wtk: UTT Bsc Nautical Science/Maritime Operations

Apollo Trinidad

wtk: UTT Bsc Nautical Science/Maritime Operations

Postby Apollo Trinidad » December 9th, 2014, 6:37 pm

any fellow tuners care to offer some feedback on the topic? Looking to pursue this degree and any advice/info would be greatly appreciated! Interested in entering the Maritime industry!

Apollo Trinidad

Re: wtk: UTT Bsc Nautical Science/Maritime Operations

Postby Apollo Trinidad » December 9th, 2014, 7:14 pm

anyone?

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » December 9th, 2014, 7:34 pm

i did the engineering option of maritime operations. i'm employed in the industry, but the situation in UTT is complex. the course itself is fine.
working at sea as an officer/engineer requires a separate STCW certification after the diploma, and presently the maritime services division of T&T still does not offer certification for watchkeeping officers and engineers, so you need to get it from the MCA in the UK.
you can either travel there and get it done, or pool together with other students and have an examiner brought it (this is much cheaper, but much more planning is involved and to be feasible, you need about 7 ppl who are ready to do the STCW certification)

i've seen my fair share of ups and downs with utt, but those problems are long gone.....the biggest issue there is students get into a field they have no idea about and then drop out cuz its not the life for them.....a substantial amount of ppl either fail, drop out or move to other fields because they just arent prepared for it.

its not an easy life and its by far one of the biggest sacrifices you will make in your life if you want to start sailing.

i strongly suggest speaking to Mr. Rhodes or Mr. Nannan at the chaguaramas campus to have as much insight as possible.

Apollo Trinidad

Postby Apollo Trinidad » December 9th, 2014, 7:44 pm

^thanks!

Postby stev » December 9th, 2014, 8:08 pm

it was discussed briefly before, more info here:

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=491694

viewtopic.php?t=356746&p=5103321

Apollo Trinidad

Postby Apollo Trinidad » December 9th, 2014, 8:11 pm

^saw these, thanks

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » December 10th, 2014, 11:22 am

Are you ?

Prepared to work in close conditions with other ppl who can't even speak English ?

Work on vessels that are Chinese built so EVERYTHING is Chinese sized

Work with Greeks ? <<< THINK very carefully b4 you answer that ..

Work in engine rooms that are cramped as hell

Work away from your family for weeks sometimes even months ?

then yeah ! you ready ..

The marine industry is unfair in Trinidad expats get higher salaries etc etc just like oil industry .

Postby MG Man » December 10th, 2014, 11:25 am

eurogirl wrote:The marine industry is unfair in Trinidad expats get higher salaries etc etc just like oil industry .

I lol'd

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » December 10th, 2014, 5:37 pm

i did it, but life has me going a different direction. Jes doh fail nun n yuh good