in areas without cable barriers.

York

Postby York » February 17th, 2015, 7:32 pm

RBphoto wrote:^^ and how many of those drivers who crash because of roadworks were actually obeying the speed limit? I am of the opinion that if you drive at the speed limit on all roads and exercise due caution and care, you will NEVER cause an accident. Of three major accidents I have been in, one was a person who rear ended me because he was following too close and on the phone. I should have slowed down instead of trying to put distance between him and I. The other two times I blame on fatigue and making terrible judgement (Expecting the other driver to be courteous) and falling asleep. Drive within the posted speed limit, stay alert, and drive defensively.

Should someone who has a history of major accidents bump their gum on this subject? Are you a PP minister?

_Kingfish_

Postby _Kingfish_ » February 17th, 2015, 10:30 pm

Who foots the bill for repairing damage to the barrier tho???
a. the person who damages it
b. insurance company
c. taxpaying citizens